Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Shimano PD-EH500 Dual Sided Pedals

ShimanoPD-EH500 Dual Sided Pedals(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(27 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(22)
(5)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(81%)
(19%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 10/7/2021
by Submarine Veteran in AZ
Cycling Enthusiast
Surprise, AZ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Rock solid performance and versatility on the fly

Installed a set of these on 3 bikes after shifting over from Crank Brothers so I could match my Garmin Power pedals. I love how these give me an option to 'unclip and flip' prior to some boulder drops where the roll out area is sparse or non-existent. As a 30-year clipless pedal user I was surprised how easy I became comfortable with these pedals. When I start off, if the shoe doesn't clip, I just lift my foot at the bottom and clip when when it gets to the top. It is automatic for me now, no thought or remembering required.

Adjustability is easy, and I like a nice 'grip' on my cleats, so the adjustments allow me to easily switch the medium out-of-the-box to a hang-on-for-dear-life grip.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/17/2021
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Good for beginner clipless rider

I have just started riding clipless and these pedals and the cleats provided with them have been a good introduction. The spring tension on the pedals is adjustable and you can start with a low tension that makes it easier to clip out at first and slowly increase the tension as you become more experienced till you find a tension suitable to you. The SH56 cleats that come with the pedals allow for easier clipping out and have saved me on several occasion were I came to a stop and forgot to clip out ahead of time.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/18/2021
by Denise Claibourn
Fairfield
Overall Rating
Shimano PD-EH500 Dual Sided Pedals

Love the Shimano PD-EH500 Dual Sided Pedals; I am a first time spinner and these petals has made a huge difference in spinning; they are easy to clip in and they give me a smooth ride. Grateful for your store, I called and spoke with Eric (I think, sorry if I got your name wrong) you provided and answered all my questions.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/7/2021
by Anonymous
Iowa
Overall Rating
Simply basic

Got these for my daughter transitioning to clipless. She was going to order some cheap off brand pedals so I ordered these instead. Works as you'd expect a Shimano product would and they should offer years of reliable service.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/19/2021
by JoeS
Cycling Enthusiast
So. Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Nice Pedals for casual and serious riding

I had two bikes until a month ago. I decided to sell my more casual ride. I want a cleat for my serious rides, but also wanted to be able to ride with just a sneaker for rides with my wife. This pedal looked to be the answer. It indeed is. It's got enough grip to hold the cleat for an energetic ride, but the other side is perfect for riding in my sneakers. If you are looking for a dual-purpose pedal, look no further, this one is what you want.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/17/2021
by Egbert
Texas
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent and intuitively designed

I am very new to cleats.

The bicycle I purchased came with Look pedal. So I initially purchased a Look cleat. However, I have friends who mentioned how they had fallen at traffic stops as they couldn't disengage in time.

I was truthfully a bit stressed and terrified but at the same time so eager to pass this stage in wearing clipless shoes. So I returned the Look cleats. Decided to change pedals. Opted for this one thinking i I might use the regular side and when I am comfortable will start using the cleat side of the pedal.

Well, I didn't realize that the pedal came with Shimano "multiple" range shoe cleats. I strained them to my bike shoes and nervously took it for a ride.

I was so thrilled to see how intuitively this is designed. It unlocks with twist out or twist in off your feet. Even more, if you have the cleats locked to the pedal and lose your balance while stopped and as a as reflex swing or move your legs in an attempt to land, the cleats intelligently disengage. This has happened to me at least 3 times and has saved me from falling and also avoiding embarrassment. I have now done close to 200 miles and never had to use the regular side of the pedal and always used the Cleats. I had no issues at all. I highly recommend this especially to those who are wanting to move the step towards clipless shoes and cleats but did not have the courage to do so

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/16/2021
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
OKC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great Product & Price Point

I ride flats on my commute and clipped in for longer rides. This gets the job done for both. I do wish the flat side had a slightly larger surface area and/or better grip. Considering putting skateboard deck tape on the flats to fix that issue

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/4/2021
by Anonymous
Augusta, GA
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Works great with some caveats

