Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
AVOID SHIPPING DELAYS & SHORTAGES THIS HOLIDAY SEASON - SHOP NOW!
Michelin Protek Cross Max 700c Tire

MichelinProtek Cross Max 700c Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(24 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(14)
(8)
(2)
(0)
(0)
(58%)
(33%)
(8%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 10/24/2021
by LKN Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Cornelius NC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Nice tires for hybrid bicycle

I bought two of these tires a little over a year ago, perhaps 2000 Km on my Trek 7700FX hybrid bicycle. The front tire looks almost new and the back tire is a little worn but not worn enough to warrant rotating the tires. Maybe next year. I ride mostly on roads, a little on sidewalks, occasionally on gravel, and rarely on dirt or grass. Good traction and road handling on all of those surfaces. The sidewalls of the tires have a bright reflective band which is handy for night riding.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/8/2021
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Satisfied

These tires have been working fine for 3 mos. Mostly..

No flats...

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/20/2018
by acep51
Daily Commuter
Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
10 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Great Tires All Around

I have had these tires on my bike for around 40 miles now and they perform great. The traction on a wet slippery road is the best I have ever had on my bike. I had a screw puncher my tire a few weeks ago and these tires sealed up and I was able to return home riding with a very small amount of air lost.

I highly recommend these tires!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/22/2017
by LACyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
14 of 20 customers found this review helpful.
Best Cross Tire For Your Bike-Never Get A Flat Again! Total Control!

This tire is the best! I put 700x32 on my road bike and converted it into an ATV.

You can go anywhere. You will never get a flat again. They are so thick between the tread and the protection layers that it's almost as thick as a car tire. You cannot pitch the tread at all its so thick. Like having 5 tire liners thick. This is the only tire so thick, you cannot pinch it.

Tread will give you some rolling resistance compared to no tread but that is the trade-off.

Grips on sand and dirt and pavement like suction cups.

Obviously not for heavy off-road riding around rocks with 700 cc wheels you are not going to do that anyway.

Super easy to install-no tools needed-seats easily and fast with finger pressure.

They are heavy though-but you can ride as I do over glass, goatheads, nails, potholes, broken roads, cracks, beach sand, sand piles, canal pavement, gravel, dirt roads etc. You will never get a flat and be in full control. Incredible stability.

Made in Taiwan-excellent quality. Country that has made some of the best bike parts and bikes for years.

I ride in Los Angeles-worst road in the USA and no problem-I am the King now-nothing on the road worries me.

Previously had Schwalbe and Victoria City 700 x 32 city tires. These Michelin Tires are far superior-no comparison.

Best of all is the little Michelin Man on the tire-it gives me comfort that I am riding with someone that is looking after my tires. Girls think he is cute too!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/23/2020
by RedRiver1956
Daily Commuter
Ocala,Fla.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great quality and durability. Some break in required.

This Michelin Protek Cross Max tire is a very durable and tough tire. I have rolled over broken glass and other debris in the bike lane without damaging or a puncture. The ride is a little stiffer but not having to repair or replace the tube is a welcome trade off. The only negative that I can post is the tire does not run true on the rim also the reflective strip on the side walls are not centered correctly. Bike Tires Direct had these tires on a daily special the price was right also free shipping. Next time I may try another brand not quite sold on this product.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/23/2020
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
San Jose, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
solid great grip tire for its price

I purchased this tire to replace my often punctured original tires that come with bike.

These tires offer great grip and puncture protection for its price.

a little bit of con on this tire.. Itz a bit more heavier than i like..

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/7/2021
by pamitchell
Bellingham WA
Overall Rating
Great riding tire!

Very happy with these Michelins. Rides great

Good tire for road and trail. .

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/12/2021
by JOSE FLAMENCO
S.F.BAY AREA
Overall Rating
very well balanced and durable Tire I use it as my back tire on my e-bike which goes about 40 mph but I usually ride around 30. it wears perfectly I would recommended to anyone especially those with e

Most excellent Tire especially for e-bikes I have put between 6 and 700 miles on the back wheel of my eBay I do not ever lock up the tire so we're in a very even pattern I recommend it to people with e-bikes so as not to get punctures

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/24/2020
by Kevin
Casual Cyclist
Chicago Il.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Needed New Tires

Why did I buy these tires, First, the Name, Michelin, Second, How they describe the threats, there great for wet weather, because it rain and dose snow here, plus they said they will last a long time.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/12/2020
by johnnyboy
Casual Cyclist
NewYork City
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Seems very good quality I'm satisfied with this tire.

