Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Maxxis Rambler 700c Gravel Tire

MaxxisRambler 700c Gravel Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(72 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(48)
(15)
(4)
(4)
(1)
(67%)
(21%)
(6%)
(6%)
(1%)
Previous Page
Reviewed 2/15/2020
by SFBiker
Casual Cyclist
Bay Area, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Awesome experience with these

I love these tires! I've just worn through my first set on my gravel bike (38c) after 2 years and a few thousand miles (mostly road, lots of hard-pack gravel, some singletrack). Set up tubeless, I have had really incredible puncture protection, traction, cushhhh, and comfort - I've really enjoyed the overall feel of these and would highly recommend.

I've experienced several puncture-events during my time with these, but these events have literally never resulted in a non-rideable outcome. The worst instance resulted when I ran over a nail that pierced the tire, and I experienced continual leaking for several days after removing the nail (I could still commute but needed to inflate it every 24 hours). However, topping off my sealant levels (Orange Seal) fixed the problem without having to remove the tire.

Setting up tubeless was a mild pain in the ass, but partially because I don't have an air compressor, the puncture protection and lower PSI is completely worth the hassle though.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/9/2020
by AlexD
Claremont
Overall Rating
Makes my gravel bike glide down dirt trails

My WTB tires that came with my Cannondale were horrible. They lost air and I had to repair holes in my tubeless tires twice! The Rambler is rugged and holds air sturdy up and down San Gabriel Mountain trails. I ride up 10% grade paved roads for few miles before the dirt and no issues with the knobby tires. A big part of my Topstone bike is that I feel solid on any surface

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/6/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Gatos, California
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Bought 2 - neither are good

Both of these tires are seated properly but do not run smoothly. They are just flawed. Other than visually this doesn't seem to negatively affect the ride. I like the weight, tread and the tire in general except this.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/18/2019
by Chip
Seattle North County
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Long lasting, take a lot of abuse!!

I have had the 700x45 tires for over a year now and put a lot of sharp gravel miles on my bike. These tires have yet to let me down or leave me stranded! They do wear out though, I am on my second rear tire, but I think I got at least a couple thousand miles out of them.

Worth the cost for sure!!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/12/2020
by Motivatingtrash
Daily Commuter
Hawaii
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Wore out quickly

Rode these for about 900 miles, mostly on road, and got a pretty good bulge after a pretty light gravel session. I ran them tubeless for that time and loved them up until that point. For gravel tires I expected them to last a little longer as the centerline of the tire has some significant wear.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/24/2021
by auren
Cycling Enthusiast
Napa, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Good light, semi knobby tubeless for my gravel bike

I have these set up tubeless on my gravel Bike and love riding any surface from pavement to trails to gravel. They feel great and have plenty of traction.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/12/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Excellent all around tire

Very nicely constructed tire. Light weight , wears well, and rolls very quickly on smooth roads. The knobs and 45mm are very confidence inspiring on the rough stuff. I�m on my 2nd pair I like them so much

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/8/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Great gravel tire

I got these in the silk shield 45mm for my Diverge. They�re awesome tires for a mixed surface ride. Definitely plenty of rolling resistance, so don�t expect to set any PR�s on your road segments. Plenty of grip on gravel and light single track to have a little fun.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/11/2021
by Anonymous
pittsburgh, pa
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Maxxis Rambler 700x40c tanwall

Overall great traction and puncture protection. Tire is definitely catered towards hardback to loose over hard conditions.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/27/2019
by Coach Steve
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Fast & resonably supple tire

First off, I love this tire. I bought it in the Silk Shield 45c to run tubeless on my new gravel bike. The tire is super fast on pavement and darned fast on gravel too. I did have a problem with them though, I was loosing tire pressue at the tune of 30 psi overnight. The front tire finally settled down a bit but the back one continued to loose that kind of pressure every day. While cleaning the bike up after a gravel ride, I used Simple Green on the tireswheels and was shocked to find that the back tire had dozens of micro-holes in the sidewalls. Why the sealant didn't address this I don't know but it didn't. Afterall, I did remove and reseat them and made sure the valve cores where tightened down properly. Still loosing air pressure I called up BTD and they exchanged the tire for me. I came home and seated it and the first thing I did, even before adding the sealant was clean the sidewall with Simple Green. I did NOT see the same problem with this new tire so added the sealant, 2.5 oz this time and I'm hoping they work out well for me as I do really like the tire. I know you loose some air in tubeless but there shouldn't be anything like 30 psi in less than 24 hours. Looking good so far. Check the sidewalls if you are loosing a lot of air.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/10/2020
by cyclematt
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
supple ride, a bit fragile

