Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Maxxis Rambler 700c Gravel Tire

MaxxisRambler 700c Gravel Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(105 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(69)
(24)
(6)
(5)
(1)
(66%)
(23%)
(6%)
(5%)
(1%)
Reviewed 10/7/2022
by BCarl
Cycling Enthusiast
Quincy, MA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
One Gravel Tire to Rule All

Easily the best "set and forget" gravel tire out there. If you dont care about changing tires out pending the conditions, just run these Ramblers and be happy with the choice. Tired in various sizes 38c up to the 50c with the 40c the perfect size for comfort, speed and grip. Durability ive had only 1 tire fail after 3000 miles of rough singletrack and off-road use but able to plug the hole to make it home. Used other WTB, Panaracer, Vittoria, Schwalbe tires but keep coming back to the Maxxis Rambler because they are balanced across all type of terrain.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/3/2022
by LiLynn
Competitive Racer
Ithaca, ny
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Best Light Weight Tubeless Gravel Tire Out There

I have been riding/racing on these tires since they first came out. Maxxis just keeps improving them. They roll fast on the paved sections but are awesome on the loose gravel roads. I ride a lot of single track with them and they are nice and grippy. Especially cornering in loose gravel.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/24/2022
by brainy cyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Glastonbury, CT
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Amazingly quiet and smooth running for gravel tire with great grip

I used this tire on a cyclocross bike on a variety of trails and gravel roads plus pavement. It is my practice to ride my bike to group rides that cover a range of off road terrains, but also include some road sections as does my route to and from the ride. My old tires were noisy on the road and had high rolling resistance that made them a pain for group riding on pavement sections. These tires are quiet and reduce my pedaling effort on the road and still give me the grip I need for trails and gravel sections.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/14/2022
by Mad-Town Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent Gravel Tire

Good tire - relatively easy to mount. Measured up at only 42mm on my 20mm internal width gravel rims unfortunately. Rolls pretty well on packed gravel/dirt and pavement. Good on chunkier gravel as well. Good, solid tire.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/16/2021
by TomG
Cycling Enthusiast
Southern New Jersey
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Maxxis Ramblers.... LOVE 'EM!!!!!!!!!!!!

Replaced stock Bontrager tires on a Trek 920 ("Adventure Touring / Super Gravel Bike") for off-road/gravel/mixed surface/bike packing rides. LOVE these tires. Super quality you and I would expect from Maxxis. Rolling resistance on paved paths/roads is really great but the tread pattern gives enough bite for dirt and gravel. Excels at all-around, "multi-surface" rides. I run them tubeless with Stan's and they are flawless overall and easy to get on/off my DT Swiss rims. I purchased black wall, 120 TPI, SilkShield version. The 29x2.0 size may be a bit much for some "gravel bike" folks I get it but it is awesome for my bike and super clydesdale stature. Easily able to handle some low tech singletrack too. They were great on a recent multi-surface bike packing trip with 45+ lbs of extra gear/panniers front and rear. The tire's size at 700x50x is clearly a MTB sized tire but the extra "cush" and stability is superb IMHO. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/24/2022
by markhandpdx
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Durable, Supple and Dependable. Perfect tire for gravel racing reliability

I have this tire in a 38 for my gravel bike and now a 47 for my wife's E-Bike. I have had five very challenging gravel races (40-60miles each) this year and ridden the same set of tires for all of them and had not mechanical issues, no failures, no leaks and no flats. The surfaces have varied from luxury gravel, to death defying riprap, to snow and mud. These tires have performed equally well on all surfaces. I can't speak highly enough about these and I recommend them to all of my teammates. You can't go wrong with a set of these Ramblers.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/26/2022
by Tom
Chicago
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Does It All

Try as I might to find other gravel tires to use, the Maxxis Rambler is a great all around tire. It is a relatively light tire and it affords very good flat protection. Finally, it is easy to setup tubeless.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/10/2022
by dividebyzero
Competitive Racer
Utah
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Good grip and GREAT durability

Trails in Utah vary from hard pack dirt to loose gravel to rock, rocks EVERYWHERE. I have come down gravel and loose switchbacks and am always impressed at the grip these give in the loose stuff. When bouncing off rocks, they have never failed; they can take a beating and keep rolling. The rubber is a bit soft (great for grip, not great for long-life), but I still get a good 1000 miles out of them I am using the (relatively) lightweight EXO version and when I compared them to other tires, the weight is surprising!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/21/2022
by sodjer
Cycling Enthusiast
Lincoln, NE
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Not Impressed

At first they appeared to be a fairly decent tire, rolled well and had decent grip in loose small gravel and limestone trails I ride. However one of the tires only lasted 99.5 miles before it exploded on a nice paved trail... didn't see any signs of a puncture, perhaps a manufacturing defect? The bead appears to have separated and when it blew it ripped a chunk of the sidewall with it. Decided to change the other tire and not risk it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/28/2019
by mike
Cycling Enthusiast
Central New Mexico, USA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
21 of 21 customers found this review helpful.
Great tires for EVERY thing

I got these tires to replace stock Kenda Happy Medium. I planned on racing and wanted a lighter tire. Read lots of reviews of gravel racing tires and for my purposes the Rambler is meeting and exceeding my expectations. I have ridden (I keep track of all my rides) 515 miles so far on these tires. Road, rotten granite, super rocky climbs and descents, loamy forest trails, full on mtb trails, gravel roads, snowymuddy conditions, sand, and some roots have been the surfaces.

The stick well in all conditions and are predictable on all reasonable surfaces.

I'm using 40mm tires, tubeless, on a Lynskey GR270 with Stans Grail rims. Loaded weight of me and bike is just under 200 lbs.

