Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
POC Ventral SPIN Road Helmet

POCVentral SPIN Road Helmet(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(45 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(39)
(4)
(0)
(1)
(1)
(87%)
(9%)
(0%)
(2%)
(2%)
Reviewed 9/13/2022
by David
Madison
Overall Rating
Cool hi-vis color and great fit

hi vis orange color is loud and makes me feel safer. Great POC size, fit, and color.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/20/2022
by mountainlab
Competitive Racer
San Diego
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Best helmet

I love this helmet. It's my second. First one crashed out. It's definitely safe. It is very well vented, keeps the top of my head out of the sun, and is surprisingly quiet on fast stretches. My best guess is that is due to being aero. The benefit is that the wind noise doesn't drown out traffic noise. I like hearing what's coming...I also very much like the fit and construction. Everything is solid, less finicky/fragile than other big brand helmets I have owned.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/18/2022
by dlb
Cycling Enthusiast
Albuquerque, NM
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great fit and feels aero

The fit is top-notch, no pressure points at all. I'm not the most aero rider in the world, but I can actually feel a slight difference with this helmet. Almost like my head cuts through the wind better. Still has good ventalition.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/13/2022
by DEA
Victorville
Overall Rating
POC is a excellent helmet

Every manufacture has a slightly different internal shape affecting their fit. I have a fairly small head and the POC Helmet fits perfectly snug without discomfort. Further, during the hot summer months there's enough ventilation to keep my head as cool as can be. Heaven forbid, the helmet fit increases my confidence in the event of a crash.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/9/2018
by Anonymous
Southern California
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Perfect allrounder helmet

This helmet has perfect balance of lightweight, aero, comfort, safety (proprietary MIPS equivalent) and ventilation. Most helmets out there compromise at least one of these factors, but the Ventral checks all those boxes. With my old Specialized Evade my head used to get warm on hot days with sweat dripping down onto my sunglasses, by comparison the Ventral is super breezy.

I live in SoCal, so having a ventilated and aero helmet is important for me. Ive use helmets from Specialized, Giro and Lazer and the Ventral is my favorite and most comfortable so far.

Size wise I am typically on the upper end of a medium, with some brands a large. The Ventral medium was too narrow, but the large is a perfect fit and doesnt appear big on my head. I would best compare the sizing to Kask helmets after trying both on.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/12/2021
by daohaus
Cycling Enthusiast
Eastvale, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
It's an expensive helmet, but how much is your brain worth?

Package arrived promptly and it was much needed as my S-Works Prevail helmet was well over 10 years old. So I needed something a bit newer.

Packaging is what you would expect for a helmet.

Fit: this helmet fits my big head perfectly. With the fine adjustment knob at the back it really made fitting into this helmet much easier. When riding, you definitely feel more of the air going through, I will wait for the warmer months to see how this truly works.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/2/2022
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Great helmet

Excellent fit and very comfotable and light. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/3/2020
by MaddieSF
Cycling Enthusiast
San Francisco, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Love it!

I made the switch from Giro to POC a few months ago and couldn't be happier. The white one is great for early morning rides when the sun is still rising it is much more visible. The air flow is great and the helmet is light I never think about it on my head. I got this on sale and would not have paid $280 for it as I don't find it much different than my Octal which was like $150. I got a M and could have probably gotten a S but it fits fine!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/26/2020
by Paul
Cycling Enthusiast
MAryland
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Comfortable and quiet

The Ventral Spin fits exactly like my Ventral Air Spin, and weighs just 19g more (298g vs 279g). The Medium helmet fits nicely on my 57cm circumference head, with ample room for a cap underneath. I've only worn the Ventral Spin on cold and mild days, so I can't say how it performs in hot weather. However, it does seem "quieter" on windy days than other helmets I own. Fluorescent orange is great for safety, especially during low-light fall and winter days.

The helmet's only downsides pertain to sunglasses: 1) the "sunglass garage" flat out doesn't work, and 2) the arms of my POC Do Half Blades bump the helmet's back edges behind my ears if I don't position the arms just right. I've read this is a problem with other sunglasses as well, but don't have other sun glasses to test for comparison.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/12/2022
by Billyc
02186
Overall Rating
Safe helmet

POC is a light weight. Excellent fit.

Comfortable on warm days.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/12/2022
by Billyc
02186
Overall Rating
Safe helmet

POC is a light weight. Excellent fit.

