Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
Ortlieb Back-Roller Pannier Set

OrtliebBack-Roller Pannier Set(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(89 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(82)
(7)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(92%)
(8%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Keith

Reviewed 5/6/2024
by Keith
Cycling Enthusiast
Utah
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Easy to use and come with inserts to match your bike rack.

The Ortlieb Back-Roller Pannier set is durable and easy to get on and off the bike rack.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 12/29/2023
by Anonymous
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Ideal bike bags!

These bags are ideal for commuting, getting groceries, doing whatever you need to do on your bike. They come with a 5-year warranty and are built to last. Being waterproof is just amazing so I can carry my laptop to work without worry. :)

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Deena

Reviewed 4/6/2023
by Deena
Daily Commuter
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
The standard for daily commute

I waited until the color (petrol and black) was available and actually waited as they were on backorder. I bike every day to work, about 17 miles round trip, so these get me through all weather and keep my items dry and protected as described. I bring a laptop every day in a carrying case as well as smoothies, and clothing (I'm a teacher). The two bags definitely are roomy enough to pack all my needs. Obviously this adds weight to your bike but the panniers are top of the line. I would always recommend these to anyone who commutes to work.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Cincicyclist

Reviewed 10/13/2023
by Cincicyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Cincinnati OH
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent choice

I am a bike commuter, and I use these panniers every day. The roll-over top is simple and much easier to use than a zipper, and they are super easy to take on and off the rack. They are very roomy, and I like the high-visibility yellow color. They are not cheap, but in this case, you get what you pay for.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by JS in CT

Reviewed 7/13/2017
by JS in CT
Cycling Enthusiast
CT, USA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
15 of 19 customers found this review helpful.
Sturdy & waterproof but hard to find stuff & keeps water in too

Ortliebs are large, durable, reflective, and waterproof. That's the good.

The less good...

With no outside pockets, you have to open and dig in your big bag to find even the small oft-needed items. The bag is so deep and dark that it's hard to find them. (And the small items go to the bottom.) There are two internal pockets at the bottom but I haven't yet found them useful.

This inconvenience is compounded by the roll up and clip closure method. Like a dry bag, works great for waterproof-ness (as long as you do it right and don't overfill) but with the shoulder strap also needing to be unsecured on the clip at the bottom outside of the bag, just opening and closing takes a while. So, overall, getting & stowing things quickly is not a strength of this no-outside-pockets design! Use some other bag for oft-needed items.

Rubberized waterproof-ness is a double edged sword. Great for keeping water out while it's closed but... What about when you have to open it (open side up) in the rain or when your stuff is already wet from camping in rain? You're just gonna' hold all that moisture inside for good! Indeed, this happened on my first tour with these.

I recommend setting the adjustable rack clips as wide apart as your rack will allow. My friend had hers narrowly set and, with the weight, the black bar with the clips bent and the edges of the bag started drooping outward.

Haven't really gotten the point with the shoulder straps yet... Most of the time, it just seems to be in the way and make it harder to open and close. But, without them to hold the outsides ends of the top-roll down, I'm not sure I can safely lose 'em. I want to carry them by the handles - but they don't seem strong enough for a heavy full bag. Are they just meant to unlatch the rack clips?

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 7/10/2017
by Anonymous
Portland, OR
Overall Rating
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Top of the line

Commuting daily in the Pacific Northwest, there are Ortlieb panniers as far as the eye can see, and for good reason. These are simply the best in terms of durability and design. I have used these panniers for my commute, bikepacking trips, grocery runs, and have yet to find a purpose in which they fail. Setting them up does require some thought and patience since not all rear racks are created equal (I had to invert the adjustable rail to fit my Blackburn rack), but once installed, they are a breeze to get on and off. If you are looking for a quality pannier with an amazing warranty (5years), look no further. These are more than a worthy investment.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 7/21/2017
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Look Good and work Great

Biking across America so they get lots of use and some abuse.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by CrankyNinja

Reviewed 8/30/2021
by CrankyNinja
Cycling Enthusiast
Minneapolis, MN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Rugged, spacious and versatile

