Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
Lezyne Road Drive Hand Pump

LezyneRoad Drive Hand Pump(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(62 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(36)
(19)
(3)
(3)
(1)
(58%)
(31%)
(5%)
(5%)
(2%)

User submitted reviews

Review by VinceM

Reviewed 3/21/2023
by VinceM
Cycling Enthusiast
Fair Oaks, Ca
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great pump if not for the core removal problem

I have two Lezyne road hand pumps. They worked great for about ten years then in the last year one of them blew out the side plug on the of the hose fitting and won't work anymore. Just like others have written, the hose fitting removes the valve core when the pump is removed. At first I thought that it was the fault of the tubes so I tightened each of my tubes cores with a small wrench. No luck, the pump removed the cores anyway. Most recently it occurred on a ride with other friends and no matter how careful I was the pump fitting grabbed onto the core stem and screwed it out. Luckily another rider had a different pump that worked or else I would have been stranded.

I have since put blue lock tight on all of my stem cores and silicone grease on the "O" ring inside the pump fitting. I hope it works. Regardless I am shopping for a new pump.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Jim

Reviewed 8/4/2022
by Jim
Cycling Enthusiast
California
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Nice pump,but you need to know this.

I have four of these for my three road bikes and one for my wife.They look sleek in silver,mount unobtrusively, offer a reasonable tradeoff as far as pump performance. The issue regarding presto core backout has been discussed here. Reviewing primarily because no one has brought this point up. My pumps are several years old. The flex hose is nice. Unless design or materials have changed which I doubt one must pay attention to themstorage of tube.The metal on metal threading has a tendency to oxidize if you can call it that freezing the threads. You cannot remove it without pliers,etc. Not good when you need it on the road. This can be mitigated by grease or silicone lube. Should be prepped right off the shelf and attended to once or twice a year.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by OaklandMark

Reviewed 2/19/2021
by OaklandMark
Cycling Enthusiast
Oakland, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Good pump but will eat your valve core

I've had this pump for a long time, over 10 years, and mostly been pretty satisfied. It's slim, light, mounts inconspicuously on the bike by the water bottle cage, and having a hose rather than direct attachment is a huge plus. Having a reversible presta/schrader hose is excellent design. I also like that the pump screws onto the valve rather than just presses on as it assures a good fit with less likely leakage.

However, this pump is not perfect. Many years ago, I lost the rubber plug that covered the opening at the bottom to prevent dirt from getting in. Turns out not to have been a problem as it still pumped fine, but a design flaw for sure, as it just worked its way loose on the road one day. Also takes a lot of strokes to avive any reasonable pressure on a road tire.

The biggest flaw, and the reason I will not be replacing my now defunct hand pump with another Lezyne is that today I discovered that the pump acts as a valve corer. Not once, but 4 times in a row, when I tried to unscrew the hose from my presta valve, it removed the valve core! I used my spare tube after the 3d core removal, thinking perhaps it was my old tube valve that had roughed up threads, but even the brand new tube suffered the same fate. I'm just glad my wife was home and able to come pick me up!

Pity, because Lezyne floor pumps are really superb.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by mcyammer

Reviewed 7/3/2020
by mcyammer
PDX
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Top quality materials

Looks so pretty right next to my bottle cage! I got the small, which is only as long as a cage and will def. require extra strokes to get to rideable. But the design is clean and efficient (Euro-sexy?), with the connection surprisingly tight. It just takes a lot a pumps to get to pressure. Have ridden it through plenty of rain and mud, still sparkling on the inside. Did I say I fixed a flat with the pump, but it took half again as long to pump it up compared to my last pump? But it looks so nice and shiny...

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Seattle cyclist

Reviewed 5/8/2020
by Seattle cyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, wa
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Good pump looks great on my bike

After reading reviews, I ordered the large size. Love the metal bracket that attaches under the downtube water bottle holder, holds pump solidly. I did have the misfortune of having to use the pump to fix a flat. I have been a long time user of the Topeak road morph pump, this pump works just as well and it looks better.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Steve F.

Reviewed 7/29/2019
by Steve F.
Saugus
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Well built and fast for a mini pump.

Ive only had to use this pump once but compared to others Ive owned its much better. The one this replaced (different brand) was rated for 120 psi but would not get my tire above 80, this pump easily brought my tire up to 100 psi. The screw on flexible hose is far superior to lever attached heads imo, so easy to use once set up. The quality of construction is excellent and the pump matches my frame beautifully so its barely noticeable.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 4/1/2022
by Anonymous
Santa Cruz, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Nice pump but not as small as you are probably hoping!

