Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Schwalbe Pro ONE TLE 700c Road Tire (HS493)

SchwalbePro ONE TLE 700c Road Tire (HS493)(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(67 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(41)
(10)
(5)
(5)
(6)
(61%)
(15%)
(7%)
(7%)
(9%)
Reviewed 6/13/2022
by J''ville Richard
Cycling Enthusiast
Jacksonville, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Light, fast, and comfortable, pavement and gravel.

Mounted on 622x22 Astral Wanderlust hooked alloy rims. I weigh 140 lbs. and pump these to 50 psi front, 55 rear about twice per week. Pressures tend to fall off a tad over 3-4 days without any noticeable change in riding feel. Typical ride would be around 30 miles, often with a few miles of graded gravel road.

On initial inflation they were just under 33mm width. After a week of breakin they had stretched to about 34.5mm and they are now stabile at this width.

They mounted easily, but it was a cold overcast day and one of the tires was stubborn when trying to set the beads using my compressor. So I warmed the rim with the tire under hot running water in the laundry sink and then the beads popped right into place. Normally I'd warm my tires in bright sun before mounting.

These replaced a set of Continental GP 5000 TL 32mm, which I purchased last year when the Schwalbe Pro One TLE in 32mm was backordered and the 34mm yet to be released. Those Conti 5000 TL were the hardest tires to mount I have ever encountered (I use devices like the Kool Stop Tire Jack and even better Bikehand tool + the Schwalbe levers which lock into the rim hook), reason enough to avoid the Conti 5000 TL.

Over 9 years I have ridden exclusively on road tubeless covering 40,000 miles, 5 frames, many wheelsets. In 2013 I started with the Bontrager R4 but it was plagued with blistering under the tread from air penetration of the structure, despite latex sealant. Next I wore out many 28mm Hutchinson Sector tires until the Schwalbe One was released in 2014. I've ridden the One, Pro One, and now Pro One TLE in sizes from 25mm to the current 34mm. I've been pleased with all (and with the G-One Speed in various sizes).

In 9 years with tubeless and all the riding, every puncture has sealed with Stan's or Orange Seal. Only 3x have I needed to pump a tire back to riding pressure on the roadside. Tires are now my most reliable component. I've had failures of cables, derailleurs, chains, freewheels, spokes, and a frame, but never a flat. Remember to refresh your sealant regularly and often.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/16/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
NNE
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Pretty decent but back to Vittoria for me

Mounted tubeless with no drama. One flat that would not seal in 1500 miles so pretty good. A few things that are worth noting though.

One is that this is the only bike tire that I have ever gotten to hydroplane while riding in the rain.

Another is that in some places they pour that black goo into cracks in the asphalt to seal them and stop them from getting worse. These tires are very squirrely on that stuff. Never lost control but I do find it unnerving.

Last one is that as they get up there in mileage, I find them to also be squirrely in hard cornering.

Have never had these issues with Vittoria.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/25/2022
by WildernessBrad
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Have Not Had to Put This to the Test

Purchased these as spare for my road bike. I travel to ride trails so it's not always possible to run into a bike shop when you cut a tire. The original tires are 32MM. These are 34MM. I've not been able to find 32MM in stock in a brand that I like. I am looking for durability and speed. I cut two of the original tires while riding but was able to repair them using super glue. Currently I am running tubes. Thought about going tubeless but I am concerned that the sealant may not seal at 60 to 65 PSI. I've had issues with sealant letting go on my gravel bike at 55psi.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/19/2022
by dlcorr
Cycling Enthusiast
New Orleans
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
POOR QUALITY CONTROL

These tires ride quite nicely, smooth and comfortable. However, the black part of the tire is somehow overlayed on top of the tan sidewall in an uneven way. As you look at the front wheel while riding, you can see the centerline of the tire wobbling, as if the wheel is out of true. But it's not the wheel, it's a very inconsistent application of the rubber. It's not often that I'm looking down at my tire, but I do so often enough that this defect creates a disappointingly cheap and imprecise feel to the path of the tire in rotation. For $88, I'd expect more precise construction. Will not purchase again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/18/2022
by AZGoat
Cycling Enthusiast
Black Diamond, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Nice performing tire in tubeless setup

