Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
Shimano CN-HG93  9-Speed Super Narrow Chain

ShimanoCN-HG93 9-Speed Super Narrow Chain(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(22 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(18)
(4)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(82%)
(18%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Steven

Reviewed 6/28/2019
by Steven
Cycling Enthusiast
Rural,MN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Exactly like the chain it replaced on my road bicycle.

This was a great price for a high end chain to replace the one I've had for many years on my Giant TCR1 bicycle. Not many 9 speeds around much any more. So far it has been everything like the great original chain it has replaced.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Dog''s Boy

Reviewed 4/19/2019
by Dog''s Boy
Cycling Enthusiast
All of Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great Chain for a Great Price

BTD offered a really great price on this Ultegra 9-speed chain, so I snatched up a bunch of them. My main bikes - road, touring & mountain - are all 9 speed, so these will keep me supplied for years.

My experience has been that the ultregra will last for many years.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by swimmerbob

Reviewed 5/11/2022
by swimmerbob
Cycling Enthusiast
san diego
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
one smooth chain

awesome chain- i don't ride a lot, but remove it and clean my cogs & chainrings all the time cuz there's nothing better than a silent drive (no grit). i mark the chain every time (with a bread-bag twisty) i undo the quick-link (KMC) so the same edges act against my chainrings every time. made a real difference for me- as the chain edges soften, the chain climbs the chainrings more readily. only one guy gave me this advice, and i'm glad i followed it. i'm using a 7-speed 13-21 dura-ace uniglide freewheel and avocet 32-42-52 crankset. thanks btd for the great price. if you want one, better do it soon- get 'em while you can...

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Philly commuter

Reviewed 5/25/2021
by Philly commuter
Daily Commuter
Philadelphia, PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Quieter and smoother running than my previous chain on Shimano Deore derailleur

I had to replace a generic chain that came with a bike from bikesdirect-- the old chain wore out in 600 miles, which was subpar. I was surprised by how much quieter and smoother the Shimano chain ran and shifted. I have had it on for another 130+ miles, and I did wipe off most of the sticky original factory grease, and I have applied a lubricant once. It is still much quieter and smoother than the generic chain I had before. This is a good

chain and the price was not bad.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by swimmerbob

Reviewed 5/10/2019
by swimmerbob
Cycling Enthusiast
alpine ca
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
slippery, quiet-running chain

chose the 9-speed width for my vintage italian triple and 7S freewheel combo. it was the widest shimano chain i could find with the mushroomed pins- even the fancy SRAM 991 chain has staked pins. the rear shifting and quietness is phenomenal with this chain. the front shifting feels slippery and must be done with aplomb, yet after months of riding there is no damage to the sides of my chain rings, so i'm pleased. the chain arrived in a plain blue box with 9S, HG, and Zn plating icons. next i'm going to score one for my old nishiki MTB. cheers from Socal.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by swimmerbob

Reviewed 3/1/2019
by swimmerbob
Cycling Enthusiast
san diego
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
quiet, smooth-running chain...

decided on a 9-speed-width chain for my vintage italian-made triple and dura-acenew winner 7S freewheels. the HG93 chain comes in a plain blue package with HG, Zn plated-link and 9S icons. i use a short config chain (110l) and sprint-caged derailleur. the chain was noticeably quieter and seemed smoother to me than the old HKK ultra-6 chain it replaced. shifting became downright snappy. the KMC 9-speed quick link makes a perfect master as it is just a bit sloppy on the chain- i know that doesn't sound good- it provides an easy to removereplace chain (bare-handed), and that's important to me. i am crazy clean about stuff on my chain and sprockets. i keep a ratty micro fiber in my bag and will pause during a ride to clean them if i am bored at all (and the view is good)! after six months and several hundred miles, i have yet to see any stretch on this chain. will be buying one for my mtn bike soon.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by JManna

Reviewed 6/26/2020
by JManna
Cycling Enthusiast
Williamsville NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Solid chain. Good price. Easy to install.

This was bought at a good price. Easy to install and will last me through the season.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by frosty

Reviewed 2/17/2019
by frosty
Daily Commuter
Boise, ID
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Durable and smooth

I've had excellent results with the Shimano narrow chains for my 3x9-speed commuter over the years. These chains perform for extended mileage, I typically get 8000 miles for a drive train with Shimano chains during year-round commuting. I'd like it if they came with more than one connecting pin, or packaged together with a quick link, but those are available separately.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 2/4/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
PDX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
The missing links.

The chain will keep it together.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Terry

Reviewed 1/7/2019
by Terry
Robinsdale
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Good solid chain

Good tough chain in all conditions

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 7/30/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Buffalo, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Solid product, works as intended

Easy to install, works well. saved a lot of money doing it myself

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 9/14/2017
by Anonymous
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Just what I needed

Upgraded 2004 Ultegra 9 spd rear der. with Shadow 9 spd rear der. & needed chain32 tooth cassette. Both the chain and cassette are from BTD. Both products are Shimano XT compatible with Ultegra. park. Easy swap from Ultegra to XT components.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by EricInVT

Reviewed 6/20/2019
by EricInVT
Daily Commuter
Vermont
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Smooth shifting chain

Replaced a worn out chain on my 3x9 commuter bike. Even with lower end components - Tiagra shifters, LX rear derailleur - my shifts are smooth and crisp.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Tom Brode

Reviewed 6/15/2019
by Tom Brode
Competitive Racer
Sarasota
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great Shifting Chain

This is a very smooth shifting chain. Unbelievably quiet. So good in fact that I immediately bought another for my wife's bike. Like riding a new bike!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 5/29/2017
by Anonymous
Lakeland Fl
Overall Rating
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great value

Great 9 speed chain.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by chinchilla

Reviewed 8/29/2013
by chinchilla
Cycling Enthusiast
Colorado mountains
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Shimano Quality and Durability

This chain works with my 9-speed road and mountain bikes. It is strong and durable. The pin system is easy to install. I have always been happy with Shimano components.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 11/15/2012
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Good chain

I bought this to upgrade from the chain that came with the bike. The quality difference was noticeable but the price was a little step.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by roadrider80226

Reviewed 6/22/2020
by roadrider80226
Cycling Enthusiast
Lakewood, CO
Overall Rating
Super smooth

I replaced my wife's chain with the same one.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 7/30/2018
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Great chain

Works beautifully

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Steve

Reviewed 10/3/2017
by Steve
Cycling Enthusiast
High Point, NC
Overall Rating
Great Chain

I have used the Shimano CN-HG93 for other bikes and it is a smooth, long lasting chain. I recommend this product.

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]