This is a nice pump as far as portable pumps go. I have nothing bad to say about it in terms of purpose or function. It works. The removable hose is a huge plus, IMO.

Just be aware that this will not securely fit in a jersey pocket. It is too long.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 5/6/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Ellicott City, MD
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Nice pump but beware of presta valve core backing out

Had a flat on a long ride, and used this pump for the first time. Threaded flexible hose onto presta valve and easily pumped the tire up to a good firm pressure, allowing me to ride the last 20 miles. However, on first try, the valve core backed out of my Continental inner tube when removing the pump. Pump has a presta valve core tightening tool feature built-into the hose fitting end. Learned that Lezyne recommends Loctite thread glue be applied to presta removable valve cores. Tighten after applying glue and let it dry overnight. This should prevent cores from backing out next time. Will see if this helps next time a flat repair is needed! Lastly, did not realize it but the instructions do say, slip or thread hose onto presta valve. I threaded the hose on. Need to see if it can be slipped on, which probably is better in helping to keep valve core from twisting out.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by hardgumbo

Reviewed 11/27/2022
by hardgumbo
Cycling Enthusiast
Teaneck, NJ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Same here!

Same issues as others: Core backout; Corrosion and thread seizing; Loss of plug; Poor grommet fit.

It still works, but I wouldn't buy this thing again. Not worth the trouble.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by dwig

Reviewed 7/14/2017
by dwig
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Lezyne never fails, their design is impeccable and workmanship exquisite.

This is my fourth lezyne pump and I won't buy anything else. They fit nicely on the bike, work flawlessly and I love to watch my friends that CO2 wonks as they see me fill my tire after I flat. They are astonished at how quickly and easily I am back on the road.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by PJH

Reviewed 4/7/2017
by PJH
Cycling Enthusiast
So Cal
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Quality Pump

100 mile per week road rider on nasty streets with lots of tire eating debris. The Lezyne pump is well built with top materials to an efficient design that is clearly superior to others. The hose connector as opposed to the old head type pumps is much more user friendly and works well. This is not a bargain pump but one that will doubtless last a long time. The only drawback is they are so pretty that the thought of what a long life will do that shiny finish is disappointing ,-)

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by PJH

Reviewed 2/23/2017
by PJH
Cycling Enthusiast
Burbs of L.A.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Lezyne is quality

I ride road mostly and rarely use a pump, I've learned how NOT to flat but the Lezyne Road Drive is the kind of pump I want when I do. Construction is top notch, even the frame mount is metal! Great design and quality parts. On this model the hose fits Presta 'press on' and 'screw on' valves, but Presta ONLY. If you need Schraeder keep looking. I also want to take a moment to talk about the GREAT SERVICE I have received from BIKE TIRES DIRECT. Local shops have disappeared where I live, used to be 3-4 now there is one and they struggle. I've used other online bike shops and they are OK but after a few orders and one product issue I can say BTD is the best. Great products, more choices and a staff that treat you good when there is a problem. Accurate and quick delivery and super customer service ... SUPER!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 1/1/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Hermiston, Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
have only needed to use it once so far but it work very well, pumped to full pressure in about 100 strokes

road biking

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Great Plains Biker

Reviewed 1/6/2017
by Great Plains Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Lincoln, NE
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Great design and quality

This review is for the longer, large sized pump. Wuz amazed at the small diameter, so tested the pump at home by mounting a new Michelin 700c x 28 tire on an aero rim. Performs as described. Got a hard tire, in the 95-100 psi range, without much effort. Not sure if one could inflate a tire to the advertised 160 psi, but will definitely get you home on a well-inflated tire. Hose is desirable, saves presta valve damage (which I've done before, with a frame pump.) I use a hand pump only for emergency flats on the road, and am comfident this pump will last me for decades. (Heck, I had a Silca plastic frame pump that lasted for decades.) Also have the Lezyne floor pump, and the Lezyne alloy drive Mtn hand pump. When I find a well-designed, quality brand, I stick with it. Finally, the longer, large size won't fit in a tire bag, but it's so thin it tucks away alongside a water bottle cage. I'd go with the large size over the medium size. It's like big puffs of air over little puffs ....

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by John

Reviewed 8/25/2016
by John
Cycling Enthusiast
Easton, PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Good quality and very slim.

