Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
Lazer G1 MIPS Helmet

LazerG1 MIPS Helmet(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(63 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(44)
(17)
(1)
(1)
(0)
(70%)
(27%)
(2%)
(2%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Ed R.

Reviewed 1/15/2024
by Ed R.
Cycling Enthusiast
Orange County, California
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
The best road helmet I have had in over 40 years

The Lazer G1 MIPS is a 5-star rated helmet in the West Virginia Tech tests (and don't even look at a helmet that is not rated 5-starts). It is a light and very comfortable helmet. I use a size medium with the Lazer, and it fits great. I used to use size large with Bell and Giro helmets. So use Lazer's sizing chart. The top dial system works much better to adjust the fit to my head compared to Giro and Bell products that I have used for years and were happy with. Lazer just works better on my head. The helmet is also remarkably lighter than other, yet it still has MIPS. I'm very impressed. Also Bike TIres Direct quickly matched the sale price I had found elsewhere.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Meeko

Reviewed 1/22/2024
by Meeko
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Light and Comfy

I originally ordered the large size and I sent it back to get the medium. It was on sale and the sale price was awesome. This is easily one of my favorite helmets. I have the older version in orange and that's my go-to night helmet since it's bright. They have made improvements on this latest one and I can definitely feel the difference. It is light and comfortable. I totally forgot that I had it on the first time I rode with it. I highly recommend this helmet.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by AKbiker

Reviewed 11/7/2023
by AKbiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Alaska
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Most comfortable helmet ever!

I have worn a lot of different helmets, but this is by far the most comfortable one I have ever owned. It is light, fits great, and ventilates extremely well. I added the high vis aero shell for days where visibility is important, but the aero shell will reduce the air flow somewhat. I rode with this helmet over 4000 miles this year across the U.S. and would certainly recommend this as a first choice touring helmet.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Joel_CA

Reviewed 1/9/2024
by Joel_CA
Cycling Enthusiast
Norcal
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Super lightweight & looks great

I was worried that the large size wouldn't fit my big noggin, but it actually fits me great. Super lightweight design just sorta makes the helmet feel as if its disappears on my head - I hardly even notice its there.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Pedro

Reviewed 1/13/2024
by Pedro
Cycling Enthusiast
Marblehead, MA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Stylish. Great Fit.

I've worn Lazer helmets for years...this is #4 for me. Great fit. Stylish. Light. Good looking.

The only drawback is the buckle...on this model, it's rather stiff and difficult (especially with cold fingers) to undo. But otherwise, a great helmet.

Hey Lazer, fix the buckle!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Fort Collins Rider

Reviewed 9/24/2023
by Fort Collins Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
FoCo CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Fantasticly light, cool, and the safety rating is tops

The retention system just broke. That thin little bit of plastic visible in the image on the bottom left of the helmet.

I rode it from 02/2021 to today (09/2023) as my primary road, gravel, and xcmtb helmet. Just a guess, but I'd put it at ~1,000hrs of use. I was very pleased with how cool my head stayed compared to the Giro Savant I had used previously, especially while climbing on those super hot summer days. Even on the mtb, when climbing is half the speed or less than a road climb, I stayed cool.

Summer is over so I have replaced my broken G1 MIPS with a Lazer Vento. I won't think twice about buying another G1 next summer if the Vento cooks my brain. $200 is still a lot to a lot of people, myself included. However, the cliche phrase about only getting one head is still true no matter how hard we roll our eyes at hearing it. Two c-notes for the best protection ain't shizznit.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 10/30/2023
by Anonymous
Chicago Area
Overall Rating
Z1 is as good if not better

My Lazer z1 needed to be replaced and served me well. Decided to upgrade to the G1. Keep having to readjust during long rides as the rear of the helmet is causing some pain. Minimal difference in weight in size medium so I wish I had not switched.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Tennnessee old guy

Reviewed 11/3/2023
by Tennnessee old guy
Cycling Enthusiast
SE Tennessee
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great helmet with awful clasp

I really want to like this helmet. Great fit. light weight and looks cool. Highly rated by the Va Tech Helmet Lab. Like a few other reviewers have pointed out, it is frustrating to unhook the clasp on this helmet. Suggest you try before you buy.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Allan

Reviewed 12/21/2023
by Allan
Foster City
Overall Rating
Light and Confy

The only helmet I wear. I have 3 in different colors. Crashed once and the back of the helmet crumbled but my brain survived unscathed.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Tim

Reviewed 12/21/2023
by Tim
Mi
Overall Rating
Beautiful helmet

Comfortable, light and awesome looking

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Guidon

Reviewed 11/3/2022
by Guidon
portland, OR
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Really light. A little bit big.

When it came time to replace my helmet, I wanted a light weight MIPS helmet. I decided on the Laser because you can get a snap-on cover for cold & nasty weather.

It is certainly light ( even with the optional cover).

It has a unique dial on top to adjust the fit. Unlike most helmets that clamp the occipital area, this one snugs to your head higher up. You may or may not like this feature. I always wear a medium, and I have to crank this one all the way down to fit my head, so it runs a bit big.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 11/3/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Santa Barbara
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Amazing helmet, fast delivery

First time purchasing from this site and was pleasantly surprised. Speedy delivery and everything arrived perfect.

