Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Michelin Protek 26 Inch Tire

MichelinProtek 26 Inch Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(45 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(36)
(9)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(80%)
(20%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 4/26/2021
by The Golfnut
Cycling Enthusiast
Midwest Canada
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Smooth with grip

Replaced 1.95 Kenda Knobbies with the 1.85 Protek on my Giant MTB. What a difference in comfort , speed , & little rolling resistance. Very quiet in comparison . I'm 79 & I am done with off road trekking. I ride 15-20 KMS per day mostly on hard top , light gravel paths. These tires are good quality at a great price.

I don't sound like a siren driving down the road anymore. These tires are not as fast as my Trek Domane 700 x 32mm tires but just as smooth !! Love them.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/10/2021
by Mac
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Fantastic value tire for vintage commuter conversions

So fantastic having such a great shop close by. Thanks again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/26/2018
by GrixG
Cycling Enthusiast
Mid-Hudson Valley
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Great urban and trail tire

I put Protek 1.85 tires on my go-to bike, a 1983 Trek 850 Rough Terrain bicycle. That bicycle has been with me consistently since '83 though another 20 bicycles have come and gone since I bought it new. This bike has been used for single track, multi-use trails, bush whacking, around town and on 3,100 mile self supported tour. I've worn out a lot of tires on this bike (as well many other components!). I also have special purpose tires for the bike for bush whacking and riding on ice (Schwalbe Ice Spikers). Through all of that I've found that these Protek tires have proven to be the most versatile, comfortable, and safest tires I've used in urban, rural and rough rail trail conditions. Gone for me are the days when riding tubulars was the way to go!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/8/2020
by JafC
Casual Cyclist
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Smoother & are quieter than my old Kenda knobbies, but...

Purchased these to replace the old Kenda 26-inch tires that were on my old mountain bike.

Wanted something that would give a more comfortable ride & were not as noisy.

They definitely ride smoother & are quieter than the old Kenda knobbies, BUT have more rolling resistance and are slower. Think that this is from more rubber on the road.

Fortunately this is not my primary bike, so the mountain bike w/ thees Michelins will be just fine for the 3 mile ride to my local gym...guessing that now I'll arrive thoroughly warmed up.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/25/2020
by JafBiker
Casual Cyclist
NYC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Ride smoother & are quieter than my old Kenda knobbies, BUT...

Purchased these to replace the old Kenda K-831 26-inch tires that were on my old mountain bike.

Wanted something that would give a more comfortable ride & were not as noisy.

They definitely ride smoother & are quieter than the old Kenda knobbies, BUT have more rolling resistance and are slower. Think that this is a function of more rubber on the road.

Fortunately this is not my primary bike, so the mountain bike w/ the Michelin Proteks will be just fine for the 3 mile ride to my local gym...guessing that now I'll arrive thoroughly warmed up.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/3/2021
by Jeff Volk
Gwynedd Valley, PA
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
amazing

although these tires dont appear to be well-suited to touring (slickish tread), they really proved themselves on a recent 3-month cycling trip in Brazil on all surfaces: asphalt, gravel, dirt and even sand roads, Very satisfied, Very durable and puncture-resistant Highly recommended for price to quality ratio.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/3/2020
by frankfx
Daily Commuter
San Francisco Bay Area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
11 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Robust road comuter !
I put these tires on my old Schwinn High Sierra (34 year old) that I use exclusively for commuting. The bike is 30 pounds and has rear bags. The tire are not light, but they are tough and smooth rolling.They are very resistant to puncture and very quiet.
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/16/2021
by Dana
Missoula MT
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Nice road tire for mountain bike

These tires are nice. Low rolling resistance and comfortable ride. I ride knobbys in the winter and these the rest of the year around town on my old mountain bike. The reflective stripe is a plus.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/25/2021
by veloface
Overall Rating
Perfect cross between road & mountain

Replaced original tires on a specialized vita, and had a hard time finding just the right tread configuration & price. These were a good choice - the ride is more confident, and they look great as well.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/16/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Quiet and low resistance

I ride on both paved and dirt bike paths. These tires work great for me. Higher pressure really lowers rolling resistance. I would not use these for mountain biking of course. But for trekking over hill and dale these are perfect.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/2/2021
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Very good tires

Swapped out my mountain bike tires due to different trail surfaces (paved) and could not be any happier for having done so. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/17/2020
by PW Mike
Long Island
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Good city tire

26x1.85. They look great. They have a nice soft compound. Good grip on pavement and absorbs bumps and potholes nicely. Well made and precision. Not a lot of Rolling resistance. The cons are they are terrible on loose gravel and they are Really heavy. I like them For city but not so much for suburban riding. I would get 26x1.40 for that. I bet those are great.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/15/2021
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
san juan capistrano
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Quality Product

smooth riding tires

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/9/2021
by williemakeit
Cycling Enthusiast
sacramento,Ca
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
awesome tire

Smooth ride , great rolling resistance , no flats ,works great. 4 stars on value rating because we all know everything is way to expensive.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/8/2021
by Lngbrd55
Casual Cyclist
s.c.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire

Quite ,fast rolling, looks good

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/7/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Turn your beach cruiser into something almost as fast as a road bike without sacrificing comfort

Most of the time the original equipment tires that come with cruiser-style bikes, or any 26 tire bike, are JUNK. Replacing the stock tires with something like these makes a massive difference when it comes to cycling efficiency. These tires can take a higher PSI compared to stock cruiser tires. I took a chance on these since I couldn't afford Schwalbe tires - I got lucky! I think these tires have been replaced with Protek Cross.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/3/2017
by Mike M
Eugene
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Nice grip.

The Protek has good roll while having great grip. Feels like a larger tire as far as feeling protected goes.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/19/2017
by JET
Casual Cyclist
Chicagoland, IL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Nice smooth ride with 55-65 psi

I went from mountain tires to these & I'm glad I did. I mainly ride on roads so, I don't know about grip on trails.

That being said, the 55-65 psi seems top me to be the best compromise of rolling resistance vs smooth ride.

My friend was amazed on how illuminating the reflective part of the tires were. For me, these tires are great.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/12/2017
by Api
Casual Cyclist
Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
These are a best buy for the cost

Is this a 5 star tire? No. Is this a 5 star value? Absolutely! Don't misunderstand, this is a very good tire. It features low rolling resistance and some puncture resistance. I would buy these all day as an all around best buy if you're just looking for something for casual riding. Not sure about long term durability or professional use? Maybe. I was very impressed. Smooth riding on pavement, even took these on a 30 mile ride on gravely fire road. They dont grab the loose road but they roll over it well and didn't feel loose. If that road were wet, I would have been S O L, but they held up well the low rolling resistance makes the riding much better. This is a great buy.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/17/2017
by Duane
Leaf Ms
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
So far so good!

As far as the source, Tires were delivered on time, packaged well, and cost effective...

And so far so good on the quality...What I liked especially about the Michelin Protek is how easy it was to setcenter the bead when installing, they fit so well that they basically centered themselves when adding the air and it seems to easily handle the 87 Lb max air pressure because of the very strong tire beads...It holds up my 250 lb frame easily and seems to have VERY LOW rolling resistance on my Trek Navigator aired all the way up....Only time will tell on the puncture resistance but So Far they seem to be a very well made tire for the price......Now time to put on the miles and really test them out.....

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 40

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]