FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Selle Italia SLR Superflow Saddle

Selle ItaliaSLR Superflow Saddle(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(33 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(20)
(9)
(3)
(0)
(1)
(61%)
(27%)
(9%)
(0%)
(3%)
Reviewed 11/30/2018
by Noel
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern California
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great sitbone support and nice, wide cutout

My saddle search ended with the Selle Italia SLR Superflow. I first tried the Specialized Power 155mm but felt I needed a rounder shape. The Specialized Power Arc 155mm provided this but I wished it had a larger cutout. Next was the Shimano Pro Stealth 152mm which had a nice cutout but the nose was too wide. The Selle Italia SLR Superflow L 142mm was the sweet spot. It's firm so it supports my sitbones well. The surface texture keeps me planted in place. The curvature is just right so it doesn't dig into my thighs. The cutout provides pressure relief when in the drops. While the latest rage is snubnose, the length of this saddle doesn't bother me. Casey of BikeTiresDirect was great to work with!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/19/2017
by Joning
Cycling Enthusiast
Northwest PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
HArd as a rock, very unforgiving.

I must have measured my sit-bones incorrectly, because most of the reviews tell me that it is a seat that works for most, and I tried and tried...I ride 150 miles per week and rode on this saddle for three weeks. At the end of each ride I think my sit-bones were bruised. It hurt, and it never got any better.

I called Customer Service, and they allowed me to exchange the saddle, no problem.

I ordered a Selle Italia Max SLR Gel Flow, and this seat is terrific. Comfortable even in distance, etc.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/2/2018
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Rides well

This seat performs well, I especially like the wide channel to alleviate perineal pressure.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/8/2018
by DJDESQ
Philly
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Nice Saddle

I have this saddle and do enjoy it. It is comfortable and easy to setup with the measurements in the rails. And the opening in the middle provides comfort and is aesthetically pleasing.

My only negative is for some reason it is not so comfy after 20 minutes or so when on my trainer. On the road - no issue, just on my trainer..

I would recommend this saddle. I purchased mine as an upgrade from a several FiZik saddles.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/1/2016
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Delaware
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Very comfortable but can be noisy.

I've used this saddle for about 1000 miles and find it very comfortable. My only complaint is that it can be very noisy. After about 150 miles I would always hear a grinding noise much like we used to get with friction shifters when slightly between gears. Spent a lot of time adjusting cables, etc. to try to eliminate noise. Finally found that the rails, where they meet at the nose, are allowed to slide on a type of polymer which was creating the noise with each pedal stroke. A little Tri-Flow there quieted it for about another 100 miles, but the problem returns. Otherwise, it's a great saddle and I'll try to live with the audible feedback.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/14/2016
by BeastMode
Cycling Enthusiast
Santa Cruz, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Amazing! Perfect.

Cycling comfortably for 6-8 hours, sleeping in tent, hopping on again the following morning for another 8 hours with no lube. Magical. Just finished a long weekend bikepacking on my hardtail and this seat rocked it. 110 miles, 13,000 feet of vertical push. Originally, I had it on my road bike, was so good now have it on cross bike, hardtail and considering forking out the bucks for my XC fs rig. I'm 5'11, 165 el beez. The hole is gaping...seriously. Like my son's training toilet seat. You could easily pee through it while riding if you were naked. The important thing is that it's buttery gentle on my area, and causes no numbness. Especially for long epics, it's dope. Now only complaint is hands that go numb, so I have to keep shaking them out. Until I turn 65 and can get a recumbent bike without my cycling buddies deleting my contact info from their phones, may have to deal with the numb hands.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/30/2017
by SeaBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
This is my second SLR Superflow saddle.

I have used this saddle now for two years and 10K miles. I crashed and had to replace my older SLR Superflow. The cut out works great for me and the flat saddle is my preferred shape. I use the 145mm size. I am 510 and weigh 170 lbs.

I have ridden several centuries with no numbness and have never had a saddle sore. If you like a flat saddle, this is definitely one of the best.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/21/2017
by clambo
Cycling Enthusiast
New England
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
cured my numbness and chafing, good on long rides.

The only thing I would add to it would be a tiny bit more padding. My butt hurt the first week or so but I quickly toughened up to it. Its a very good saddle.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/25/2017
by Haulin''Husker
Cycling Enthusiast
Lincoln, NE
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great, if ....

Despite my high rating, the Superflow didn't work for me. However, it has great materials and workmanship and my preferred, flat shape, narrow nose, and my other, workable saddles have been 145mm. However the hole is too big for me. Let me explain Works great for time trials for me, down on the drops. No pressure. Also works for me sitting full upright on the bars, just cruising. However, when working in between, 45 degrees, down on the brake levers, the side of the hole cuts into me. Could just be me, perhaps I have a bone spur there. Tried to make it work, shifting positions on the saddle, etc. Finally bought a Selle Italia Max SLR Gel Flow saddle ... and as Goldilocks said, Just right. I didn't even ask Bike Tires Direct to take back the Superflow (I know they would have ... BTD is great.) because I used it through the Nebraska Senior Games trying to make it work. Finding a saddle that works can be an expensive proposition. Suggest try the Max SLR Gel Flow.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/2/2017
by Byke Ryder
Cycling Enthusiast
Delray Beach, Fl
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Firm but comfortable, excellent saddle.

Well made saddle. Firm but comfortable. I use it for club rides from 100 to 120 mile per week.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/25/2015
by John in Minnesota
Cycling Enthusiast
Minnesota
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
If you like a flat saddle, this is a good choice for numbness relief.

