Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Lazer Z1 MIPS Helmet

LazerZ1 MIPS Helmet(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(36 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(28)
(5)
(2)
(1)
(0)
(78%)
(14%)
(6%)
(3%)
(0%)
Reviewed 10/3/2020
by nEverready
Cycling Enthusiast
Belleville, IL (metro St Louis)
Value Rating
Overall Rating
saved me from serious head injury

I ride 3-5 times a week on paved bike trails and road. I ride up to week long tours. This month (Sept 2020) I was riding the virtual Gold Star 500 when, due to a failure to communicate, I crashed with another rider at 20mph. We both went to ER. Me in an ambulance. Clavicle broken in two places, requiring surgery to plate and screw the pieces together. But no head injury at all! Even though my head bounced off the asphalt, my Z1 only had minor dings and not even a headache for me. Great product.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/21/2020
by Otoman
Competitive Racer
Nashville
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Almost as good as the non-MIPS

I love the Z1 fit. I have always done well with Lazer helmets. This is my first MIPS version. It sits a little higher on the head than the non-MIPS version. It is close but just a little different. Probably not a deal breaker for most as the shape is the same, just the cradle doesn't quite have that Kask-like snug fit down around the occiput. Also, I bought the large as the large fit me well in the Z-1 non-MIPS. This one has just a little play in the tightest setting. FWIW I have a long oval head, Kask fits me a little better, POC is OK, Giro terrible.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/2/2020
by On Target
Cycling Enthusiast
Pleasant Hill, Iowa
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Best helmet I�ve ever purchased

I purchased the Lazer Z1 MIPS helmet this past summer and what a difference! The helmet is so lightweight and with all the air vents making rides comfortable. (I ride between 30-60 miles daily with a couple of century rides). It�s so easy to fit to your head if you�re wearing bandanna, Halo, or nothing. I added the back light to the helmet since I ride at night, a nice safety feature.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/13/2019
by SonomaCountyRoads suck
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern California
Value Rating
Overall Rating
I'm Alive

Bought last summer as i replace helmets every two years or less. On a descent, early morning, hit something in the roadway and launched at 27 mph....front right side of the helmet absorbed the blow...a slight laceration on my eyebrow from my glasses...no facial bones or teeth broken. Broke clavicle, scapula and 8 ribs...rushed to hospitaltrauma center and CTscan 45 minutes of impact...no issues other than pain but had i not had MIPS, and the helmet, who knows....any helmet that does this is a good helmet....so, can't rate anything but 5 STARS.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/31/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Perfect All-Round Helmet

Literally my go to helmet for any type of ride. Perfect fit, awesome ventilation...and the high-vis yellow adds another level of safety.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/26/2020
by Master Gunny
Cycling Enthusiast
Andrews AFB, MD
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Exceptional Helmet In All Aspects

Form, fit, quality -- not to mention -- the COOL Factor !! One AWESOME helmet !!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/16/2019
by Sonja
California
Overall Rating
Great helmet but weight is NOT accurate

My Z1 MIPS from 2 years ago saved my noggin in a crash and I finally replaced it with the current year's model. The weight of the new helmet, despite what Lazer advertises on its website and is repeated here, is WAY off-it came in at 278g, which not even close to the 190g listed. B TD customer service verified for me that all their size small members weighed 278g. That's a 43% discrepancy!

It's also strangely some 30g heavier than the 2017 model I crashed (no pieces missing, just cracked foam).

I loved the fit, ventilation and temple coverage, but the BEST part was not having an annoying plastic framework to interfere with my ponytail.

I just wish it came remotely close to the advertised weight (or even the same as my old one), but couldn't justify spending this much money on a helmet that didn't really do anything more than the $80 MIPS helmet I already have, so I returned it.

Thanks BTD for the great customer service and easy return process!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/10/2019
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Great fit and well vented

I only have a handful of rides but its already hot enough in the mornings in Arizona to test out the air flow and flows more air through it than my previous Kask Protone. The fit is a bit different than the Kask, it hold firm onto my head but it just feels a little strange as it holds higher up. The rear retention system feels like it doesnt hold as firm but I couldnt shake it off my head with out the chin straps so it just feels a bit less secure but in actuality its absolutely fine. I also like the metallic greenyellow color, looks great and hopefully makes you more visible to drives

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/1/2019
by binkata
California
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Heavier than advertised

I ordered a size small in white to replace an older Z1 MIPS from 2017 that I crashed (MIPS really does work!). As a woman, I really appreciate not having to thread my ponytail through a tiny opening to put the helmet on-it's really why I wanted the same helmet again.

Unfortunately, the new helmet weighs 273g (39g heavier than the older one, and 43% heavier than the listed weight).

Nobody at BTD seems to want to answer my emails about weighing another small Z1 MIPS for me to see if this is just a fluke or if it's normal, so I guess I'll be sending it back.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/2/2019
by Carl
Cycling Enthusiast
Medford, NJ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great Helmet

Great Helmet! Very easy to adjust.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/6/2017
by B Dog
orlando fl
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Lazer Z1 MIPS

My favorite Lazer helmet so far. Great fit and weighs less than my previous Helium helmet. Super comfortable, great ventilation and I recommend to anyone. Spend the $$ and get the MIPS.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/24/2018
by Eaglerider
Eagle Harbor, MI
Overall Rating
Best I've ever owned.

Great helmet with great ventilation. Love the optional rear light. (sold separately)

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/9/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Cincinnati, OH
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great ventilation and great fit.

This helmet pushes air down around the temple which is amazing. It hardly has any contact with your head when on. The mips layer doesn't touch your head and doesnt affect air flow.

I clearly bought this helmet because I wanted better ventilation and it delivered.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/7/2018
by Anonymous
Las Vegas
Overall Rating
Great Helmets

My fourth Lazer helmet. Sizing runs true. Love the asjunent dial. Good ventilation for summer heat.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/14/2018
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Great

Light helmet and easy to adjust the size while on the go.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/8/2019
by Urs
Florida
Overall Rating
Best ever

Riding in Florida I appreciate the extra ventilation and minimal weight of the helmet. MIPS make for a Perfect fit!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/25/2017
by Bdilen
Cycling Enthusiast
Long Beach, CA.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great fit, easy to adjust with one finger.

The fit on the Lazer Z1 MIPS helmet is amazing, no pressure points anywhere. Helmet is easy to adjust on the fly with one finger. MIPS system is a plus and the available accessories made the helmet a no brainier. After using other brand helmets for 20 years, the Lazer ZI MIPS helmet is by fat the best fitting helmet.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/22/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Love the fit of the helmet

Best fitting helmet I ever had

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/25/2017
by Tomas
Seattle
Overall Rating
Top-end brain bucket

This helmet looks good, fits snug, and is well designed

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/19/2017
by Mike B
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Nice helmet, but watch the sizing

This seemed like a really nice helmet, but unfortunately I had to return it. My head is kind of oval shaped and even in the large size, this helmet was not big enough. It pressed on my forehead. So beware if you have an oval shaped head, otherwise, go for it, especially when it's on sale.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 49