Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Michelin Protek Cross 700c Tire

MichelinProtek Cross 700c Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(38 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(31)
(6)
(0)
(0)
(1)
(82%)
(16%)
(0%)
(0%)
(3%)
Reviewed 8/20/2021
by Anonymous
Michigan
Overall Rating
Love it

Put them on a fitness bike to do gravel paths and such. Also smoothed out the ride on the road from the "road tire" I had before. Not trying to win a peloton or anything, so works for me

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/10/2021
by Mac
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Fantastic value tire for vintage commuter conversions

So fantastic having such a great shop close by. Thanks again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/19/2021
by Anonymous
Michigan
Overall Rating
Love it

Put them on a fitness bike to do gravel paths and such. Also smoothed out the ride on the road from the �road tire� I had before. Not trying to win a peloton or anything� so works for me

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/19/2021
by Anonymous
Michigan
Overall Rating
Love it

Put them on a fitness bike to do gravel paths and such. Also smoothed out the ride on the road from the "road tire" I had before. Not trying to win a peloton or anything, so works for me

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/16/2021
by Trekker
Cycling Enthusiast
Mid-Atlantic
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Pay special attention to sizing!

I purchased a pair of these tires in 700 x 40 to replace a pair of Continentals in 700 x 42. The tires mount well and look confident on my wheels but they are enormous compared to the Contys. The "smaller" Michelin is actually 0.25" taller (measured from wheel to center height of the tread) and 0.2" wider than the slightly larger size Conty. I didn't expect that at all. I encountered significant interference with my fenders, so these have not even rolled one revolution on the ground. They had to come off immediately for a return, with which BikeTiresDirect has graciously agreed to assist. I plan to try the 700 x 32 size, which I hope will fit more like I expected. Kind of like the way I need different size shoes for a good fit depending on the manufacturer, be aware that these tires may be larger than the ones you are replacing, even if they are marked the same size or smaller.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/10/2021
by mj
Cycling Enthusiast
Orange County, Ca.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
good basic tire

I bought these for my Sirrus Elite. glad I did. The tires run smooth, have good grip and what's most important I have not had a flat on normal type paved surfaces. I did experience a drywall screw go right thru the tire and out the sidewall. The tire was toast. It was only my second ride on it. Unfortunately, even a car tire would not have stopped that screw. I ordered a new tire the same day and received the new tire 2 days later. Happy with the tire.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/28/2019
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Ann Arbor, MI
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
They're great Tires, wish they had come on my Cyclocross bike to begin with

These are great tires, they give me much more confidence than my previous ones, that I'll make it the entire way through my ride without a flat. They are a great cross tire and I haven't had a flat in the last 500 miles.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/20/2018
by Country Hick
Competitive Racer
10 miles from Corning California
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Just ordered 3 more 700x35's

I Always purchase tires in 3's since I go through 2 rears for every front. Moved out of SF bay area last year and found a need to buy a Merlin carbon cross bike to deal with the torturous country roads and miles of gravel in northern California. Beautiful, vehicle free rides all day but road conditions go from great to awe heck in a hurry. BIG difference from the 32's that came on the Merlin. Road comfort dramatically improved and now miles of gravel are always happily part of my rides.

Picked up 3 more for our Cannondale road tandem 1. Don't do gravel with the wife but these tires offer way more comfort for the me and my stoker. Stealth quiet, grippy and secure in the corners. 35's are the biggest to fit my bikes but I would have went bigger if I could. Big tires is where it's at anytime anywhere. No flat's yet.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/25/2018
by James
Cycling Enthusiast
Eugene, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Loving these!

These went on my FX-2, I went with the 35x700 size. Very impressed so far. They are QUIET, I was expecting some noise looking at the tread but have really enjoyed the lack of tread noise. I'm running 85 psi, the ride is nice, good roll. They are a bit heavy, but when riding this is unnoticeable. I was lucky and caught these on sale, but the regular price is still a great deal for what you are getting. The reflective stripe is a nice touch, overall I would buy another set without blinking.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/30/2021
by Anonymous
New Hampshire
Overall Rating
Good all around tire

So far, I am satisfied with these tires I am using for my hybrid.

As it is still early in the season here in New England, I haven't had a chance to yet use off road.

My bike mechanic installed the tires and of note, he mentioned they were difficult to seat on the rims so I don't expect to change a flat by myself. Hopefully, I won't need to!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/23/2017
by Mike,65age
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver Wash.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
9 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent rolling hi-Pressure tire for Mtbs,Hybrids,Road.Smooth and grippy,rain or sun.

