Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Shimano PD-EH500 Dual Sided Pedals

ShimanoPD-EH500 Dual Sided Pedals(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(33 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(27)
(6)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(82%)
(18%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 11/21/2022
by Terry
Overall Rating
Shimano Dual-sided Pedals

Love them! Easy to clip in and out. Broad enough when pedaling in sneakers. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/13/2022
by Dog''s Boy
Cycling Enthusiast
Sunny Southern OR Coast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Shimano quality pedals with both flats & SPDs

I replaced a no-name pedal that was of a similar function (SPD/Flat) on my mountain bike yesterday. The other one was more difficult to clip in, and I was hoping for the vaunted Shimano quality.

While I haven't used it extensively yet, I can say that it is MUCH easier to clip into these pedals as they stay in a position and don't rotate freely, allowing the clips to stay up while I prepare to engage. And it is very smooth to disengage from the clips -- very important on a mountain bike.

The downsides thus far? First, you have to manually install the 16 small pins onto the pedal; they do not come installed. Be sure to put the side with the small (hex wrench) hole facing out so you can tighten them. (MY GF is mechanically challenged yet never reads directions, and installed them all on her pedals with the points facing out via pliers. She's already lost 3 pins, and I was able to remove one with just my fingers. The wrench hole faces out!)

Second, the flat platform is much smaller than other such pedals on the market, including the one removed. That may limit the traction you get on this pedal, or the type of footwear that is suitable. I prefer SPDs, so the flats are mainly used where there is significant danger of tipping down a slope.

These pedals can be installed with a 6mm hex wrench or a standard cone wrench.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/13/2022
by AlexS
Ithaca NY
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great SPD/platform pedal that's light weight.

Put these on a gravel/touring/computer bike. They work great and seem very durable.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/17/2021
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Good for beginner clipless rider

I have just started riding clipless and these pedals and the cleats provided with them have been a good introduction. The spring tension on the pedals is adjustable and you can start with a low tension that makes it easier to clip out at first and slowly increase the tension as you become more experienced till you find a tension suitable to you. The SH56 cleats that come with the pedals allow for easier clipping out and have saved me on several occasion were I came to a stop and forgot to clip out ahead of time.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/7/2021
by Submarine Veteran in AZ
Cycling Enthusiast
Surprise, AZ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Rock solid performance and versatility on the fly

Installed a set of these on 3 bikes after shifting over from Crank Brothers so I could match my Garmin Power pedals. I love how these give me an option to 'unclip and flip' prior to some boulder drops where the roll out area is sparse or non-existent. As a 30-year clipless pedal user I was surprised how easy I became comfortable with these pedals. When I start off, if the shoe doesn't clip, I just lift my foot at the bottom and clip when when it gets to the top. It is automatic for me now, no thought or remembering required.

Adjustability is easy, and I like a nice 'grip' on my cleats, so the adjustments allow me to easily switch the medium out-of-the-box to a hang-on-for-dear-life grip.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/19/2021
by JoeS
Cycling Enthusiast
So. Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Nice Pedals for casual and serious riding

I had two bikes until a month ago. I decided to sell my more casual ride. I want a cleat for my serious rides, but also wanted to be able to ride with just a sneaker for rides with my wife. This pedal looked to be the answer. It indeed is. It's got enough grip to hold the cleat for an energetic ride, but the other side is perfect for riding in my sneakers. If you are looking for a dual-purpose pedal, look no further, this one is what you want.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/17/2021
by Egbert
Texas
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent and intuitively designed

I am very new to cleats.

The bicycle I purchased came with Look pedal. So I initially purchased a Look cleat. However, I have friends who mentioned how they had fallen at traffic stops as they couldn't disengage in time.

I was truthfully a bit stressed and terrified but at the same time so eager to pass this stage in wearing clipless shoes. So I returned the Look cleats. Decided to change pedals. Opted for this one thinking i I might use the regular side and when I am comfortable will start using the cleat side of the pedal.

Well, I didn't realize that the pedal came with Shimano "multiple" range shoe cleats. I strained them to my bike shoes and nervously took it for a ride.