Bought it for a trail work bike when I wear boots and sometimes my mtb shoes. Keeps me from having to change from flats to SPD. It's not as stable as bigger flats built specifically for that purpose, and the SPD side needed more tightening to keep the clear in place than my XT SPD pedals. So some compromises both ways, but if you have the need for an either/or option and you're not hitting gnarly terrain it should suit your needs. The quality seems spot on.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/26/2020
by MeatBall
Daily Commuter
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Light action that is a little too light

I like the pedals don't get me wrong. I ride on the flat side in boots with no fear of slipping when its cold and nasty, but the clip in side is just too light. It is light enough that I worry about slipping when I stand up to mash it. Looking at the springs it is clear that it is a bigger gauge (smaller size) spring. PD-M540 springs goes around the axial 4 times when PS-EH500 springs goes around 5 times. So I swapped the springs and boom, best of both worlds.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/7/2021
by Barry
pennsylvania
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
On All My Bikes

I've tried other similar pedals but none came close to these. Rotates smoothly and easily. Smooth clipping in or out. The little spikes on the platform side are removable if you ride with bare feet.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/31/2021
by D McClure
Jackson Mi
Overall Rating
Best pedal ever

Love them easy clip in clip out flat side has good grip to them l.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/16/2019
by Erik D
Daily Commuter
Ann Arbor, MI
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Best double sided pedal I've ever used (and I've used a lot)

These are the best dual sided pedals I've ever used! I have gone through several sets of the A530s, and always loved them, but the platform side on those does get awfully slick in wet conditions. With the little bolts on these pedals, the platform outperforms even the M324 with its traditional cage design. Even in the rain, with leather soled shoes on, my feet are stuck on those little bolts. The SPD side is, as advertised, much lighter than any other SPD pedal I've used. The downside is, I'm not entirely sure I'm clipped in till I look down (no loud click sound or sudden feeling of tension when you stick the cleats in). But, it makes sliding in and out of these much easier.

If you're shopping for a commuting or touring pedal, I can't imagine it gets any better than this.

Warning, though, you'll have to screw the little bolts in yourself. I was pretty pissed to see this when I opened the box, but it took all of 2 minutes to get them in.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/29/2020
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Los Angeles
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Works great

Works great, comes with multi-release cleats. Allows me to use flats if cruising around town and clipless on days i want to go faster.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/8/2021
by Phil juskie
cedar city ut
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great pedal

I need the duel cited pedal. The platform is nice And large. With the set screws sticking up grab nicely. The SPD side clips in well

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/30/2020
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Vancouver, WAPortland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Great versatile pedal works great as SPD and grips great on platfrom side

Shimano discontinued my old favorite PD-530 and these are an improvement with the extra grip on the platform side.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/25/2019
by Lu
Miami, Fl
Overall Rating
11 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Great Pedals!

Wanted it for the mtn bike, one side is grippy and great with sneakers or even with the spd shoes for casual rides. The SPD side is fine for longer rides, easy clip in and un clipping.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/17/2018
by Jorge
Cycling Enthusiast
New York, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
15 of 16 customers found this review helpful.
Very Versatile Pedal

I like this pedal, it is a vast improvement on the previous version. Lighter, better color, and adjustable spikes.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/9/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
28 of 30 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent Dual Sided Pedals

Bought these for a bike my wife and I share for causal road biking, clipless side for meflats for her.

Used to have A530, which are the same concept but the flats could get slippery but got the job done. This version has a larger pedal bed and with adjustable traction set screws. It's very effective, in both comfort and providing traction with just about any street shoes. SPD-side works like just about everything Shimano makes....which is very well.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/7/2021
by Rachel
El paso TX
Overall Rating
Amazing

Work great. Easy to clip in and out of. Stable platform, great for gravel bike.

Bonus theyre actually really pretty

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/10/2020
by My2cents
Cycling Enthusiast
Ocala, Florida
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent dual purpose pedal for both SPD and platform!

When I looked into choices of dual purpose pedals, the PD-EH500 pedals looked like they would work perfectly for me and I couldn't be any happier with my choice. Extremely easy SPD to lock and release when wearing my cleats and perfect size platforms with excellent grip for my everyday shoes. Unlike others I've owned in the past, these pedals are much easier to orientate between SPD and flat. The perfect commuting Ebike pedal for road and trail!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 65

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]