FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Park Tool CM-5.2 Chain Cleaner

Park ToolCM-5.2 Chain Cleaner(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(25 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(12)
(8)
(4)
(0)
(1)
(48%)
(32%)
(16%)
(0%)
(4%)
Reviewed 11/29/2018
by lavick
Cycling Enthusiast
NJ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Too soon to tell but good so far

Typically I would remove my chain for cleaning but have gotten lazy lately and thought I'd try this cleaner. Seems to work fine though I think that the brushes could be stronger and the product should come with some extra foam. The foam wears out fast so I faked up some replacement foam.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/27/2017
by Jonathan
San Francisco
Overall Rating
Works pretty good

Not perfect like removing the chain but does an adequate job. Takes a little fiddling so the chain does not come off the bike- not as easy as the directions say- but does the job and worth the $. May work better with a bike in a stand instead of just on the ground trying to turn the crank backward. Well built as well. Not flimsy

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/30/2017
by CaptainPico
Cycling Enthusiast
Pico Rivera, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Replacement for older model

Once I watched a YouTube video produced by Park Tool, I was able to use my previous chain cleaner very effectively. My old one lasted for many years but it was starting to show its age. I bought this new version of it which has a deeper reservoir and seems to use more fluid. The latching mechanism is different from the one pictured (old version), but works just fine. The old version that flipped up from the sides would fall off from the bottom over time, but were still usable. I hope the new design that clamps from the handle side will stay attached longer. I find I spend a good amount of time cleaning my chain, but in the end it comes out looking like new and after lubrication smooth as silk. Quality components require regular maintenance to ensure longevity.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/24/2017
by Cyclehaven9w
Overall Rating
Strips chain of grime (make sure to relube!)

This chain cleaner is pretty great, would work even better with their recommended cleaner as opposed to warm water and soap.

Single complaint is that I find myself going back to sink to empty and refill several times. This may not be an issue with the proper cleaning fluid.

In the end, worth it. Neat way to get rid of grime built up on your chain. Be sure to relube after!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/31/2015
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Dallas, Texas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Best way to keep your chain working like new

I have been using a rag with degreaser for years to clean my chain. I never thought this tool would work until I tried. Could not be happier. Best way to clean a chain. Just a few seconds and it looks like new again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/14/2015
by MTS
Cycling Enthusiast
Sunny Southern California
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Clamps WILL Break

This is my second one of these. See how this has that 5.2 version number. I also had the 5.1. This thing works great but the old one had a problem with the clamps that hold the unit together. They eventually came off, which made things difficult but not impossible to keep the unit together. Finally it wouldn't keep together so I bought this new, updated version and whaddya know? The clamps have changed. Yay! I was very happy to see that Park decided to redesign the troublesome clamps. Problem is, after even fewer uses than my previous unit the clamps failed again! That's it! I'm done with Park's chain cleaner. I now have one by Bike Hand so we'll see how that works out.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/16/2015
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Guadalajara, Mexico
Value Rating
Overall Rating
The best way to clean your chain

The best way to clean your chain

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/12/2015
by johnnycoolbreeze
Cycling Enthusiast
new yawk
Value Rating
Overall Rating
MR.CLEAN

its a choice do the maintenance or buy the parts. nobody wants to spend time cleaning their chain, however increased speed is hard to resist! these products are the simplest way to clean a chain on the bike . i have a finish line chain cleaner that is at least 8 years old .cant say this is as good yet,time will tell cycle on!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/14/2017
by eugenebenson964Nothin to dislike
Cycling Enthusiast
p.a
Value Rating
Overall Rating
this chain cleaner is way better than the first. whata job it does the best thank you.

Nothing to dislike, just follow directions that simple.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/21/2014
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Does what it is designed to do. Seems like it will last a long time if you care for it.

Like the fact that you can replace the wheels. Kinda pricey for what it is.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/21/2013
by Jim
Cycling Enthusiast
Glen Flora,Tx
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Best Way To Clean A Chain

this thing works great.easy and clean(no cleaner or gunk on you or the bike)

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/24/2013
by Anonymous
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Works as advertised, easy to clean and use.

I would recommend this tool even though I use Whipperman connectors I still use this for a quick clean after every other ride.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/26/2013
by A1A Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Delray Beach, FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
It works...bring extra shop towels.

I've been using this tool for years and found that it works best if the chain is on the small chainring and a cog close to the middle of the cassette...rotate the chain a few times before you enclose the chain with the cleaner to ensure everything will run smoothly. Don't spin the crank too fast when cleaning as this will drag out the cleaning fluid before the wiping sponge can strip the excess fluid and keep it retained within the cleaner. But, you've still going to have fluid on the ground so put a plastic shopping bag on the ground first and cover it with 2 or 3 layers of newspaper or shop towels. (Fluid will soak through the newspaper so don't forget the plastic bag underneath or you'll have stain on the garage floor.) Nice thing about this tool is that you can but a brushsponge replacement kit.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/18/2013
by Anonymous
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Terrific!

This product works great. It strips the chain of all grease and debris in seconds and is easy to use. Super happy I bought it. I won't be breaking my chain and using a parts washer anytime soon again. I just got it though, so can't attest to the durability.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/7/2013
by Bikinchs
Cycling Enthusiast
Santa Rosa CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Clean hands, less mess

The park tool chain cleaner makes cleaning my chain easier and my hands stay cleaner too

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/1/2013
by greg
Competitive Racer
pompano beach, fl
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Works well, breaks often.

Does a wonderful job of cleaning the chain, but not nearly durable enough for taking care of even a few bikes. The closing clamps will break within 10 uses every time. This is my 4th one. Cleans great, I just wish it worked better.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/11/2013
by cyclingjax32
Cycling Enthusiast
Jacksonville FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
BEST.CHAIN CLEANER. EVER.

Why use a rag when you can have this Park Tool CM-5 chain cleaner!

This is hands down the best way to clean and tune a chain. Paired with the Park Chain Cleaner fluid, this is the best. The only complicated thing is figuring out where to gear the bike to where the chain doesn't slip off, but once you get that down, it's great!!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/8/2012
by bessonn
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Works as advertised

The chain cleaner is a little clunky to use, but it gets the job done. Using a small amount of citrus cleaner diluted with water will pull out dirt and grease.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/9/2012
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Riverside,
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
A must have!

I have used other lesser brand chain cleaners, and I must say this one is top notch quality and construction. Much more durable in hand.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/23/2012
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Solid and dependable

Works as advertised. I've found that this is the best and easiest way to keep my chain clean. I use a citrus based solvent and it works like a charm. Be careful not to drop this though, as the plastic will crack and then it leaks.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.