I really like these tires off-road. They connect well. I run them tubeless. Unfortunately I have had several flats requiring a boot and tube. I am very disappointed they are not more durable. The seem to puncture easily.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/14/2020
by TCBikerDude
Cycling Enthusiast
Norhtern Michigan
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great Tire for Gravelling, not for deep sand!

Great compromise tire for hard pack, gravel, pavement, single track. Experimented with tire by replacing my 29 x 2.25" with these (about 1.8"). Obviously they're lacking in deep sand. Good tires!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/21/2019
by Mike
Casual Cyclist
Big Horn Wyoming
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Same tire that was standard on my giant gravel bike

I dont like this tire because it seem to roll good on the pavement and holes really well going up steep hills without slipping. Even know this is called the same exact tire is what I had stock on my 2018 TCX house sex giant the poundage rating is different, this tire maximum pressure is 60 where I think my old one was 80. Sense are usually run between 30 and 40 I dont think its really an issue just interesting that they may have change the construction in the last year or so.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/21/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Wichita, KS
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Have had great luck with this tire until the last set

I have been through 3-4 set of Ramblers in the 120 TPI black wall. The last set I wanted the skin walls. They look awesome. The skin wall is only available in 60 TPI, versus 120 TPI for all of the other sets I have ran in the past. I have had three cuts big enough that I had to patch the inside of the tire because sealant wouldn't seal it up. Maybe it's a coincidence, but the last set doesn't seem very durable. My other tires have been wonderful, very puncture resistant on Kansas gravel roads. I'm not sure if it's the thread count or something about a difference in the skin wall , but the cuts were on the tread which I assume has the same rubber compound. That said, I will probably buy this tire again, light weight and generally very durable. I love Maxxis tires.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/17/2019
by Overlander
Cycling Enthusiast
Boulder, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Good traction, decent rolling, no flats

Put a couple of these Maxxis Ramblers on my cross bike for gravel riding - mostly gravel roads, some jeep roads, a bit of single-track - with tubeless setup. Went on easily (onto Stan's rims, forget the model) and seated easily and wobble-free with an ordinary floor pump. Riding at 40 to 60 psi, depending on surface. Traction was good on all surfaces, both for going forward and on turns, better than the Conti Top Contact winter tires I was running with tubes before. Rolling resistance was adequate, not a problem. No flats so far. Holding air adequately well. Would buy again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/18/2020
by Arcadian
Cycling Enthusiast
Missouri
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Early Review Good Tire

I replaced a set of Donnelley 36 mm with these in a 38.The volume difference is noticeable. Today I rode a mixed-surface road to get an idea of how these tires performed. With 50 inflation, they did well on hard-packed dirt, loose gravel, and gravel with random golf-ball size rocks. The real test was the sections of the road that had been repaired with large-walnut size-rock. This was several inches deep, so the surface was very insecure. Although the tires weren't made for this kind of riding they gave reasonably good controlk and got me through. So far, I'm pleased with these tires, they feel safe and secure on rough road surfaces.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/24/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Awesome

These tires feel faster yet more supple than my previous Gravel Kings

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/20/2020
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Rochester, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Daily commute and gravel trials solution

Very easy install, fast rolling tire, looks very sharp on my bike.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/20/2020
by Marin
Cycling Enthusiast
CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great gravel tires!

rolls on the pavement but pretty gripy in the sand/gravel.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/15/2018
by Anonymous
Winston Salem
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Durable light weight tire

I was originally using the Kenda Flint Ridge tires. I definitely appreciate those tires for rougher gravel rides however you doing Incur somewhat of a weight penalty compared to the Rambler tires. I have riden the Rambler tires over quite rough surfaces and after a few hundred miles have had no issues. I am running them tubless with an average pressure of between 25 and 35 PSI. For most uses I would definitely recommend the Rambler

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 75

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 503-342-9985 | [email protected]