Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Portland Design Works Full Metal 700c Fenders

Portland Design WorksFull Metal 700c Fenders(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(45 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(26)
(14)
(5)
(0)
(0)
(58%)
(31%)
(11%)
(0%)
(0%)
Previous Page
Reviewed 3/21/2017
by Tomas
Seattle
Overall Rating
Best Fenders!

My city bike has full time fenders. I replaced my last set with the PDWs and I could not be happier. They look classy and well built. The hardware is minimal yet highly effective. And, while the built in buddy flap is helpful for the rider it is easily removed to make way for a proper buddy flap for group rides. If you care about your bike I highly reccommend these!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/31/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
miami
Value Rating
Overall Rating
good product

limited sizes for larger tires (700 X 47)

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/4/2013
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Good fenders

Nice fenders, fairly easy to put on. Good looking-by far-over the other ones I looked at.

I was able to put 25mm tires on with my frame.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/17/2012
by jsprague56
Cycling Enthusiast
Eugene, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Beautiful and functional

I just installed these on my Trek Pilot which has the higher clearance Shimano road brake calipers. They are beautiful, and the flaps go down low enough that you will be able to ride the local fast ride without being relegated to the back (no rooster tail)

I have no front fender mounts and the little brackets will require removal of the skewer for wheel removal but it is all pretty straightforward and so beautiful compared to the old clamp on fender mounts that I had.

I love the single strut construction (easier to move your hands around when removing the wheel) and both fenders fit superbly.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/17/2012
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
The best available

These fenders are so far and away the best fenders available for a road bike that they really put everything else to shame. They install relatively easily, fit exceptionally well, and look great. They even have a buddy flap that is goes low enough that you don't have to fasten part of an old water bottle to the bottom of your rear fender.

The fenders are all metal and very rigid. The mounting system holds the fender in place very well. About the only possible negative is that the close fit allows pine needles and leaves to get caught between the tire and fender, but this isn't hard to deal with after a ride.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/3/2020
by Colorado_Commuter
Daily Commuter
Boulder, CO
Overall Rating
Full coverage all-metal fenders from PDW

I bought a new Milwaukee Beltline bike intended for winter and rainy-season commuting. Having a set of full coverage fenders is key to staying clean. Getting wet isn't an issue when riding (or you can use rain gear) but keeping the dirty street water from splashing up on you is essential. The PDW metal fenders look really nice and were somewhat easy to install. The instructions are good, but having never installed fenders before I had to fiddle with them a bit to get them set up right. So far so good in wet weather riding! I have the City fenders (45mm) and am using them with 700c x 35 Schwalbe tires. Perfect coverage. I have no issues with rattling or vibration.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/13/2019
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
pdx
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Good looking, good coverage, poor hardware availability.

I had to buy 3 extra bags of hardware to fit the fenders on my bike. The 60mm crown bolt doesn't go through my carbon fork all the way. The L bracket was too short, I had to buy one made 650b tyres, even-though I'm running 700s and one set of cilindar spacers for the chainstay bridge. You'd think a set of fenders this expensive will have the option to pick up the necessary hardware for free, but nope.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/26/2017
by LarryN
Cycling Enthusiast
Manchester NH
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Quality full protection fender

Installed on Specialized Roubaix matte black color. Installed easy. Fenders are matte black looking at bike hard to tell if bike has fenders. Fenders are very sleek. Front fender is mounted using a Sheldon Brown fender nut and stay. Rear fender is mounted using stay and plastic bracket attached to set tube. Front fender protects bottom bracket area. Rear fender protects bottom bracket, seat tube area. Both fenders protect me.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/17/2017
by Hoban Washburne
Cycling Enthusiast
pdx
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Best fenders, period.

Well designed and well made, these are getting outfitted on every bike in my stable. They look clean and nice, attach rigidly without rattles, are super sturdy, and most importantly, they cover as much as they need to. Just a few inches off the ground in the front, and down past horizontal in the rear. (This is my biggest qualm with Mud Butlers, which don't cover enough.) These will keep your toes dry, and not spray everyone behind you. Nifty hardware and replaceable parts if you need them.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/12/2017
by borkborkfren
Daily Commuter
Portland, OR
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Can't live without them.

