Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Maxxis Re-Fuse Road Tire

MaxxisRe-Fuse Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(45 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(35)
(8)
(1)
(0)
(1)
(78%)
(18%)
(2%)
(0%)
(2%)
Previous Page
Reviewed 9/21/2020
by cycloman
Competitive Racer
Akron Ohio
Value Rating
Overall Rating
great tire - very pleased

easy mounting - great ride - am very pleased - will buy another -

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/28/2013
by John holt
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great tires

Love the grip and the price is soo low

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/27/2013
by Monanna
Cycling Enthusiast
Parker , CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Looks nice, great price, great product

Have only gone out cycling with it a few times but it rides well. I wanted a tire with some strength to resist flats. From the reviews many people got it for that reason. So far so good for me.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/25/2012
by SFReeves
Cycling Enthusiast
Redding, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent Tires, for the price

These are great tires, virtually pucture proof during the first 1200 miles or so. the front tire is good for around 1800. the tires dont really last all that long but have a good ride and handling and for the price is acceptable for the mileage.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/13/2012
by Anonymous
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Nice ride but they flat too much.

Good tires for the $4

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/2/2012
by baldbiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Nebraska
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Very Effective Flat Resistance

These tires are worth what you pay for them. The tread compound sheds the small bits of stone, glass and other sharp stuff so your tires stay clean. I waited for a year before writing this review so I could be honest. I have not had a flat, not one. I had multiple flats with another brand of flat resistant tire. I highly recommend this tire and am completely happy with it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/20/2012
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Pasadena ca
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great solid tire, no flats

Solid tire, not worrying about flats, great price

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/11/2012
by CyclingRI
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
For Commuting

I live in Rhode Island and the road are not bicycle friendly when it comes to being clear of sand, glass, pot holds, drains, and other road debris so, so far these tires have held up. I put the 700x25 tires on and they seem to roll nicely, withstand the additional weight of my panniers, rack, and other gear, and hold up to all the stop and goes.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/6/2012
by Blackcoat
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
One Durable Troublefree Tire!

Replaced a defective Continental Race tire, 700x25,(original equipment-separated casing) with Maxxis Re-Fuse. Re-fuse has proven to be smooth, durable, and troublefree. Already pushing 500 miles with no issues. Daily fitness riding on streets and paved rail-trails with light road debris. Excellent value, excellent tire, super fast service from Bike Tires Direct.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/2/2012
by Kelroy
Cycling Enthusiast
Wisconsin
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Bomb Proof

These tires are rock solid for a long commute, training, touring and centuries etc. I am a larger scale rider and frequent flats for me has always been an issue. These tires give me security and in general a confident ride in all types of condistions. So far I have nearly 2000 miles and they seem to have another 500 at least on them.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/8/2012
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Ames, IA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Slower but indestructibly dependable

I couldnt choose between a gatorskin and the re-fuse so I bought both. Gatorskin wore out quicker and had more flats(2-3). I have put over 2,000 on the re-fuse without a single flatpuncture. Amazing. Put this tire on your rear wheel for worry-free training, and absolute puncture resistant confidence. Not the fastest tire out there, a little slower than the gatorskin, but if you want the best flat-resistant training tire out there, this is absolutely the one.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/29/2012
by dman
Casual Cyclist
Norman, OK
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
good tires

Did a lot of studying before buying these tires, had them for a couple of months and love them. Very tough and handsome.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/9/2012
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
damascus oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
great for the price

I buy one set of winter tires every year. Last year I bought gatorskins and was very pleased with them. This year I used these tires and liked them just as much. The re-fuse tires don't last as long, but they do better in the wet and corner better. Yhey don't cost as much so I think they are a better value.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/27/2012
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Tampa, Fl
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Good tire for the price..

Nice tire with good grip and low friction.... Used in mini -Tri..

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/21/2012
by Dave
Cycling Enthusiast
Foothill Ranch, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
AWESOME!!!

These are the best road tires I have ever used. I put over 2000 miles on the last set. I never get flats with these. I recently lived in 29 Palms CA where the roads are fairly rough and these tires were outstanding. Highly recommended. I will continue to buy these.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/19/2012
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Seattle
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Sweet Tires

Holy smokes, these tires work really well. I used to run conti gatorskins but the traction on wet surfaces around here is no good with those tires. On the maxxis I had immediate better traction, although the little bumps that are giving this friction will probably wear out fast-ish. I still think it's worth it to avoid a winter crash.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/1/2011
by bigdawg
Cycling Enthusiast
Phoenix, AZ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Will be looking for something better

The Re-fuse tires came with my new road bike, I got about 1400 miles on the pair before the rear tire needed to be replace. I had one flat on the front and rear, both times the puncture came in from the side. I checked the Maxxis website and the Silkworm puncture technology is a bead to bead protection but they do not say anything about the Kevlar layer so that may not be a bead to bead layer hence my side wall punctures.

I did buy another tire for the rear as the front was only slightly worn. I hope I can get another 1400 miles on the front before I'm ready to replace the pair.

Overall I think these are pretty good tires but I am hoping there is something better both for side puncture protection and durability.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/11/2011
by Tacopoki
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
15 of 16 customers found this review helpful.
Best road tire flat protection ever

1,218 miles on rear before first and so far only flat. Over 1400 miles on front without a flat. I have dug out numerous pieces of rock and glass from both tires. Have tried gatorskins, Victoria Rubinopro, and ruffy-tuffy and never went this far without a flat with any of them. Great tire I have bought more.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/22/2011
by benn
Cycling Enthusiast
portland or
Value Rating
Overall Rating
12 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
exceptional tire for commuting year round! more than 2500 miles without a flat!

i use these on all bikes.....great for touring(road only) pulling a trailer

have been using this brand for 4 years...not found any reason to change

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/25/2021
by wheelwing
Daily Commuter
Portland OR
Overall Rating
Best fast-commuting tire yet

I've been looking for some time for the most reliable all-weather, year-round commuting tire and I've liked these well enough to buy a replacement pair. Haven't put the replacements on the bike yet, actually, as the old Maxxis Re-fuse tires on there just refuse to die. I've had one flat in the 5,000 some-odd miles I've got on them, and that was a beastly mega-staple I don't think anything could have stopped. I had not had such good luck nor long life with other similar tires I've tried: Contintental Gatorskins, Specialized Armadillo Elites, Panaracer Gravel Kings...

The Re-fuses are reasonably lightweight for what you get, give a supple ride and stick really well to the pavement, wet or dry. I ride the 28s and for me that's the perfect balance between comfort and speed. My commute in rainy (and gritty) Portland, OR takes me over some ridiculously bumpy railroad tracks in an industrial zone, where everything not strapped down in the back of the work trucks ends up in the bike lane--and yet, as I noted above: only one flat in 5,000-plus miles, almost a year and a half now.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 24

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]