Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Oakley DRT5 Helmet

OakleyDRT5 Helmet(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(14 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(12)
(0)
(0)
(1)
(1)
(86%)
(0%)
(0%)
(7%)
(7%)
Reviewed 6/19/2020
by NM2MN
Cycling Enthusiast
Twin Cities, MN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Oakley DRT5 Helmet-Black

I've been really happy with this product overall. Sizing was spot on. This is my first mtb helmet and I found that I don't really use the sun glass feature. I do like the adjustable visor for different lighting preferences and it ventilates well and the sweat guard helps some but definitely doesn't catch everything.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/2/2020
by Bob
San Diego
Overall Rating
Great hemet

I like the build in shade visor. Very adjustable and comfortable fit. Light weight but sturdy

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/3/2020
by DM
Cycling Enthusiast
Austin, Tx
Value Rating
Overall Rating
not so great

Heavy and the strings are very uncortable after riding for an hour.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/19/2019
by Brian
Northern California
Overall Rating
Save your money

To say I am disappointed, would be putting it lightly. The helmet fits nice, but the sweat management feature of the helmet is actually a hazard. In order for the sweat to drain, you have to constantly look skyward and tilt your head to the side. When you dont, the sweat overwhelms the system and it sheets down your face. Ive seriously never been so disappointed with a cycling product.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/10/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Bend, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Really loving this helmet

Really like the silicone forehead contact. Incredibly comfortable, lightweight, and all the features work well and are utilized.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/17/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Orange County, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Premium price for a premium helmet.

DRT5 is the most expensive MTB helmet I have ever purchased, and it's worth it. It excels in the 2nd most important feature, which is fitcomfort (crash protection being 1st, but haven't had the opportunity to test it....thankfully). DRT5 does not use traditional foam pads like other brands, but rather it is suspended using very soft plastics which wraps around your head. Combined with the BOA retention system, it is without a doubt the best fitting and most comfortable helmet I have ever worn. I imagine the Oakley road helmets are similar in design also. Coverage of the helmet excellent and feels like it would provide adequate protection in most reasonable crashes. Plus, I think it is a really attractive looking helmet. Vents are large, but hasn't been warm enough to test the effectiveness, but seems like it would do the job. Installed in the helmet is a ribbed silicone pad in front of the helmet....acts as a seal to prevent sweat from falling into your eyes or glasses. When the helmet is adjusted correctly, it actually works very well and you can feel beads of sweat moving back and forth inside your helmet. A traditional foam pad is also included if you prefer that. The landing zone feature, which are 2 clips that holds your glasses on top of the helmet, is kinda gimmicky and I find myself not using it at all. I'm a cheap but I broke open the piggy bank for the DRT5 and do not regret it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/27/2021
by TXZEN
Cycling Enthusiast
Canyon lake TX
Overall Rating
Great looking solid helmet that fits well.

I use this for single track use in Texas to keep the noggin safe. I've used it a lot in the last couple of months and its very comfortable. The helmet doesn't have the usual padding stripes that my last fox helmet did however when riding its comfortable and I forget its up there. The forehead sweat band works good, but I haven't had a chance to use it in summer heat yet.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/21/2021
by Mtbmonkey
Georgia
Overall Rating
Last helmet I'll ever buy

The Oakley DRT5 helmet was a huge surprise after riding in a TLD helmet for years. The DRT5 is super light, extremely comfortable, and has great ventilation with minimal fabric based padding in the helmet. This is by far the most comfortable helmet I've ridden in!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/15/2021
by born to ride
Cycling Enthusiast
maryland
Overall Rating
nice fit

I like the look of helmet easy to adjust and totally like visor on front to keep sun out of eyes while riding hasn't been hot enough to know if it will keep you cooler in summer while riding. Got it on sale great price

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/26/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Exceeded Expectations

This is a great helmet, really quality construction and very comfortable!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/30/2020
by Steve Lum
2641 Tuller Ave El Cerrito, CA 94530
Overall Rating
Great helmet

The DRT 5 helmet is the most comfortable of all the previous helmets I�ve owned. It not only fits great, but it looks cool too. The only issue I have is with the eye glass holder. If you don�t flip the glasses upside down, they have a tendency to easily fall out of the latches. Also, the visor screws may come loose, so make sure you secure them properly.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/15/2020
by Pedalkin
Cycling Enthusiast
Fairhope AL
Overall Rating
Very High Quality Helmet, Good for Hot Cimate.

Very high quality helmet, the BOA system makes if fit securely. Very easy to put on and take off eye wear, the docking system for glasses is a very good feature. Sweat management system keeps my eyes dry, the number of vents is good for a hot humid climate.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/24/2020
by Pedalkin
Casual Cyclist
Fairhope,AL
Overall Rating
Very High Quality Helmet, Good for Hot Cimate.

The Oakley DRT5 helmet is very high Quality. I live in the South East and the perspiration management system works as described. Also the visor keeps the hot sun out of my face. I am a fan of oakley eye wear, and I have never had a helmet where it was so easy to put on and take off sunglasses. The helmet fits very well with the BOA .system. Overall very High quality helmet, excellent for Hot and Humid climate.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/29/2019
by Kevin
Competitive Racer
North Bend WA
Overall Rating
Very comfortable helmet and sturdy helmet that disappears when you are riding.

Great helmet, boa system fits my head well. It's well ventilated and has the sweat gutter on the fore head. You need to keep your hair out of the gutter or it becomes a gutter directed at your glasses instead of away from them. The glasses holder on the back of the helmet works for some glasses and some just slide out. Might need to update your shades if you plan on keeping them outback when climbing.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 13

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 503-342-9985 | [email protected]