Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Lazer G1 MIPS Helmet

LazerG1 MIPS Helmet(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(46 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(34)
(10)
(1)
(1)
(0)
(74%)
(22%)
(2%)
(2%)
(0%)
Reviewed 11/3/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Santa Barbara
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Amazing helmet, fast delivery

First time purchasing from this site and was pleasantly surprised. Speedy delivery and everything arrived perfect.

As for the helmet itself, an absolute steal at the sales price - very lightweight, well-ventilated...unfortunately I never got to take it on a ride. I was right on the border of M and L and I went with L and alas...a bit too big for my head.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/3/2022
by Guidon
portland, OR
Overall Rating
Really light. A little bit big.

When it came time to replace my helmet, I wanted a light weight MIPS helmet. I decided on the Laser because you can get a snap-on cover for cold & nasty weather.

It is certainly light ( even with the optional cover).

It has a unique dial on top to adjust the fit. Unlike most helmets that clamp the occipital area, this one snugs to your head higher up. You may or may not like this feature. I always wear a medium, and I have to crank this one all the way down to fit my head, so it runs a bit big.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/17/2022
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Nice helmet. Lightweight. Airy

I was looking for an alternative to my super safe, super bulbous, super ventilated Poc Ventral Air Spin. I read some reviews that the Lazer MIPS was not well ventilated. I ride in Houston and find it very comparable to the Poc. It is lighter weight and smaller form factor and near the top of the Va Tech rankings. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/7/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Wisconsin
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Comfortable Light Helmet

Had a crash and needed a new helmet. This helmet checked all the boxes. When I got it was surprised by how well it fit.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/4/2022
by Jhalvorsen
baltimore Md
Overall Rating
LIKE IT SO FAR

Haven't worn it on the road yet to see how well the ventilation is but i like the fit, fits my head well and is very light

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/4/2022
by Jhalvorsen
baltimore Md
Overall Rating
LIKE IT SO FAR

Haven�t worn it on the road yet to see how well the ventilation is but i like the fit, fits my head well and is very light

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/10/2022
by Andrew_P
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Great fit for an oval head

I haven't had a chance to test this item for its intended purpose and hope I never do. Should that event happen, though, I'm very comforted to know that this helmet actually fits my head. I've always had issues with helmets as I have a long oval head shape. Most helmets are either too wide with lots of side-to-side play or don't properly sit on my head. I was pleased to find the Z1 MIPS as the fit is almost perfect and the style looks great.

One thing to note which is super-important:

If you can't get the retention strap to tighten enough then turn the helmet over and pull back the MIPS liner where the retention mechanism attaches to the center back of the helmet. You will find a single silver screw that attaches the retention harness to a plastic strap that attaches to the helmet itself. On mine there's a sticker that points out this location, but I know it's not present on all of them. Loosen that screw and you can slide the retention harness so that it sits lower on your head. On mine I slid it out as far as it would go (don't forget to re-tighten the screw) and now I can tighten the harness down more than enough.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/14/2021
by Wout Wannabee
Cycling Enthusiast
Denver, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Great fitting and good looking

I replaced my old Giro Aeon with this. The Lazer fits well and the retention mechanism seems way better and sturdier. Ventilation is very good. Catch it on sale it is a really good value for a high end helmet.

If you are between sizes, I would size DOWN. The size chart recommends sizing up. In my case I ordered Large and it was way too big. I exchanged for Medium and it's great. Fortunately, this item qualifies for easy and free return shipping on exchanges. Awesome policy, Bike Tires Direct!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/20/2021
by Dessert Rat
Cycling Enthusiast
Las Cruces, NM
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Great fit and comfortable

Most comfortable helmet I have owned. I've had Bell, Gyro, Smith and Oakley but the Lazer G1 MIPS seems to be the best for my head. I got it on sale for a great price at BTD. It also offers great protection in a crash. I found out that Lazer has a great crash replacement policy too. I sent Lazer a picture of the damaged helmet and got 50% off a new helmet with 2 days.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/17/2021
by Emu8
Cycling Enthusiast
Marin Co. CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Great helmet, sizing seems off

I have had this helmet now for about 2 months. I like it very much, it is light and well ventilated as advertised. The only negative is the sizing. I measured my head circumference about 6 times, and came within a few millimeters of 59 cm each time. Given that, I ordered a L, (58-61 cm). It is way to big, and I should have ordered a medium (not available at the time, as wasn't the M/L), as it projects about 2" (5cm) behind my actual head. . Fortunately, the Rollsys fit system snugs it down fine. Must look a bit weird to my riding buddies, but it works ok.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/19/2021
by Cathy P
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Looks and feels good, light weight and good ventilation

Just returned from a bike trip to N. Cascades in Washington. Wore this helmet in high heat 90s for 40-50miles a day. It goes on/off easy, is light weight, and the spin wheel on top of helmet rather than rear is quite nice. I wear a ponytail and no problem with fit. One caveat: i measure at 55cm so ordered a medium (which starts at 55cm). This was way too large, could not tighten it enough and had to exchange for a small which is perfect. I think if you have a very round head the bigger size might be needed but my head is more oval. P.S. exchange was super easy, no need to fill any paperwork, quick email and they sent me a fed ex label. Very pleased with this company.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/29/2022
by MrFranc
Cycling Enthusiast
Guaynabo, PR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Safe and Light!