I'm using the 120TPI front and 60 TPI rear.

The tires are wearing great. No cuts or holes.

Price was reasonable and I have no complaints.

YMMV.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/21/2022
by Anonymous
sweet home
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Awesome tire..

Just got back from riding the Oregon Outback and these babies were awesome in all types of terrain, wet, dry, big rocks, little rocks and even sand and mud. My bike and gear were 70 lbs easy and I never ever had to think about my tires! Zero flats!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/27/2018
by Ihoogendam
Minneapolis, Mn
Overall Rating
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire for mixed terrain

These are a great tire for gravel and trails. Road these at the Heck of The North, which is a gravel race in Two Harbors, Mn. They were perfect. Supple, lightweight, decent rolling resistance, and most importantly, good traction in the mud.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/4/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Massachusetts
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Nice big beefy tires for gravel

I swap these tires in when I know I'll be riding on some rugged gravel roads. The only Issue I have is that while my frame can handle them my SRAM Red eTap front derailleur can't. The outermost drive side tire lugs are wearing a groove into my eTap battery. I ground down this row of lugs with a file, but they still rub so I leave the bike on the small chainring, remove the front battery, and ride my bike as a 1x11 when these are mounted. None of this is the tire's fault, but check the clearance on your bike before buying.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/12/2021
by Charlie
Cycling Enthusiast
Hemphill Texas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Original tire when I purchased the bike and they lasted 2,000 miles

These tires were spec'd for my new ti gravel bike and they handle all the road conditions I ride without issue. I purchased a new set of tires expecting to change them both at the same time but the rear sidewall seat at the rim gave out on a ride after 2,000 miles so I put in a tube and continued home and replaced the rear tire. the front tire is still on the bike with plenty of tread left and I have no concern with riding it. I am a 255 lb rider and demand a lot from a bike and tire. I have been satisfied with the performance so far.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/10/2021
by Anonymous
Northern Nevada
Overall Rating
Great grip and compliance

These tires are working well for the gravel roads that I ride; wide and relatively flat with areas of densely packed poorly sorted 2 to 3 cm well rounded gravel fields. The extra volume provides good compliance, the tread seems to grip well in the turns. The only down side is due to the larger volume they are a little harder to spin up, but that means you have to get stronger.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/5/2021
by phromm
Competitive Racer
Mid-Atlantic
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Great mixed surface tires

I've been running Ramblers for a few years now and highly recommend them. I used a set of 40c EXO tires f/r for a couple years and am now on a 45c EXO front and 40c Silk Shield in the rear to get a little more "suspension" in the front and flat resistance in back. The lighter EXO model is a little more fragile, but they're light at around 375 grams, so a good tire for race days or lighter riders. The 45c is a good amount larger in volume than the 40c, and can be run several PSI lower. Ramblers roll decently on pavement, and don't feel like they give up a ton of watts over a smaller/smoother tire. And more importantly they have a consistent amount of grip when leaned over - the side knobs don't feel too squirmy on pavement, like WTB Nanos can, for comparison. On gravel these are in their element, and they can handle some trail use too, within reason.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/7/2022
by Mark
St Louis
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great gravel tires

I bought these mainly for the puncture resistance. But they roll surprisingly well on pavement too. Most of the gravel riding I do is mixed pavement and gravel, so that's an important aspect to me. I run these tires tubeless with sealant, and they haven't let me down over thousands of miles now.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/13/2021
by RichRiesAdventure
Cycling Enthusiast
Madison, IN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
fast but fragile

They set up easily as tubeless. They're fast and have good traction is all the conditions I encountered (rain, snow, dry pavement, dirt, gravel). But they're insanely fragile. With less than 200 miles on them I'm throwing away the front tire; too many cuts to trust the tire anymore. On the second ride I had to call my wife to come pick me up because I had so many rear punctures my sealant was exhausted and my hands were too cold from messing with the pump to fit the tube I carry. (To be fair, they use cinders on the road around here for traction in winter, but this was <10 miles into the ride.) I love Maxxis tires and use them almost exclusively on my MTB. But these were a terrible disappointment. Won't recommend them. Won't buy them again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/25/2021
by RichRiesAdventure
Cycling Enthusiast
Madison, IN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
outstanding in most conditions

I like Maxxis tires anyway and expected these to work well, which they do. After years of using Kendas as my winter tires I switched to these and have been very happy. They are lightweight but seem durable. They have great handling, especially in turns. Their rounded profiles are much preferred to the Kendas and their square-edged shoulders that resulted in sudden tip-in on turns. They mounted tubeless on my Stan's ZTR rims with minimal fuss. Traction is good wet or dry, upright or leaned into a turn. I particularly like that these Ramblers run so well on so many surfaces as most of my gravel rides are mixed-surface rides. One ride I do often transitions from asphalt to gravel and back again multiple times over the 35 or so miles and these tires handle those transitions without a blip. However, on really burly gravel these can get overwhelmed. I'm thinking here of gravel better negotiated with 2.4 or larger MTB tires. For everything else, though, the Ramblers excel and I'm willing to accept sketchy performance in extreme conditions for exceptional performance in all the other conditions I encounter.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/10/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
San Francisco area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Grippy and fun on dirt, good road performance too

Love these tires, they were a huge improvement over my old ones. They are 40mm, but seem to cling to the ground like they're a lot wider. I live in a dry area, so my experience has been on dry dirt paths, pea sized gravel, and forest floors with leaves and twigs. I don't have a reason to think the tires will perform poorly in mud, but I can't speak on that topic. One final thought: I haven't noticed much slowdown on paved roads. I do about 50/50% of dirt and pavement.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 37

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]