Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Maxxis Re-Fuse Road Tire

MaxxisRe-Fuse Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(40 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(31)
(7)
(1)
(0)
(1)
(78%)
(18%)
(3%)
(0%)
(3%)
Reviewed 10/18/2020
by Chris
Chicago
Overall Rating
Fantastic tire for rough roads and winter riding

I was looking for a 700x25 alternate to Gravel Kings with a file tread pattern to fit under my fenders for winter riding. I ride a lot of rough roads as well as crushed limestone/very light gravel paths and these are perfect. They went on with average ease. Really nice and grippy. No complaints

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/6/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
The only tire I use.

Most puncture proof tire I ever had.

I tried them all.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/21/2020
by cycloman
Competitive Racer
Akron Ohio
Value Rating
Overall Rating
great tire - very pleased

easy mounting - great ride - am very pleased - will buy another -

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/2/2011
by Joe (BikeTiresDirect.com Staff)
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
22 of 22 customers found this review helpful.
Underrated Trainer

The sleeper of the training tire category. The Re-Fuse gives Gatorskin-like puncture resistance, plus plenty of grip in wet conditions. No, it's not the fastest tire in the world, but delivers a smooth and secure ride.

A perfect tire for winter and spring training, or all-year adventure rides.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/24/2020
by Anonymous
1200ft per hour every day
Overall Rating
2008 Poolesville MD RR

Pro 1-2 with Kelly and Harley. 2mi rough dirt pot holes. Flats happening. Finish one spot out of top 10. If you are fast, this is a fast tire.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/25/2019
by George
Competitive Racer
Long Island NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
good tire for the price.

There are many tires. Some more expensive than others.

If you pay more, you should get more. At least that is what I expect.

But with some tires I have paid more and didn't get better or equal performance to this tire.

For my money, I like maxxis refuse on my back tire and I expect to get at least 2 seasons out of the tire.

Every season, I place a fresh tire on the back wheel and move the old back tire into the front.

I do between 1500 and 1800 miles per season from April until October.

And so far, so good. Very few punctures and good performance on my training bike.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/28/2019
by Major Tom
Tranquility base
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Simply the best

I have been riding for 35 years. Im not an athlete or in any competitions.

For riding my recumbent. This is the ONLY tire that I change because the excessive wear. All others are because the flat protection was compromised.

I get 3000 mi. With no flats.

My only 700 tire. I wish they made them in different sizes.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/27/2019
by Adrian
Chevy Chase MD
Overall Rating
Great tires- never get a puncture flat!

I have been running Re-Fuse tires for close to ten years. Never had a puncture flat. Had flats due to broken valve stems.

Even when worn to the cords Ive never been stranded.

Some of my friends say the tires weigh too much but I am not competing in races and neither are they. I feel like it is more important to not be troubled with a flat than it is to save a few grams.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/5/2017
by Frank
nj
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Flats no more!!

The only 700 tire I'll use. Period.

I wish they made a 26 for my winter bike.

I have bin ridding for 20 years and this is the most puncture resistant. Fastest tire I found.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/5/2015
by K Hanratty
Cycling Enthusiast
Las Vegas Nevada
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great training road bike tires.

Great tires at a Great Price.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/2/2015
by Anonymous
Colorado Springs
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
A little heavy, but haven't had a flat yet.

Got a thousand miles on. Nice not to have to fix tires as often, Handling is good. My use recreational.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/17/2014
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Northwest Montana
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
This is a long lasting tire.

I don't track my mileage on my tires so I can't give any specific data, but these tires last a very long time. I have never had a flat with one, and that includes occasional ruough shoulders and gravel roads. They provide a good ride at a good price.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/14/2014
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Not perfect, but pretty tough.

Bought these tires for the Great Allegheny Passage and the C&O Canal. Had a puncture on the third and final day while we were taking a cut through on roads. It took a sharp steel piece of pipe on the road to slit it down the sidewall which doesn't have the kevlar belt protection. During examination after the trip, I found several other large slits in the front and rear tires, of which none had caused a flat.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/11/2014
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Long Island, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great Training Tire

I use this tire on the rear wheel in the 25c size. After 1500 miles it has been bullet-proof. It is a little heavy, but when you're riding you don't notice the weight. I would not use this as race tire, but it is not meant for that. It's a strong and reliable training tire that you don't notice while riding and you don't have to change flats.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/3/2014
by Frank
Cycling Enthusiast
NJ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
BEST TIRE EVER!!

I used many many tires on my 2 recumbent bikes. This is the only tire that I NEVER had a flat on, and I ride a rail trail that many times has glass and stone chips that play havoc with any other tire. I only wish they made a 26" for my V-REX.This is the only 700 tire I'll buy. May be a little slower than some racing tires. But its plenty fast for me. Great product.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/3/2014
by Frank
NJ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
My 2 nd review

I just can't say enough about this tire. With this tire I unintentionally ran over the broken base of a bottle. The front tire, which is another tire. Immediately popped. The back maxxis went rite over it. No problem. I never seen anything like it. Definitely named correctly.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/29/2013
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Milwaukee, WI
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
450 miles in, no problems

I got the 28mm wide tires to deal with really crappy roads on my commute. I had been using 23mm tires and I had several pinch flats (even with 100psi) due to horrendous potholes. Four weeks in, I haven't had a puncture or pinch flat, and the tires don't feel slow like Armadillos or Gatorskins.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/28/2013
by John holt
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great tires

Love the grip and the price is soo low

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/27/2013
by Monanna
Cycling Enthusiast
Parker , CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Looks nice, great price, great product

Have only gone out cycling with it a few times but it rides well. I wanted a tire with some strength to resist flats. From the reviews many people got it for that reason. So far so good for me.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/25/2012
by SFReeves
Cycling Enthusiast
Redding, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent Tires, for the price

These are great tires, virtually pucture proof during the first 1200 miles or so. the front tire is good for around 1800. the tires dont really last all that long but have a good ride and handling and for the price is acceptable for the mileage.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 32