Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Lazer Z1 MIPS Helmet

LazerZ1 MIPS Helmet(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(56 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(43)
(10)
(2)
(1)
(0)
(77%)
(18%)
(4%)
(2%)
(0%)
Reviewed 11/1/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Rhode Island
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Lazer Z1 MIPS Helmet

after a lot of web based helmet research ( local LBS only carries 2 brands) I decided to move from Kask to Lazer.

the Z1 seems to be better like by most and I preferred the styling so I went with it. It is a great fitting helmet* lightweight and comfortable straps as well as great ventilation. The floating feel of MIPS ( this is my 1st MIPS) felt a little odd at 1st but I don't notice it any longer.

* in criticism of this helmet is the fit. My head is 57.5cm. This is unquestionably a Medium size and I wear medium in every other brand. I am a little disappointed that i have to adjust the fit dial to nearly the bottom of the adjustment screw for it to fit properly. I had to double check that this wasn't a large. It fits barely and is good enough but at least in this particular case the sizing seems to be a little off.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/20/2022
by Anonymous
Portland OR
Overall Rating
Great product.

Very good looking and lightweight. Maybe need more colors option.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/21/2020
by Otoman
Competitive Racer
Nashville
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Almost as good as the non-MIPS

I love the Z1 fit. I have always done well with Lazer helmets. This is my first MIPS version. It sits a little higher on the head than the non-MIPS version. It is close but just a little different. Probably not a deal breaker for most as the shape is the same, just the cradle doesn't quite have that Kask-like snug fit down around the occiput. Also, I bought the large as the large fit me well in the Z-1 non-MIPS. This one has just a little play in the tightest setting. FWIW I have a long oval head, Kask fits me a little better, POC is OK, Giro terrible.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/13/2019
by SonomaCountyRoads suck
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern California
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
I'm Alive

Bought last summer as i replace helmets every two years or less. On a descent, early morning, hit something in the roadway and launched at 27 mph....front right side of the helmet absorbed the blow...a slight laceration on my eyebrow from my glasses...no facial bones or teeth broken. Broke clavicle, scapula and 8 ribs...rushed to hospitaltrauma center and CTscan 45 minutes of impact...no issues other than pain but had i not had MIPS, and the helmet, who knows....any helmet that does this is a good helmet....so, can't rate anything but 5 STARS.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/8/2021
by Anonymous
South Carolina
Overall Rating
I like the helmet.

The helmet is light, fits good, and I like the unique design. I bought it because my old Specialized helmet was 9 years old and the Lazer received a good ventilation rating in a report I read. Bike Tires Direct had the best Lazer price and shipping was super fast. Typically in South Carolina, our late summer will be in the upper 90s or higher. We didn't have a hot summer this year and fall has been very pleasant. Maybe I'll get to try out the ventilation of the helmet in the summer of 2022.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/14/2021
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
New York, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Extremely comfortable and supremely ventilated with clever sweat drip management

My top consideration when selecting a helmet is ventilation and sweat management. This helmet hits top marks on both. Not only it boasts large vents, but in addition the sweat is cleverly channeled away from your eyes and your sunglasses. The Z1 is also very comfortable. By moving the adjustment mechanism away from the back of the head and to the top off the helmet it firmly anchors the helmet whereby it does not move under road vibration. This clever feature also adds ventilation be it is perceived or actual.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/15/2022
by Brian
Milford Center oh.
Overall Rating
Good fit

Good fit and liked adjustable knob on top of helmet. But I dont like the large cutout in front of helmet leaves too much of forehead exposed

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/7/2022
by Mike G
Nebo, NC
Overall Rating
Great fit, well ventilated

This helmet works for me better than the Bell with the undersized chin strap.

In the summer heat, this lid is provided great ventilation.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/3/2020
by nEverready
Cycling Enthusiast
Belleville, IL (metro St Louis)
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
saved me from serious head injury

I ride 3-5 times a week on paved bike trails and road. I ride up to week long tours. This month (Sept 2020) I was riding the virtual Gold Star 500 when, due to a failure to communicate, I crashed with another rider at 20mph. We both went to ER. Me in an ambulance. Clavicle broken in two places, requiring surgery to plate and screw the pieces together. But no head injury at all! Even though my head bounced off the asphalt, my Z1 only had minor dings and not even a headache for me. Great product.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/14/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Santa Cruz, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Amazing fit system in a lightweight MIPS helmet

