Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Salsa Gel Cork Bar Handlebar Tape

SalsaGel Cork Bar Handlebar Tape(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(15 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(11)
(4)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(73%)
(27%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 9/10/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Detroit, MI
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great tape from a newbie

Very little experience wrapping bars... this went on easy, no problems whatsoever. Suggest it to anyone because it was easy and not expensive in case you really mess it up and have to try again!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/22/2020
by Norcal rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Auburn Ca
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Good stuff

Installing bar tape is not my forte. This tape is most likely the easiest to wrap (if you are a bar tape nerd like me). It stretches a lot, although don't test it's limits as it can tear. I had about 4 inches left over when I reached the top of my 44 bars. And I wrapped it fairly thick. I have arthritis in my right hand and gel tape helps take out the road shock. It has a great feel to it in dry or wet weather. Long lasting, but if you pull it off and on a couple of times it will crimp up like a wet noodle. Just install it and leave it be. Like I said good stuff and great price here at BDT.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/24/2020
by Jon
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Fine product for casual touring

Fine tape for touring and cruzin on the drop bars

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/7/2017
by Zatoichi
Cycling Enthusiast
Sierra Foothills, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
The good stuff.

Very happy that BTD is now carrying this tape. I haven't wrapped bars in a long time, but this tape went on easily (plenty of stretch without tearing, easy to redo if you don't get it quite right). There appears to be plenty of length if you need it for wider bars (mine are 40cm and I had quite a bit left over). It looks good with the embossed logos, and is easy on the hands. I don't know yet how easy it is to clean (I have the brown, which probably doesn't show dirt as much).

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/17/2019
by RG
Cycling Enthusiast
Denver, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Top quality feel and grip on road rides.

Use on my road bike all year round. Wears well and reduces vibration.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/2/2018
by Bmniedbalski
Jackson, MO
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Nice tape

I bought the dark brown, and I bought it for the looks. Looks like cork, or leather. Mates well with the color scheme of my bike. I have an old Schwann Le Tour in a dark blue. The dark brown goes great with the dark blue, and my dark brown leather saddle. This was my first time ever retaping a set of handlebars, and was happy with the results-videos on YouTube. Tape is comfortable to ride with, and is a good vibration dampner. Would recommend.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/6/2018
by Tom halter
Amherst, ny
Overall Rating
Soft and durable.

This is the second purchase of the salsa handlebar raps. The first ones have been on the bike for over a year.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/18/2018
by Steve
Cycling Enthusiast
columbus ohio
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
excellent cushion and grip

After trying many bar tapes, I settled on Salsa as it is long enough , cushy enough and stays put. It's actually more cushy than Bontrager double gel and grippier

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/14/2018
by Shaun Thompson
Cycling Enthusiast
NE Colorado
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Feels Good!

I like the cork feel with the gel backing. Comfortable and I expect it to be durable as well.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/26/2018
by Merlin58
Cycling Enthusiast
Kalamazoo, Mi
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Top Quality

Salsa Gel Cork Handlebar tap is top quality. I am on the bars for over 5k miles a year in all types of weather. I haven't found a more durable bar tape. The black can sometime be difficult to fine but BTD always seems to have it in stock with only about a week delay.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/19/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Road & gravel
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Like the look and feel

I like the soft feel of this tape. This is the second time I have purchased it. It may be because I didn't do the wrap so well the first time, but the tape did move and the edges rounded up. I paid much closer attention to spiral direction and pitch of the spiral. Hopefully, this will help is stay in place better this time.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/22/2017
by Jon
Daily Commuter
Nashville, TN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Brown Gel Tape

This finished the look on my commuter bike with its new brown Brooks B17 saddle. Very comfortable tape and easy to wrap. No issues at all.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/27/2017
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Very comfortable

Great product for the price.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/3/2018
by Anonymous
Iowa
Overall Rating
The best cork tape

This is the best cork tape I've tried so far and it comes in a lot of different colors.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/16/2019
by Andy
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, Oregon
Overall Rating
Perfect bar tape

This has been an awesome bar tape that I have put on ALL my bikes! Great product!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 20