FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Schwalbe HS159 Puncture Protection 27 x 1 1/4 Tire

SchwalbeHS159 Puncture Protection 27 x 1 1/4 Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(26 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(18)
(7)
(0)
(0)
(1)
(69%)
(27%)
(0%)
(0%)
(4%)
Reviewed 4/13/2018
by Rich T
Casual Cyclist
Woodburn, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Mount Without Tools ... But

The price was right and I wanted a tire that could be removed and mounted without tools. The rear wheel worked out super so I bought a second for the front. Unfortunately with the front the bead wanted to come off the rim when inflated. I was finally able to keep it seated by partially inflating and pushing it down until it popped over the hook. I think it's okay but worrying. Maybe they are a bit too loose on the rim? Nicely made tire otherwise.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/10/2017
by Illinois Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Central Illinois
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Schwalbe tires solid - like the refelctive side wall

Bought these to go on a recumbent for some distance touring. Have put about 1000 miles on them, mainly on paved roads with no issues. They have quite a bit of tread compared to the Gatorskins I've used on my normal road bikes. Looks like they will last a long time. Since I ride at night during the summer to stay out of the heat, (on country roads) I particularly like the reflective side wall. That was the main reason I switched. Very happy with them.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/12/2017
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great cost and quality

Awesome value and great quality

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/22/2017
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Chicago, Illinois
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Incredibly durable, quality tire

I put these Schwalbe tires on several bikes in our household that are used as utility bicycles, driven to the market, over trails, on rough country roads, and under generally adverse circumstances. I'm amazed at how durable and puncture resistant they are. I would have expected a harsh ride from puncture resistant tires due to harder compounds, but the Schwalbes ride as good as any of the more sophisticated tires I've used on other bikes. They're also very good in loose gravel and sand situations and conditions, exhibiting minimal slippage and quite amazing tracking. I'm sold on these, and will continue to use these as my go-to tires for any general purpose bikes I build in the future.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/17/2018
by Rich T
Casual Cyclist
Woodburn, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Easy To Mount And Priced Right

Got an aging Nashiki (cheap, as in free) to use for shopping without worry about it being stolen. It came with new Kenda 1x1 14 wire bead tires that were EXTREMELY hard to remove and mount and that was in the warm, dry garage. Out on the road fixing a flat would have been a real struggle. I bought one to try because of the claim that they were looser on most rims. Not too loose but just loose enough it could be mounted without tools. Just what I was hoping for. Can't speak to durability and I probably won't put a lot of miles on this bike anyway. Not crazy about the gum-wall side walls but I have no worry about fixing a flat away from home which was the main idea. Going to order a second for the front. Price is right as well! Made in Vietnam!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/6/2017
by BikeMan
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Awesome looking and nice quality.

Very cool looking tire. They seem like good quality as well.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/29/2017
by stingray66
Cycling Enthusiast
Philadelphia
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
one great tire that does not let you down

Thees tires rock 2,100 miles and Flats will buy again

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/11/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
60527
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire for a vintage bike

Tires for a restored 10 speed for my grand daughter.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/4/2014
by avantio
Cycling Enthusiast
Toronto, Canada
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Great commuter tires

Got these installed on my 80s Norco single-speed road bike. Been commuting in Toronto with them for the second summer now and they have given me zero problems. Toronto (and especially the suburban areas just outside of downtown) has some pretty patchy roads and these have been solid.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/5/2014
by Timmah
Cycling Enthusiast
Port Angeles, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire on modern rims

If you're running old steel rims or old hookless alloys, you're gonna pop the tire - any tire - off the rim at too high a pressure. Having said that, I run these guys at 95-100psi and they're rock solid on my Weinmann RM19 rims. Never flatted in 1000 miles of moderate abuse. So far so good!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/10/2013
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Peoria, Illinois
Value Rating
Overall Rating
9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Nice tires for upgrading older bikes with 27inch wheels

I have these (two pair) tires on two separate older Schwinn bikes. I have probably 2000 miles total with no flats. As some of the other reviewers noted, you do need hook beaded rims to run up to the maximum pressure recommended. I have not had any issues with the tires coming off the rims.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/25/2012
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
MD
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
nice ride, good looking tire

nice tires

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/1/2012
by Anonymous
east coast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 14 customers found this review helpful.
Ok, side wall slow leak from thorn

Side wall slow leak from thorn.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/23/2012
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
minneapolis
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
These tires are great. Easy install, smooth ride.

This was the best deal on Schwalbe tires I've come across. They are great all purpose tires. I commute 5 miles a day round trip and they are perfect.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/25/2011
by Veggiebike108
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
22 of 22 customers found this review helpful.
No hooks needed!

I reviewed these 2 years ago. Finally need replacing. A great tire for a great price!! They have never come off my smooth wall rims, just need to take an extra moment on install to line up the tire around the rim. Over 4000 miles of the worst roads Portland has to offer, from 104 degrees to 13 degrees, these tires have pulled their weight for being so inexpensive. I hop curbs at least a few times a week, and hit 45mph on my commute everyday (got to love long down hills). The red is just starting to show in the center of the tire, still not flatting!!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/20/2011
by jak
Cycling Enthusiast
peoria,il
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
3 month update

an update to my earlier post.....i have ridden on this every day ,tread is still good .ive had 1 flat in that time..not sure what punctured my tire while riding on a dilapidated brick road,but the tube had 2 puntures in it like a snake with large fangs had bitten my tire...and on that road it probably was a snake. i will buy this tire again..dont know when though as i also purchased the panaracers which are stored in my closet. the reviews on the panaracer are awesome.this tire is a good tire for my 70s road bike...lol..my bike weighs at least40lbs..i have other ones ,i cycle my cycles and pull out a maintained bikeall 70s 80s road 10 speed bikesfrom the attic usually once every 2 years ..when im bored i venture to the attic and work on theothers so i always have a bike ready to go. thought id write a longer reveiw for the browsing bored...with no proofreading

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/30/2010
by jak
Cycling Enthusiast
peoria ,il
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
good so far

i also am riding a 70s bike silke...very heavy...but with a granny gear!with this tire on the rear rim. installed normally ...and after my first ride of 5 miles no problems at all.as i ride all year round and this initial ride was in the snow didnt notice a drag due to the tread.....i have had a armadillo punture resistant tire..and to another reviewer...yes the tread will wear down and your ride will become faster....as puncture protection diminishes....i will update this review in a few months...if i remember to do so.....i purchased this tire over a year ago...but just installed it after frugally wearing down the former tire

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/5/2009
by John in Roseburg
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
19 of 19 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire Great value

I bought these tires for a 70's Schwinn 12 speed. You can't buy a better tire than Schwalbe in my opinion and these tires are a great value. They look awesome on the bike too.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/17/2009
by Veggiebike108
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
26 of 26 customers found this review helpful.
Great, tough, cheap tire...

I have put a few hundred miles on these tires commuting with a 70' road bike. Other than one poor tire install, resulting in destroyed tube, these tire are great!!! I'm around 200lbs and there is lots of broken glass on my 10 mile each way commute. No flats do to glass or other objects. I'll be getting these tires again when mine wear out. Great in the rain too!!! The whitish sidewalls add to the 70's bike style.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/3/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Faultless Performance During 6 Years of Extended Loaded Touring

I have used these tires for annual fully-loaded bike tours of from 2 to 5 months duration for the last 6 years. They wear like steel. I have had no more than 2 puncture flats the whole time and months of flat-free cycling. Last summer, I toured Europe for 5 months with a new set of these tires. They are still on my bike and working well for the daily rides I take around town.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.