As for the helmet itself, an absolute steal at the sales price - very lightweight, well-ventilated...unfortunately I never got to take it on a ride. I was right on the border of M and L and I went with L and alas...a bit too big for my head.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Andrew_P

Reviewed 4/10/2022
by Andrew_P
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Great fit for an oval head

I haven't had a chance to test this item for its intended purpose and hope I never do. Should that event happen, though, I'm very comforted to know that this helmet actually fits my head. I've always had issues with helmets as I have a long oval head shape. Most helmets are either too wide with lots of side-to-side play or don't properly sit on my head. I was pleased to find the Z1 MIPS as the fit is almost perfect and the style looks great.

One thing to note which is super-important:

If you can't get the retention strap to tighten enough then turn the helmet over and pull back the MIPS liner where the retention mechanism attaches to the center back of the helmet. You will find a single silver screw that attaches the retention harness to a plastic strap that attaches to the helmet itself. On mine there's a sticker that points out this location, but I know it's not present on all of them. Loosen that screw and you can slide the retention harness so that it sits lower on your head. On mine I slid it out as far as it would go (don't forget to re-tighten the screw) and now I can tighten the harness down more than enough.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Lee

Reviewed 5/1/2023
by Lee
Cycling Enthusiast
Napa, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Nice light weight helmet, comfortable, but clasp needs help

These are a really light weight helmet and comfortable, don't care for the clasps, bought matching helmets for my wife and I and she has a real hard time getting the clasp to release, that I have to help on occasion.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Dessert Rat

Reviewed 10/20/2021
by Dessert Rat
Cycling Enthusiast
Las Cruces, NM
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Great fit and comfortable

Most comfortable helmet I have owned. I've had Bell, Gyro, Smith and Oakley but the Lazer G1 MIPS seems to be the best for my head. I got it on sale for a great price at BTD. It also offers great protection in a crash. I found out that Lazer has a great crash replacement policy too. I sent Lazer a picture of the damaged helmet and got 50% off a new helmet with 2 days.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Wout Wannabee

Reviewed 10/14/2021
by Wout Wannabee
Cycling Enthusiast
Denver, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Great fitting and good looking

I replaced my old Giro Aeon with this. The Lazer fits well and the retention mechanism seems way better and sturdier. Ventilation is very good. Catch it on sale it is a really good value for a high end helmet.

If you are between sizes, I would size DOWN. The size chart recommends sizing up. In my case I ordered Large and it was way too big. I exchanged for Medium and it's great. Fortunately, this item qualifies for easy and free return shipping on exchanges. Awesome policy, Bike Tires Direct!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Emu8

Reviewed 9/17/2021
by Emu8
Cycling Enthusiast
Marin Co. CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Great helmet, sizing seems off

I have had this helmet now for about 2 months. I like it very much, it is light and well ventilated as advertised. The only negative is the sizing. I measured my head circumference about 6 times, and came within a few millimeters of 59 cm each time. Given that, I ordered a L, (58-61 cm). It is way to big, and I should have ordered a medium (not available at the time, as wasn't the M/L), as it projects about 2" (5cm) behind my actual head. . Fortunately, the Rollsys fit system snugs it down fine. Must look a bit weird to my riding buddies, but it works ok.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Cathy P

Reviewed 8/19/2021
by Cathy P
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Looks and feels good, light weight and good ventilation

Just returned from a bike trip to N. Cascades in Washington. Wore this helmet in high heat 90s for 40-50miles a day. It goes on/off easy, is light weight, and the spin wheel on top of helmet rather than rear is quite nice. I wear a ponytail and no problem with fit. One caveat: i measure at 55cm so ordered a medium (which starts at 55cm). This was way too large, could not tighten it enough and had to exchange for a small which is perfect. I think if you have a very round head the bigger size might be needed but my head is more oval. P.S. exchange was super easy, no need to fill any paperwork, quick email and they sent me a fed ex label. Very pleased with this company.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by HammerTime

Reviewed 4/19/2021
by HammerTime
Competitive Racer
Washington DC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Pro Level, But Not for Everyone

I wanted to like this helmet... I wanted to love this helmet... adorned on pro riders it looks cool, it gets great safety ratings, and it's the flagship offering from a legendary brand, so it has to be good, right? Well...it has what I consider to be a really protruding "bill" on the front of the helmet--it really sticks out there compared to the low-profile front-end of my Lazer Z1. A few others have pointed this out as well. So really nice helmet but aesthetically, just not my thing.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by NJTriBiker

Reviewed 4/12/2021
by NJTriBiker
Competitive Racer
New Jersey
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
My New Favorite Helmet!

I am totally happy with my new G1 helmet. It feels as everyone says, incredibly light in weight, perfect fit, and extremely well ventilated. I was easily able to fit the side ear straps, and they didn't move, or loosen at all even after hours of riding. And I've really enjoyed using the ARS top of helmet fit system. Using it is so easy, (I just start with it loose before each ride, then tighten it down), and after fitting the chin strap, the helmet feels totally secure. And the fact that is has the 5 start safety rating makes it even better.

Although my glasses don't fit as close to the helmet as some others, I turn my glasses upside down, and load them in using the biggest, low vents and they stay securely and firmly, out of the field of vision and ready for use. Awesome all the way around!

As usual, continued thanks to BikeTiresDirect for the best in customer svc, selection, and price!

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]