Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Ortlieb Back Roller Classic Pannier Set

OrtliebBack Roller Classic Pannier Set(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(66 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(59)
(7)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(89%)
(11%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 11/12/2020
by NMiCyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Traverse City, Mi
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Best Saddle Bags I've Ever Used

I'll often use just one bag but adding the second one is beneficial for balance. These bags are so easy to put on and take off, seal contents completely and carry a lot of stuff! Here in Michigan, I will pick up deposit cans & bottles while cycling secondary roads (10 cents each) and use one bag for such while clothing & tools occupy the other bag. I just turned in 240 cans at the grocery store. Not a bad return for cycling the countryside, while enjoying the scenery and the healthy exercise.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/9/2020
by AKbiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Alaska
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Very study panniers

Have used several times now. First use was on a multi-day mountain bike-packing trip. Wet, rough trail with a lot of brush overgrowth. Lots of bike pushing due to poor trail conditions. But, through all the overgrowth hitting these panniers and the very wet, rainy conditions, I never once had a problem with these panniers. They stayed put on my rack until I wanted to remove them, and the contents stayed dry inside. No complaints. Worth the price.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/3/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Super high quality.

You can feel the quality immediately. Easy to install. Nice little zip pocket inside each bag. Holds a ton of gear. Very impressed!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/7/2020
by rickroy915
Daily Commuter
Orlando
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Best Panniers for long haul and groceries

Ortlieb is the go to for panniers....

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/13/2017
by JS in CT
Cycling Enthusiast
CT, USA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
10 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Sturdy & waterproof but hard to find stuff & keeps water in too

Ortliebs are large, durable, reflective, and waterproof. That's the good.

The less good...

With no outside pockets, you have to open and dig in your big bag to find even the small oft-needed items. The bag is so deep and dark that it's hard to find them. (And the small items go to the bottom.) There are two internal pockets at the bottom but I haven't yet found them useful.

This inconvenience is compounded by the roll up and clip closure method. Like a dry bag, works great for waterproof-ness (as long as you do it right and don't overfill) but with the shoulder strap also needing to be unsecured on the clip at the bottom outside of the bag, just opening and closing takes a while. So, overall, getting & stowing things quickly is not a strength of this no-outside-pockets design! Use some other bag for oft-needed items.

Rubberized waterproof-ness is a double edged sword. Great for keeping water out while it's closed but... What about when you have to open it (open side up) in the rain or when your stuff is already wet from camping in rain? You're just gonna' hold all that moisture inside for good! Indeed, this happened on my first tour with these.

I recommend setting the adjustable rack clips as wide apart as your rack will allow. My friend had hers narrowly set and, with the weight, the black bar with the clips bent and the edges of the bag started drooping outward.

Haven't really gotten the point with the shoulder straps yet... Most of the time, it just seems to be in the way and make it harder to open and close. But, without them to hold the outsides ends of the top-roll down, I'm not sure I can safely lose 'em. I want to carry them by the handles - but they don't seem strong enough for a heavy full bag. Are they just meant to unlatch the rack clips?

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/21/2017
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Look Good and work Great

Biking across America so they get lots of use and some abuse.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/10/2017
by Anonymous
Portland, OR
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Top of the line

Commuting daily in the Pacific Northwest, there are Ortlieb panniers as far as the eye can see, and for good reason. These are simply the best in terms of durability and design. I have used these panniers for my commute, bikepacking trips, grocery runs, and have yet to find a purpose in which they fail. Setting them up does require some thought and patience since not all rear racks are created equal (I had to invert the adjustable rail to fit my Blackburn rack), but once installed, they are a breeze to get on and off. If you are looking for a quality pannier with an amazing warranty (5years), look no further. These are more than a worthy investment.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/17/2020
by Phil
Cycling Enthusiast
Melbourne, FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
great pannier , simple to install ...and remove

Arrived exactly as planned. Used this product for multi day trip. easily fitted what I wanted. Was less of a hassle than I though to gain access throughout the day. Never moved from installed location. Have not had yet the opportunity to try in heavy rain but I am confident ! Since some colleagues bought the same !

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/20/2020
by jduffy
Cycling Enthusiast
Cleveland, OH
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great Bags!

Really great, straightforward and versatile bags. Should work on most racks, comes with adjustable sizing if your rack is more thick or thin metal. Love not wearing a back pack or messenger bag on longer non-commutes, planning some future camping rides.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/18/2018
by FLTGear
Cycling Enthusiast
Arkansas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Epic Touring Panniers

It's hard to beat these rugged, waterproof bags. The lower latch really gives tremendous flexibility, I've mounted these to four different racksbikes without any problems. Having started with the old straphook system twenty years ago, the mounting system is well worth the price. But I can't say I'm thrilled with the hook inserts - kinda of a pain to install, and I suspect that over the years they'll disappear. As someone else suggested, I did one ride leaving the inserts off and because I strapped a tent on top of the rack anyway, the bags didn't rattle and were still secure. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/13/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Great for short and long bike trips

I can pack my one person tent, sleeping bag and the rest of my camping gear in these. I biked during some rain and everything stayed dry.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/10/2020
by Anonymous
NY State
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Ortlieb bags

I have used the panner bags ... I like them .. they come off & on easy ... the locking system seems to work well... I road 12mi pouring rain & all my gear inside was dry ... I was impressed... great equipment...

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/5/2019
by Gina
Brooklyn NY
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Durable & versatile

Im able to fit enough clothes and personal supplies for 7 days between the two of these. They are easy to put on the bike and to take off to carry with you. Very happy with this purchase.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/18/2017
by Andy
Champaign
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Very impressed

Ortlieb brand was highly recommended by my local bike shop. After several months of using these I am in complete agreement. I commute to work almost every day. Bags are easy to install and remove from my rack. Lots of room inside. I have been caught in the rain and everything inside stayed nice and dry. The carrying strap makes it easy to carry a bag over the shoulder.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/18/2017
by SantaFeBicyclist
Daily Commuter
Santa Fe, NM
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent Panniers

I have used Front Rollers in the past and just acquired the Back Rollers for this year's journey. Completely watertight when rolled correctly, easy to mountun-mount, and huge capacity ... mine are visible yellow.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/20/2017
by Rick
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent product!

Used them the first week I got them. Went on a 200 mile self-contained camping trip. They worked perfectly.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/23/2017
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Five stars !

Roomy ,rugged, increased visibility, easy one handed removal, best price I found,

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/14/2019
by Rob
NC
Overall Rating
The best out there

These panniers may be a bit expensive but they're built rock solid and will last for many years. Buy them and all your wildest touring dreams will come true! Seriously though they're the best hands down.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/26/2018
by MVOregon
Daily Commuter
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
These panniers are awesome and seem bottomless.

I got these panniers to hold my backpack and work wear. It is very hot in the summer and a backpack leaves your back very sweaty. Theses bags hold everything you could need for commuting or shopping.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/20/2018
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Love it

Easy on and off. Good enough space. Solid water proofing.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 98