Ive put these on about 35 bikes.Repair business,no more Flats.Better tires than most bikes come new with.Fast rolling,cushy ride,Deep tread that rolls fast.85lbersjust right,75lbsstill hard,but rides improved.65 for off road.55lbs for mushy mud.Michelins run 1.5mm larger,Tall tread when aired up.Watch frame clearance.Ive found out the 35mm fits most 35mm applicationsreplacements in the frame wFenders.35mm is my Favorite.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/17/2020
by RedRiver1956
Daily Commuter
Ocala,Fla.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great quality and durability. Some break in required.

Purchased these tires during a biketiresdirect daily sale. Price was right shipping was free a great combination. I installed these Michelins Protek Cross Max tires 700x32c on my 2020 Trek FX4 sport. Easy to install thread pattern seemed a little aggressive but that's what it takes to roll over glass and other objects that are found in the bike lanes. After installing these tires I set out on a 30 miles ride at first the tires felt a little difficult to gain traction while turning. I located a recently poured concrete driveway and used it to scuff up these tires using figure eights patterns. After about 20 mins of this I continued my ride the traction improved and the tires rolled

a lot smoother. Overall these Michelin Protek Cross Max tires are a little heavier then my Bontrager R2 tires but I felt move confident riding over objects (ie, gravel, broken glass, bike lane debris, etc). Great commuter and all around urban tire. One complaint the reflective strip is not centered on the side wall makes the tire look egg shaped while rolling.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/18/2017
by Mikeys Bykes
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver Wash.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
13 of 15 customers found this review helpful.
Great riding,smooth. Grip on snow,wet,dry.Easy to mount w/hands only. Very exact fit. Great Night Visibility!

I repair a lot of bikes. I always like these for the ride, protection and great hands-on only fit. Reflective stripe is bright 200ft or more. Rolls really well pumped up. Start at 65-70lbs.No squirm under hard braking.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/7/2020
by John Luka
Cycling Enthusiast
Southern California
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Poor man's Schwalbe

Bicycle manufacturers almost always put JUNK tires on their bikes, with E-bikes being an exception. Whenever you get a new bike the first thing you should to is replace the crap OEM tires with something decent. Up until recently I have always replaced the original tires with Schwalbes but their prices have been getting a bit out of reach, so I searched for something high quality but less expensive. I found these and gave them a shot. So far, they're great! No flats, great ride. Recommended. Note: i also put in flat protectors. Flat tires are my #1 bike problem.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/1/2020
by Al in Florida
Cycling Enthusiast
Viera Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Durable Cross/Gravel All Aroud Service Tire

The Michelin Proteck Cross tire is a very durable and comfort riding tire for my Colnago Impact flat bar gravel bike. For riding road and trail surfaces I find this tire a highly reliable. It is a very grippy tire in tight turns and offering a fast rolling performance. This is a winner tire IMHO.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/18/2021
by RONALD OJERAS
Daily Commuter
WEST COVINA,CA.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
EXXELENT TIRES

NEVER HAVE A FLAT FOR MONTS. THE OTHER TIRES I BOUGHT 3 DAYS ONLY AFTER I BOUGHT IT FLAT ALREADY

ITS TERRIBLE. BUT TIRES DIRRECT I WILL GIVE IT 10/THANK YOU EXXELENT CUSTOMER SERVICE.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/27/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
East Texas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
This is a great multi purpose tire for my use on my Surly

I am making a used Surly disc long haul trucker my own. These tires are the right size for the road or if I want to go off the beaten path. I have only been on paved roads so far and they seem to role well. Mine are the 35's on a 700 wheel. They are directional and must be mounted correctly. They went on the wheel about like most other tires I have mounted on these wheels, I needed tire tools to get them on.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/10/2017
by Don Kessler
Cycling Enthusiast
Pittsburgh, PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Best Tire for the C&O Trail

Made it from Cumberland, MD to Washington DC on these tires. Encountered lots of rocks, branches and mud, Absolutely no worries. Great traction and comfort.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/29/2019
by xr75man
Cycling Enthusiast
Fremont, Ca
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Sidewall blew out!!!

500 hundred miles into a tour from Portland to San Francisco the sidewall separated from

the bead. These were new tires when i started the tour with maybe 100 miles on them.

Lucky for me that I had brought a folding spare tire.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/19/2017
by ModestoOleGuy
Casual Cyclist
Modesto,CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire

I was getting flats too often, now with Michelin Protek Cross no flats thus far, grippy, safe feeling and still low rolling resistance.

I ride mostly on side of paved roads and paved bike trails which have loose dirt and gravel at some areas.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 85

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]