It is a very good mix of street and off road I'd classify it as a beefy street tire good for NYC

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/21/2015
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Walnut Creek, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
11 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Great tires, even greater price

I cannot believe I just got a new one for $16, shipped. I would have liked to to last a bit longer, got about 2000 out of it. Tread had life but the sides were giving on the rear. Still, these things are awesome - I hope I don't jinx myself but never had a flat. Use them on my commute bike, and get them onto the dirt alot. Good tire for road, crappy road and fireroads. Went for the 40 this time.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/16/2018
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Upper Midwest
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great tires - 35's too wide for Domane SL6 front

Good traction, and wear resistance. The 35mm wide version is too wide for the Trek Domane SL6 disc with the tire rubbing the frame. This is my primary winter riding tire which is good for on and off road use.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/29/2018
by Dave
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
All round tire

I live in idaho boise the friggin goathead capital of the usa. I havn't been uslng it long but i think its the one to give them damn goatheads the finger! Rolls well is heavy but im riding an ebike not a weight wennie road bike. Handles good in wet pave and dirt trail

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/22/2018
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Albuquerque, NM
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Durable tire and it's apparent in the weight.

I got these tires to commute to work everyday and occasionally riding off-road. They are super durable and I love the reflective sidewalls. I did go down in size from my original tires (40mm to 35mm), but these seem to run big because they are roughly the same width. For my purposes the tires are great.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/16/2018
by Loud Brown
Modesto, CA
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Only one problem!

Great tires!

I always use Michelin tires on my bike for trouble-free performance - the ones I recently bought were the 700x40 to replace my thtee-year-old City Pilot Max tires. (700x35) that had over 15K miles and ZERO flats.

As always, very easy to mount and give a pleasant, smooth ride. However, the tires are somewhat larger than the desigated 40mm. I had to remove my SKS Longboard fendes so the tires could spin freely, though the fenders stated they could accommodate up to a 40mm tire. Barely a 2mm space between the front derailleur and the crest of the tire with the fenders removed. Not a problem if I rode this bike during only the clear weather, but it's my commuter bike and the rains decided to show up late this season - and Michelin Max tires last a long time!

I'll continue to use these until the smaller width ones are back in stock and order a set of those - and put those fenders back on!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/1/2018
by BandhisSurly
Daily Commuter
North Carolina
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
This is a great all-season commuter for my cross check

Paid less than $50 for a pair of 700x32s and threw them on my cross check. I primarily use these for commuting, but will take it on a gravel trail now and then. These were relatively easy to put on (especially after my conti ultra-sports that I didn't like at all).

These are fast enough to enjoy riding in dry weather and grippy enough to keep me from freaking out when it gets slippery. The tread is great for everything up to cinder trails, but I wouldn't use them for any single track.

Straight line, I love them. Cornering I have yet to push them to their limits, but I bought them specifically for commuting, and they have met or exceeded my expectations. Would buy again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/6/2017
by Lee
Daily Commuter
Boston, MA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Heavy

I put these on my CX bike after wearing out the stock tires. I use these tires for commuting. I find them to be VERY hard (whether at 40 lbs pressure or 65 lbs pressure) and I am not confident when turning - the tires feel slippery.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/28/2017
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent Tire

This is an excellent tire. I have had other brands and none have performed as well as this Michelin Protek 700c.

I highly recommend this tire.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/31/2017
by Anonymous
Cincinnati, OH
Overall Rating
12 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent commuter, decent offroader

I've put a couple hundred miles on these in the last two months. For urbandowntown commuting these tires have been excellent through sun, rain, and some fast and winding descents. Puncture resistance seems to be working well over cracked pavement and the occasional bit of broken glass. The reflective sidewalls are no joke, they glow strong even in dim light. I got mine in 40mm, and while not the lightest tires, the larger contact patch makes up for it in confidence level. Off-road on MTB single-track they've been good, but deep layers of wet leaves and light mud they'll wash a bit in hard corners under speed (mind IMBA trail rules for mud!). Then again I don't think these were ever really meant to be MTB tires. I just mention it to show they'll hold up well enough for dry mid-western mountain biking.

Fwiw I'm a N1 rider meaning I condensed my bike stable down to a single bike for everything (commute, MTB, 12 centuries, etc.) I ride a rigid, single-speed, Surly Ogre wdrop bars. My review above is based on my time riding these Michelin Protek Cross Max 700c tires on that bike.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/17/2020
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Portland, OR
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent grip on these tires

I purchased these tires in late July and have been using them on my daily commuter bike. They have excellent grip. I also enjoy the white reflective strip on them. They make me slightly more visible as it gets a little more darker each day.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 36

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]