Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Michelin Protek 700c Tire

MichelinProtek 700c Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(100 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(62)
(28)
(5)
(2)
(3)
(62%)
(28%)
(5%)
(2%)
(3%)
Reviewed 5/13/2021
by Bernie
Casual Cyclist
Tampa Bay, Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellant tires, excellent service.

The Michelin tires work very well. I am glad I bought them. I ride mostly on paved bike trails and city sidewalks. The order was delivered promptly.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/6/2021
by Space Force Commander
Seattle
Overall Rating
Cannondale Bad Boy eBike conversion

Runs great and looks good too. Nice road feel and not blocky or rigid feeling. I run these on a 1100w Cannondale BadBoy at 60 psi front and 66 rear. Handles grass, sand, urban chunky streets, and WOT runs sustained at 35mph no problem. I also like that this tire doesn't sing and doesn't feel heavy even though it weighs a little more. I've never had a thorn in 1500 miles so ProTek works good on and off road. Can't say that about Kenda and Conti urban bike tires.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/18/2021
by TTinker
Casual Cyclist
CLEARWATER, FL.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
SMOOTH RIDE!

I just moved to a new location that has a bike trail close by. Inspecting my "old tires" I saw the evidence of "dry rot"..... That said, I decided that some new tires & tubes would be required for the newer, higher speed conditions. I like Michelin products and have them on all of my vehicles, so why not give them a try on my road bike? The tires were fairly easy to install and yielded a SMOOTHER RIDE! The "reflective band" on the side of the tires make them kind of cool looking as well. Peace of mind and money well spent!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/23/2021
by Chirard
Daily Commuter
Missouri
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Tough & Cheap but Heavy

I've run this tire (28mm) on the front wheel of an 80's Motobecane Grand Jubilee. Measuring 29 mm at 80 PSI, it is wider than any other "28mm" tire I've tried. I liked the extra width up front to traverse over road imperfections but it seemed a bit heavy. I've since switched it to the rear and put a lighter tire up front. I feel the Protek will perform well in the rear. In the few miles I rode it, I experienced no flats. If you don't care much about the weight, it's a good choice. I plan on using it on the newly finished Rock Island Trail east of Kansas City. I have high hopes for it there as well as elsewhere around the city.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/13/2021
by Streets & Trails
Casual Cyclist
Greenville, SC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great quality product AND great service and price!

I bought these Michelin Protek tires and Airstop A3 tubes to replace a set of Michelin Transworld City tires and tubes on my Trek 7300 bicycle. I was thoroughly satisfied with the performance and long service of the tires I am replacing, which is why I chose another set of Michelin tires and tubes.

This was my first experience with BikeTiresDirect, and I was impressed by the quality of service, the price of the products, and the speed of delivery.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/26/2021
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Great Tire

Great value. Feels good on the road after breaking in. Probably only a couple hundred miles at this point and it's holding up to the weird road debris from urban

camps.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/28/2021
by RIBikeFixr
Casual Cyclist
Kinston, RI
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Awesome looking and a great value

The price was very good and it made a good replacement for my daughter's 25 year old bike that she still rides today. She loves the bike and I upgraded it with new tires and other parts but these Tires surpassed my expectations. The first set of tires I ordered were too big because the markings on the old tires called for 28" tire and that was what I ordered initially. I asked BikeTiresDirect support for recommendations. They educated me on the right size I needed (700C). I found these on sale and they fit perfectly. Like all tires, getting them on the rim to fit correctly took a few tries but that is expected with all tires. The bonus is the reflective stripe on the side wall. With the reflective strip on the side wall, I removed the reflectors in the spokes which made the bike look out of date. But with these tires it looks fresh. My daughter is loving it more than before. I would recommend these to anyone looking for a good quality tire at a great price.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/4/2021
by jebermi
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Good tires but wider than normal

I have a Trek 1000c with factory bontrager wheels. It calls for 28mm tires. These are 28mm tires. Guess what? They don't fit in the front. When I wrote to explain the problem BTD told me they can't control the width of my rims. With 75psi they measure an actual 31mm with my digital calipers. I'll run them in the back and something else up front. Suggestions?

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/1/2021
by Anonymous
Fort Myets Fl
Overall Rating
Excellent performance

Tread design very versatile

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/3/2021
by Anonymous
Fort Myets Fl
Overall Rating
Excellent performance

Tread design very versatile

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/29/2021
by Anonymous
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
I ride practically every day and have had great performance from these tires.

I have ridden over 24,000 miles; mostly in Colorado, Tennessee, and Kentucky. I have used a number of different tires along the way. These tires perform as well or better than any I have used. The reflective strip is a nice touch that really "lights up" in a car's headlights and makes me feel a bit safer.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/24/2021
by Brutus52
Cycling Enthusiast
Toledo, OH
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Smooth riding tire

Purchased these tires to replace my original tires. They ride smoothly and take bumps in the road well. So far they are working well.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/26/2021
by Lt
Overall Rating
Heavy

Too heavy tires and don't last long.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/11/2021
by Mike pitsch
North Muskegon
Overall Rating
Nice tire

Very nice tire for the money, went on easy maybe even a better fit than the Kendras that were on our bikes. Love the reflective stripe on the sidewall, better visibility at dusk.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/18/2017
by Meaux
Daily Commuter
Louisiana
Value Rating
Overall Rating
19 of 20 customers found this review helpful.
well pleased with these tires for my commuter.

They remind me of much more expensive touring tires sold by a German manufacturer. They roll well and have nice rounded shoulders for leaning into turns. Other reviewers had noted they run a bit large. I generally run 35s and that is the size I bought but my bike has very minimal brake and fender clearance and If I get another set they will be 32s. Otherwise I am completely pleased.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/25/2021
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great tires

I have a Hybrid bike, these tires are great, I ride mostly on paved roads. Good grip and handling.

Recomended 100%

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/15/2021
by Mj
Cycling Enthusiast
Orange County, ca.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Rolls nice

Grips well. I like tires where I can feel the road. This one delivers on that. Semi quiet. Good deal !

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/13/2020
by LG-SF
Daily Commuter
El Cerrito, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
GREAT urban commuter tires

This is my second set of these and they are great. A nice wide city tire that works with fenders on my commuter Raleigh. The reflective sidewalls add a level of safety but still look nice. They hold up well and are good year round.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/11/2020
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Denver
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Perfectly Good

Nice and quiet ride. Cornering is sadly mediocre, but still better than what Schwalbe's doing in this style. I don't know why tire makers have recently decided we only ride in straight lines now. I won't really know how the thorn protection is until I pick up some thorns, but I haven't had a puncture in the first couple hundred miles, even though I've definitely ridden through broken glass a few times.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/1/2020
by goldenbeardog
Cycling Enthusiast
nashville, tn
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent replacement tires and complimented the bike.

I bought this tire for a particular bike I intended to sell. The tires were sharp and clear in logo and made the bike stand tall and ready for the trail. The tire very closely resembled the OE and I could not have been happier with them. A good selection all round!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 46

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 503-342-9985 | [email protected]