The built in hose makes the pump easy to use. Just be sure to tighten the presto valve that is screwed into your tire tube with a needle nose pliers or a special tool that's designed for that purpose. Otherwise when you go to unscrew the pump after filling up the tire with air, a loose presto valve will unscrew with the rubber hose and all of the air escapes. The pump is very slim & compact. I attach it to the holes of one of my bottle cages. In my case, my Salsa Fargo has room for 5 such mounts. My pump is placed underneath the down tube which would be the equivalent of the holes for a fifth water bottle. However, this pump would fit well anywhere.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Erick Brian

Reviewed 8/14/2016
by Erick Brian
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
A good pump to carry, but not amazing.

I've owned a medium Road Drive pump for about 5 years now. I still own it, it's worn out, and I tried to replace it with the Gauge Drive pump (that thing is a piece of crap) and I'm back to this guy now.

As a long term review, here are my thoughts...

It's a light-weight pump that doesn't take up much space in the jersey pocket. I never mounted it to my bike because I carry this with me on different bikes.

It wears out the more you use it. The coating or finish on the interior shaft is scratched up and worn, and sometimes gets your hands dirty.

Rubber caps and parts are...questionable??? I'm not sure what they want you to do with them. They're easy to rip off or lose, and I'm sure it's meant to keep the hose from either falling out, or from getting dirt or crap into the pump. But upon removing from pockets or stuffing into pockets, it's easy to open, rip off, and lose. The rubber ring that seems to ask use this so the pump won't unexpectedly expand isn't easy to use. You have to learn how to twist it into place, and shove between the pump handle and the main chamber. Why not just have a twist to lock mechanism?

Anyhow, it's a lovely hand pump that myself and many friends own. It does the job and the hose is the best part about this pump. Doesn't seem that Lezyne has updatedimproved their products, so it makes me think they really don't conduct any user research and collect feedback. I'm now considering to purchase a different brand of pump, especially after the Gauge Drive failed on me and many friends complain about the floor standing pumps.

I would recommend this pump to a friend, but if you can find something similar for the same price that has better features, go for it. But this is one of the lightest and smallest pumps I've found. It's a good pump.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by JHopkins70

Reviewed 5/26/2015
by JHopkins70
Competitive Racer
St. Louis area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great frame pump

I own two of these pumps and another for the MTB. Great pumps. Barely know they're there until you need it. Light and out of the way.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 5/15/2015
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Indiana
Value Rating
Overall Rating
10 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Awsome pump, if not the best pump market at least tied for the best pump on the market.

This Road Drive pumps is simply fantastic and it looks great too. I do want buyers to be aware of one thing though, this pump comes in 3 sizes, small, medium, and large, if you want the easiest pump to get up to 100 psi or so get the large, I seriously doubt though that the small would get to 100 psi unlike what they claim, and medium might but with a significant amount of effort. It takes about 130 strokes with the large pump to get to 100 psi on my 700x23 tires and the effort is about moderate and not a big deal. The large doesn't look large though, the diameter is the same as the others it's just a bit longer, the small is 7 inches long, the medium is 8 12 inches, and the long is 11 inches.

I like the internally stored hose but it is Presta only which you can get a Schrader to Presta adapter if you want to use it on a Schrader valve, they do sell a replacement hose that has a built in pen air gauge that fits the medium and large pumps but I think that hose is way overpriced. The hose type of pumps, if used correctly of course, will not damage a valve stem as easily as a direct connect pump will. Another word to a potential buyer, you must first screw the hose by itself, in other words unattached to the pump body, to the presta valve then screw the pump body onto the hose.

Lezyne has 2 ways you can mount this pump to your bike, the pump comes with a bottle cage side mount, but they also make a fantastic water bottle cage called the Alloy Cage, and that cage comes with a pump bracket built into the side of the cage just for the Road Drive series.

I have owned lots of pumps and currently have 4 other brands of pumps, and this one along with another brand are the best on the market of light weight mini pumps. I do think the pump is slightly overpriced but it is a good quality pump, I got mine on sale so I'm not complaining. I like this pump so much that when another sale came up I got another Road Drive to put on another bike.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 6/19/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Good volume per stroke

Efficient

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by laidbackrider

Reviewed 10/26/2014
by laidbackrider
Cycling Enthusiast
East Bay SF area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
small pump delivers

I've only had to use this once so far, but it worked perfectly. The flexible hose made it easy to put serious pressure in my tire, though it does take some time. I've gotten tired of CO2 escaping overnight or even during a long ride, this pump is a good alternative for basically the same weight.

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]