Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Michelin A1 Airstop Tube

MichelinA1 Airstop Tube(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(126 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(84)
(32)
(1)
(6)
(3)
(67%)
(25%)
(1%)
(5%)
(2%)
Previous Page
Reviewed 2/12/2016
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
NYC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
these do not have removable valve cores.

Even though the description does not say anything about the valve core, I bought these because someone complained that the cores came out when they used screw-on pumps. Unfortunately that information was incorrect. These do not have removable valve cores.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/9/2019
by Mr. Wallace
Competitive Racer
Northeast Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Reliability!!!

I keep several of these in my personal inventory because they hold air and I like the smooth stems. I need to check my tire pressure only once a week and then it is rare that they have lost more than 2 pounds. The smooth stems are kind to the grommet on my floor pump. I am sure these tubes are marginally thicker than most others, which makes them marginally heavier. It is worth it for tubes that do what tubes are supposed to do.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/30/2015
by MG_Chicago
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago, IL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Great tubes for road riding!

I've been using these for years now and they are high quality tubes that hold air reliably. I buy these specifically because I like the smooth presta valve vs. the threaded one.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/28/2015
by Key Largo biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Key Largo, FL, and Vancouver Canada
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
Valve stem either bends, or blow completely out

My experience with a half dozen of these was different from most reviewers. Out of a half dozen purchased from BTD at a discount price, 3 have so far (within a year) either had the valve stem screw first bend, then break off entirely, or had the valve core blow out entirely from the valve them when inflating them. Today I was stranded 20 miles from home with no way to repair either of the two Michelin tubes I had along. This is on top of the valve cores liking to unscrew themselves if you use a pump with a screw-on chuck like Lezyne. (Though all tubes with replaceable cores have this problem.) Beware!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/16/2018
by Fbikewheels
Cycling Enthusiast
Long Island, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Very good durable tubes

Use in both of my road bikes and it is easy to use and keep inflated

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/16/2014
by Mike
Cycling Enthusiast
Santa Clarita, CA.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Pin hole leaks

I went through 3 tubes with pin hole leaks on the back side of the tube where the divot was for the spokes. I never had that problem before with other tubes, put some rim tape on and the tubes have been holding. We will see.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/25/2014
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
good value, long lasting

I have used these for years and find them to be reliable. I like the smooth stem. The weight is reasonable and they don't go flat without a reason.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/14/2014
by Fred H
Competitive Racer
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
My favorite tubes

I use these tubes pretty much exclusively. They last well and I really like the threadless stems.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/17/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Tried them .... never again

Maybe it was a bad batch, but just went through 4 of these with flats in all after 20-30 miles on each. Rim and tire fine, replaced with another brand that I got from the shop and have about 400 miles on them with no issues. Never getting these again. Again, reviews seem good so maybe it was just bad luck but it sucked because I was riding in remote places.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/25/2018
by NC Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Central NC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Spread the word... SMOOTH STEMS ARE SUPERIOR!

Smooth stems are getting so hard to find. Come on, bikers! Threaded stems chew up pump chucksgrommets. Get smart and buy smooth!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/21/2018
by Joelh
Cycling Enthusiast
Gresham, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent Long Lasting Tube

One of the best tubes on the market, especially when BTD discounts the price! I found these tubes to be long lasting with a high quality smooth stem presta valve. I especially like the smooth stem - doesn't wear out the rubber gasket in the head of my floor pump.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/22/2018
by North Coast Old Spoke
Cycling Enthusiast
Oregon North Coast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent tube at an excellent price!

Having sworn by Michelin PRO4 tires for several years, it was only natural to rely on Michelin for tubes. And I have never been disappointed. Seemingly bulletproof, these tubes are my faves - and a great value at Biketiresdirect!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/24/2014
by nils
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Good, reliable tubes

I have been using this 700-23 tube in 700-32 Panaracer Pasela tires on my commuter bike for a couple years with very good results. They are durable, hold pressure for weeks and last very well even though stretched beyond their design size in these larger tires. No flats so far.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/23/2013
by Jeepsouth
Cycling Enthusiast
Greer, SC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Bike Tires Direct is Outstanding!!!

This is a very fine tube, as almost everyone else has stated. This review is really about Bike Tires Direct.

I ordered 2 of these tubes along with 2 Michelin Pro 4 Service Course tires. Everything arrived on time and as promised. However, when I mounted the tubes and tires, one of the tubes just would not hold pressure. I took the tire and tube off of the wheel and found an almost microscopic pin-hole in the tube. Nothing against Michelin, thus type of thing happens with all brands of tubes at one time or another. All of this took place after I got home from work at about 6pm here on the east coast. At about 9pm, Eastern Time, I sent an e-mail to Bike Tires Direct explaining what happened.

The next day, almost simultaneously, I received e-mails from both Bike Tires Direct and UPS (tracking the shipment). Within 16 hours of my sending the e-mail to Bike Tires Direct, a new tube had already been boxed and shipped and was on the way to me. That is OUTSTANDING CUSTOMER SERVICE!!!! I plan to do all of my business with Bike Tires Direct in the future. This is a company that does things the right way. Thanks BTD!!!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/25/2013
by Tinman
Cycling Enthusiast
Fresno
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
An excellant all around tube with a smooth stem.

I ride my Specialized Roubaix with 700x25 tires at 90 lbs. pressure. I have never had a snakebite problem with these tubes. The ride is great and I really like the smooth stems that do not eat up my pump seal. They are a little bit heavier than other tubes, but are worth it for the durability that I look for.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/21/2013
by MikeOnTheBike - San Diego
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Overall good choice for training and every day use

These tubes are very good for every day and training. They hold air so you don't have to pump them before every ride (I refill about once a week) and I really prefer the un-threaded stems which mate with my pumps without leaking while pumping. They seem to be less prone to flats compared to thinner tubes.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/17/2013
by Anonymous
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Tubes hold air really well from ride to ride

These are good tubes. I had read from other reviews that they hold air really well from ride to and I must admit I find that to be the case. In a week period I will loose less than 10 psi on these tubes. I don't even check anymore on rides that are only days apart.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/26/2018
by Anonymous
Nature coast, Florida
Overall Rating
Great tubes

Good for everyday use. Dont lose air as fast as the lighter A1B1. Also dont have as many flats with these. Really like they dont have the threads that shred my pump seals.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/22/2018
by Fishful Thinking
Cycling Enthusiast
Simsbury, CT & Cape Cod
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Great Reliable Road Bike Tube

Purchased new tires and wanted reliable tubes for my two road bikes. I bought two of these tubes and new tires last year for my Cannondale CAAD 10, rode the bike a lot during the summer and fall riding season. Never had any tire issues. A quality product at a reasonable price.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/25/2017
by Mark
Cycling Enthusiast
Opelika, AL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Best tubes I've used

These are great tubes. I got some when I ordered some tires a while back. They hold air better than the Bontrager tubes that came on my Emonda. I've aired them up and checked them 2 days later and the tires didn't need any air. Can't get better than that. These are a steal as well, great price for such a great tube. I prefer the smooth Presta too, doesn't eat up my pump head. They may be a little heavier than other tubes but I'm not concerned about weight as I don't race. Going to stock up on them soon.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 57

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 503-342-9985 | [email protected]