I was so thrilled to see how intuitively this is designed. It unlocks with twist out or twist in off your feet. Even more, if you have the cleats locked to the pedal and lose your balance while stopped and as a as reflex swing or move your legs in an attempt to land, the cleats intelligently disengage. This has happened to me at least 3 times and has saved me from falling and also avoiding embarrassment. I have now done close to 200 miles and never had to use the regular side of the pedal and always used the Cleats. I had no issues at all. I highly recommend this especially to those who are wanting to move the step towards clipless shoes and cleats but did not have the courage to do so

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/4/2021
by Anonymous
Augusta, GA
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Works great with some caveats

Bought it for a trail work bike when I wear boots and sometimes my mtb shoes. Keeps me from having to change from flats to SPD. It's not as stable as bigger flats built specifically for that purpose, and the SPD side needed more tightening to keep the clear in place than my XT SPD pedals. So some compromises both ways, but if you have the need for an either/or option and you're not hitting gnarly terrain it should suit your needs. The quality seems spot on.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/26/2020
by MeatBall
Daily Commuter
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Light action that is a little too light

I like the pedals don't get me wrong. I ride on the flat side in boots with no fear of slipping when its cold and nasty, but the clip in side is just too light. It is light enough that I worry about slipping when I stand up to mash it. Looking at the springs it is clear that it is a bigger gauge (smaller size) spring. PD-M540 springs goes around the axial 4 times when PS-EH500 springs goes around 5 times. So I swapped the springs and boom, best of both worlds.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/8/2021
by Don
Tiffin, Ohio
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Shimano PD-EH500 pedals

~ Shimano PD-EH500 pedals are a great performance addition to my stationary Rogue Echo bike. These pedals have helped maximize my workout time on the bike with its SPD connection. Super job by BikeTiresDirect on availability, pricing, shipping and communication.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/4/2021
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great dual use peddles.

I ride both rail and signal track trails. These peddles are perfect for both. I can clip in for rail trails and then just flip the pedal over in locations when I need to put my feet dow quickly.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/18/2021
by Denise Claibourn
Fairfield
Overall Rating
Shimano PD-EH500 Dual Sided Pedals

Love the Shimano PD-EH500 Dual Sided Pedals; I am a first time spinner and these petals has made a huge difference in spinning; they are easy to clip in and they give me a smooth ride. Grateful for your store, I called and spoke with Eric (I think, sorry if I got your name wrong) you provided and answered all my questions.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/7/2021
by Anonymous
Iowa
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Simply basic

Got these for my daughter transitioning to clipless. She was going to order some cheap off brand pedals so I ordered these instead. Works as you'd expect a Shimano product would and they should offer years of reliable service.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/16/2021
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
OKC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great Product & Price Point

I ride flats on my commute and clipped in for longer rides. This gets the job done for both. I do wish the flat side had a slightly larger surface area and/or better grip. Considering putting skateboard deck tape on the flats to fix that issue

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/16/2019
by Erik D
Daily Commuter
Ann Arbor, MI
Value Rating
Overall Rating
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Best double sided pedal I've ever used (and I've used a lot)

These are the best dual sided pedals I've ever used! I have gone through several sets of the A530s, and always loved them, but the platform side on those does get awfully slick in wet conditions. With the little bolts on these pedals, the platform outperforms even the M324 with its traditional cage design. Even in the rain, with leather soled shoes on, my feet are stuck on those little bolts. The SPD side is, as advertised, much lighter than any other SPD pedal I've used. The downside is, I'm not entirely sure I'm clipped in till I look down (no loud click sound or sudden feeling of tension when you stick the cleats in). But, it makes sliding in and out of these much easier.

If you're shopping for a commuting or touring pedal, I can't imagine it gets any better than this.

Warning, though, you'll have to screw the little bolts in yourself. I was pretty pissed to see this when I opened the box, but it took all of 2 minutes to get them in.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/7/2021
by Barry
pennsylvania
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
On All My Bikes

I've tried other similar pedals but none came close to these. Rotates smoothly and easily. Smooth clipping in or out. The little spikes on the platform side are removable if you ride with bare feet.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/29/2020
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Los Angeles
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Works great

Works great, comes with multi-release cleats. Allows me to use flats if cruising around town and clipless on days i want to go faster.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/30/2020
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Vancouver, WAPortland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Great versatile pedal works great as SPD and grips great on platfrom side

Shimano discontinued my old favorite PD-530 and these are an improvement with the extra grip on the platform side.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/31/2021
by D McClure
Jackson Mi
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Best pedal ever

Love them easy clip in clip out flat side has good grip to them l.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/25/2019
by Lu
Miami, Fl
Overall Rating
11 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Great Pedals!

Wanted it for the mtn bike, one side is grippy and great with sneakers or even with the spd shoes for casual rides. The SPD side is fine for longer rides, easy clip in and un clipping.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 76

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]