Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Schwalbe Marathon 700c Tire (HS 420)

SchwalbeMarathon 700c Tire (HS 420)(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(64 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(54)
(9)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(84%)
(14%)
(2%)
(0%)
(0%)
Previous Page
Reviewed 9/17/2016
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Dayton, Ohio
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
so far, so good

Just purchased this tire in 700x35 to replace front Kenda OEM 700x38 tire (4500 miles, 16 yrs) on my hybrid. I am 70 yr old who rides roadspaved bike paths at 400 miles per year and was looking for a slightly higher pressure tire with a smaller contact patch to help neutralize my wife's new Trek bike performance advantage. I liked the reflective band on the side wall and tread pattern on this Schwalbe plus the good comments from other reviewers (thanks BTD). Tire arrived in about 5 days and installed with moderate difficulty on old Araya rim with new Continental tube (Schrader). Pumped up to 75 psi. Good ride quality with slightly higher crispness to the ride and higher impact harshness (Kenda was run at 65 psi). Seems to be a fair (and expected) tradeoff for improved performance. Tire looks great. May upgrade the rear to Schwalbe soon.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/28/2019
by Jimmy
Cycling Enthusiast
Mesquite NV
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent smooth rolling tires

Great puncture proof tie for long distance touring

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/13/2016
by williamo
Cycling Enthusiast
Green Mountain Falls, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Nothing comes close to these tires

I have ridden many tires in the past few years that I have picked up on cycling. None of them have been as quick rolling, comfortable, or trustworthy as these 700x35 Marathons. I took them out on a nasty ride here near Woodland Park, Colorado. Pavement, cracked pavement, a little chipseal, gravel, pea gravel, mud, snow, rocks, a climb with 1700 feet gain in 4 miles, washboard, only to be surprised that these tires handled everything with confidence and speed. Despite the weight and bulk in these tires, they are fast. I even scored a new record on a 400 foot climb that I have ridden for nearly 2 years. Don't overthink it guys and gals, get this tire if your bicycle has the clearance!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/15/2018
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Seattle, W
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Go to tires for commuting and touring

I have been commuting on Schwalbe Marathons since 2012 and have had two punctures during that time. They are a little heavy, however, the trade off with a puncture free commute is worth it. During that time I also did a 1,000 mile tour with no punctures.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/16/2018
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
michigan
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Fit on 29er rims, roll well on asphalt. Love the reflective sidewalls.

I use these to ride on asphalt and sidewalks with occasional gravel. They don't have great traction in mud, but that's to be expected with the tread design when pumped up to the higher pressure rating. Overall, seem good for touring with roads and paved trail. I've only ridden 150mi on them, but absolutely no complaints so far.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/10/2018
by Jerry
Cycling Enthusiast
Florence, KY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
One of the best bargains you're likely to find

They're Schwalbe tires (Marathons), so that pretty much says it. They ride extremely well and they're everything but puncture resistant. And BTD has the best price you're going to find anywhere.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/2/2018
by Paul Barnard
Cycling Enthusiast
New Orleans
Value Rating
Overall Rating
10 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Just Missed

I bought these tires to put on a gravel bike I built. I want to start by saying these tires have a lot going for them. They roll incredibly well for 32MM tires. I have ridden them on a variety of surfaces and they hook up great. Everything from asphalt, to grass, to gravel, to boulder strewn jeep trails, to hard pack dirt. They took a pounding over about 500 miles during my 3 week vacation in the Colorado Rockies and they show no wear, cuts or abrasions. The critical flaw is that the front tire is out of round. I mounted them before I went on my vacation and rode them for about 100 miles on the paths around New Orleans. The front tire has a very pronounced thump, thump, thump as it rotates. I put the bike in my stand, spun the tire and lowered a straight edge to the tire. That really made the bad spot stand out. There would be plenty of clearance throughout most of the tire's rotation then about an inch of the tire would rub. Had the tire not been defective, I would have given 5 stars.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/23/2018
by lebvendors
Casual Cyclist
Midwest
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
500 miles with no flats yet

I ride a set of 700 x 35's, mounted on a touring bike, across paved trails, road shoulders, grass and gravel. After 500 miles, no flats, smooth ride, only 1 needed re-inflation.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/2/2018
by commuter
Daily Commuter
El Paso, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
good solid tire

I'v only ridden a few hundred miles on them but they seem very flat resistant, very good on pavement or hard-packed surfaces not so good on loose sanddirt. I no longer worry about running over stuff in the street...