Avid road biker, averaging 1200 miles per month. Chose this helmet to replace GIro Synthe that had a broken retention system. I was intrigued with the innovative Lazer retention system. Compared to the Synthe, the Z1 fits like a glove, has no movement or bounce at all during riding, is light and extremely well vented. Even better that Bike Tires Direct had the most competitive price for this awesome helmet.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/6/2021
by Brad in the Wilderness
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Nice Helmet, Larger than Other Lazer

Fortunately I've not had to test the impact protection that this helmet provides. I did have to return the original one that I purchased because it was too big. I like the way it sits on my head and there is clearance for my sunglasses. I purchased white for better visibility when I ride on our town streets and some of the local highways. Not a lot of traffic but I want to be seen from a distance.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/16/2019
by Sonja
California
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Great helmet but weight is NOT accurate

My Z1 MIPS from 2 years ago saved my noggin in a crash and I finally replaced it with the current year's model. The weight of the new helmet, despite what Lazer advertises on its website and is repeated here, is WAY off-it came in at 278g, which not even close to the 190g listed. B TD customer service verified for me that all their size small members weighed 278g. That's a 43% discrepancy!

It's also strangely some 30g heavier than the 2017 model I crashed (no pieces missing, just cracked foam).

I loved the fit, ventilation and temple coverage, but the BEST part was not having an annoying plastic framework to interfere with my ponytail.

I just wish it came remotely close to the advertised weight (or even the same as my old one), but couldn't justify spending this much money on a helmet that didn't really do anything more than the $80 MIPS helmet I already have, so I returned it.

Thanks BTD for the great customer service and easy return process!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/8/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Asheville, NC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent Light Helmet

This is a replacement helmet after a crash.

PROS: Light, good fit, easy adjustments, comfortable, good price

CONS: Somewhat difficult to place/hold sunglasses in vents

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/28/2022
by Gunnar
Cycling Enthusiast
South Carolina Low Country
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Comfortable fit, easily adjustable.

Helmet is in the top tier of safety ratings. Bright yellow for visibility. Very comfortable fit, and easy to adjust via the thumb wheel.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/10/2019
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great fit and well vented

I only have a handful of rides but its already hot enough in the mornings in Arizona to test out the air flow and flows more air through it than my previous Kask Protone. The fit is a bit different than the Kask, it hold firm onto my head but it just feels a little strange as it holds higher up. The rear retention system feels like it doesnt hold as firm but I couldnt shake it off my head with out the chin straps so it just feels a bit less secure but in actuality its absolutely fine. I also like the metallic greenyellow color, looks great and hopefully makes you more visible to drives

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/6/2017
by B Dog
orlando fl
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Lazer Z1 MIPS

My favorite Lazer helmet so far. Great fit and weighs less than my previous Helium helmet. Super comfortable, great ventilation and I recommend to anyone. Spend the $$ and get the MIPS.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/2/2020
by On Target
Cycling Enthusiast
Pleasant Hill, Iowa
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Best helmet I�ve ever purchased

I purchased the Lazer Z1 MIPS helmet this past summer and what a difference! The helmet is so lightweight and with all the air vents making rides comfortable. (I ride between 30-60 miles daily with a couple of century rides). It�s so easy to fit to your head if you�re wearing bandanna, Halo, or nothing. I added the back light to the helmet since I ride at night, a nice safety feature.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/31/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Perfect All-Round Helmet

Literally my go to helmet for any type of ride. Perfect fit, awesome ventilation...and the high-vis yellow adds another level of safety.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/15/2021
by Mark
Cycling Enthusiast
San Rafael, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Love the helmet, very comfortable

Helmet fits great and the micro adjustment knob on the top works well

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/1/2019
by binkata
California
Overall Rating
4 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Heavier than advertised

I ordered a size small in white to replace an older Z1 MIPS from 2017 that I crashed (MIPS really does work!). As a woman, I really appreciate not having to thread my ponytail through a tiny opening to put the helmet on-it's really why I wanted the same helmet again.

Unfortunately, the new helmet weighs 273g (39g heavier than the older one, and 43% heavier than the listed weight).

Nobody at BTD seems to want to answer my emails about weighing another small Z1 MIPS for me to see if this is just a fluke or if it's normal, so I guess I'll be sending it back.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 84

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | sal[email protected]