Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Portland Design Works Full Metal 700c Fenders

Portland Design WorksFull Metal 700c Fenders(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(45 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(26)
(14)
(5)
(0)
(0)
(58%)
(31%)
(11%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 6/9/2019
by PK-Cyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
A Solid Set of Fenders

I liked everything about the fenders except for a few minor details I'll share later. So I should give these 4.5 stars.

The fenders and the installation hardware were top notch. And as an added bonus, the installation was very easy unlike my other fenders. The only thing I had to was lose 14 of the stays (a few strokes w hacksaw)

I put them on my 2013 Salsa Vaya touring bike. I got these to replace my Handsome Mud Butlers because they didn't provide enough wheel coverage. These definitely provide ample coverage to keep sprays away from chainrings and bottom bracket. And so far they are rock solid and I don't see any reason why they'd be otherwise way down the road.

The design, finish, and hardware were top notch as well. I love the matte finish and the angular shape over the conventional round shape. They made my bike look classy and confident at the same time.

Ok I'm very nit picky when it comes to product design. I wish the fender stays were black like the fenders. The bare silver aluminum looks incongruous and conspicuous. The silver stays would be fine for the gray fenders though. Second, they don't provide a bolt to fasten the rear fender to the crossbar on the chainstays, they give you a piece of plastic wire tie (yuck). So I can sleep peacefully at night, I found a stainless steel bolt to attach it.

Other than the aforementioned minor details, these are the best metal fenders to date. So, if you want a set of classy, easy to install fenders w ample coverage get them wo reservation.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/15/2019
by Wharfrat
Casual Cyclist
Gaston, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Well designed leading to straight-foward installation

Fenders are pretty much a necessity in the Pacific Northwest and these full metal fenders from Portland Design Works seem to be up to the task for extended use. Extra hardware included to adapt to a variety of installations. I deducted 1 star for the black crinkle finish on mine. Even though I was reasonably careful during the installation, the bracket for the rear fender did rub through the finish, however, it was hardly noticeable when installed on the bike. I worry about how well the finish will hold up over time. But I know the fenders will work as intended.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/21/2019
by Phil
Portland Oregon area
Overall Rating
Well built, difficult installation

These are very high quality, aluminum fenders that are very study. That being said, if these fenders don't easily fit your bike, be prepared to spend hours modifying them to fit your bike. My Trek Domane has hidden fender connections and disc brakes. They're listed on the Trek website as an option for fenders. I needed to saw, drill, cut, bend these fenders in order for them to fit properly and even then tire clearance is marginal. But once installed they provide excellent protection from rain and grit getting kicked up. Previously I used the clip-on mini fenders that did little to protect you from rain and mud and these are much better.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/5/2018
by ericf
Daily Commuter
Upstate NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great sturdy fenders. More robust mounting than SKS but you may need extra stuff for discs

These fenders are good looking and well made. The 'City' version works with knobby 35s (might go higher, haven't tried it).

I like the mounting system on these fenders - you aren't expected to bend the mounting arms like you are with the SKS's. It's a little bulkier, but it's more robust and way less of a pain.

My only issue with these fenders is that I couldn't affix the posts down near the dropouts on my front fork because the disc brake is in the way. The manual mentions an optional kit to do that, and I'm sure I could have figured something out at the hardware store, but I'd have been much happier had these come in the box.

As it was, my fork has mounting holes mid-fork as well, I used those, and it works, but the front fender is rattly and not as stable as it should be.

The disc brakes didn't create a problem in the back at all - because of the angle of entry for the support, they didn't get in the way there, and no extra fiddling was needed.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/26/2019
by Terry
Rural Oregon
Overall Rating
Good fenders

Fenders were fairly easy to install and adjust. Good directions. Even using care, the finish rubbed off a bit near the brace mounting, so it could definitely be improved.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/1/2017
by Moots1
Seattle
Overall Rating
High quality

I've had several sets of fenders and believe these are the highest quality in terms of installation and materials. We know fenders in Seattle and I use these on my commute bike which gets the most miles - good coverage and flat black looks sweet

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/22/2017
by Horia Neamtu
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great fenders in need of some extra hardware

Purchased the wide (City) fenders to go on a Fyxation Crusher gravel bike.

Fenders are great, assembly was simple, rear fender mounting was also simple.

I am deducting 1 star from both overall and value because at this price I would expect more options for mounting the front fender.

My bike has a fork fender mounting hole on the back of the fork. The hole is higher than the included L tab hole and too low for the Portland Design Works long L tab. I am guessing the hole on the back situation is typical of carbon forks designed for disk brakes. It seems the front fender is designed for caliper brakes, only.

