Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Michelin A1 Airstop Tube

MichelinA1 Airstop Tube(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(133 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(90)
(33)
(1)
(6)
(3)
(68%)
(25%)
(1%)
(5%)
(2%)
Reviewed 12/5/2022
by Old NE Roadie
Cycling Enthusiast
Rhode Island
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Good value on sale

Tubes are getting expensive so buying quality ones like these on sale is key. These last a long time, are light and easy to patch if you get a flat, although I seldom do with these.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/1/2022
by Biker Don
Cycling Enthusiast
Fruita, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Love the smooth stem

I only buy smooth stem tubes. I stopped using threaded tubes years ago as the threads were chewing up the o-rings in my pumps. That doesn't happen anymore with the smooth stems. I seriously don't know why any manufacturer still makes threaded stems. They serve no purpose other than to damage your pumps. These tubes are perfect for my needs.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/17/2022
by Irv
Cycling Enthusiast
Happy Valley (Portland)
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
This is a great tube and BTD offers superb customer service!

What I love about these Michelin tubes is that the stem is smooth, not threaded. That means they do not wear out the grommet in my pump head. Since I air my tires before every ride, the threaded stems I previously used did compromise the pump grommets. Not any more! And, the customer service (when I went to pick up my tubes) was excellent. On the phone order the rep was helpful in getting the best price. Then, when I went to the store for pick up, I was delighted to find it open for some shopping and helpful conversation with the sales rep. I look forward to getting back to BTD. A great service for our biking community. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/8/2022
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Value Rating
Overall Rating
No fuss tube

Great tubes. I am using the 700x18-25mm in combination with Veloflex 23mm tires. I prefer the smooth stem on these to threaded stems, because my pump locks on and comes off much more easily. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/20/2017
by DonWA
Cycling Enthusiast
Palatine, IL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Love the smooth stem

I only use smooth stem tubes on my bikes as they do not tear up the o-ring seal on my pump. Smooth stems are hard to find as most manufacturers insist on putting the unneeded threads on their tubes. However they are available here at a decent price. These are good quality tubes too. I have been using them for many years and have never had a flat as a result of a fault of the tube.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/29/2017
by B''ham Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Bellingham, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Quality Tube

Michelin tubes seem to have a better quality stem than other brands. The presta valve just seems to have a more substantial feel to it than others. The tubes hold full pressure longer than others, not necessary to check pressure before every ride. Not sure if it is the quality of the rubber or just better construction. Before getting these tubes, I thought a tube is a tube, they all hold air, but apparently some do it better than others!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/4/2009
by Andrew S. (BikeTiresDirect.com Staff)
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland OR.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
55 of 77 customers found this review helpful.
Good standard weight tube.

Michelin makes a great standard weight tube. This tube is fantastic in all situations from recreational riding, to training, and competitive racing.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/6/2018
by Hawk
Cycling Enthusiast
SoCal
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great tube for the Lazy !

I'm lazy and don't like to pump up tires before every ride. Michelin Airstops loose pressure at a very low rate, so I inflate on Friday and ride all weekend secure in the knowledge that my tires are still in the set pressure range. I also love the smooth valve stems as they don't chew up the rubber seal on my track pump.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/8/2021
by William.Lonergan
Jamaica,N.Y
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
A good match with Michelin pro 4 tires

I matched A1 air stop tubes with Michelin pro 4 tires witch worked out really well, these tubes a good buy for the money seem to hold air longer and have a nice smooth valve I'm satisfied and feel others will be too.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/12/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Greenville, NC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Good quality for the price.

It's a tube. It goes into the tire!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/17/2021
by Bill K
Cycling Enthusiast
Bluffton SC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
No air loss over night

These tubes hold air for days compared to the ultra light version also you can not notice the the slight weight increase or ride quality

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/10/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Thousand Oaks, California
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Most dependable tube around

There's nothing I don't like about A1 Airstops. They have the right balance of lightness and puncture resistance. The valves are smooth so they don't chew up the chuck on my air pump. The 40mm stem length is perfect for HED Ardennes and other low-profile wheels.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/6/2017
by agingrider
Cycling Enthusiast
portland, Or
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Dependable for 25mm tires

Good tube for 25 mm wide tires. I prefer the quality of Michelin tubes over others, less seam splitting and the slightly extra rubber helps resist those tiny pin pricks that can damage ultra light tubes. Probably want something lighter to stay competitive for racing. But if you don't like sitting on the side of the road fixing flats during training or recreational rides give these a try. I use tires weighing 215 to 240 gms on my road bike on city and country roads.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/3/2017
by j.c.
Cycling Enthusiast
san diego
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
works great

a tube is a simple thing that you want to work well, and this dose the job. I like the non threaded valve stem, easier to pump,

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/6/2017
by Shazinj
Cycling Enthusiast
Sacramento CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great place to by great products for your bike

I love Michelin brand tires ans inter tubes. I love it even more from a good web store at a great price.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/29/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Good find

I bought these because the valves are smooth. This feature is very hard to find in tubes & I do not understand why that is.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/26/2016
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Good Tube, Slightly Incorrect BTD Description

Size and Weight Michelin states on the box 700x1823. This site says 1825. On modern wide rims many 23mm tires actually measure 25mm. For example, Conti GP4000S II 23mm tires measure 25mm wide on my rims. I find these tubes still work fine, probably because they are average weight and a bit thicker than the lightweight Michelin AirCOMP. My 40mm AirSTOP tubes weigh 95 grams each (my 40mm AirCOMP tubes weigh 75 grams each).

Smooth Valve I prefer smooth valves because the don't chew up my pump head internal seal. I just make sure I have at least 15mm of smooth stem sticking out above the rim but 20mm is probably better if you have a pump head that is old.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/12/2016
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
NYC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
12 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
these do not have removable valve cores.

Even though the description does not say anything about the valve core, I bought these because someone complained that the cores came out when they used screw-on pumps. Unfortunately that information was incorrect. These do not have removable valve cores.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/30/2015
by MG_Chicago
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago, IL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Great tubes for road riding!

I've been using these for years now and they are high quality tubes that hold air reliably. I buy these specifically because I like the smooth presta valve vs. the threaded one.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/28/2015
by Key Largo biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Key Largo, FL, and Vancouver Canada
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
Valve stem either bends, or blow completely out

My experience with a half dozen of these was different from most reviewers. Out of a half dozen purchased from BTD at a discount price, 3 have so far (within a year) either had the valve stem screw first bend, then break off entirely, or had the valve core blow out entirely from the valve them when inflating them. Today I was stranded 20 miles from home with no way to repair either of the two Michelin tubes I had along. This is on top of the valve cores liking to unscrew themselves if you use a pump with a screw-on chuck like Lezyne. (Though all tubes with replaceable cores have this problem.) Beware!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 55

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]