Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Schwalbe HS159 Puncture Protection 27 x 1 1/4 Tire

SchwalbeHS159 Puncture Protection 27 x 1 1/4 Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(39 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(29)
(9)
(0)
(0)
(1)
(74%)
(23%)
(0%)
(0%)
(3%)
Reviewed 4/16/2021
by Jerome D
Cycling Enthusiast
Colorado
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Durable and roll well, one of the best ISO 630 tires available.

Durable and roll well, one of the best ISO 630 tires available.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/25/2021
by John
Cycling Enthusiast
Mishawaka, Indiana
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Good product, Good price, Fast delivery

Installed these on a 1970s Schwinn Traveler. They look and ride great! Thanks

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/26/2021
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Great product

Tires came on time and I was kept up to date on shipping via email. I will continue to order tires and tubes from here

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/17/2020
by Ray
Bronx New York
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Fast delivery Great a Product

As advertised, Top gear at a great price

Thanks to Bike Tires Direct

it was a pleasure doing business with you.

Ray

Bx, NY

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/28/2021
by anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
san diego
Value Rating
Overall Rating
good grip

liked them so much, i bought 2 pairs.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/19/2021
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
San Jose
Value Rating
Overall Rating
good replacement tire for an old bike.

I use these tires on a 45 year old bike that I have inherited. While I had a little trouble putting them on

they have held up well f or the rides I do.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/18/2020
by bluesjr
Cycling Enthusiast
San Francisco Bay
Value Rating
Overall Rating
favorite 27

I've bought 3 pair now for vintage bikes. My favorite 27" tire for size (fairly narrow for 1 1/4), weight and looks (really like the white). All for a great price. This tire is noticeably lighter than the Marathon in the same size, which I also own.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/8/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
easy rolling - great traction

Selecting tyres in sizes from the way past can be very challenging. Although there are other great tyres in other sizes most of the look like modern tyres. I chose the Schwalbe HS159 for performance in a retro look. not dissapointed. These tyres ride great and rolling resistance is surprising low considering how much tread is on these tyres. I strongly recommend them if you want great performance with an older look.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/18/2020
by Matt
Portland
Overall Rating
Awesome for vintage bikes

An excellent looking and performing tire. Rides great and the price is fantastic.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/24/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Reliable Bike Tire

I am very satisfied with this tire. Provides much better traction & grip on any surface, paved or gravel road.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/10/2017
by Illinois Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Central Illinois
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Schwalbe tires solid - like the refelctive side wall

Bought these to go on a recumbent for some distance touring. Have put about 1000 miles on them, mainly on paved roads with no issues. They have quite a bit of tread compared to the Gatorskins I've used on my normal road bikes. Looks like they will last a long time. Since I ride at night during the summer to stay out of the heat, (on country roads) I particularly like the reflective side wall. That was the main reason I switched. Very happy with them.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/12/2017
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great cost and quality

Awesome value and great quality

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/22/2017
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Chicago, Illinois
Value Rating
Overall Rating
9 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Incredibly durable, quality tire

I put these Schwalbe tires on several bikes in our household that are used as utility bicycles, driven to the market, over trails, on rough country roads, and under generally adverse circumstances. I'm amazed at how durable and puncture resistant they are. I would have expected a harsh ride from puncture resistant tires due to harder compounds, but the Schwalbes ride as good as any of the more sophisticated tires I've used on other bikes. They're also very good in loose gravel and sand situations and conditions, exhibiting minimal slippage and quite amazing tracking. I'm sold on these, and will continue to use these as my go-to tires for any general purpose bikes I build in the future.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/26/2020
by Sdgtrident
Portland
Overall Rating
Excellent cheap tire!

Very happy with this tire on my classic bike. Definitely resists glass and looks great.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/4/2014
by avantio
Cycling Enthusiast
Toronto, Canada
Value Rating
Overall Rating
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Great commuter tires

Got these installed on my 80s Norco single-speed road bike. Been commuting in Toronto with them for the second summer now and they have given me zero problems. Toronto (and especially the suburban areas just outside of downtown) has some pretty patchy roads and these have been solid.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/5/2014
by Timmah
Cycling Enthusiast
Port Angeles, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
12 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire on modern rims

If you're running old steel rims or old hookless alloys, you're gonna pop the tire - any tire - off the rim at too high a pressure. Having said that, I run these guys at 95-100psi and they're rock solid on my Weinmann RM19 rims. Never flatted in 1000 miles of moderate abuse. So far so good!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/13/2018
by Rich T
Casual Cyclist
Woodburn, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Mount Without Tools ... But

The price was right and I wanted a tire that could be removed and mounted without tools. The rear wheel worked out super so I bought a second for the front. Unfortunately with the front the bead wanted to come off the rim when inflated. I was finally able to keep it seated by partially inflating and pushing it down until it popped over the hook. I think it's okay but worrying. Maybe they are a bit too loose on the rim? Nicely made tire otherwise.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/17/2018
by Rich T
Casual Cyclist
Woodburn, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Easy To Mount And Priced Right

Got an aging Nashiki (cheap, as in free) to use for shopping without worry about it being stolen. It came with new Kenda 1x1 14 wire bead tires that were EXTREMELY hard to remove and mount and that was in the warm, dry garage. Out on the road fixing a flat would have been a real struggle. I bought one to try because of the claim that they were looser on most rims. Not too loose but just loose enough it could be mounted without tools. Just what I was hoping for. Can't speak to durability and I probably won't put a lot of miles on this bike anyway. Not crazy about the gum-wall side walls but I have no worry about fixing a flat away from home which was the main idea. Going to order a second for the front. Price is right as well! Made in Vietnam!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/7/2019
by Lunastar
Monterey Bay, central California
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Rolls like a 40$ tire!

I have a collection of 1980 era 27 wheel bike, Univega and Miyatas. This is the BEST deal on a tire that is round and sets into the rim well. I really like them and will buy again!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/6/2017
by BikeMan
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Awesome looking and nice quality.

Very cool looking tire. They seem like good quality as well.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 24

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 503-342-9985 | [email protected]