FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
ProGold Xtreme Chain Lubricant

ProGoldXtreme Chain Lubricant(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(11 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(9)
(2)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(82%)
(18%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 12/7/2012
by bent (BikeTiresDirect.com Staff)
Cycling Enthusiast
PDX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
great lube for wet conditions

i have used the regular prolink for years and it works great in dry conditions but does not last long in wet conditions. the xtreme is not noticeably thicker coming out of the bottle but definitely last longer in wet conditions, about 2 to 3 times longer for me. since it is still a thin bodied lube does not attract much dirt unlike some of the thicker bodied lubes i have used for wet weather riding in the past. i would recommend this to anyone who likes a thin bodied lube that can perform in wet conditions.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/29/2014
by tracya
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great chain lube for wet and muddy conditions

I normally use ProGold on all my road bikes, but use this on my mountain bike and commuter. It's a little thicker and seems to wear better for wet and muddy conditions.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/7/2013
by NYC commuter
Cycling Enthusiast
NYC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Do you store your bike outdoor? Commute in weather? U need it

I store the commute bike outside (balcony) so the chain loses lube over time. That and the fact that I am commuting in weather -although typically not in pouring rain. I have gradually moved from dry lube, to ProGold, and now to the 'Xtreme' product. It keeps working longer. Put it on liberally, wipe thoroughly, then let it sit overnight before you ride.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/6/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Illinois
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great lube

Long lasting lube , holds up well

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/3/2017
by Joe
SC
Overall Rating
IRONMAN Tested

All I ever use anymore. Chain runs clean and you push more watts.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/28/2016
by Paul
Competitive Racer
MD
Value Rating
Overall Rating
The best lube for wet conditions

ProGold ProLink is my go-to chain lube, and it generally does fine in light rain. The ProGold Xtreme holds up much better in heavier rain and, like the lighter weight variety, doesn't gum up your drivetrain. The Xtreme does a great job preventing corrosion, which is a boon for bike commuters who don't have time to dry off and re-lube their chains after every wet ride to work...This is one of those rare products that sets the bar high and lives up to its promise.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/19/2015
by tracya
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great lube for wet conditions.

I've tried multiple lubes over the years but always go back to this one. It wears well and doesn't build up or leave a mess. The Xtreme version works particularly well in wet conditions.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/10/2015
by nhroadpb
Cycling Enthusiast
NH
Value Rating
Overall Rating
great product

Just discovered this product that has all the qualities of 'regular' Pro-Link with more durability. Impreceptible viscosity increase and I am getting 200 New England winter road miles in JanyFeb per application. Road chemicals, slush, and grime make little impact and the product stays on the chain! And as with 'regular' Pro-Link, cleanup is a quick wipe, dry, re-lube.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/15/2014
by roddy
Competitive Racer
Morgan Hill, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Perfect for long dirty MTB rides!

Lasts 30 miles in hard CX racing! Haven't found anything else that lasts that long in tough conditions.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/14/2014
by oaktowncyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Oakland, Calif.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great wet weather lube

Am a big fan of the regular Pro Gold, so this was a no brainer for winter. Definitely recommend if you don't want to spend as much on Dumonde or others.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/8/2014
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
austin, tx
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
works xtreme-ly well

does its job. lasts a long while between lubes. chain stays clean and dry under most conditions. bike washing and immersion will wash it out. lube afterwards.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.