Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Park Tool MLP-1.2 Master Link Pliers

Park ToolMLP-1.2 Master Link Pliers(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(36 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(34)
(2)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(94%)
(6%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 7/19/2020
by Russwhitt
Vancouver WA
Overall Rating
Works great

A must have for cleaning or adjusting chain length and derailleur adjusting.

I use it to change the chain length on my tadpole recumbent.

Extremely handy.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/26/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Chain removal made easy

Changing my chain was much easier with this tool. I was not able to get the link off without them.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/5/2020
by Powermatic
Cycling Enthusiast
Santa Rosa, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Almost Effortless?

Removing the link is almost effortless. But installing a link requires some serious force. If I were in charge of the design, I'd make the handles a couple inches longer to increase your leverage.

The value is pretty good. Some Park tools are incredibly overpriced but these hit the mark. There are some slightly less expensive pliers available. But I went with Park because I can trust the quality and, well, it matches my other Park stuff.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/6/2020
by Gunny1951
Eastern NC
Overall Rating
Master Link Removal and Installation

Park makes great tools and this is no exception. For removing and installing master links on the newer 11 and 12 speed chains this tool is the absolute bomb! Couldn't be easier!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/6/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Palm Desert-Lake Tahoe
Value Rating
Overall Rating
I ordered this but have'nt had the need to use it yet.

i bought this for an easier way to remove and install chains using the quick links

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/22/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Awesome tool!

This sure beats pliers! Installing my new chain was a cinch.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/16/2019
by OHRider
Cycling Enthusiast
Cleveland, OH
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Park tools always work as described and never disappoint.

Pliers worked as designed making for a quick and reliable repair.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/31/2019
by Pete
northern california
Overall Rating
Essential

I dont know how you get by without this tool.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/21/2019
by Steve F.
Cycling Enthusiast
Saugus
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Solidly Built

Does it's job just as well as everything else Park Tool makes, it really is quite simple to remove the chain with the quick link setup. Although I'm sure I would be scolded for doing so I also used these to lock the new chain's quick link into place by reversing the process (obviously) - I'm sure this puts strain on the tool that was not intended but it works anyway.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/22/2019
by SA_biker
Cycling Enthusiast
San Antonio,TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great tool

Easy to use, helped change the chain in 5 minutes! It's worth having this beauty!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/20/2017
Cycling Enthusiast
Cleveland ,OH area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
I love that tool.

I always clean my chains off the bike. Pull the dirty one off, put it in the soup for a few days, and put a clean spare on. I had been using a vicegrips to open the master link. The 11 speed chains are way hard to open by hand. The tool takes the fuss out of opening the master link, and doesn't offer the threat of damage .That vicegrips approach seemed prone to damaging things.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/3/2017
by Birdfish
Daily Commuter
SF east bay
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
If you are using or switching over to master link chains you need this

I finally woke up to the fact that master link chains have evolved since I was a kid, and are competitive with rivet chains in quality and are much quicker to install, and can be removed and cleaned making them long lasting. It took me a little longer to wake up to the fact that this specialized tool makes the process much, much easier. Don't be like me, if you are using master link chains make your life easier and buy this tool.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/5/2017
by Bob
Cycling Enthusiast
Cordova TN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Easy to use.

With very little effort I was able to separate the master link with the Park Tool MLP-1.2 Master Link Pliers.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/20/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Connecticut
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Simple and functional

Just the right tool for the job.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/21/2019
by Anonymous
Il
Overall Rating
Master remover

I have removed shimano, kmc, and sram master links easily. I finally broke down and got a pair after getting tired of pulling on strings to release links. These pliers are too big to fit in a flat pack but nice to have at the workstand.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/22/2015
by catdr
WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
simplifies link removalreplacement

I have removed links by hand, and it is a pain. I bought this, and it makes the job much easier. Wish I had bought it a long time ago.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/30/2015
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Anchorage Alaska
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Must have for the mechanic

If you have ever fought with a well seated quick link or clean your chain often, you will appreciate these pliers. I deal with glacial silt that accelerates wear on bike components, so I remove the chain frequently. Nice tool with Park quality.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/12/2015
by B''Ham Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Bellingham, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Very Handy for Removing Re-usable Chain Master Links

This one tool makes assembling and taking apart re-usable chain master links a snap! Just the ticket and no more struggles to find the right pair of pliers, screw driver, etc.

A quality tool, just like all Park Tools!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/22/2015
by Al_NYC
Cycling Enthusiast
NYC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
makes life easier

I've been using quick connect links since they first came out. I clean my chains on a regular basis and these links make the job easier. I've always struggled a bit to get the links off. I tried using my bare hands; works only if the chain is really, really clean. I've tried needle nose pliers; I've had them slip and pinch my hands leaving blood blisters. Then this tool came along. I've only used it once, but it was so easy to use that I have to wonder why I didn't buy it sooner. If you clean your chain often and have a quick connect link, get this tool to make the job easier.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/12/2015
by Anonymous
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Everyone should have one!

No more messing around with needle nose pliers. If you use chains with a master link,

should have one of these in your toolbox.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 80