Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
PRO Torque Wrench

PROTorque Wrench(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(60 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(40)
(15)
(3)
(1)
(1)
(67%)
(25%)
(5%)
(2%)
(2%)
Reviewed 8/13/2020
by scafats
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Works perfect

Great Torque wrench. Good positive "click" feedback when you reach the proper torque. No guesswork. Easy to set and easy to read. Nice storage box. Has most sockets but I purchased more sizes i needed.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/26/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Must have tool

This is by far the best, simple to use, versatile and reasonably priced torque tool I have ever owned.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/9/2019
by Lance_Notstrong
Los Angeles
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great torque wrench

I have spin doctor torque wrench already but found the dial to be hard to get it to the right torque. The dial on this pro wrench is easier to read the correct torque need especially when wrenching down on carbon pieces and parts.

Never screw things on a carbon bike without a torque wrench. The wrench be a little more than one would want to spend on a wrench but a reliable and accurate one is worth the cost and will save you hundreds because no one wants to replace expensive CF parts because they didnt use the right tools.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/28/2019
by Merlin
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Perfect for bicycle work.

I've had several torque wrenches over the years, mostly to work on motorcycles. Also had a Park beam style wrench for bicycles.

However this wrench is the one! Wide range of torque and includes common size bits.

I'm VERY happy with this purchase!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/29/2019
by Steven D
East Setauket NY
Overall Rating
Almost 5 stars

The convenience of the case holding the bits and extension is 5 stars, but doesnt lock closed (1star)

Made by a Shimano subsidiary, 5 stars. Loose ratchet connection. Too much wiggle for my confidence in accuracy of torque (1 star). So as an average I feel it is a 3-4 star device for the money. Little things can easily bring it to 5 stars. Manufacturer just needs to dial these small elements in. My higher end local bike shop says they use it all the time for past 2 years with no issue. That gives me some comfort.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/15/2018
by Six-O
SE Texas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Good torque wrench for my personal needs.

I am enjoying the use of this torque wrench. The dial setting takes a little understanding at first, but no problems thereafter. User should note that when the torque setting is exceeded, the handle will break over in a slight clockwise motion from the head. That is normal and discernable to the user. There is not a loud click that some brands of torque wrenches exhibit.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/17/2017
by Lee-M
American Midwest
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Essential for Carbon Fiber Bike Owners

Nice, heavy-duty tool, easy to use. A vital addition to your bike toolkit, if you plan to safely make any adjustments on your carbon fiber Bike.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/26/2017
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
New York, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
quick & accurate

price was decent for a tool that all cyclists should have in their bag. the accuracy of shimano products are top notch without the park tools premium price.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/20/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern New Hampshire
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
This tool is an standard issue item.

I have replaced 90% of the parts of my 10 year old road bike in the past year. After a lot of online research, the PRO Torque Wrench seems to be a standard issue item. This type of torque wrench is a must have tool if you are working with carbon fiber. I found it to be a good value with the included sockets and extension. The tool performed as it was advertized. I felt confident in tightening up parts to their recommended tension. This coming from a amatuer bicycle mechanic with long history of over tightening and destroying parts.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/10/2017
by Robin
Cycling Enthusiast
St. George & Park City - Utah
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
A must have in the bike tool list!

I purchased the Pro Torque Wrench to loosen and tighten my seat post each time I load my road bikes in my car. I travel with my bikes inside our car and the removal of the seat postseat is required. The bike frames and seat posts are all graphite and need careful tightening, so using the torque wrench eliminates the guesswork.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/23/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
So Idaho
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great for simple repairs

This product works to dial in torque. Easy to use. I went to YouTube to get additional user information as the wrench contains minimal info. Good buy from BTD.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/10/2019
by rickrides
Cycling Enthusiast
SF Bat Area, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Handy but very accurate.

Nice product but it isn't very accurate. I tested it against 3 other torque wrenches and I had to set it at 7nm to get 5nm. Two of the torque tools were small 5nm click wrenches. The other was a Park TW2 which is a 38 drive beam type that I don't think is available anymore. I bought this because it is a lot more handy than my Park tool.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/25/2019
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Simple peace of mind

High quality Shimano product. I feel better now about cranking down on stem and seatpost bolts. Nice selection of bits and hardy travel case.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/28/2015
by WSBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 32 customers found this review helpful.
Dangerously inadequate instructions

I am admittedly new to using a torque wrench but needed to insure a troublesome seat post was tight enough to eliminate constant slippage. Not knowing how to use it, I dutifully read the instructions. Unfortunately, although provided in a couple dozen languages, it doesn't say much except to check out their website. Even more unfortunately the website was no more than a list of links to other websites. Interestingly it now appears to be back on line, but still no more than an online copy of their paper instructions provided with the product. So just trying it on my own, the seat post clamp broke, so I guess that problem has been solved in forcing me to buy a better seat post.

Fortunately, a friendly bike shop mechanic was able to quickly show me how it works and speculate on what might have gone wrong with my initial use. He assured me it is a good product, so I will continue to experiment with it. This assurance is the only reason for giving this product even 2 stars. The learning curve can be pricey and thus the value rating.

Finally, shame on PRO for providing instructions that are appropriate only for those who don't already know how to use the tool. But then if their market is only professional shop mechanics. So if you are not, just beware.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/21/2015
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Safety at a reasonable price

Once, I almost crashed because my handlebars weren't properly tightened. Since then, I over-tighten the bolts to prevent a repeat of the problem. I can't tell you how many times I've snapped bolts I tightened down too hard. We travel a lot to cycle, so I'm frequently re-attaching my handlebars to the stem. Now I can get the torque just right!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/20/2015
by jackw007
Walnut Creek, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Super easy to use. Perfect for setting torque exactly to spec.

Very easy to dial in the exact torque setting you need. The wrench clicks when it reaches that torque and won't torque tighter unless you reset it accordingly.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/20/2015
by FuelFool
Competitive Racer
Arden, NC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
As expected.

Been wanting a high-quality torque wrench for years. Up until now i have used only the small torque keys from Bontrager and Ritchey. For bigger stuff I have just guessed and prayed! I bought the above PRO wrench when it was featured on a daily special. It works as expected, however, the hex heads on the bits do not feel quite as precise as other high-quality hex keys I have used in the past. Nevertheless, it does the job for those handful of times you need something more than the usual 5-6nm.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/20/2015
by Anonymous
Kansas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Handy torque wrench

Convenient to have all sizes in one tool box. Excellent wrench for graphite bikes

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/28/2015
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 19 customers found this review helpful.
Looks like another brand but for a lot less!

Disclaimer I have not actually used this product-the 3 star rating is just a placeholder. That said, I just paid a lot more for a Pedro's Demi Torque Wrench that came a la carte. This wrench appears to be exactly the same thing but you get all the drivers, too-and for a whole lot less. The Pedro's works great and I'm very happy with it except for the higher price and lack of drivers. I wish I'd seen this before buy the Pedro's.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/2/2018
by Lavick
Cycling Enthusiast
NYNJ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Carbon....needs a torque wrench

Will give a review when I give this wrench a bit more use. But seems to work fine. It's a bit pricier then others on the web but are the others accurate? I'd have to over tighten and crack a part.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 96

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 503-342-9985 | [email protected]