Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Schwalbe Marathon 700c Tire (HS 420)

SchwalbeMarathon 700c Tire (HS 420)(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(78 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(65)
(9)
(3)
(1)
(0)
(83%)
(12%)
(4%)
(1%)
(0%)
Reviewed 12/29/2020
by Disco E
Cycling Enthusiast
Long Beach, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
not real impressed

I ordered the 28 but I received the 25 instead and wanted to return them but it took forever for them to come in already. I figured it would make my Specialized Source Expert Disc roll faster with the 25's so I just went with them. Well the bike seemed to roll faster then the 30's it came with and also made it more snappy and nimble, however, the ride was way more bumpy and seem to feel every little crack, pebble, seed, or whatever was on the road or bike path. Not a very comfortable ride to the point I stopped riding it and chose to ride other bikes from my stable. That being said I bought these tires last spring (2019) and probably have less than 125 miles on them. I pulled the bike out a month ago because I really missed the bike, but not the feel of the ride from the tires but after two 6 - 14 mile rides I noticed the a lump feeling from the rear wheel and saw that the tire looked to be about to pop off the rim. I rode to a bike shop to release some of the air and then reseat the tire bead and refill it with air and the tire still looked like it wanted to pop off the rim. I reduced the air pressure and limped on back home. I took the tire off the rim to find that the tire bead pulled/ripped off from the tire itself. To not have put that many miles on these tires I was very disappointed. I was told and read that Schwalbe tires are good but I am not impressed this first time out.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/7/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Milltown, NJ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Tires work great!

I purchased a replacement tire for the current tires that are on my touring bicycle. The tire works great, I have not had any flats yet and it holds a lot of weight. The reflective strip on the tire is an added bonus.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/28/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Long Beach, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Comfortable tire

If it lasts a long time I'll give it 5 stars for value. I like the reflective ring on the sidewalls. Tread works great for my urban riding.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/5/2020
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
These are wheels that will last a bit.

I use this on my fixed commuter. I don't skid, just want something to get me to and from work with an occasional romp through Forest Park on the way home. As long as I don't go on any of the gnarlier fire lanes they are just fine. Not alot of flats. Tires that help your bike go forwards and backwards, and sometimes sideways.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/15/2019
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Toyota Corolla tires

I have these mounted on a pretty nice older touring bicycle that I use as a commuter. The wheels have been replaced with modern mid-range wheelsets. I had been using a different model of Schwalbe tires until recently so I can't comment on long term reliability yet. Size is 700cx35

Tires seem well made with no obvious defects and were round. I had no problems mounting them without tools. I have read the reviews and I realise that tons of people have had problems getting these on. Maybe Schwalbe fixed the problem and over compensated? I was actually worried whether these were seating properly.

These are the Toyota Corolla of bicycle tires. Not especially nice. Definitely not sexy (see reflective strip sidewall). Cheapish, but not actually cheap.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/12/2020
by Anonymous
San Diego
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great tires

Fingers crossed, no flats yet, even with an every day 16 mile commute over some of the worst roads in San Diego.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/6/2020
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Hilly PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
A really good tire!

Hybrid 700x32, all blacktop & Oil&Chip rides. Less roll resistance than my Bontragers. Easy to mount.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/31/2020
by EJ53
Texas
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great tires...so far

I normally use Michelin or Continental tires and tubes, but they were not immediately available when I needed them. So, I ordered Schwalbe tires which I had heard of for a long time, but never tried. They�re not the lowest-priced ones, but they�re reasonable. So far they are meeting all my expectations, and I hope that they will continue to do so.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/27/2018
by Anonymous
Seattle
Overall Rating
12 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire

So far almost 500 miles on these tires and they've been great. Previous tires were getting flats on a regular basis due to shards of shale. These just keep rolling on. I did a tough ride on an old railroad road bed which had about ten miles of the old coarse rail ballast still exposed with some fines to fill it in. That was ten miles of possible pinch flats, punctures, and kicking my tires off track. I was worried about punctures but the Schwalbe's laughed it off. I'm sold.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/15/2020
by David
Pontotoc
Overall Rating
Excellent tires & customer service

Very nice tires. Smooth riding. Excellent customer service, also. The web site defaulted to our local Walmart store for shipping. It was supposedly delivered there, but no one knew anything about it. I called Bike tires direct, and the agent said that had happened before. He sent my items again and I had them in 3 or 4 days. Thanks for the great response.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/28/2017
by Louis
Daily Commuter
Phoenix, AZ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
25 of 29 customers found this review helpful.
The ONLY Bike Tire Company to deal with

