FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Ortlieb Saddle Bag

OrtliebSaddle Bag(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(40 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(29)
(8)
(2)
(1)
(0)
(73%)
(20%)
(5%)
(3%)
(0%)
Reviewed 8/17/2018
by Nomad98012
Cycling Enthusiast
Mill Creek, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great Saddle Bag light weight rolls up small yet big enough to carry extra clothes.

Previously I had purchased the small Ortlieb bag which was ok for a tube and multi-tool but not much else. Now with the medium size red bag, I switch it back and forth between two bikes. The mounting bracket is the same for each size. A great value!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/12/2018
by joblat
Cycling Enthusiast
Buffalo, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
This bag fits beautifully from under the seat.

I ride a bike with a 44 frame. Many items don't fit, but this one does and is roomy enough for what I'm taking along - without being too big causing me to be tempted to overfill.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/28/2018
by Sean
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, Wa
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Backpack replacer, save for a laptop.

A well constructed little bag that I fit a U-lock, spare tube, tools, and a rain jacket into. Attaches and detaches with the click of a button.

HOWEVER, I have a somewhat stubby seat (Specialized Power Arc) and the attachment barely could fit on the rails behind the seat-post, so that is something to consider.

Usual well constructed waterproof Ortlieb product.

A STEAL for sure on BikeTiresDirect, I got it for a good bit less then in shops and half the price it was on Amazon at the time of ordering.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/23/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
San Francisco Bay Area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Quality materials and build, but small size is larger than expected

Had to return as size small not aero.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/24/2018
by Josh
Japan
Overall Rating
Excellent mounting idea and lots of room.

I really like the mounting system. I use a small bag on short rides and the click and remove system is really hand. It also holds a lot for an under seat bag. A part of shoes and a rain shell fit with room to spare. I bought this for a two day ride and I think it will work great.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/24/2018
by Hodawg
Vineland
Overall Rating
Bag is great except one thing to make this make a five star

The only complaint is that if bag is full can't sealed it. They need to seal with zipper or Velcro to have a secure bag while cycling.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/25/2018
by Anonymous
Brooklyn
Overall Rating
Very good bag for everyday commute

I bought this bag in order to avoid riding with a backpack to work. It perfectly fits spare clothing to wear in office. Cant go shopping with it but, that is not a purpose. Its small enough and you can adjust its volume based on your stuff you put in there with a couple of straps.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/23/2013
by AZ Mtn Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Mesa, AZ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 17 customers found this review helpful.
Looked like a good idea but it sorely lacks in usability. Unique doesn't mean it works.

Pro Capacity

Cons

- While the twist closure may be unique it flat out doesn't work in practice. One twist isn't enough and two twists (if you can make two) just reduces the capacity by 1/3. And whether twisting up or down only one side wants to twist a second time.

- With closure twisted up it holds rain water.

- With closure twisted down things fall out while opening.

- Open cavern with nothing to secure keys to, which I see as a requirement with the ridiculous twist closure.

- Not a totally one-click removal like the 12-year old pack I was about to replace.

C'mon Ortlieb!! Do your engineers actually ride a bike?

This product would be 1,000% more useful if you provided a zipper instead of the two plastic Popsicle sticks!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/18/2017
by CyclingSoprano
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago, IL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great bag, but too tall to clear my rear tire

This is a great product - well made, easy to install, easy to remove, nice wide opening. The smallest one fits all the stuff one should have while on the bike (tire lever, tube, CO2,multi tool), the largest will carry that plus a lot more. The opening is quite wide, making it easy to access the items inside. Unfortunately I had to return both sizes as my saddle is pretty low and there wasn't enough clearance to accommodate even the smallest bag. I am probably an extreme case (really short legs) but I was bummed because it seems like a bag that would perform well.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/10/2017
by Mr.KYU
Casual Cyclist
SEOUL, South korea
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Awesome Saddle Bag

I used the Giant Scout saddle bag before I bought this product. Scout saddle bag is not bad. But too big for my intended purpose and it wasn't completely waterproof.

I ordered Ortlieb Saddle Bag, size is L. It's 2.7 Liter and very impressive waterproof performance. I ridden in the rain all day, but clothes in the bag didn't get wet at all. Awesome!

The only regret is that this product does not include Fastening Straps. So you need to purchase separately if necessary. Of course Fastening Straps is not needed for general riding, except when your contents are heavy.

