Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
Shimano Dura-Ace/XTR CN-HG901 11-Speed Chain

ShimanoDura-Ace/XTR CN-HG901 11-Speed Chain(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(113 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(102)
(10)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(90%)
(9%)
(1%)
(0%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 5/16/2024
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Worth the Extra Cost Over Ultegra

Decided to try Dura-ace chain over Ultegra after reading difference between the two Shimano chains is more than just weight. Dura-ace chain uses lighter metal alloy that is less resistant to wear or "stretch." Not my words, but what I read that caused me to try spending extra coin for a Dura-ace chain. My experience was chain wear was less than experience with Ultegra chain after roughly the same time or miles. Unless you're the type of rider who itches to replace chain sooner rather than later for fear of cassette wear, get a bit more wear from your chain, I'd recommend the Dura-ace over the Ultegra despite the slightly extra cost.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 4/11/2024
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Birmingham, AL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Very smooth with new cassette

Don't normally get Dura Ace, but on sale was a good value. Really got it more for the durability than weight savings. I will notice more benefit from cutting burgers & fries than cutting weight on components.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by CaptainPico

Reviewed 1/26/2024
by CaptainPico
Cycling Enthusiast
Pico Rivera, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Expensive and hard for me to tell if its really worth it

My grouppo is DA 9100. The chain works well and lasts me about 2500 - 3000 miles. It is expensive and its pretty hard for me to say it is definitely better than the Ultegra and even the 105 equivalents which can be purchased at a much lower price. On the 10 speed versions Shimano only makes one model and it states its for 105, Ultegra and DA. I try to buy the DA chain only when its on sale and usually buy several at the same time as I go thru 2 to 3 chains per year.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Mark G

Reviewed 4/11/2024
by Mark G
Atlanta
Overall Rating
Beat chain you can buy.

Great chain! Great price at BTD. Quiet, smooth shifting & nickel plating makes em easier to keep clean (also looks great).

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Michael

Reviewed 2/1/2024
by Michael
Or
Overall Rating
Fantastic value on sale

Bought the hg901 chain as a gift for my wife. Great value when bought on sale. If not I would have opted for Ultegra/XT. These are extremely durable long wearing chains when taken care of properly.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 2/4/2021
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
0 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Yippee!

I decided to splurge and buy a dura ace chain!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Luis

Reviewed 10/2/2020
by Luis
Portland, OR
Overall Rating
The best in class

The dura ace chain is simply the best. Sturdy and smooth.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by JuiceKing

Reviewed 9/21/2023
by JuiceKing
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston, MA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Treat yourself to a nice chain

Your chain is probably the first part to wear out on your bike, so why not treat yourself to a little weight-saving upgrade? These last a long time provided that you don't let them rust...which will happen if you ride in the rain with a dry lube that washes off. I dock Shimano a value rating star for packing it with their single-use Quicklink. You have to buy a reusable one separately if you need to take the chain off.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by TY

Reviewed 12/22/2023
by TY
Cycling Enthusiast
Newtown PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
smooth shifting complete with power link

like the dura-ace version on my ultegra gruppo - don't care about the weight just like smoother shifting on a pre-electronic system!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 12/4/2023
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Canton, OH
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Works Well

Bought this for my indoor trainer. Works great.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by SRC

Reviewed 5/18/2023
by SRC
Cycling Enthusiast
Browndburg, IN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great Chain!

The Dura-Ace/XTR chain is noticeably quieter and smoother than the Ultegra chain for only a few dollars more.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by DJL

Reviewed 11/1/2021
by DJL
Cycling Enthusiast
San Francisco
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Probably a sturdy choice

It shifts just fine with the bike's Shimano 105 derailleurs. It's hard to be enthused about the a chain in this price range, but 11-speed chains generally seem to be pricey, and this one at least includes a quick link.

I use an inline chain cleaner every 2-3 rides, and a wax-based lubricant (White Lightning Clean Ride). Despite this regimen, this chain acquires a surprising amount of dirt in just a few miles. It's almost as if it has some sort of coating that combines with the wax, and it just won't go away.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 4/13/2023
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great product

This is an amazing option/upgrade. I am currently running this dura-ace chain with a 105 groupset and it works flawlessly. It also runs very smoothly and quiet as a waxed chain!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 10/23/2023
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
PNW
Value Rating
Overall Rating
best chain for efficiency

I use these chains for cyclo cross racing. I need all the help I can get.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Tom

Reviewed 10/16/2023
by Tom
Cornbelt of Indiana
Overall Rating
Dependable and consistent chain

Well worth the extra cost. This chain has always worked well for me. It pedals well, it shifts well, it has never broken a link on me.

From personal experience I recommend it to anyone.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 10/20/2023
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
On time, as usual

No Disappointments with Biketiresdirect.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 9/18/2023
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Kentucky
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Dura Ace chain

Dura-Ace chain, you can't beat it.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Alan T

Reviewed 11/5/2020
by Alan T
Cycling Enthusiast
San Fernando Valley
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Availability, Availability, Availability!

Had a hard time finding this in my LBS. Those who had it were price gouging, Those who didn't said it would be 3-4 weeks. Just another casualty of the pandemic. BTD has been a lifesaver on parts

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 9/5/2023
by Anonymous
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great Chain

Quality, reliable chain

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 6/7/2020
by Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Exactly what I needed for a great price.

I used this 11-speed chain with FSA chainrings and Ultegra rear mech to replace my stretched one. The value is worth the upgrade for the weight weenies since it saves a few grams from the 105 or Tiagra chain with hollow pins and rollers. Comes with a quick link for easy installation.

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]