After running tubeless Conti 5000's for my last set of tires, and not having the results I wanted, I thought I'd try these Schwalbe's. My son has been running the PRO Ones for over a year and has been very happy with the grip, ride and the tubeless flat performance. My Conti's seemed to have issues with the sealant actually filling even small holes, so I was hoping these would do better. My Conti rear tire also developed a small bubble in the tread that eventually turned into a tread failure (but it still held air). With my new Schwalbe's, I sized up to 32's from 28's, so now run a bit lower pressure to help alleviate the flat problems I had and improve ride. I do admit that tire size and air pressure have a lot to do with sealant performance, but that's where I'm at. After 4-5 rides now on the new tires, I can say the ride and the grip are really nice. They are very compliant yet fast, and seem to be wearing well. The ride is slightly better, but likely because of the increase of tire size, and probably not due to changing brands. The Conti's ride extremely well, as do these. I have yet to get a flat with these, though I did notice a small pinhole that was sealed without problem. Time will tell if a larger hole will be sealed. I use Stans Race Sealant.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/28/2022
by Slowchurch
Atlanta
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent tubeless option

These mounted pretty easily on FFWD Ryott 55s. Bead seated with a nice pop. Only a 100+ miles on them so far but love the ride - soft and supple but sticky in corners. I'm 80 kg and run 65 psi front and 70 psi rear.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/29/2022
by Tim
Cycling Enthusiast
North Country
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great Tire

I am a tubeless convert. I believe the future is tubeless tire and tubeless rim combinations. What I look for in a good tubeless tire is that it is reasonably easy to mount, sets up well on the rim, rides well and has reasonable durability. Two key components of having success with tubeless is to use a air compressor and remove the valve core when you first mount the tire. I don't even bother with a floor pump of any kind. Get yourself some Orange Seal Endurance and you will not turn back. This tire mounted on my Zipp 303s with ease. No tire lever required I was able to push the remaining bead on with my thumb. A blast with the compressor and they set up instantly. They held air for a good few hours without sealant. With the sealant in place I dropped the pressure down to 48 psi in the front and 53 psi in the back. I am riding the 32 mm version. These tires ride great! I can't speak for the longevity as of yet because I have less than 200 miles on them. Schwalbe is a reputable brand and in my experience one of the best tires out there.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/29/2022
by ACFUS1
Cycling Enthusiast
Bel Air, Maryland United States
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Tubeless= Easy install, Great grip, good ride, but wears fast

I run tubeless and needed to find a tire that would install on my carbon rims with no problems. Other tires (hard casing) would not seat. Someone from a bike forum mention that these Pro 1 tires are more flexible and easier to install.I found that to be true and have already had two sets of these tires. They do wear fast and I found some dry rotting the first 6 months but no flats or blow-outs!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/25/2022
by DocH
Cycling Enthusiast
Modesto, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Easy as advertised

These are definitely my go-to tires. I stock up on them whenever there's a BTD sale, which seems to happen pretty often. I can usually get them to mount on Fulcrum 1 Racing wheels with just a floor pump, so the "tubeless easy" claim seems accurate for me. On the lousy roads in my area I usually get about 1800 miles for rear tires and maybe twice that for tires mounted up front. (I weigh about 190 points.) I've never had problems with tread separation, which I've had on several Hutchinson tires. Contis are more durable, but also WAY harder to mount -- just ask my broken tire levers. IMHO the TLE feature is more important than durability, as I'd rather be able to pop in a tube for a roadside flat repair than have to call my wife to rescue me. The most recent versions of this tire have wear indicators, which is a nice feature. Ride quality also seems good.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/23/2022
by Roadie
Cycling Enthusiast
San Francisco
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Amazing tire, - fast with great ride quality

I ordered the 28mm with transparent sides. These tires are supple, fast and confident inspiring. Easy to mount tubeless on my Zipp 303s wheels. I use orange endurance sealant inflated to 54psi front, 59psi rear. Bike Tires Direct price match and customer service response was excellent. These are hard tires to find so when you see them - grab them!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/9/2022
by MSOSA
Competitive Racer
Panama
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excelent tire!

Very easy to install tubeless.

No issues with air pressure dropping etc

Very happy with tire performance.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/9/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
No nonsense road tire

The 34mm was fairly easy to get onto a hookless rim, but definitely needed the airshot to seat the thing fully. 300 miles in, and fortunately, nothing extraordinary to report - Pretty plush and fast rolling.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/5/2022
by WilierCoyote
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
700x34 is fast, fat, and flat-proof.

