FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Park Tool MLP-1.2 Master Link Pliers

Park ToolMLP-1.2 Master Link Pliers(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(21 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(20)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(95%)
(5%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 4/19/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Jane Lew WV
Value Rating
Overall Rating
This tool works exactly as you would expect from Park Tool

Simple quick and easy to use. Worth the $$.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/20/2017
Cycling Enthusiast
Cleveland ,OH area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
I love that tool.

I always clean my chains off the bike. Pull the dirty one off, put it in the soup for a few days, and put a clean spare on. I had been using a vicegrips to open the master link. The 11 speed chains are way hard to open by hand. The tool takes the fuss out of opening the master link, and doesn't offer the threat of damage .That vicegrips approach seemed prone to damaging things.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/5/2017
by Bob
Cycling Enthusiast
Cordova TN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Easy to use.

With very little effort I was able to separate the master link with the Park Tool MLP-1.2 Master Link Pliers.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/3/2017
by Birdfish
Daily Commuter
SF east bay
Value Rating
Overall Rating
If you are using or switching over to master link chains you need this

I finally woke up to the fact that master link chains have evolved since I was a kid, and are competitive with rivet chains in quality and are much quicker to install, and can be removed and cleaned making them long lasting. It took me a little longer to wake up to the fact that this specialized tool makes the process much, much easier. Don't be like me, if you are using master link chains make your life easier and buy this tool.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/13/2017
by Vo
Orange
Overall Rating
Great tool

This pliers is great. It was easy to use.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/27/2017
by Ezra
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Simple tool that works well

Have struggled in the past opening master links with all manner of jury-rigged methods. These simple pliers just do what they were intended for quick and easy. Really glad I bought them, and the sale price at BTD was a bonus.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/22/2015
by catdr
WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
simplifies link removalreplacement

I have removed links by hand, and it is a pain. I bought this, and it makes the job much easier. Wish I had bought it a long time ago.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/30/2015
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Anchorage Alaska
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Must have for the mechanic

If you have ever fought with a well seated quick link or clean your chain often, you will appreciate these pliers. I deal with glacial silt that accelerates wear on bike components, so I remove the chain frequently. Nice tool with Park quality.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/12/2015
by B''Ham Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Bellingham, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Very Handy for Removing Re-usable Chain Master Links

This one tool makes assembling and taking apart re-usable chain master links a snap! Just the ticket and no more struggles to find the right pair of pliers, screw driver, etc.

A quality tool, just like all Park Tools!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/22/2015
by Al_NYC
Cycling Enthusiast
NYC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
makes life easier

I've been using quick connect links since they first came out. I clean my chains on a regular basis and these links make the job easier. I've always struggled a bit to get the links off. I tried using my bare hands; works only if the chain is really, really clean. I've tried needle nose pliers; I've had them slip and pinch my hands leaving blood blisters. Then this tool came along. I've only used it once, but it was so easy to use that I have to wonder why I didn't buy it sooner. If you clean your chain often and have a quick connect link, get this tool to make the job easier.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/12/2015
by Anonymous
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Everyone should have one!

No more messing around with needle nose pliers. If you use chains with a master link,

should have one of these in your toolbox.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/7/2014
by Ironmikey72
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern Michigan
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Well Made. Do the job well

Like all Park Tools, these Pliers make installing or removing the master link easy. Very well designed. I have had many Park Tools and they all wear well. You can expect a lifetime of service.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/23/2014
by Anonymous
Spokane WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great Tool

Don't know why I didn't get this tool long ago! It makes it so easy and quick to remove and release quick links! We have S &S coupled single bikes and a coupled tandem for travel and chain removal is a key part of the disassembly and packing process. Every step is time critical when you are traveling and these pliers speed up and simplify the process (and your hands stay clearer too)!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/4/2014
by Rmkristy
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great tool

As with all Park tools, these are easy to use and do the job well.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/10/2014
by Anonymous
Las Vegas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great tule for KMC and Wipperman chains

It's a park tool, what can I say, they always work! I use mostly KMC chains and it makes installing a new chain a snap.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/14/2014
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Completely effortless

Usual Park quality and works like a dream. Now the hardest part is finding the master link.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/24/2017
by Scott
Cycling Enthusiast
Laconia, NH
Overall Rating
Right tool for the job!

If you have a masterlink in your chain, then you need these. So much easier than grabbing the chain with your hands and trying to wiggle the link to release. Keep your hands clean and your chain from getting torqued.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/30/2017
by avbiker
Daily Commuter
seattle
Overall Rating
These make the removal and installation of chains with quick links a breeze !!

Simple to use ! great for when you need to thoroughly clean a chain !

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/19/2017
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Master Link pliers

Great product! Super easy to use. A real time saver.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/28/2017
by Dale
Cycling Enthusiast
Charleston, WV
Overall Rating
A wonderful tool at a wonderful price.

I love it as it takes out the master link with ease.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.