Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Schwalbe HS159 Puncture Protection 27 x 1 1/4 Tire

SchwalbeHS159 Puncture Protection 27 x 1 1/4 Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(40 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(30)
(9)
(0)
(0)
(1)
(75%)
(23%)
(0%)
(0%)
(3%)
Previous Page
Reviewed 11/6/2017
by BikeMan
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Awesome looking and nice quality.

Very cool looking tire. They seem like good quality as well.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/16/2019
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Central Virginia
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Tire appears to be of good quality and was easily installed.

This was the first tire I've installed in 20 years. I revived my old bicycle from 1972. It was the also the first tire I've seen folded into a box. No problems.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/29/2017
by stingray66
Cycling Enthusiast
Philadelphia
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
one great tire that does not let you down

Thees tires rock 2,100 miles and Flats will buy again

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/11/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
60527
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire for a vintage bike

Tires for a restored 10 speed for my grand daughter.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/10/2013
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Peoria, Illinois
Value Rating
Overall Rating
12 of 14 customers found this review helpful.
Nice tires for upgrading older bikes with 27inch wheels

I have these (two pair) tires on two separate older Schwinn bikes. I have probably 2000 miles total with no flats. As some of the other reviewers noted, you do need hook beaded rims to run up to the maximum pressure recommended. I have not had any issues with the tires coming off the rims.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/25/2012
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
MD
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
nice ride, good looking tire

nice tires

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/1/2012
by Anonymous
east coast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 15 customers found this review helpful.
Ok, side wall slow leak from thorn

Side wall slow leak from thorn.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/23/2012
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
minneapolis
Value Rating
Overall Rating
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
These tires are great. Easy install, smooth ride.

This was the best deal on Schwalbe tires I've come across. They are great all purpose tires. I commute 5 miles a day round trip and they are perfect.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/25/2011
by Veggiebike108
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
27 of 27 customers found this review helpful.
No hooks needed!

I reviewed these 2 years ago. Finally need replacing. A great tire for a great price!! They have never come off my smooth wall rims, just need to take an extra moment on install to line up the tire around the rim. Over 4000 miles of the worst roads Portland has to offer, from 104 degrees to 13 degrees, these tires have pulled their weight for being so inexpensive. I hop curbs at least a few times a week, and hit 45mph on my commute everyday (got to love long down hills). The red is just starting to show in the center of the tire, still not flatting!!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/20/2011
by jak
Cycling Enthusiast
peoria,il
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
3 month update

an update to my earlier post.....i have ridden on this every day ,tread is still good .ive had 1 flat in that time..not sure what punctured my tire while riding on a dilapidated brick road,but the tube had 2 puntures in it like a snake with large fangs had bitten my tire...and on that road it probably was a snake. i will buy this tire again..dont know when though as i also purchased the panaracers which are stored in my closet. the reviews on the panaracer are awesome.this tire is a good tire for my 70s road bike...lol..my bike weighs at least40lbs..i have other ones ,i cycle my cycles and pull out a maintained bikeall 70s 80s road 10 speed bikesfrom the attic usually once every 2 years ..when im bored i venture to the attic and work on theothers so i always have a bike ready to go. thought id write a longer reveiw for the browsing bored...with no proofreading

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/30/2010
by jak
Cycling Enthusiast
peoria ,il
Value Rating
Overall Rating
8 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
good so far

i also am riding a 70s bike silke...very heavy...but with a granny gear!with this tire on the rear rim. installed normally ...and after my first ride of 5 miles no problems at all.as i ride all year round and this initial ride was in the snow didnt notice a drag due to the tread.....i have had a armadillo punture resistant tire..and to another reviewer...yes the tread will wear down and your ride will become faster....as puncture protection diminishes....i will update this review in a few months...if i remember to do so.....i purchased this tire over a year ago...but just installed it after frugally wearing down the former tire

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/5/2009
by John in Roseburg
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
20 of 20 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire Great value

I bought these tires for a 70's Schwinn 12 speed. You can't buy a better tire than Schwalbe in my opinion and these tires are a great value. They look awesome on the bike too.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/17/2009
by Veggiebike108
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
28 of 28 customers found this review helpful.
Great, tough, cheap tire...

I have put a few hundred miles on these tires commuting with a 70' road bike. Other than one poor tire install, resulting in destroyed tube, these tire are great!!! I'm around 200lbs and there is lots of broken glass on my 10 mile each way commute. No flats do to glass or other objects. I'll be getting these tires again when mine wear out. Great in the rain too!!! The whitish sidewalls add to the 70's bike style.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/15/2021
by Anonymous
Eastern Washington
Overall Rating
Classic looks and tough

Classic design and dimensions with modern durability and quality. I needed 27x1 1/4 tires for my vintage Raleigh that has Campy hubs and Mavic wheels that I had built up in the late 1980s from what was then already NOS. There are few options anymore, but these fit the bill and they look like the original tires. It is not an actual gumwall, but it looks the same, and it is tougher and longer lasting than the Panaracers that I had before. Good tread design makes these useful for shoulder-season riding on my Raleigh Grand Prix--reminds me of when that bike was new and faster than most other bikes that I encountered out on the roads.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/3/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Faultless Performance During 6 Years of Extended Loaded Touring

I have used these tires for annual fully-loaded bike tours of from 2 to 5 months duration for the last 6 years. They wear like steel. I have had no more than 2 puncture flats the whole time and months of flat-free cycling. Last summer, I toured Europe for 5 months with a new set of these tires. They are still on my bike and working well for the daily rides I take around town.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/7/2018
by Frank F.
Casual Cyclist
Laramie, WY
Overall Rating
0 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Fits Schwinn rims

Ride a 1969 Schwinn Varsity and have had a hard time finding tires to fit the 27 rim. Every one that I tried, except for the HS159, would not seat properly and caused a thump as the wheel rotated, which got worse at higher speeds. Was about to the point of trying to stretch the tire with a jack, but knew that the results may not be so good!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/14/2014
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent tires for commuting

I'm riding on these for the 2nd season on my 80s Norco road bike. I ride in various parts of Toronto, including industrial areas with some rough patches of road, which also often has tiny bits of glass and other debris from auto shops and factories. Have not had any problems whatsoever so far, and have ridden them in rain with zero problems. The puncture protection is very very helpful for commuting through the city and especially into suburban or industrial areas. I would buy them again for their functionality and trustworthiness.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/10/2017
by Anonymous
chicagoland
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Exceeded my expecatations

Great product! Purchased for an old 1976 full Dura Ace Panasonic professional. Used extensively during a stay on Prince Edward Island. On the road or along the confederation trail (gravel) these tires performed exceptionally well. I rode these at max pressure of 85 psi on the asphalt and 65 psi on the gravel. These tires now have over 600 miles logged. I dont really care about the whitewalls but some reading this review might like it especially for an old cromemoly bike.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/11/2012
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Fort Wayne Indiana.
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Working just Fine for me

These tires seems to work just fine for me I ride to and from work about 5-6 miles and it seems like a very smooth ride I have not had a flat yet and with these tires i hope i won't, I'm about to put it up for winter I live in Indiana so it get's a little to cold to ride this time of year. But over all I really enjoy the ride I get from these Tires.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/1/2009
by tomovich
Casual Cyclist
Big Sky Country
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great for the old Schwinn and a excellent tirevalue combo!

Rubber is just the right consistency traction and tread pattern is great for concrete with small gravel and dust like here. Great tire for the money!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 78

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 503-342-9985 | [email protected]