FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Ortlieb Back Roller Classic Pannier Set

OrtliebBack Roller Classic Pannier Set(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(51 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(44)
(7)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(86%)
(14%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 7/13/2017
by JS in CT
Cycling Enthusiast
CT, USA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Sturdy & waterproof but hard to find stuff & keeps water in too

Ortliebs are large, durable, reflective, and waterproof. That's the good.

The less good...

With no outside pockets, you have to open and dig in your big bag to find even the small oft-needed items. The bag is so deep and dark that it's hard to find them. (And the small items go to the bottom.) There are two internal pockets at the bottom but I haven't yet found them useful.

This inconvenience is compounded by the roll up and clip closure method. Like a dry bag, works great for waterproof-ness (as long as you do it right and don't overfill) but with the shoulder strap also needing to be unsecured on the clip at the bottom outside of the bag, just opening and closing takes a while. So, overall, getting & stowing things quickly is not a strength of this no-outside-pockets design! Use some other bag for oft-needed items.

Rubberized waterproof-ness is a double edged sword. Great for keeping water out while it's closed but... What about when you have to open it (open side up) in the rain or when your stuff is already wet from camping in rain? You're just gonna' hold all that moisture inside for good! Indeed, this happened on my first tour with these.

I recommend setting the adjustable rack clips as wide apart as your rack will allow. My friend had hers narrowly set and, with the weight, the black bar with the clips bent and the edges of the bag started drooping outward.

Haven't really gotten the point with the shoulder straps yet... Most of the time, it just seems to be in the way and make it harder to open and close. But, without them to hold the outsides ends of the top-roll down, I'm not sure I can safely lose 'em. I want to carry them by the handles - but they don't seem strong enough for a heavy full bag. Are they just meant to unlatch the rack clips?

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/10/2017
by Anonymous
Portland, OR
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Top of the line

Commuting daily in the Pacific Northwest, there are Ortlieb panniers as far as the eye can see, and for good reason. These are simply the best in terms of durability and design. I have used these panniers for my commute, bikepacking trips, grocery runs, and have yet to find a purpose in which they fail. Setting them up does require some thought and patience since not all rear racks are created equal (I had to invert the adjustable rail to fit my Blackburn rack), but once installed, they are a breeze to get on and off. If you are looking for a quality pannier with an amazing warranty (5years), look no further. These are more than a worthy investment.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/21/2017
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Look Good and work Great

Biking across America so they get lots of use and some abuse.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/26/2018
by MVOregon
Daily Commuter
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
These panniers are awesome and seem bottomless.

I got these panniers to hold my backpack and work wear. It is very hot in the summer and a backpack leaves your back very sweaty. Theses bags hold everything you could need for commuting or shopping.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/20/2018
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Love it

Easy on and off. Good enough space. Solid water proofing.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/26/2018
by #brown
Milwaukee, WI
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
The best bags period

Great bags, look great, watertight. Awesome

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/18/2017
by Andy
Champaign
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Very impressed

Ortlieb brand was highly recommended by my local bike shop. After several months of using these I am in complete agreement. I commute to work almost every day. Bags are easy to install and remove from my rack. Lots of room inside. I have been caught in the rain and everything inside stayed nice and dry. The carrying strap makes it easy to carry a bag over the shoulder.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/18/2017
by SantaFeBicyclist
Daily Commuter
Santa Fe, NM
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent Panniers

I have used Front Rollers in the past and just acquired the Back Rollers for this year's journey. Completely watertight when rolled correctly, easy to mountun-mount, and huge capacity ... mine are visible yellow.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/20/2017
by Rick
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent product!

Used them the first week I got them. Went on a 200 mile self-contained camping trip. They worked perfectly.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/23/2017
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Five stars !

Roomy ,rugged, increased visibility, easy one handed removal, best price I found,

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/22/2018
by Rick
DA BRONX
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
THE BEST PANNIERS OUT.

These are Great bags...IMHO the best out there right now. Super waterproof,durable and well made. Strong attachment clips essy on and off and not to mention look awesome and stylish,too.

Great product and going to buy again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/15/2018
by Sliv
Daily Commuter
Bay Area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Very excited with this purchase, still waiting to use them. Sitting on my bike which is waiting for me to fill them up

Great price, plus the reviews really sold me on me purchasing them.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/15/2018
by Tortoise
Casual Cyclist
New Mexico
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Well designed and easy to use.

Rating or reviewing Ortlieb Back Roller Bags is a bit redundant. Truly my favorite bag...and really, its the one bag in cycling that is a no brainer.. want a god bag, buy Ortlieb.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/7/2018
by Anonymous
Glendale
Overall Rating
Awesome

Love otrlieb working great so far..biketiresdirect was fast and easy to deal with..top notch...I'll be buying a new bike and will be ordering from here when I need something..

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/8/2018
by Clinton
Springfield
Overall Rating
Absolutely amazing

Love these bags. So easy to swap between our bikes. They hold A LOT. The reflective patch is pretty bright as well (I can see my spouse from a few hundred meters away at night with a mediocre light)

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/21/2017
by BaylorBoi
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
PERFECT accessory for commuting in rainy climates

Can carry way more than you need (towel, work clothes, laptop and files), keeping them dry and protected from the elements. I shopped extensively, evaluated many different manufacturers and this was the best.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/8/2017
by Rick
NY
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great build quality and stylish design.

Read reviews and watched many you tube videos and very happy i decided to purchased these bags.

I do lots of camping and its important to keep dry and i always stow my things in dry backpack or bags.

So this pannier was perfect.

Easy set up and stylish look , recieving complements at market while shopping.

Only thing i would suggest to Ortlieb is to put a few rubber buttons on bottom of bags for protection when placing on ground.

Very Happy.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/2/2017
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Duh its ortlieb btd was great

Bike tires direct sent my panniers fast and safe the panniers have been amazing as you would expect from ortieb..

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/7/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Atlanta GA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Worth it..

The quality is exceptional. I was tempted to buy something cheaper, but now that I have my first Ortlieb product I'm glad I didn't. The superior quality is obvious. I have loaded this pair with 30 pounds of gear, and they worked flawlessly. They hold a lot of stuff, they don't leak, and I have no worries about them tearing or ripping. I believe they will last for many years. You get what you pay for, and even though these are expensive, they're worth it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Ortlieb 2014 Back Roller Classic Pannier Set
Reviewed 9/25/2014
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Raleigh, NC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great bags!

I bought these bags to use primarily for commuting to work and they have already proven their worth - easy to attach and detach from the rack, easy to adjust position on rack (so your heels don't hit). The bags are well made and the waterproofing is so necessary. Looking forward to taking these bags camping!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.