Put these 700x34s on my gravel bike for long brevets, road bikepacking and flat gravel sections. Comfy and much faster on the road than gravel tires! Plenty of width for flatter trails and dirt roads. As expected, there is a lack of bite on steeper dirt.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/1/2021
by rdrerdge1215
Cycling Enthusiast
Pennsylvania
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great tubeless tire for Giant hookless rims!

One of the few tires compatible with Giant hookless rims. Decided to give them a try, as the price per tire was cheaper than the Giant Cadex race tires. They were super easy to get on and I haven't had any issues with them across different terrains including light gravel or conditions include wet. I've got about 500 miles on them so far and will be interested to see how long they last! Service and shipping from BikeTiresDirect was excellent.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/16/2021
by NWCyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Best road tires since the Conti GP5000s

To be honest I was looking for a new pair of GP5000s to wrap my new hoops in, but they were very hard to find for some reason, so I took a chance with these Schwalbe Pro ONEs. There are a lot of similarities to the aformentioned tire, and that's a good thing. These roll fast, and I feel quite confident in corners. I think the comfort is decent for a road tire, though I am running the tubeless 28mm wide version on a more compliant gravel rig, so take that as you will. I will say that it was a bit of a chore to get them mounted, but that's to be expected with a TL road tire. All in all I think these are a competent road tire worthy as a substitute to the fabled GP5000s, and I'm very pleased.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/4/2021
by Tidorv
Daily Commuter
Quebec Canada
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Pro One TLE ADDIX

Don't buy this tire because it deflate after a few hours even with anti-puncture fluid and after puting soap on the. I've been riding Pro One for 3 years and never had this problem with older version. The tire loses about 20 psi after a 1h30. I therefore have to put air back into the tires during an outing of more than 3 hours or more. I contacted the company and he replied that it was normal that it was the price to pay to have a little more comfortable and easier to install!!! WoW!!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/1/2021
by Mike from BayArea
Cycling Enthusiast
Palo Alto, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Returned due to factory defect

I read many good review on this tire as an alternative to GP5000, ordered they came and was not able to seal them on XXX Bontrager with Bontrager Rim strip. I start looking closely to the tire bid and found multiple factory defect p>

Instead ordered Bontrager R3 from, had no issue installing them. I want give Pro One one more change, but after R3. Bikesdirect was kind and refunded the amount. I don't like and I don't return items I bought unless factory defect.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/18/2020
by Brett
Cycling Enthusiast
Bay Area, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great Performance Tire

Good tire, smooth rolling and handled well also very comfortable when compared to other tubeless offerings on the market. Having run Conti, Schwable, Hutchinson these tires compare very well. I would purchase these again, however be aware the millage is limited. I was able to get around 1692km before the rear tire needed replacement, you may have been able to run it for a while longer but I had other tires and didn't want to run them to the edge before replacement.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/13/2020
by David W.
Competitive Racer
Utah
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Comfortable and fast but wear very fast, and puncture easily.

I am running 28's on my Defy. The feel, rolling, and traction of these tires is wonderful, comparable to me to the Conti 4000. They wear very fast however, and I am constantly leaking Stans all over the garage and all over my down tube while riding. Material seems very soft with ineffective puncture resistance. Usually they seal up before I lose too much air, but not always. Oddly, they will seal for a week and then when I am getting ready to ride and pumping them back up to the 75-80 psi the sealed hole starts to weep again. I have so little faith in these tires I am starting to pack 30 ml of Stans and two cartridges. If the Conti 5000 tubeless were actually humanly possible to dismount and mount on the road I would go that way instantly. Torn on these tires. A lot of $$ for the mileage you get, great ride and rolls fast, but seem to continually have cuts/punctures. Often on the side walls, which has me wondering if there is a design problem (yes, I am an engineer). If they get the durability and wear up to where they need to be these would be a winner, but they are high priced average performing tires in my view.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/14/2020
by Tom
Cycling Enthusiast
NYC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Smooooooth

I'm a huge Schwalbe fan and I find this latest tire to be their smoothest one so far. The difference between these and the last iteration is pretty noticeable. I will say that all Pro-level tires by Schwalbe are prone to cuts, but it's nothing a little Shoe-Goo can't overcome.

Full disclosure, I had a bad run with 4 of these, notched it up to bad QC and early adopter-itis. BTD was great about helping me out with that, so kudos to them.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 82

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]