Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Maxxis Rambler 700c Gravel Tire

MaxxisRambler 700c Gravel Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(111 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(75)
(24)
(6)
(5)
(1)
(68%)
(22%)
(5%)
(5%)
(1%)
Previous Page
Reviewed 8/10/2021
by Anonymous
Northern Nevada
Overall Rating
Great grip and compliance

These tires are working well for the gravel roads that I ride; wide and relatively flat with areas of densely packed poorly sorted 2 to 3 cm well rounded gravel fields. The extra volume provides good compliance, the tread seems to grip well in the turns. The only down side is due to the larger volume they are a little harder to spin up, but that means you have to get stronger.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/5/2021
by phromm
Competitive Racer
Mid-Atlantic
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Great mixed surface tires

I've been running Ramblers for a few years now and highly recommend them. I used a set of 40c EXO tires f/r for a couple years and am now on a 45c EXO front and 40c Silk Shield in the rear to get a little more "suspension" in the front and flat resistance in back. The lighter EXO model is a little more fragile, but they're light at around 375 grams, so a good tire for race days or lighter riders. The 45c is a good amount larger in volume than the 40c, and can be run several PSI lower. Ramblers roll decently on pavement, and don't feel like they give up a ton of watts over a smaller/smoother tire. And more importantly they have a consistent amount of grip when leaned over - the side knobs don't feel too squirmy on pavement, like WTB Nanos can, for comparison. On gravel these are in their element, and they can handle some trail use too, within reason.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/13/2021
by RichRiesAdventure
Cycling Enthusiast
Madison, IN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
fast but fragile

They set up easily as tubeless. They're fast and have good traction is all the conditions I encountered (rain, snow, dry pavement, dirt, gravel). But they're insanely fragile. With less than 200 miles on them I'm throwing away the front tire; too many cuts to trust the tire anymore. On the second ride I had to call my wife to come pick me up because I had so many rear punctures my sealant was exhausted and my hands were too cold from messing with the pump to fit the tube I carry. (To be fair, they use cinders on the road around here for traction in winter, but this was <10 miles into the ride.) I love Maxxis tires and use them almost exclusively on my MTB. But these were a terrible disappointment. Won't recommend them. Won't buy them again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/25/2021
by RichRiesAdventure
Cycling Enthusiast
Madison, IN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
outstanding in most conditions

I like Maxxis tires anyway and expected these to work well, which they do. After years of using Kendas as my winter tires I switched to these and have been very happy. They are lightweight but seem durable. They have great handling, especially in turns. Their rounded profiles are much preferred to the Kendas and their square-edged shoulders that resulted in sudden tip-in on turns. They mounted tubeless on my Stan's ZTR rims with minimal fuss. Traction is good wet or dry, upright or leaned into a turn. I particularly like that these Ramblers run so well on so many surfaces as most of my gravel rides are mixed-surface rides. One ride I do often transitions from asphalt to gravel and back again multiple times over the 35 or so miles and these tires handle those transitions without a blip. However, on really burly gravel these can get overwhelmed. I'm thinking here of gravel better negotiated with 2.4 or larger MTB tires. For everything else, though, the Ramblers excel and I'm willing to accept sketchy performance in extreme conditions for exceptional performance in all the other conditions I encounter.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/7/2022
by Mark
St Louis
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Great gravel tires

I bought these mainly for the puncture resistance. But they roll surprisingly well on pavement too. Most of the gravel riding I do is mixed pavement and gravel, so that's an important aspect to me. I run these tires tubeless with sealant, and they haven't let me down over thousands of miles now.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/10/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
San Francisco area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Grippy and fun on dirt, good road performance too

Love these tires, they were a huge improvement over my old ones. They are 40mm, but seem to cling to the ground like they're a lot wider. I live in a dry area, so my experience has been on dry dirt paths, pea sized gravel, and forest floors with leaves and twigs. I don't have a reason to think the tires will perform poorly in mud, but I can't speak on that topic. One final thought: I haven't noticed much slowdown on paved roads. I do about 50/50% of dirt and pavement.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/3/2020
by Shai
Cycling Enthusiast
Rochester NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great upgrade

The Rambler are a nice addition to my old Trek of 20 years. i overhauled the entire bike stripping it down to the bare metal and rebuilding. the choice of the Rambler was a combination of fit, drive style, and changing conditions for winter commute. they work well with road commuting as well as trials along the Erie Canal. the tires look great on the bike and it is a wonderful addition. I have not set them up as TL but will plan to do that in the future.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/5/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Central Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great Gravel Tire

This review is for the EXO/TR 700x45. Nice supple sidewall. Seems to have lower rolling resistance that WTB Riddler. Measures 44mm wide mounted to my rims, a couple mm less wide than the Riddlers. Good traction on hard pack dirt and easy single track.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/16/2020
by auren
Cycling Enthusiast
Napa, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Good light, semi knobby tubeless for my gravel bike

I have these on front and back of my carbon gravel bike after the stock tires both got holes that would not hold a plug-even the oversized mushroom head type of plug. These tires are great rollers and have good traction even on singletrack and gravel downhills. The only trouble I have is that they loose pressure rather quickly. I have pumped them up to 50psi and had them deflate to 40 psi in @2 hours...I read another review where a guy has this problem and turns out there were holes in his sidewalls, so I checked with soapy water, but no sign of holes, so...? I know there is plenty of sealant, too...

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/15/2020
by mike
Cycling Enthusiast
mid New Mexico
Value Rating
Overall Rating
10 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Super gravel + mtb tire.

