Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Park Tool MLP-1.2 Master Link Pliers

Park ToolMLP-1.2 Master Link Pliers(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(44 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(42)
(2)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(95%)
(5%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 5/10/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
New York City
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent tool, worked as advertised

Have many bikes, from 9 speed chain to 11 speed, works flawlessly.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/3/2021
by Gecko Sprock
Cycling Enthusiast
Washougal Hills
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Works Flawlessly

Works Flawlessly - Makes chain management easy

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/1/2021
by SwimBikeRunPizzaBeer
Competitive Racer
Fort Calhoun, NE
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Works perfectly and as advertised.

Very high quality and functional. If you are using master links for your bike chains then you need this tool.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/15/2021
by rmictks
Wichita Kansas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
They just work

Exactly what you need to remove master links on your chain. Will save you lots of time and frustration.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/5/2020
by Powermatic
Cycling Enthusiast
Santa Rosa, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Almost Effortless?

Removing the link is almost effortless. But installing a link requires some serious force. If I were in charge of the design, I'd make the handles a couple inches longer to increase your leverage.

The value is pretty good. Some Park tools are incredibly overpriced but these hit the mark. There are some slightly less expensive pliers available. But I went with Park because I can trust the quality and, well, it matches my other Park stuff.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/21/2020
by Steven
Cycling Enthusiast
Raymond,MN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Park Tool to the rescue again!

I've started using Kimpex or Shimano master links on all my chains. These pliers are the safest & easiest way to install or remove a master link. Small enough for my seat bag if I need to take it with me.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/14/2020
by M. A.
Central CA
Overall Rating
Easy

Little things make a difference. This tool is one of those things.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/26/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Chain removal made easy

Changing my chain was much easier with this tool. I was not able to get the link off without them.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/6/2020
by Gunny1951
Eastern NC
Overall Rating
Master Link Removal and Installation

Park makes great tools and this is no exception. For removing and installing master links on the newer 11 and 12 speed chains this tool is the absolute bomb! Couldn't be easier!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/6/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Palm Desert-Lake Tahoe
Value Rating
Overall Rating
I ordered this but have'nt had the need to use it yet.

i bought this for an easier way to remove and install chains using the quick links

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/24/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Must have for Master Links!

Needed these to remove a master link from my SRAM chain. This works great and also works in installing the master link as well!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/22/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Awesome tool!

This sure beats pliers! Installing my new chain was a cinch.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/19/2020
by Russwhitt
Vancouver WA
Overall Rating
Works great

A must have for cleaning or adjusting chain length and derailleur adjusting.

I use it to change the chain length on my tadpole recumbent.

Extremely handy.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/20/2017
Cycling Enthusiast
Cleveland ,OH area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
I love that tool.

I always clean my chains off the bike. Pull the dirty one off, put it in the soup for a few days, and put a clean spare on. I had been using a vicegrips to open the master link. The 11 speed chains are way hard to open by hand. The tool takes the fuss out of opening the master link, and doesn't offer the threat of damage .That vicegrips approach seemed prone to damaging things.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/3/2017
by Birdfish
Daily Commuter
SF east bay
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
If you are using or switching over to master link chains you need this

I finally woke up to the fact that master link chains have evolved since I was a kid, and are competitive with rivet chains in quality and are much quicker to install, and can be removed and cleaned making them long lasting. It took me a little longer to wake up to the fact that this specialized tool makes the process much, much easier. Don't be like me, if you are using master link chains make your life easier and buy this tool.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/5/2017
by Bob
Cycling Enthusiast
Cordova TN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Easy to use.

With very little effort I was able to separate the master link with the Park Tool MLP-1.2 Master Link Pliers.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/16/2019
by OHRider
Cycling Enthusiast
Cleveland, OH
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Park tools always work as described and never disappoint.

Pliers worked as designed making for a quick and reliable repair.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/31/2019
by Pete
northern california
Overall Rating
Essential

I dont know how you get by without this tool.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/21/2019
by Steve F.
Cycling Enthusiast
Saugus
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Solidly Built

Does it's job just as well as everything else Park Tool makes, it really is quite simple to remove the chain with the quick link setup. Although I'm sure I would be scolded for doing so I also used these to lock the new chain's quick link into place by reversing the process (obviously) - I'm sure this puts strain on the tool that was not intended but it works anyway.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/22/2019
by SA_biker
Cycling Enthusiast
San Antonio,TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great tool

Easy to use, helped change the chain in 5 minutes! It's worth having this beauty!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 51

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 503-342-9985 | [email protected]