Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
Ortlieb Sport-Roller Classic Pannier Set

OrtliebSport-Roller Classic Pannier Set(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(22 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(20)
(2)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(91%)
(9%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Chuck R

Reviewed 7/19/2023
by Chuck R
Cycling Enthusiast
Bonney Lake WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Grest looking and well made

I am not riding an Azub Ti-Fly etrike. I needed something to carry my rain gear and some tools to repair a flat. I decided on the Ortlieb Sport Roller Classic pannier and am very satisfied with them. I initally wasn[t sure how they attached to the rack that I have on my trike, so I contacted Bike Tire Direct and asked for some help. The person was very helpful and after talking with him I found the instructions in the other pannier.

The instructions were very thorough.

I have then pannier on now and find it holds more than what I expected. They seems to be well made, good heavy material and are very easy to put on and take off. At this point I would say these are a winner for sure.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Stacia

Review for Ortlieb 2014 Front Roller Classic Pannier Set
Reviewed 8/26/2013
by Stacia (BikeTiresDirect.com Staff)
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
8 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Versatile, bombproof, with a perfect attachment system.

I used these on a cross-country bike tour - not this exact model, but the Front Roller Plus model with cordura fabric instead of PVC. I can still speak to the utility of these panniers, including closure system, straps, and so on. I paired them with the Bike Packer Plus rear panniers, which have a lid instead of a roll closure.

The roll closure is waterproof and feels very secure. It also has the advantage of being somewhat flexible in terms of carrying capacity - you can roll it down further if you're carrying less, or stuff it totally full (or even leave it open at the top, or just put the securing strap across the top) if you've got a lot of stuff. Another reviewer mentioned that the closure system is annoying, and I agree, to an extent. You have to roll the top, clip both sides to the shoulder strap, and make sure the shoulder strap stays secure in its little clip at the bottom front of the bag. Then you clip the third strap closed over the top. I actually stopped doing this pretty quickly. I did it on one side - I kept the shoulder strap attached to the pannier in which I kept my valuables, so I could grab it and wear it across my body like a purse when I got off my bike at a restaurant or museum or whatever - I really liked that. The other pannier, I took the shoulder strap off and shoved it in the bottom somewhere, and just clipped the two sides of the rolling portion to each other, forming a loop at the top. Worked just fine, and the top was still rolled and waterproof.

I love Ortlieb's attachment system. Once you've got it set up for your rack, it stays put exactly where you put it, and when you need to take the panniers off, all you have to do is pull up on the handle. They've got a nifty system whereby lifting up on the handle pulls back the little plastic tab that wraps around your rack tube, and the pannier lifts right off. Putting it back on is the same thing in reverse. Practically effortless. Easier and more secure than other panniers I've seen that involve hooks and bungees.

THAT SAID... keep on eye on the attachments, and check the screws every once in a while. I lost one of the little lower thingies that holds the pannier against the rack when the screw loosened without me noticing. I checked all my other panniers every couple of days after that, with no further problems. I could replace the part easily enough, but it didn't really cause too many problems -- the top attachment is secure enough that I didn't worry about my pannier falling off at all, and I rarely leaned my bike sharply enough for the pannier to sway away from the rack.

Inside, the pannier is just a bucket you can organize and fill up however you'd like. I think this is more practical than dividers, since what you're carrying and how you want to carry it will vary over the course of a tour. If you like having everything separate, I recommend carrying plastic bags or stuff sacks (maybe color-coded!) and dividing stuff up that way.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 1/25/2024
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
New England
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Classics

IFKYK - these are the classic front panniers that are guaranteed to be waterproof and likely will last a lifetime of heavy use.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Jenk

Reviewed 1/17/2022
by Jenk
Cycling Enthusiast
North Carolina
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Nice panniers !

Ortlieb is a product you can see and feel the quality. From the mounting system to the reflectors, these are nice! A good size if you just doing a weekend overnight or for the front if you're long-haul touring. I had a cheap set of panniers that I used on the C&O/GAP going from DC to Pitt - a couple of rainy days and my gear got wet through the zipper seams. Planning a 3-week tour of Maine in late summer so odds are there will be some rainy days and wanted a waterproof set of panniers. Like that they come with shoulder straps. BTD year-end sale made their price unbeatable! Thx BTD! Picked up the Back Rollers too!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 8/31/2021
by Anonymous
Colorado Rockies
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Simply Perfect

It's Ortlieb: Quality, convenience, simplicity. I'm 5ft tall and so have a very small bike. I use these on both the front and rear racks. They mount and remove super-easily, and hold an astonishing amount of stuff. I do 90% of my shopping and errands on my bike, leaving my car at home. One (or two) sets of panniers carries everything I need.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 10/1/2018
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Finishing the deal....

Already got the Back Roller Classic, got these to complete the ensemble......

