Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Schwalbe Marathon E-Plus 700c Tire

SchwalbeMarathon E-Plus 700c Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(9 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(6)
(2)
(0)
(0)
(1)
(67%)
(22%)
(0%)
(0%)
(11%)
Reviewed 1/18/2021
by dgcollum
Daily Commuter
PDX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Not bulletproof but doin' okay

I'm ONLY 500 some miles into this tire, so I cannot give it an overall approval yet, as I'm expecting 4k to 5k miles out of it. However, at the 8% to 10% mark I'm not disappointed. I'm running it on the rear, with a Schwalbe Marathon Supreme on the front (which I've reviewed favorably on this site). Yes this is on an e-bike.

The tire mounts on the rim in a straightforward manner. It takes a couple fill/deflate cycles to get it to seat evenly. That's standard for Schwalbe times, in my experience. These are not tubeless, which is okay, but I'd like the next generation to have that option.

Due to how it's made and what it's made for, the tire is not a lightweight. Not a bantamweight either. Welterweight? Yeah, especially since you gotta run a tube. BUT, it rolls, baby. One of Schwalbe's claims is that it's above average in rolling resistance. For a 2.15"/55mm balloon, I'm very happy with the speed I get oughta this thing.

The grip is almost as good as the Schwalbe Marathon Supreme. I can corner without fear on wet, slick tarmac doing 18 to 20 mph. Go ahead. Lean into it.

But there's another BUT . . . there's been a puncture. I'm not gonna make excuses for the tire, BUT there is a LOT of junk in the bike lanes and on the roads this year. More than I've seen in 31 years of commuting in the Portland OR metro. Nails of all kinds and screws and glass and sticks and whole trees and lots more leaves hiding all of it. So even with the SmartGuard and the RaceGuard I got a puncture. Nope. Not bulletproof.

When I replace this tire, I'll try to remember to update this review with any other observations.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/20/2021
by dgcollum
Daily Commuter
PDX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Not doin' okay at all

UPDATE: less than 100 miles after the previous review, the tire blew it's bead, and thus, blew off the rim. Fortunately I noticed upon riding out in the dark morning there was a "flat" spot causing a "thump" and got less than half a mile on the commute before turning around for home. Ten minutes after parking the bike, I heard a loud bang from the garage and knew without looking the tire blew. The rubber ridge holding the tire to the rim was hanging loosely from the tire.

I think part of why the bead blew off was that during the final week of this tire's life, I also had one puncture per day. Two of those required demounting the tire and patching the tube. Three of those punctures did self-seal from the sealant infused tubes.

Less than 600 miles is not stellar performance for any commuter tire, and especially poor for Schwalbe tires. Replaced this with a Marathon Supreme 28x2. Now looking at Goodyear Transit Tour tires as a possible replacement when needed.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/22/2021
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Tucson AZ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
kiss me arse, goatheads

If you like super low-maintenance like me, you probably like the idea of fewer flats, and tubeless sounds like a hassle (having to replace slime every once in a while). Living in the desert, goatheads are the bane of cyclists' existence. So to reduce punctures on my daily commute I went with these tires and Schwalbe's more puncture-resistant TPU tubes (the lighter tube weight helps offset the heavier tires a bit...although I was actually impressed that these tires aren't crazy heavy considering their much thicker construction)

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/22/2021
by Phillkhouse
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago, IL area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent puncture protection tire.

I replaced my old tires with the Schwalbe Marathon E-Plus 700c Tire for my E-Bike. Because of the added thickness, I could tell a difference in the comfort of the ride. I really appreciated the reflective sidewalls since I do a lot of night riding. The tires also roll nice. (I inflate my tires near max)

All-n-all, I would definitely recommend this tires.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/18/2020
by E-Bike Advocate
Daily Commuter
L.A.Santa Monica, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
My Pros and Cons of the Marathon E-plus

My e-bike is a harsh ridding and rigged speed pedalic. Below is my comparison of my previous light weight tires the Schwalbe Durano 700c x 32 in contrast the heaver Marathon E-plus 700c x 40.

Pros of the Marathon E-plus

-The ride is a bit insulated. Hitting a big bump or pothole at high speeds my bike maintains better control. It's as if I plow over as opposed to being launched.

-Tracking is improved, feels more sticky. I have greater confidence when unexpectedly coming across water or sand, especially on turns.

-The harsh ride of my bike a bit smother, but not nearly as much as I had hoped for. Not to blame the tires, my next speed pedalic will have a front suspension.

Cons of the Marathon E-plusi

-Modest reduction in speed top speeds on flat surfaces and hills.

-Modest reduction of battery milage.

-A bit less nimble when quick turning.

I don't have the experience any other tires for this bike, but overall I can say that the ride is much different and I prefer the change that the Marathon E-plus provides. Because of my lack of tire experiences with this bike, I can't say that these are life changing or are the best tires.

One final note, the Marathon E-plus appear to be much taller, most likely due to the added flat protection. If you have fenders or if you currant tires are tight fitting, the Marathon E-plus might not fit.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/30/2020
by jmessick
Casual Cyclist
Lawrence, KS
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Amazing difference

I replaced the stock Kenda tires on my e-bike and only wish I had done so sooner. I chose Schwalbe Marathons primarily for their puncture resistance, but they've made an amazing difference in ride and handling. They are smooth, quiet, and have a great grip on the road. A+

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/8/2020
by John
Cycling Enthusiast
v2a 8n7
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
GREAT TIRE GREAT VALUE

Tires are easy to re & re. Tires Roll very well

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/12/2021
by Carol
Cycling Enthusiast
Cartersville, GA
Overall Rating
Best Tire I've ever owned

My first cross country touring adventure. Rode well over 2,200 miles in 2019 on Old Route 66 leaving Santa Monica California To St. Louis Missouri and south east back to Atlanta. Two and a half months on the road and never had to change or fix a tire. Not a single flat, best tire I've ever had on a bike and I plan to put them on my new bike.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/17/2020
by Westelk
Daily Commuter
Portland, OR
Overall Rating
Nice rolling ebike tire

I put on a pair of Marathon E-Plus for urban riding in the winter wet, replacing Smart Sams. I feel secure riding on Portland's wet leaf strewn roads.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 50

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 503-342-9985 | [email protected]