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/21/2018
by Byron
Colorado
Overall Rating
No flats so far

Ive had the tires for a few weeks with no flats so far. Live in the middle of goat head country. Arrived quickly after ordering.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/3/2018
by Allan S.
Casual Cyclist
Kent WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Purchased on sale and it was worth it.

Very good tire which I purchased to stop getting flats from blackberry thorns. The stock tires that came with the bike from BikesDirect were cheap 35c Continental mud tires and replacement was overdue.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/23/2018
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Vista, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
reliable

I commute to work every day and need a tire that resists punctures and provides good traction. The Marathon does both. Since switching to this tire, I have not had a single flat, riding over urban streets with the usual assortment of glass, puncture vines, screws, nails, etc.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/27/2018
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Colorado
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great commuter tires at a good price.

I use these tires for an 18 mile round-trip commute. They're great dependable tires for commuting. I don't know why you would look further for a commutingtouring tire.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/17/2014
by Kimber
Cycling Enthusiast
SW Missouri
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Great Tire- wears well, rolls freely, perfect for rough chip & seal roads.

there is nothing to dislike about this tire. No flats, rolls freely, inflatable to 95 lbs.,great traction, easy to install, good price.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/3/2014
by mrfixie
Cycling Enthusiast
Cincinnati, OH
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Good rugged tire, with nice tread pattern, very economical

I had read many reviews on this tire, and my commuter was ready for new rubber so I decided to try a pair. I commute 4000 miles a year, and ride in all weather, so traction in wet and slushy conditions was important. I mounted them myself, and here I encountered a fit issue - they were loose on my Alex 700C rims. I had to finesse them to get the bead seated, since they wanted to come off the rim. This could be an issue with an on-the-road flat repair. Basically I had to keep partially inflating, and pushing the high spots down into the groove to get the bead engaged on the sidewall hook before going to full riding pressure. Fiddly... That said, riding them I find the ride to be very good, they seem to roll better than the Kenda's I replaced (OEM on my Charge Mixer) and grip very well in the wet. Oh, and the reflective strip is a nice touch on a commuter tire too!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/2/2018
by Louis
Daily Commuter
Phoenix, AZ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Best Prices and Best Customer Service on the Internet

I leave no carbon footprint and haven't done so for 8 years. I have been looking to BTD for about 6 years now for all my tire needs and I chose Schwalbe over any other manufacturer. Recently I purchased a pair of these tires for a TREK that I acquired and after a short time I notice a slash in the tread of the front tire. Never had this happen previously with this makemodel of tire. I called Taylor and explained ... he told me to take a couple of images and email them to him and he would get another tire out to me immediately. I did ... and he did!!

If you are not only looking for value in all your biking needs but also desire being treated in the process as a valued customer, then do as I do and look to BTD for all of your cycling needs. You will not be disappointed!! These people really care about their customers and that's why I'm with them for life.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/25/2019
by Starbord
Daily Commuter
Los Angeles
Value Rating
Overall Rating
e-bike commuter

Great commuter tire. Good night visibility.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/20/2017
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great All-Season Commuter

I live in Seattle, so I have the luxury of experiencing the all sorts of weather patterns. I've had these tires before and they are outstanding. They were on a bike i bought from a dude that rode from Texas, and they stil had 50ish% tread. Anyways great tires, they'll let you upright off you're riding with care, and tread life is great considering the price. As is the ride quality. Rolling resistance is what you'd expect from a tire with great puncture resistance, and tread. So yeah. Great commutertourer.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/9/2017
by Boneshaker
Cycling Enthusiast
Buffalo, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Yet to put to the test, but like them so far

These tires come highly rated from all corners of the internet. I recommend them as much as I recommend most Schwalbe products, they seem like a company with integrity and their products speak for themselves. Nice tires, quality construction, good tread pattern.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/27/2017
by SouthernOregonCyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Roseburg, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
The best and most durable touring tires I have used - the tread lasts and no flats.

I do a lot of riding and touring on chip seal and rough paved roads. Other touring tires last less than 1200 miles (rear tire), the last Schwalbe Marathon lasted nearly 3,000 miles. The heavy tread lasts and I have never had a flat with this tire. It is worth the extra weight.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 87