Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Lazer G1 MIPS Helmet

LazerG1 MIPS Helmet(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(40 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(31)
(7)
(1)
(1)
(0)
(78%)
(18%)
(3%)
(3%)
(0%)
Previous Page
Reviewed 8/10/2021
by David
New England
Overall Rating
Great light weight helmet

The Lazer helmet is light weight, cool and has MIPS. The Z1 helmet is comfortable and I like the thumb wheel adjuster. I would definitely buy another Lazer helmet

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/18/2021
by Kurt
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Lightweight, comfortable

The helmet is well made, has a very good safety rating, and it's light. The pads are small and thin, so they aren't hot and don't hold much sweat. The helmet fits me very well, and I was a bit concerned when I purchased the large because I was at the end of the size range. The adjustment system on the top works well as there are no pinch points. The helmet is made in China, which I unfortunately found out after purchasing it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/11/2021
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Very light & comfortable

This is my second Lazer helmet and the first G1 model. Like the Z1 that I had before, it is extremely comfortable and weighs even less (about 2 oz).

The Z1 that this replaced protected me in a bad crash.

I also like the option of bright colors such as orange. With distracted drives everywhere, the bright color is an added measure to get noticed on the road.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/8/2021
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Very light & comfortable

This is my second Lazer helmet and the first G1 model. Like the Z1 that I had before, it is extremely comfortable and weighs even less (about 2 oz).

The Z1 that this replaced protected me in a bad crash.

I also like the option of bright colors such as orange. With distracted drives everywhere, the bright color is an added measure to get noticed on the road.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/13/2021
by Anonymous
Southeast Texas
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great Helmet

This is the second Lazer helmet I have owned. Both have been comfortable and give good air circulation which is important in Texas. The G1 is light weight and comfortable. Biketiresdirect had the G1 on sale at a great price.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/23/2021
by Beach Velo
orange county, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Fits well and is light

This fit well with minimal adjustments. It looks sharp. It is very airy so it might not be the best choice for winter riding for everyone but perfect for warmer temperatures.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/16/2021
by bluaper
Cycling Enthusiast
Washington, DC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Lite, cool, safe. Extraordinary road helmet.

The Virginia Tech bike safety ratings put this at the top of the list for road helmets. It is also among the lightest and best vented helmets. My previous helmet was an excellent Giro Aeon. This helmet is better. While it is not cheap, you actually get what you pay for, including premier head and brain protection.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/3/2020
by Max
Casual Cyclist
Tifton, Ga
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Mine was defective and was returned for credit

I used it on one trip. It would not stay tight and i had to repeatedly tighten it. Chatted with one of your reps and he said to return it. I liked the looks of it and the feel. So incredibly light. Sorry it didn't work out.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/9/2020
by T Duns
Cycling Enthusiast
Kensington, CA USA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Eye catching color (orange) , great fit and light.

Nothing to shake a stick at. Nice looking, fits my big head well and easy to adjust.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/23/2020
by Exploe42
Cycling Enthusiast
Cincinnati, Oh
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
High rated for safety

I bought this helmet because it had one of the highest safety ratings. It vents well and is lighter than many comparable MIPS based helmets. The retention system took a little time to get used to but once I did the helmet felt great. I love that its light, vents well in the heat and still gets high safety ratings by Virginia Tech testing.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/19/2020
by Anand
Cycling Enthusiast
Manchester, NH
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent helmet light, ventilated and comfortable

I recently bought a Specialized prevail 2 helmet which I like very much. I wanted another light and comfortable helmet and decided to buy the Lazer based on its excellent safety rating from Virginia Tech. I ordered the orangeblack in size medium and the helmet arrived in three days. I have bought other items such as saddles from Bikesdirect and am very pleased with their service and prices. The Lazer G1 arrived well packaged in a cardboard box. Inside the box, the helmet itself was in its original box wrapped in plastic. A cloth cover, extra pads (in red) were also included in the box along with instructions. An excellent buying experience.

I have done about two longish rides with the Lazer in the hot and humid weather we are experiencing in the NE and the helmet is remarkably comfortable, very well ventilated and very light. The sticker inside the helmet indicates a weight of 270 g (compared to 260 g for the Prevail) and circumference in the range of 55-59 cm. The padding is more than adequate. Compared to the Specialized, the Lazer is smaller and lower in profile but feels remarkably similar. The roller mechanism on top to tighten the helmet works well but it does loosen during the ride as mentioned in another review. The Lazer also has a plastic tab inside the helmet which is supposed to be used to adjust vertical position of the liner. Unfortunately, I couldn't even move the sliding tab and decided not to force it in case it broke. The default position of 3 (range 1-5) fits me well. Overall, the Lazer is an excellent helmet and comparable to the Specialized prevail 2. The Specialized has some other features such as a crash sensor.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/11/2020
by Seattle Dave
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
13 of 14 customers found this review helpful.
Nice low profile looks, weight not superlative, retention and straps could be better.