I've gone through a couple pair of Ramblers in the 40mm size. The first pair I was conservative and used the 60 TPI for the rear and 120 front thinking the tougher tire for the rear. Next set I got 120 TPI front and rear and the 120 TPI held up fine.

Looking for more volume my next set was the 45 mm size. 120TPI for both. They have been super tires. My normal ride is about 40 mile total. 25 on pavement to and from and 15+ miles mostly intermediate mtb singletrack but there's some extreme rocky difficult stuff too. Around here it's everything from nice packed clay to embedded rock to loose sharp rocks.

For plain old gravel and forest service roads they're superb.

They roll great on the road and are great off road. Not a lot of mud here, but are a bit slippery with the occasional rain. But what isn't?

I ride a Lynskey GR 270 w/ Stan's Grail wheels, 700c. The Maxxis size is true to size on my rims, 45mm mounted and aired, tubeless. Of the two 45mm tires I got, one was 494g the other 504g. That's for the EXO TR tire.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/15/2020
by Ferris Bueller
Cycling Enthusiast
Bend, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Fast rolling with grip

I wanted a lightweight gravel tire that was still durable enough and this one fits the bill. I ride my gravel bike like an off-roading Porsche and so far no flats. These are tubeless ready and that's how I have them setup. It definitely rolls fast on both the pavement and dirt. It has just enough grip to hit corners at speed and weave through single track without issues. The tires went on the rim with no issues. I even managed to pump up the tires with a floor pump without an air compressor to seal them in.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/9/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Little Rock, Arkansas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
smooth and confidence building

Gravel in Ouachita Natl Forrest

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/8/2020
by Moby
Competitive Racer
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Ride great but still fit and durability issues

I had an original set of Ramblers and found them the worst tires I had ever tried to mount tubeless. For reference between switching tires across three race wheel sets and three training wheels, in both cases for gravel and ultra mtb racing, I probably mount 15 tiresyear. I have a shop air compressor and prestaflator to make quick work of it.

After reading the reviews about the improved design I thought I'd try these again. Now, to be fair I have only tried to mount Ramblers on one wheel - Hed Belgium Plus. Mounting was easier, but not anywhere near as good as Schwalbe G One all around or speed, Kenda Flintridge, Panaracer Gravelking SK, or Compass Barlow Pass.

After mounting I always fully deflate to ensure the bead is set. Immediately these popped off. Back and forth until I finally got them to stay seated without air. Some are OK with a tire unseating like this but I'm not.

After that they held air. First ride reminded me how nice these are. Second ride epic flat on a course I ride every weekend and haven't flatted on in over 4 years. Just my time? And of course the bead popped off just to add to the fun. I think the Gravelkings will go back on. They don't ride near as nice but I haven't ever flatted on those or the Flintridges, riding in all conditions including lots of puncture inducing PNW rain.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/15/2020
by SFBiker
Casual Cyclist
Bay Area, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Awesome experience with these

I love these tires! I've just worn through my first set on my gravel bike (38c) after 2 years and a few thousand miles (mostly road, lots of hard-pack gravel, some singletrack). Set up tubeless, I have had really incredible puncture protection, traction, cushhhh, and comfort - I've really enjoyed the overall feel of these and would highly recommend.

I've experienced several puncture-events during my time with these, but these events have literally never resulted in a non-rideable outcome. The worst instance resulted when I ran over a nail that pierced the tire, and I experienced continual leaking for several days after removing the nail (I could still commute but needed to inflate it every 24 hours). However, topping off my sealant levels (Orange Seal) fixed the problem without having to remove the tire.

Setting up tubeless was a mild pain in the ass, but partially because I don't have an air compressor, the puncture protection and lower PSI is completely worth the hassle though.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/15/2021
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire

I bought a set to ride Big Sugar in Bentonville, AR. There were tons of flats. I didn't have any trouble. The traction is great.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/15/2021
by JM
Overall Rating
Fast and comfy

Great tires, fast rolling and hooks up well in corners. They don't slow me down on road transitions either! Initial set up had some air leak from sidewalls but rest them on their side overnight with sealant in them and good to go.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/13/2021
by cequip
Cycling Enthusiast
Palmyra, Va.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great in a 40 on my Diverge!

I have used a bunch of different tires on my gravel bikes. Tried this in a 45, but had too much rolling resistance on the road. The 40 seems to be perfect for me. I actually think I have a flatter sweet spot of contact on the gravel with the 40 as well. This is my go to tire.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/11/2021
by Bruno
Cycling Enthusiast
Summit County Colorado
Value Rating
Overall Rating
DECENT ALL-AROUND GRAVEL TIRE

A pretty dirt specific tire. I use as a 50/50 tire, and burn through the rear tire pretty fast climbing on pavement. I have done some moderate single track with plenty of rocks and roots, and have plenty of grip climbing and descending. Nice casing running 120 TPI in both the 40 and 45 widths. I'll buy again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/18/2019
by Chip
Seattle North County
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Long lasting, take a lot of abuse!!

I have had the 700x45 tires for over a year now and put a lot of sharp gravel miles on my bike. These tires have yet to let me down or leave me stranded! They do wear out though, I am on my second rear tire, but I think I got at least a couple thousand miles out of them.

Worth the cost for sure!!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/3/2021
by Jason
San Diego
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Real deal

Within the realm of gravel tires live almost too many options. Deciding where to go, what to select is challenging...

It doesn't need to be. Go with ramblers. It's really that simple. 60 tpi will be a slightly harsher ride, vs 120 tpi. But either are great depending on your needs.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 11

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]