Anyway, I'm very satisfied with Ortlieb Saddle Bag. I recommend this saddleback to all my friends.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/29/2017
by BBob
Cycling Enthusiast
Boise, ID
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great bag. Expands to hold my jacket and cold weather gloves, but rolls up small when I don't need the space.

Great bag. Expands to hold my jacket and cold weather gloves, but rolls up small when I don't need the space.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/4/2018
by Webchem
Cycling Enthusiast
Duesseldorf, Germany
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Nice construction, but bulky

The bag is well made and designed, but it's just too wide. I was looking for a decent waterproof bag for underneath the seat, but this is wider than the saddle itself. If you want to carry luggage, this is a good choice, but it is NOT a simple spare tube and multitool carrier. High marks for the mounting system idea, although it can be a bit annoying to figure out (and I'm a pretty competent mechanic). I put it on my city bike instead of where I originally planned to mount it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/26/2018
by Nick
Williamsport PA
Overall Rating
Perfect for my use

Although this would be an incredible seat bag for the money (almost as large as some bikepacking seat bags), I actually purchased a pair to mount on the front fork of my bike to act as mini waterproof panniers. The construction is top notch and the roll top design is awesome.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/18/2018
by JayRai
Cycling Enthusiast
Denver, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Super bag that stays on when it should and comes off when you want.

My old bag was always slipping off and getting in the way, but when you wanted to take it off it was a real process. This bag is well designed for size, closure and attachment while also having good looks.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/30/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Wisconsin
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent bag. Holds a bunch.

These bags come in 3 sizes- 4 if you include the micro. I bought the medium. I have a micro. Good option. Small wouldn't have been much difference from the micro, and large is huge. I can fit a lot in here. The downside is that my legs sometimes rub against it, as it is wide. It has the bolt on mount with quick release, and also a velcro strap around the seatpost. Holds firm.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/9/2016
by flashalan
Cycling Enthusiast
tampa
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
High Value Product

The large pack is huge and can hold lots of stuff. The closure works perfectly even when fully loaded. Not a chance of anything falling out. Proper closure is essential. Best pack I ever had. Looks great and fits tight.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/2/2017
by KennyG
Cycling Enthusiast
California, Bay Area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Expandable seat bag that can handle spare clothing

Great place to stow a jacket or vest after it warms up.

I like the idea of a roll-up closure to keep the bag smaller when not full. But I do have a little bit of a problem trying to roll it up and stuff inside getting caught up in the roll. I actually cut a small piece of plastic which I keep inside to hold stuff out of the way as I roll it up works great.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/8/2017
by John McConnell
Competitive Racer
Tacoma
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Well constructed, light and large

I ordered this bag to be my around town bag for a gravel commuter rando bike and I wanted something large enough for a couple of 650b x 47 tubes and all the tools necessary for a serious adventure. This bag fits the bill pretty nicely, It is roomy, light and mounts extremely securely. In use so far it is quite waterproof and seems very well made. My only caution is that the nose of this bag is fairly wide and square which unfortunately means I regularly have thigh rub. This will depend on seating position and body geometry, so It is well worth a trial fitting (you can fiddle with the seat rail attachment point a bit to minimize this).

Final verdict is that this is a very nice bag, well made and attractive. My only niggle is that the nose could stand to be 12 to 1 narrower, but that may not affect all users.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/14/2017
by sunshineincolorado
Cycling Enthusiast
Longmont, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Perfect Size

Holds plenty without being too cumbersome. Tried the relevate brand - too bulky and awkward. Use it on my gravel bike - nice to have the extra room for clothing etc.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/7/2015
by ZBeast
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston, MA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Simple, bombproof, rattle proof and waterproof

I use this bag in both medium and small on my Honey All Roads for longer road rides, off road and mixed terrain rides in all weather. I used it in the Rasputitsa this year and was pleased to find that the Large bag also served to keep the mud off my backside - like a short fender. I love the simplicity of this bag and the price is great for the quality and functionality. There is room for 3 tubes, tools, a few extra snacks and a windbreaker and change of gloves.

Some folks complain that when you open this bag, all your stuff falls out. I haven't had that problem as long as I don't over stuff it. I put smaller items that would tend to fall out in the narrow part nearer the seatpost and only put the clothing at the back.

Other folks complain that there are no outside quick access pockets. I use my jersey pockets and a stealth bag on my top tube for that and save this bag for stuff I would stop to get at anyway.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.