The G1 mips M weighs a few grams more than my Giro Synthe mips M. I really like the styling, its lower profile in height and width than my Synthe. Weight wise, I was disappointed the Lazer is slightly heavier. Im on the verge of being to big for the med size of most helmets, and the G1 feels a hair slightly larger than the Synthe. The retention device on the G1 with the roller on top tightens down moderately tight before it gives up and skips. The Synthe mechanism squeezes headache tight if one desires, and overall the G1 retention does not seem to really help hold the helmet on my head. The G1 doesnt grab my head like the Synthe does, but that may just be the shape of my head. I find the helmet can wander high on my forehead. Your mileage may vary. Also, the Y- strap brackets on the sides of the straps (on either side of your jaw) dont stay where you adjust them to be which is annoying. They can be easily moved by casual handling. Beyond these annoyances, the helmet is comfortable, and looks nice and well made. Just wish it were a bit lighter as they tout the light weight, and the straps were a bit more secure.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/15/2021
by T T
hartford ct
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
This could have been a great helmet..

If it wasn't for that crummy retention system ( I guess they weren't using their heads )

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/12/2021
by Brian
Cycling Enthusiast
Geneva, IL
Overall Rating
Best Helmet I've Ever Owned

This is the lightest, best ventilated, and most slippery (aero) helmet I've ever owned. My last few helmets were Giro Aeon models which are light, but this 'feels' even lighter. On hot summer days I notice my heads is not as hot with the Lazer G1 as it was with the Aeon. It really has a nice air flow...whether on the hoods or head down in the drops. I am getting used to the location of the retention device. It is simple enough for me. Tighten once, loosen at the end of a ride. For me there have been no problems with it loosening on its own during a ride. The straps, buckles and other components are much better than my Aeon. Because of the unique retention system, I suspect my wife will want one since it seems pony tail friendly. 5-stars for far.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/7/2021
by TeeArgh
Cycling Enthusiast
Spokane, WA
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Light, safe and comfy

It's not cheap, but many high end helmets aren't these days. I returned a POC Ventral helmet due to it's round head profile while I'm more an oval. This G1, and the halo adjustment fits me much more comfortably, and has the added bonus of being the best tested road helmet by the Virginia Tech Helmet Ratings.

It's relatively light, and does a decent job at floating on the head as opposed to feeling like it's molded to it. I've done many a 3+ hour ride with it so far, and have not had any pressure points, hot spots or anything. It has been relatively cool as the temps have started to climb, but I've only had it for the last month and a half so it hasn't seen a proper summer yet. The only thing I have found to be of any annoyance is that my hair tends to get caught up in the mips layer at the front and pulls a little when removing the helmet at the end of the ride. Other than that, I have nothing remotely bad to say.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/2/2020
by Tom
Chicago
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Nice Helmet

It is a nice, light helmet. The MIPS feature is a plus. The back head cradle retention system does loosen. I have noticed this in other Lazer helmets too. I find myself having to tighten it often during a ride.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/3/2022
by Greg
Colorado
Overall Rating
Great ventilation

Solid fit. MIPS is a bonus. The ventilation on this helmet is fantastic. Super light weight.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/15/2021
by Jeff
Lincoln, Nebraska
Overall Rating
Outstanding helmet

I purchased my Lazer G1 helmet to replace my Giro and I�m very pleased with it. I love the visibility the orange provides. The mips system ensures a perfect fit and generous ventilation keeps me cool.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/29/2020
by jmpdx
Cycling Enthusiast
PDX
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Size Large runs a little big

Nice helmet. I haven't had any loosing issues report by some folks. I did find the size large a little bigger than my Giro Synth. I always wear some form of summer or winter head covering under my helmets. Without wearing the head covering this helmet would be too big for me.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/27/2020
by Pete
Competitive Racer
Riverside, Corona, CA
Overall Rating
This helmet is very light, venti, low profile for a Lazar, one of their all time best helmets for sure.

I have many road helmets, this is my favorite because it is low profile, great fit, venti, and very light, is a little pricy but worth it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 08

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]