This is my first set of panniers, purchased and installed on my road bike for a multi-day ride. They had plenty of room, and a nice interior pocket that was great for stowing a standing mini-pump. Sealed up tight from road-dust, which wiped off easily. Did not encounter any rain, so can't vouch for weather-proofing. Also toted these via handles/straps on a train-ride to ride start, and found them easy to handle as carry-on for stowing when off bike. Initially installed without the snap-inserts to make them snug against the rack, which worked but caused the rack paint to wear off. On third day popped in the right inserts for my rack, and bags were more solidly in place (required a little jiggling to get them to "lock"), so can recommend using those.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 10/19/2023
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Best panniers hands down

These are just so well made. I was surprised at the quality. Some may not like the lack of outer pockets but for rainy climates like Seattle where I live these are great.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by NMiCyclist

Reviewed 11/12/2020
by NMiCyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Traverse City, Mi
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Best Saddle Bags I've Ever Used

I'll often use just one bag but adding the second one is beneficial for balance. These bags are so easy to put on and take off, seal contents completely and carry a lot of stuff! Here in Michigan, I will pick up deposit cans & bottles while cycling secondary roads (10 cents each) and use one bag for such while clothing & tools occupy the other bag. I just turned in 240 cans at the grocery store. Not a bad return for cycling the countryside, while enjoying the scenery and the healthy exercise.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by AKbiker

Reviewed 10/9/2020
by AKbiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Alaska
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Very study panniers

Have used several times now. First use was on a multi-day mountain bike-packing trip. Wet, rough trail with a lot of brush overgrowth. Lots of bike pushing due to poor trail conditions. But, through all the overgrowth hitting these panniers and the very wet, rainy conditions, I never once had a problem with these panniers. They stayed put on my rack until I wanted to remove them, and the contents stayed dry inside. No complaints. Worth the price.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 9/3/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Super high quality.

You can feel the quality immediately. Easy to install. Nice little zip pocket inside each bag. Holds a ton of gear. Very impressed!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by FLTGear

Reviewed 12/18/2018
by FLTGear
Cycling Enthusiast
Arkansas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Epic Touring Panniers

It's hard to beat these rugged, waterproof bags. The lower latch really gives tremendous flexibility, I've mounted these to four different racksbikes without any problems. Having started with the old straphook system twenty years ago, the mounting system is well worth the price. But I can't say I'm thrilled with the hook inserts - kinda of a pain to install, and I suspect that over the years they'll disappear. As someone else suggested, I did one ride leaving the inserts off and because I strapped a tent on top of the rack anyway, the bags didn't rattle and were still secure. Highly recommended.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 2/17/2023
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Really though.

Not much beats these panniers.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 2/2/2023
by Anonymous
Boulder
Overall Rating
Perfect!

Really, that's all that needs to be said. Easy to use, keeps things dry & also looks awesome!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Russ

Reviewed 9/13/2021
by Russ
Cycling Enthusiast
Washington, DC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Buy the best and go.......

This product is easy to work with. Completely water-tight and is customizable enough to fit several of my racks. Depending on how far you are going, these bags provide plenty of room and are up to the task at hand. I've used cheaper bags and wasted time and money. Don't do that!!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Andy

Reviewed 7/18/2017
by Andy
Champaign
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Very impressed

Ortlieb brand was highly recommended by my local bike shop. After several months of using these I am in complete agreement. I commute to work almost every day. Bags are easy to install and remove from my rack. Lots of room inside. I have been caught in the rain and everything inside stayed nice and dry. The carrying strap makes it easy to carry a bag over the shoulder.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by SantaFeBicyclist

Reviewed 7/18/2017
by SantaFeBicyclist
Daily Commuter
Santa Fe, NM
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent Panniers

I have used Front Rollers in the past and just acquired the Back Rollers for this year's journey. Completely watertight when rolled correctly, easy to mountun-mount, and huge capacity ... mine are visible yellow.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Steve

Reviewed 8/10/2021
by Steve
Humboldt County
Overall Rating
Really Nice

These are high quality bags I'm going to have for a long time. If there's any down side it's a lack of outside pockets

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Rick

Reviewed 4/20/2017
by Rick
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent product!

Used them the first week I got them. Went on a 200 mile self-contained camping trip. They worked perfectly.

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]