Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
Salsa Gel Cork Bar Handlebar Tape

SalsaGel Cork Bar Handlebar Tape(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(31 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(23)
(8)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(74%)
(26%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 1/5/2024
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
St. Louis, MO, USA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Good Quality but a bit Thick to Me

Very good quality and good value. It seems a bit thick to my liking as I was replacing some original thin Giant tape. Going to switch back to thinner tape, but this is a high-quality product. Just be aware it is on the thicker side.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Stay Surly, my friend

Reviewed 10/26/2023
by Stay Surly, my friend
Cycling Enthusiast
Planet Earth (3rd from Sun)
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Life changing. I thought only becoming a parent could bring this level of constant joy.

How I lived before I found this tape, I do not remember. I know I did not live well. The comfort is only surpassed by the visual statement. It so compliments my Moscow Mug Surly Crosscheck. All of the other riders think I am mighty grand.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by mech130

Reviewed 1/19/2024
by mech130
Cycling Enthusiast
Western, NJ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Salsa Bar Tape

Installed this tape on a friends Vaya. It wrapped well, just the right cushion and pleasing to the eye.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 10/12/2023
by Anonymous
Boston MA
Overall Rating
Favorite bar tape!

Cushy bar tape with good stretch and a cheap price tag

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by [email protected]

Reviewed 6/7/2022
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, BC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
great mid-priced bar tape

Salsa is a great priced, good quality bar tape. It lasts quite a while, stretches nicely for easy bar wrapping, and looks sharp. I like the feel on my touring bike (also used for around town) as it is really comfy with nice padding. I live in the PNW, so rain is a consideration - and it is comparable to other cork tapes when wet.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Nick

Reviewed 4/13/2022
by Nick
Cycling Enthusiast
Kansas City
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Awesome Tape

Orange really sticks out and matches the accents on my bike! Wrap is forgiving allow multiple wrap attempts to get it right. Tape is lightweight & thick cushioned which kills bumpy road chatter, no need for overwrapping bars with this tape.

When tape gets dirty a little soap & medium stiff brush has tape looking nearly new again!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Rich Beliveau

Reviewed 2/3/2022
by Rich Beliveau
Competitive Racer
Clearwater, FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great Quality, Extra Cushion on the hands! Very Bright Orange Color.

Picked up the Handlebar tape for my road bike. The Orange Color is very bright and easy to spot. This has more comfort than some of the other Tapes I've used in the past. More cushion for bumpy roads. Only been using a few weeks but its holding up well during the first 100 miles.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Chadderbox

Reviewed 8/22/2021
by Chadderbox
Boston
Overall Rating
Great tape!

Rich brown tape compliments my flash blue canyon bike perfectly. Easy to put on with the right amount of stretch. Good hand feel. I'd buy it again!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Zatoichi

Reviewed 1/7/2017
by Zatoichi
Cycling Enthusiast
Sierra Foothills, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
The good stuff.

Very happy that BTD is now carrying this tape. I haven't wrapped bars in a long time, but this tape went on easily (plenty of stretch without tearing, easy to redo if you don't get it quite right). There appears to be plenty of length if you need it for wider bars (mine are 40cm and I had quite a bit left over). It looks good with the embossed logos, and is easy on the hands. I don't know yet how easy it is to clean (I have the brown, which probably doesn't show dirt as much).

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Chirard

Reviewed 2/25/2021
by Chirard
Daily Commuter
Missouri
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Good Feel but Lacks Adhesive

I got the dark brown, which looks good with my forest green Surly, but there is a a problem applying it. It streches enough but the backing is not sticky enough to hold it in place. I used adhesive on both ends of it; I hope that was enough. If they fixed that, I'd give it my full recommendation, but not as it is now.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Bill58

Reviewed 10/29/2020
by Bill58
Cycling Enthusiast
Pittsburgh PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great feel and easy install.

I have been using gel cork bar tape for many years. It's easy to keep good tension on the tape during installation. The tape lays flat without wrinkling. The cushioning is good for vibration absorption without being overly thick.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 9/10/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Detroit, MI
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great tape from a newbie

Very little experience wrapping bars... this went on easy, no problems whatsoever. Suggest it to anyone because it was easy and not expensive in case you really mess it up and have to try again!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by twoheadedbike

Reviewed 5/12/2022
by twoheadedbike
Cycling Enthusiast
Mattawan, MI
Value Rating
Overall Rating
comfortable and lasts a long time

We love this Salsa Gel Cork Tape! We have on several tandems and tape is still going after 13 years and 65,000 miles.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Norcal rider

Reviewed 5/22/2020
by Norcal rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Auburn Ca
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Good stuff

Installing bar tape is not my forte. This tape is most likely the easiest to wrap (if you are a bar tape nerd like me). It stretches a lot, although don't test it's limits as it can tear. I had about 4 inches left over when I reached the top of my 44 bars. And I wrapped it fairly thick. I have arthritis in my right hand and gel tape helps take out the road shock. It has a great feel to it in dry or wet weather. Long lasting, but if you pull it off and on a couple of times it will crimp up like a wet noodle. Just install it and leave it be. Like I said good stuff and great price here at BDT.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Kathy

Reviewed 1/8/2022
by Kathy
Redlands, CA
Overall Rating
Comfortable and durable.

I had this tape on another bike and found it to be well cushioned and really durable; so, I put this tape on a new bike to replace a lessor quality tape.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Chad

Reviewed 10/8/2021
by Chad
Boston
Overall Rating
Comfy tape!

I ordered the brown and it looks AMAZING on my Flash Blue Canyon. Goes on easy and has some good stretch to be able to apply it correctly. Will buy again.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by RG

Reviewed 1/17/2019
by RG
Cycling Enthusiast
Denver, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Top quality feel and grip on road rides.

Use on my road bike all year round. Wears well and reduces vibration.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Bmniedbalski

Reviewed 9/2/2018
by Bmniedbalski
Jackson, MO
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Nice tape

I bought the dark brown, and I bought it for the looks. Looks like cork, or leather. Mates well with the color scheme of my bike. I have an old Schwann Le Tour in a dark blue. The dark brown goes great with the dark blue, and my dark brown leather saddle. This was my first time ever retaping a set of handlebars, and was happy with the results-videos on YouTube. Tape is comfortable to ride with, and is a good vibration dampner. Would recommend.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Tom halter

Reviewed 8/6/2018
by Tom halter
Amherst, ny
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Soft and durable.

This is the second purchase of the salsa handlebar raps. The first ones have been on the bike for over a year.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Steve

Reviewed 6/18/2018
by Steve
Cycling Enthusiast
columbus ohio
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
excellent cushion and grip

After trying many bar tapes, I settled on Salsa as it is long enough , cushy enough and stays put. It's actually more cushy than Bontrager double gel and grippier

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]