Got these fenders for my commuter and couldn't be happier. Super easy to install, have been keeping my feet clean and dry, and the metal construction makes them feel robust (and no annoying rattling). Get them!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/16/2016
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Southeast
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Good if they fit

Mounted on C'dale CAAD10 with Shimano1011spd brakes. These are very bike dependent. Tire clearance, brake model, and drop out design will determine your success. I found the provided skewer mounts to be sleek, but made removing wheels a pain. If you have very tight drop outs andor outboard protruding head screws for your derailleur hanger, these may not work well there either. I ended up getting some p-clamps and mounting to my seat stays and fork blades. Much easier. If you go this route, you may have to trim the adjustment rods to allow you to slide them in a bit further. The rear fender is very long, likely buddy-friendly. I ended up trimming about 6 off and relocating the rear stay mounting hardware further up on the fender. This made things much stiffer and less prone to noise. These did not work well on the rear with 11spd brakes, 10spd brakes provide more clearance (I traded with a friend). I also ended up drilling a couple holes around the rear brake bridge to secure it with a zip tie and stop any rattling. The provided rear brake mount is decent, but is a cantilevered design that can allow the fender to rattle against the rear brakebridge if its pressed up against it to get adequate clearance. The front on the other hand, I mounted as-is with 11spd brake and have enough clearance for a 25mm tire, though it is fairly tight on the sides. The sides are trimmed under the fork crown on the front to provide adequate clearance. So... I ended up heavily modifying these. Not ideal for $XX, but if your bike has more tire clearance or roomier dropouts, you may have better luck thank I did.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/10/2019
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Overall Rating
Best fenders. Don't skip, switch to these.

These are the best fender I have ever used and they look fantastic as well. I was tired of dealing with rattling and plastic crap. Installation may require shortening the stays, but cutting them is easy.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/15/2016
by justaguy
West of Portland
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
First a fall then the rain

I had theses fenders mounted on my GT Grade and my first time out I wore my new cleated shoes but I stopped and couldn't unfasten them as I fell over with the bike on top of me. The rear fender caught me and popped loose from its mount but was undamaged and easily refit into place so that a bruised leg and ego were the only damage I sustained. Last night I took my bike out for a ride in the rain and was pleased that the fenders kept the water off of me and was channelling the spray forward and behind me. Adding the fenders to my bike was a very good move for me as they have already proven themselves to be a quality product, sturdily made, and very effective with wet road surfaces.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/3/2015
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Eugene
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Very Nice Product!

I was using a set of Planet Bike fenders which are a decent fender and fairly inexpensive. I purchased the PDW fenders because I thought they would match the look of my custom bike better. The PDW fenders are hands down the nicest fenders I have used and the setup was similar to SKS or Planet Bike fenders. Coverage is just right using the 45mm fenders with my rain bikes 32mm tires. One unexpected side benefit is I have less toe overlap with these fenders, probably due to the flat top profile.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/1/2014
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Portland Design Works Full Metal Fenders A+ product

Easy to install, look good and do a great job protecting me from the road grime.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/30/2018
by martinb
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
I can't imagine a better set of fenders.

Excellent and flexible mounting options, solid and quiet, maximum coverage, look great. Be aware though that front coverage is such that wheel off fork founts won't work with these fenders. Not a criticism so much as a compromise required for dry feet.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/12/2018
by blfxldr
MN
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
As good as fenders get

A bit of creativity is required for the mounting of any fenders. These were about as straight forward as fender mounting gets. Mounted 2 pairs on two different models of the Salsa Vaya, both with disk brakes. Good ridgid feel to these fenders.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/15/2018
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great fenders

Great fenders but take over 3 hours to be installed by a professional at a bike shop.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/19/2018
by BPBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Brush Prairie, WA
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great Fenders

Nicely designed, easy to install, but take your time to align. They function well, & look good. So, if you live where there is an over abundance of rain, (Pacific NW)...& need fenders to ride, these are good ones to have !!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/4/2017
by Tony
slc
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great fenders

These fenders are great. Installation takes a little time but is pretty easy. They are quiet when riding and protect like theyre supposed to.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 58