I gave up motorized transportation 8 years ago for several reasons. BTD is the only company I purchase tires from because their prices are the best, their customer service is immediate on the phone and very fast via email even on a week-end, their products and Mechanics Reviews are honest and very helpful in decision making although Schwalbe Marathon's are the only tire I use! Taylor is particularly customer oriented, honest, and knowledgeable in matching a customers riding experience with particular tires that would assist the customer to enjoy their riding experience whether its regular city riding or around the world. I have ridden across the US a couple of time, east-west & north-south, ride 6 days a week when not on the open road, have ridden 1000's of miles on Schwalbe Marathon 700cx35 tires and never had a flat period. I'm 69 yrs old and a cancer survivor and can still ride 50-65 miles a day and ride unassisted for months at a time-) Check out the Schwalbe video on youtube straight from the factory and prepare to be impressed especially the last 3 mins!

Ride to your dreams ... keep your head on a swivel ... and may the wind be at your back always

I recommend these people over any other online entity because of their knowledge, experience, customer care, range of products, and their pricing. You'll enjoy the experience of purchasing quality products from this company. Look no further

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/15/2020
by Patty
Casual Cyclist
Coastal South Carolina
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Love my new tires

I bought bike tires. My tires were old and when I got a flat I bought these new ones. I love them. I was lucky that I had a neighbor who put them on for me.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/16/2020
by Ferg48
Casual Cyclist
Cincinnati
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great tires

Great tires. Decent speed and comfortable ride. Fast delivery

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/1/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire at a great price

I don't really have any complaints. I have the 38mm width. I've rolled through some sketchy areas (broken glass, potholes, etc) for over 1000 miles with no flats yet! It feels fast enough for touring/adventure rides.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/22/2020
by Michael
Daily Commuter
New Jersey
Value Rating
Overall Rating
A great tire

Hello Got my new Schwalbe Marathon 700c Tire (HS 420) 700x32 yesterday August 21, 2020 and I am loving this tire put them on last night with very little trouble and hey no pinched flats :) today the 22nd went for my grocery's with my back panniers and loved the ride .

I do all my running around with my touring bike 2008 Fuji and will buy these again.

Can't go wrong with them and the great service from biketiresdirect.com.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/6/2020
by BK
Daily Commuter
Midwest USA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Love the ride

Just put a pair of 700x35s on my Jamis Bosanova and it's like having a brand new bike. The tires were easy to get on the rims though 35mm was really pushing the fender clearance - a very tight fit. I only wish I had purchased these thousands of miles ago, the ride is so smooth and comfortable now having ditched the harsh Vittoria stock tires.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/27/2020
by Michael
Cycling Enthusiast
Brick, N.J.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
great tire

Got these on August 21 and love them .

I have run over just about everything and no flats.

Highly recommend them.

I use 700x32

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/1/2019
by tom swanson
Cycling Enthusiast
Tucson AZ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
11 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Great tires

On my first trip across the country I had 20 flat tires, on the second trip I put Schwalbe marathon plus tires on. I ended up with 3800 miles without a single flat tire, and I still got some more miles on them after I got back. My touring bike weighs 30 pounds, I was carrying about 50 pounds of gear, and I weigh about 200 pounds so they were pretty well loaded down. That was about ten years ago and I have been using Schwalbe tires every since.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/13/2019
by John B
Daily Commuter
Rochester, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
New favorite commuter tire

I have been using gator skins for probably a decade. It seems like the last couple years the quality of them were slipping a bit. I started getting a lot more flats during my 10-mile each way commute. I used to go entire years without flats and suddenly it was oncemonth. I decided to start looking around for a new commuter tire and gave these marathons a try. I've had them for a couple months now and no flats so far. I'm very happy with the handling and grip as well. The traction is definitely better than the contis and the rolling resistance doesn't seem much more than the 28mm gatorskins I was using. I also tried the marathon plus. Those are considerably heavier and have greater rolling resistance than the regular marathons. For the price, puncture resistance, and weight savings I have definitely found a new favorite commuter tire. Also, that super-bright reflective band on the sidewall gives motorists no excuse for not seeing you from the side at night, which is a huge bonus for people like me who ride to work before the sun comes up.

The only negative thing I have to say about these tires is that they are extremely difficult to mount especially the first time. It took several tries to get the bead to seat properly so I didn't have a thud-thud-thud due to the tire not being concentric with the wheel.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/29/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Northwest Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent tires but difficult to get on and off

The tires were excellent. The ordering process was easy and hassle free. Shipping was right on time.

My only gripe was that the tires were very difficult to get on and off the rims even while using talc. I asked my LBS for some advice and they sold me a tire bead jack and it worked perfectly. The tires are great with much increased traction and responsiveness. They are a few grams heavier than my old racing tires, but the increase in performance far outweighs the difference.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 80