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Glenn

Reviewed 10/20/2021
by Glenn
Cycling Enthusiast
Pleasant Hill, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Wow, highest customer service and quality all the way

I am getting a HP Veloteknik trike in a couple months and ordered the racks for the back end. I have ordered two rear saddle bags and one for by the seat. BIketiresdirect were quick to and the two rear panniers were ship right away. The bag by the seat got back ordered and the company emails regularly to let me know the status. That impresses me. I like shopping here.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 2/17/2023
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Good size.

About the best one can buy.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by L. Kelson

Reviewed 1/25/2021
by L. Kelson
Alpharetta, GA
Overall Rating
The perfect panniers?

They very well may be just that. Size, build quality, materials, fit & finish all superb. I love these bags. Using on a Gazelle with integrated rear rack - they drop on and latch in one smooth motion. Zero negatives thus far.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Emartin

Reviewed 4/11/2020
by Emartin
Altoona, Iowa
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great bags at the best prices!!!

I did a lot of research and Ortlieb bags are always considered the best. These bags don't disappoint! I needed some bags that weren't too big yet had plenty of storage with an inside pocket and shoulder strap to carry around. I am using these on my rear rack and live the quality of them. We take day trips and plan on using these bags to go to the farmer markets too. Buying from biketiresdirect was a great experience with top notch service and the best prices ... thanks so much!!! Keep up the great service and go out there and enjoy life!!!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Snowbunny

Reviewed 1/15/2022
by Snowbunny
Casual Cyclist
Mason, Ohio
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Bright fun red color, water proof and tough stuff.

I enjoy the color and the durability of the panniers.

I wish they were in orange so they would match my back panniers.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 7/15/2019
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
San Francisco, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Waterproof, clips in solidly, easy to use

Just the right size for me. If I had to carry a full change of clothes as well as food, I'd use both. As it is, it's a little bigger than a backpack. Great price, doesn't wiggle, doesn't lose shape.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 2/15/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Miami, FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Can't Wait to Use Them

These have been so highly recommended by everyone that I had to get them. I have the rear panniers and can't wait to use these.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 8/18/2020
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
San Francisco
Value Rating
Overall Rating
These are some of the best bags around. Very reliable. Thanks BikeDirect

The Ortlieb bags are a great bag for commuting or loading your camping gear in them and taking off. Waterproof gives them all weather capacity.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 8/23/2018
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Love them

Hold alot and everthing stays dry

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by SJ_Cyclist_528

Review for Ortlieb 2014 Front Roller Classic Pannier Set
Reviewed 8/24/2013
by SJ_Cyclist_528
Cycling Enthusiast
San Jose
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Solid Product, Not so Easy Access

I got a set to put on my Sala Vaya 3 touring bike. They fit well on the Salsa Wanderlust front rack. The fastening system is adjustable and works as advertised. The workmanship and material is top rate. I've not used in rain but seems waterproof. My only gripe about the pack is the closing and opening of the bag It requires dealing with 3 buckles (2 sides, 1 top)and rolling of the top. This convoluted process can get truly maddening esp. when you're in a hurry or type A person. If I can do a do over, I'd get a simple 2 strap over the top closing with a separate compartment on the outside of the bag to minimize going into the main compartment altogether.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by daryl

Reviewed 8/17/2020
by daryl
Cycling Enthusiast
Punta Gorda Florida
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
perfect WATERPROOF bag

In Florida, with unexpected rain falling at any time of the day all summer long, with sunny skies giving way to sudden cloudburst then 10 minutes later sun shines bright, you need a bag that will keep you gear dry...You can't not ride just because there is a constant 20% of rain every summer day....i ride evryday, and have not used a car for 7 years and I must go out even if it might pour....My old bags failed me miserably one day when caught in a rain so I started researching for a true waterproof bag...hands down all around the world these German made bags are the ultimate purchase...this is was for my wife's bike and the smaller size was perfect for her bike frame...

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by richphoto

Reviewed 1/4/2017
by richphoto
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Best Bags Hands down

I used these on a 650 mile ride on a carbon road bike this summer as the main bags, the beauty is how well they function and attach to a rack, was great to be able to grab them and go into restaurants and such with simplicity. Solid construction will last a lifetime.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Marvin Fickle

Reviewed 3/8/2021
by Marvin Fickle
Cycling Enthusiast
Eugene, OR
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Sport Roller (Front/Small) Pannier

Just mounted them on the Tubus Low Rider rack on a Trek Checkpoint. Beautiful fit and finish. Waiting for better weather and open campgrounds (Covid-19 closures) for a chance to try them out. Locals here use them for rear bags, as they are smaller than the the Classic Roller.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by CNY Rider

Reviewed 4/27/2017
by CNY Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Syracuse, NY
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Awesome addition to my Rear Ortlieb set.

As expected the quality of these bags are second to none (at least in my experience). These front panniers fit well on my newly installed Thule Pack and Pedal rack installed on the front wheel, which was a concern when I ordered them. Theses are used to carry camping gear when we are touring. Initial use testing them on a long ride leads me to believe they will do exactly what need them to do. We have been very satisfied with the rear Ortlieb bags, so expect we will feel the same about these.

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]