Comfortable on warm days.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/18/2020
by Solpedaler
Cycling Enthusiast
Desert Southwest
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Poor design, no ear strap adjustment, cheep looking

Let me start by saying I've been cycling since before helmets "were a thing." I've enjoyed using many brands and have switched periodically to try new styles, technologies and various innovations. On that front POC has always been intriguing. What better way to try a new brand than dive directly into their flagship product...the Ventral Air Spin with NFC chip, wow! Like many under the current circumstances I made the purchase on-line, because I had no other choice. The helmet arrived packaged adequately. Immediately I try it on and dive into adjustments...first red flag. This helmet HAS NO EAR STRAP ADJUSTMENTS for length. In my case the ear strap falls directly over my ear...thinking this can't be right I send a note the POC folks thinking I must be missing something obvious. In response I'm told to adjust the position of the rear strap, which has nothing to do with the ear strap. Clearly the helmet is poorly designed, the issue appears to be common (i.e. I have a normal shaped head...as do all the other folks noting the same issue). Assuming a company like POC would simply say..."no worries, we get it, perhaps you got a bad run" or "yikes, want to try a different style?" I asked for their support. What they did say was "a design revision is under consideration (note to reader - this means they know this is problem), but you purchased what you did...so tough $_it."

Good thing Bike Tires Direct is a stand up company...returned and never again to purchase POC garbage.

Simply said - POOR DESIGN, WORSE CUSTOMER SUPPORT/ATTITUDE (POC that is). No adjustment to the ear steps, foam core looks like my helmets from the '80s, super cheep. Would not recommend to anyone.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/17/2022
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Detroit
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Best helmet on the market

I've been wearing various POC helmets my whole riding life, last once met an untimely retirement and I needed to replace it asap. Shipped on time and was on sale when I ordered it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/12/2021
by Jezmo911
La Mirada CA
Overall Rating
I love this helmet!

Well ventilated for an aero helmet. Fits my head and is much more streamlined than the previous Octal Aero version. Light enough and works with my multiple types of sunglasses (POC, Tifosi and Gooder). No complaints other than getting mistaken for a hipster.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/19/2021
by Brian
Cycling Enthusiast
Portlandia
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Perfect fit for a round head

I have a rather round head, and most bike helmets are designed for a more oval shape, and just don't fit me. This helmet does. Beautifully. It's light, and just as it claims, is very cool in the heat. And it doesn't look like you're wearing a cheesehead lol.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/17/2021
by Anonymous
Souderton
Overall Rating
It was amazing

I have tried for many months to find a helmet that exceeded my expectations, and when I found the POC, it was a huge surprise. It was perfect in all aspects. I highly recommend this brand. They are the best

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/23/2018
by Ukexpat
Cycling Enthusiast
Wilmington, DE
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great helmet, worth the price

Reposting review which originally showed up as anonymous

I bought the Ventral SPIN (orange, large) to replace a three year old Octal MIPS (also orange, large) that was damaged in a minor (and rather embarrassing) crash. I have not experienced any issues with the fit compared to the older helmet - fits just as well even over a Headsweats. The old helmet was well ventilated, but this one is even better. I really like the high visibility (but the old helmet had clearly faded a bit in the sun as the new one is much more orange). No complaints at all.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/18/2021
by @gSporco
Maryland
Overall Rating
Match made in heaven

Well what can I say Aero and Ventilated? Yep its both. Comfortable and feature rich? Yep its both..

Plenty of vents to keep your head cool on moderate hot days and still good for those cold days.

Super comfortable straps and padding and with a MIPs like spin capability for safety.

Long time Giro user now converted to POC..

And, BTD is the best place to purchase from

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/5/2019
by otoman
Competitive Racer
Nashville
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Good helmet for narrow heads

This helmet checks a lot of boxes aero, MIPSSpin, high scoring on helmet safety tests, well ventilated. I've used it on several hot, humid rides and never felt it was underventilated. I have a long narrow head and it fits me well. Other helmets that have fit me well are Lazer GenesisZ1, Kask Protone. GiroBell fit me terribly, made for round, bowling ball-like heads.

The straps are interesting - you can't really adjust the length under your ears but you can adjust the foreaft position of the junction. For me the straps were low enough but in order to get the angle of the helmet on my head correct, the front strap is positioned further forward on my face than most other helmets. Not bad, just different.

Very comfortable, would buy again. I hope not to need to for years.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/3/2020
by Andy
Florids
Overall Rating
POC helmet

I have had a POC helmet in the past and for the new aero dynamic one on sale at your site. I purchased it and love it. Definitely recommend as a high caliber and safe helmet.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 58

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]