I am very sensitive to peritoneal pressure from bike saddles. So I've sort of been on the leading edge of this since saddles started to have cut outs in earnest about 10 years ago. I had been using another saddle from an independent saddle mfg that worked, but it was heavy and had some gimmicks that I didn't think worked (elastomers to absorb shock). When I built a new bike this year, and being sort of a weight weenie, I thought I'd give this saddle a try because of it's low weight, it's flat profile and it's generous cutout with chamfered edges to prevent that extruded feeling.

This saddle delivers comfort for conditioned riders who like firm saddles. If you haven't built up the necessary muscle to from riding to support yourself, this saddle will be uncomfortable because it is lightly padded. For larger riders (of which I'm one), this is a great saddle since larger riders should have less padding because they tend to smash it flat anyhow. I'd say that if you are doing, or aspire to do, 100 miles per week, this saddle could be a winner for you.

This saddle has a great shell that flexes with you as you peddle. The flat top profile allows a multitude of riding positions that the profiled saddles like the Selle SMP do not (they sort of require you to sit in one position due to the sway back design).

I switched to this on my road bike, I've got almost 1000 miles on it and it's the best saddle I've ever had. With this, the saddle almost disappears beneath me - I don't even notice it anymore while riding. For me, and your mileage may vary, this saddle is a winner.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/23/2015
by norcal racer
Competitive Racer
Saratoga CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great saddle for long rides or racing

This is my second SLR Superflow Saddle. I have have done 100 mile rides and have raced criteriums and road races with this saddle. Lightweight and comfortable - a great saddle.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/30/2014
by PDXDon
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Cure for numbing saddles.

After 1300 miles on my new Cannondale Super Six EVO, I knew the flat top saddle was not going to get better-the need to stand too often, numbness. I researched the replacements, and choose the largest cutout saddle. The day after purchase, I did a 200 KM, 8000' vertical ride in hot weather. No comfort issues, no numbness. Same for daily rides, Cycle Oregon. Don't put up with numbness, discomfort. This added 10 grams of weight, but well wort it. Also no surface issues with the white saddle. I am 5'9, 175lb.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/3/2014
by BikeLA45
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
SLR Flow is lighter, cheaper, and more comfortable

For me, the huge hole did not work. I could feel the edges of the cutout, and there never seemed to be enough saddle there to support my sit bones. The SLR shape, though, works well for me. The regular SLR Flow (i.e., not Super) has a smaller cutout, weighs less and costs less which, for me, has been an unbeatable combination.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/5/2014
by Notorious
Cycling Enthusiast
Santa Cruz, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Perfect.

I don't mind paying for comfort so I gave this saddle a try based on the reviews and the idea behind it. The bonus is this saddle is light too. As an avid rider/racer for last 20 years, I have about 1.5 years on the Superflow now and it's my favorite of all the saddles i've ever owned.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/8/2014
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent saddle

I have 900 miles on this saddle so far. I got this for my new Colnago given that my old SLK is no longer available.

I like that this saddle comes in two different widths. I use the 145. This saddle is much lighter than my old SLK but is just as comfortable. If you like a flat saddle this one is for you. Some people complain that they slide on the saddle. I haven't had this problem.

The only complaint I would have is that it is very expensive.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/13/2014
by TheActualAAG
Cycling Enthusiast
New York, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great saddle

This is the third saddle I have been through looking for the right fit. I got this for a C'dale Synapse that I tend to use for longer, hillier, rides often with some dirt road portion. Build tries to find a balance between weight, comfort, and safety.

I have been really happy with this saddle so far. When it first arrived I thought I may have gone too far in the direction of weight saving and maybe should have gone with the Gel version. However, about 500 miles in I have found it very comfortable, including for one century ride and a half dozen 50 - 60 mile fast group rides.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/11/2013
by Jim Knoke
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern Virginia
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Very nice saddle

This saddle ain't cheap, but it feels good and looks good. Though its got a large channel, its pretty light. The workmanship is great. Its pretty flat, so its easy to slide to different positions and I like that (but not everybody will). Not a lot of padding, but there is some.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/28/2012
by Phil W
Cycling Enthusiast
Southern Indiana
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
This saddle didn't meet expectations.

After reading the Selle Italia ads about this saddle, I was expecting this to be the best of all worlds-a quality product which would relieve pressure and provide comfort for long rides. It was also a daily special which made the price more reasonable. After trying it for a few weeks, I have come away disappointed. It is well-made and the large opening does relieve pressure but cushioning is minimal. However, the worst feature was the leather surface which is so slick that it made for unpleasant riding as I was constantly struggling just to stay in place on it. Perhaps treating the leather with something to give it a little tackiness would improve it dramatically so I may try that next summer. In the meantime, I'll just continue my search for that elusive ideal saddle.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/16/2012
by Ridley
Cycling Enthusiast
Stuart FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
I am impressed!

I am impressed with this, at the price plus the points discount. It's light, very comfortable, elegant, etc. It should be, at its retail price. It's very comfortable on long rides. I've only had it installed for one really long test ride to date. It's the second Selle Itallia saddle I've owned, used. I'm 6'2 and 210 lb. Carbon fibre, Italian leather and titanium are the materials you normally associate with Italian supercars. Know the dimensions and buy at a price. My overall rating is at 4 stars because I haven't ridden it enough yet

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.