At this price, PDW should include maybe 1-2 other L brackets of different heights, to accommodate the various forks out there. There could also be one more mounting option for the L bracket on the front fender for hole on the back forks - as it stands the fender shifts down by the width of the fork crown.

I solved my front fender mounting problem by mounting the original L bracket on top of the fender, using some plumbing faucet seals to raise it about 4 mm. That they are made of rubber should help with rattles. Had to find a short metal strip for the inside of the fender, such that the force of the 2 nuts is distributed over a larger fender surface.

Once mounted, the fenders have stayed put and there is no rattling. Currently using them with Conti tires that measure about 30mm. To my eye, the fenders could take tires up to 35-38 mm, but I have not tried it yet.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/3/2016
by WSEA
Competitive Racer
seattle
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Nice fender but short front

The fenders are nice and built really well. My biggest issue the length of the front fender before the fork. Most of the water on my shoes comes from the spray off the front tire. Longboards seem to have to longest front to prevent a very heavy spray and these fall very short. Its weird that most fender companies don't consider the front tire spray.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/23/2019
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Light and sturdy..

Always challenging to mount fenders to a race bike. But I like these because they're light and sturdy. After some custom manipulation they're installed and working great.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/30/2016
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
NYC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Best Full-Coverage Fenders for Road Bike

Installation was easy. The step-by-step instructions were clear and everything went together as expected the first time, which never happens to me. Clearance with 23C road tires is fine. They are beautifully made and their full coverage was a blessing today on salt-covered roads, wet with snow run-off. After 2 hours my feet and back were completely dry and the bike much cleaner than I expected.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/2/2018
by tryg.kouhlmann
Daily Commuter
seattle
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Good for the Commuter , Work well nice design

Attached to my gravel bike to keep me dry during the rain season in the Pacific NW

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/10/2018
by lars
Cycling Enthusiast
Beaverton, Bend, Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Planning ahead for the rainy season

Hard to rain fenders when it has not rained in weeks. I bought these fenders for a new multi-purpose bike (gravel, mud, rain, etc) in anticipation of the rainy season. They fit the bike well and I expect them will be permanently mounted as soon as the the monsoon season arrives.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/18/2018
by Scotty K
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston, MA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Beautiful fenders

I've installed multiple fenders, and this was one of the easier ones to put on. It's pricey, yes (hence the 4 stars on value), but I expect it to last longer than the plastic ones do.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/10/2018
by ALAN
Gresham
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Good enough

Hard to have a truely universal fit. Was a little challenging fitting rear fender stays around my disc brakes. But still can't mount front fender because mounting bracket for fork is not long enough to reach the hole. Would imagine no problem with rim brake bikes.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/16/2018
by Anonymous
seattle
Overall Rating
Solid and great looking

Have had no issues thus far - just lots of great time riding outside with dry feet and ass!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/24/2014
by ebae
Competitive Racer
MD
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Very nice fenders

The PDW fenders were a bit of a hassle to install. The 23c tires on my bike had stretched to the point that the fenders would not fit on my '08 Madone. No problems after using a new tire. Changing tires will be a pain. Fenders don't work with bolt on axles...like my fixie. Great coverage makes it worth it though.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/19/2014
by wbdowntown
Competitive Racer
Alexandria, VA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Great full cover fenders

Great looking and solidly built. These fenders attach without too much fuss. As for size, I started them off with 25mm tires after hearing a few folks managed to get them to fit. The front wheel fit easily with plenty of clearance between the tire and the fender. The rear wheel was a little more difficult to get to work, and with minimal clearance. To really work without rubbing I had to run the tire pressure at 80-90psi instead of 100-110psi. In the end I went back to 23mm tires and they work wonderfully.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/2/2013
by Dolan in PDX
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Great for their intended purpose

These fenders are very well designed and made, and will do a great job providing full coverage on a road bike with fairly shorts stays. People behind you in the paceline will thank you. However, there are a few caveats due to the fact that they are designed for a single purpose. First is that if your stays are a bit longer (cross bike, etc - mine are 420mm IIRC) you'll likely have to drill the bottom of the rear fender and space it out. Second is that they really only fit 23mm tires in most cases. If you have a lot of clearance in the fork crown you can go larger (I run 25 but on a cross frame), but make sure you take careful measurements. So, if you're planning on running these on a road frame with 23cs, then they're great (and indeed that's what PDW states rather explicitly). If you're planning on running them on something else, YMMV.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/27/2017
by Waldemar
New York
Overall Rating
Best fenders for a road bike

I installed these fenders about a month ago. They were really simple to attach to my Specialized road bike. They look great on the bike, they aren't very noticable, and work really well. In my opinion, you wont be dissapointed if you buy these fenders.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/5/2017
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Awesome fenders

Super easy install and then work perfect. They look super great as well!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 54