I bought this helmet because of the great safety rating it receives at Virginia Tech https://www.helmet.beam.vt.edu/bicycle-helmet-ratings.html#5 Plus it was at a reduced price here at BikeTiresDirect. It is super light and comfortable. No complaints so far.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/19/2021
by HammerTime
Competitive Racer
Washington DC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Pro Level, But Not for Everyone

I wanted to like this helmet... I wanted to love this helmet... adorned on pro riders it looks cool, it gets great safety ratings, and it's the flagship offering from a legendary brand, so it has to be good, right? Well...it has what I consider to be a really protruding "bill" on the front of the helmet--it really sticks out there compared to the low-profile front-end of my Lazer Z1. A few others have pointed this out as well. So really nice helmet but aesthetically, just not my thing.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/12/2021
by NJTriBiker
Competitive Racer
New Jersey
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
My New Favorite Helmet!

I am totally happy with my new G1 helmet. It feels as everyone says, incredibly light in weight, perfect fit, and extremely well ventilated. I was easily able to fit the side ear straps, and they didn't move, or loosen at all even after hours of riding. And I've really enjoyed using the ARS top of helmet fit system. Using it is so easy, (I just start with it loose before each ride, then tighten it down), and after fitting the chin strap, the helmet feels totally secure. And the fact that is has the 5 start safety rating makes it even better.

Although my glasses don't fit as close to the helmet as some others, I turn my glasses upside down, and load them in using the biggest, low vents and they stay securely and firmly, out of the field of vision and ready for use. Awesome all the way around!

As usual, continued thanks to BikeTiresDirect for the best in customer svc, selection, and price!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/7/2022
by Wendy
Cycling Enthusiast
Wisconsin
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
comfort and safety

Top safety rating per the Virginia Tech protocol.

https://www.helmet.beam.vt.edu/bicycle-helmet-ratings.html

Super comfortable and ventilated and high viz color.

Only downside is lack of forehead sun protection due to the large vents.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/14/2021
by Big O
Cycling Enthusiast
Orange County, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Great Quality, fits perfectly and so light weight you forget your wearing a helmet at all!

It was time to replace my old road helmet and after some careful research on safety, weight and fitting - this Lazer G1 is everything I was looking for. Love the fit and keeps my head cooler on hotter days. For winter I plan on ordering the Aeroshell to cover the vents. Most of my rides are 40 - 65+ miles 3 times a week and this is by far the most comfortable helmet I have ever worn. A bit pricey, however in this case you really get what you pay for!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/17/2020
by Razorken
Competitive Racer
Chicago Suburbs
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
This Helmet ROCKS!

A brief history of my helmet wearing: I'd always worn Giro helmets up until six or seven years ago when they first introduced their MIPS helmet. Sadly, that bad boy didn't fit at all as the M was too large and loose and the S was too small and tight. I then changed to a Kask Vertigo in a M but it was actually too large, was insufficiently well-ventilated, and sweat ran into my eyes. So then I moved to the Kask Protone in a size S. I loved Protone's aesthetics but, man, talk about poorly ventilated. Sheesh! So, onto the Lazer, which is simply AWESOME! Super lightweight, uber adjustable, and the best ventilated helmet I have EVER worn. Seriously, it had been so long since I'd worn a truly well-ventilated lid, that I'd actually forgotten how pleasant it is not to have sweat dripping into your eyes. This has become, now, my favorite helmet ever.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/16/2020
by James
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Lazer G1 MIPS is a winner

OK, watching the Jumbo Visma and Sunweb teams don this helmet may have heightened my interest, but I'd been looking to replace my Giro Synthe (non-MIPS) for a while anyway. Helmets are like shoes, great if they fit, lousy if they don't. The Lazer GP1 MIPS fits great - for me. It clears the top of my sunglasses by about 3/4", allowing for great ventilation (as opposed to the Giro, which sat on top of the sunglass frame). It does require adjusting the Rolsys device and sliding the non-locking strap yokes into place before each ride - a two second process that yields a stable, dialed-in fit. The straps are very light, easy to adjust to perfection and lay flat. The helmet is very well ventilated and very light. My medium weighs 260 grams - just 12 grams more than my very light, medium (non-MIPS) Giro Synthe. Price is very competitive with other top of the line helmets. And, it's a sleek, great looking lid.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/1/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Denver, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Airy and Top Rated

I had to buy a new helmet after smashing my Giro Synthe on the right side twice. I was going to go with the Giro Aether, but then read the tests from Virginia Tech ( https://www.helmet.beam.vt.edu/bicycle-helmet-ratings.html ) where it is the top helmet out of 99 tested for concussion prevention (several places ahead of Giros). It also had really good reviews on YouTube.

Had my first ride in it today and it just blows the Synthe (non MIPS) away in terms of ventilation. That's really important to me. It fit really well and looks pretty good. So I'm very happy. The only one nitpick is the tightening system feels like it loosens too easily (no ratchet).

I can tell it sticks out a bit from my head, but I don't mind too much since that means more impact to the helmet and not my face. It is also super light and looks pretty cool (you can actually peel off the Lazer stickers if you want).

Anyway, I'm very picky and I am pleased with it! The Virgina Tech tests were really its best selling point for me.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/2/2020
by TDough
Cycling Enthusiast
Fairfield County, CT
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great Helmet - Safe & Light

I've been using this helmet all summer now - about 1000 miles. It's light and well ventilated and yet feels very secure and safe.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 28

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]