Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
Park Tool MLP-1.2 Master Link Pliers

Park ToolMLP-1.2 Master Link Pliers(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(60 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(57)
(3)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(95%)
(5%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by JP

Reviewed 11/11/2022
by JP
Cycling Enthusiast
New York City area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Works as advertised, perfect for master links

These pliers work as advertised: "almost effortless" removal and replacement of master links. They're solidly built and I'm sure these will be distributed to my heirs, assuming people are still using bike chains at that point. Park Tool stuff isn't always the cheapest but I've been happy with every Park tool I own and the price is reasonable.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Paul macomber

Reviewed 1/8/2024
by Paul macomber
Daily Commuter
central oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great tool

Makes breaking and putting quick connect links back easy what i expected

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 11/30/2023
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Perfect for the job

This works as intended. Easily removes master link. Better than struggling with long nose pliers.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by XCinLB

Reviewed 6/9/2023
by XCinLB
Cycling Enthusiast
Long Beach, Ca
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great tool

I don't know why I didn't get this sooner. This makes removing and installing chains easy. Tool is of high quality. Works with my SRAM 12 speed chain. Also, quick and good service from Bike Tires Direct.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 4/3/2023
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Much Needed Tool!

A must-needed tool for all riders! Chains don't go forever and this is a life saver when you need to work on your bike chain! I am building a single speed and this tool helped me a lot!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Eee Zee

Reviewed 8/29/2023
by Eee Zee
NJ
Overall Rating
Easy peasy

Best tool for removing master links for cleaning the chain. Good price at BTD and prompt deivery.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by CycleAcrossAmerica.com

Reviewed 1/20/2023
by CycleAcrossAmerica.com
Cycling Enthusiast
Maryland, USA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Works great! I highly recommend.

Most chain repairs need the right tools and nothing else will work. Although I've heard of people using a shoelace to remove a chain master link, that has never worked for me. I have. however, used several different Master Link Chain Pliers and I can honestly say Park Tool MLP-1.2 Master Link Pliers are the best I've ever used. I've found cheaper master link pliers but not better.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Don H.

Reviewed 8/1/2022
by Don H.
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Very convenient to use.

I have started using master links on all of my bikes. It is just so convenient to remove and install the chain for maintaining a clean drive system, especially when traveling. The Park Tool MLP-1.2 makes getting the master link, and therefore the entire chain, on and off so easy, and it is very light weight to travel with. I keep one in my garage kit and another one in my travel kit.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Powermatic

Reviewed 3/5/2020
by Powermatic
Cycling Enthusiast
Santa Rosa, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Almost Effortless?

Removing the link is almost effortless. But installing a link requires some serious force. If I were in charge of the design, I'd make the handles a couple inches longer to increase your leverage.

The value is pretty good. Some Park tools are incredibly overpriced but these hit the mark. There are some slightly less expensive pliers available. But I went with Park because I can trust the quality and, well, it matches my other Park stuff.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Cesar4

Reviewed 6/20/2022
by Cesar4
Maspeth
Overall Rating
Simple to use

I thought it be really hard to remove a bike chain and install a new one. I got this thing after watching some videos on how to replace the chain on any bike and how to click it in bike together. Pretty simple and easy to use.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by CycleRef

Reviewed 6/3/2022
by CycleRef
Cycling Enthusiast
Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
So much a no-brainer!

As others have said, I probably wasted way more than $20 worth of time and stress trying to deal with chains without the proper tool. Just get a good tool for this and spend your time worrying about more meaningful issues like how to cut and extra 10-20 grams of weight on your bike... :)

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by J. Sully

Reviewed 1/14/2022
by J. Sully
Cycling Enthusiast
Minneapolis, MN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great tool. And the always amazing Bike Tires Direct quick delivery!

I've resisted ordering this to work on my chains and tried all the tricks to use improvised "tools" to remove chains.

I'm kicking myself for not getting this tool years ago. It's worth every penny and my life is better for having it.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Michael

Reviewed 11/18/2022
by Michael
PDX
Overall Rating
Chain tool

A must when you wax your chains

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by [email protected]

Reviewed 4/20/2017
Cycling Enthusiast
Cleveland ,OH area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
I love that tool.

I always clean my chains off the bike. Pull the dirty one off, put it in the soup for a few days, and put a clean spare on. I had been using a vicegrips to open the master link. The 11 speed chains are way hard to open by hand. The tool takes the fuss out of opening the master link, and doesn't offer the threat of damage .That vicegrips approach seemed prone to damaging things.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Birdfish

Reviewed 4/3/2017
by Birdfish
Daily Commuter
SF east bay
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
If you are using or switching over to master link chains you need this

I finally woke up to the fact that master link chains have evolved since I was a kid, and are competitive with rivet chains in quality and are much quicker to install, and can be removed and cleaned making them long lasting. It took me a little longer to wake up to the fact that this specialized tool makes the process much, much easier. Don't be like me, if you are using master link chains make your life easier and buy this tool.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Bob

Reviewed 4/5/2017
by Bob
Cycling Enthusiast
Cordova TN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Easy to use.

With very little effort I was able to separate the master link with the Park Tool MLP-1.2 Master Link Pliers.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by catdr

Reviewed 5/22/2015
by catdr
WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
simplifies link removalreplacement

I have removed links by hand, and it is a pain. I bought this, and it makes the job much easier. Wish I had bought it a long time ago.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Steven

Reviewed 8/21/2020
by Steven
Cycling Enthusiast
Raymond,MN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Park Tool to the rescue again!

I've started using Kimpex or Shimano master links on all my chains. These pliers are the safest & easiest way to install or remove a master link. Small enough for my seat bag if I need to take it with me.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 4/30/2015
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Anchorage Alaska
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Must have for the mechanic

If you have ever fought with a well seated quick link or clean your chain often, you will appreciate these pliers. I deal with glacial silt that accelerates wear on bike components, so I remove the chain frequently. Nice tool with Park quality.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by B''Ham Biker

Reviewed 2/12/2015
by B''Ham Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Bellingham, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Very Handy for Removing Re-usable Chain Master Links

This one tool makes assembling and taking apart re-usable chain master links a snap! Just the ticket and no more struggles to find the right pair of pliers, screw driver, etc.

A quality tool, just like all Park Tools!

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]