Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Lazer G1 MIPS Helmet

LazerG1 MIPS Helmet(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(46 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(34)
(10)
(1)
(1)
(0)
(74%)
(22%)
(2%)
(2%)
(0%)
Previous Page
Reviewed 8/6/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Minneapolis, MN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Best Helmet I've Had

Lightweight (you forget it's there), doesn't block your vision so you can keep your head down more and still see without craning your neck, good range of adjustability so you can ride with headbands, etc. or without and it'll fit regardless, and it vents really well to keep air flowing on hot days. Only issue I have is that it doesn't have vents that are good for holding sunglasses. I've just started putting them behind my head under the helmet instead and that works too. This thing is by far my favorite helmet that I've tried.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/11/2020
by gracehowler
Cycling Enthusiast
Colorado, USA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Lightweight-YES

We also use intercoms on our tandem, so a lightweight helmet is very nice. Lazer definitely cuts some frill to make this helmet so light and the only complaint we have is the buckle is a bit hard to operate.

If light is high on your list, this helmet is a great deal.

Love the orange color!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/30/2022
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
MIPS + Light + Aero

Great helmet, Virginia Tech #1 rated in advert road helmet. Proper looks and a reasonable price.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/30/2021
by Alexander
Claremont
Overall Rating
Lazer focused

I've had many helmet brands over the years but Lazer is the best fit and best looking. This road MIPS G1 completes my set! I have a road, gravel and mountain Lazer now

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/2/2021
by Albert C.
Bergen County, NJ
Overall Rating
Looks and feels amazing on the head

This would be my third Lazer helmet. Had a Z1 that saved my head from a heavy crash, and a Z1 Shimano limited edition that l also love. The G1 MIPS is lighter, better ventilation, more comfy and looks amazing. Also have the clear shield that goes over the G1/Z1helmet for Winter time to keep my head warm. Got the White G1 so l can match it with any of my jersey. Very happy with the purchase!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/20/2021
by Rapha
Cycling Enthusiast
Maryland
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Light and well-ventilated

Lightness is evident immediately, and the ventilation is exceptional. Top of the skull tightening barrel takes some getting used to, but is effective. Usual chin strap problems with permanent sizing (no different from other helmets).

Excellent helmet all around. A bit pricey, but listed as the 'best protection' in several studies.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/10/2021
by David
New England
Overall Rating
Great light weight helmet

The Lazer helmet is light weight, cool and has MIPS. The Z1 helmet is comfortable and I like the thumb wheel adjuster. I would definitely buy another Lazer helmet

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/18/2021
by Kurt
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Lightweight, comfortable

The helmet is well made, has a very good safety rating, and it's light. The pads are small and thin, so they aren't hot and don't hold much sweat. The helmet fits me very well, and I was a bit concerned when I purchased the large because I was at the end of the size range. The adjustment system on the top works well as there are no pinch points. The helmet is made in China, which I unfortunately found out after purchasing it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/11/2021
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Very light & comfortable

This is my second Lazer helmet and the first G1 model. Like the Z1 that I had before, it is extremely comfortable and weighs even less (about 2 oz).

The Z1 that this replaced protected me in a bad crash.

I also like the option of bright colors such as orange. With distracted drives everywhere, the bright color is an added measure to get noticed on the road.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/8/2021
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Very light & comfortable

This is my second Lazer helmet and the first G1 model. Like the Z1 that I had before, it is extremely comfortable and weighs even less (about 2 oz).

The Z1 that this replaced protected me in a bad crash.

I also like the option of bright colors such as orange. With distracted drives everywhere, the bright color is an added measure to get noticed on the road.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/13/2021
by Anonymous
Southeast Texas
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great Helmet

This is the second Lazer helmet I have owned. Both have been comfortable and give good air circulation which is important in Texas. The G1 is light weight and comfortable. Biketiresdirect had the G1 on sale at a great price.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/16/2021
by bluaper
Cycling Enthusiast
Washington, DC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Lite, cool, safe. Extraordinary road helmet.

The Virginia Tech bike safety ratings put this at the top of the list for road helmets. It is also among the lightest and best vented helmets. My previous helmet was an excellent Giro Aeon. This helmet is better. While it is not cheap, you actually get what you pay for, including premier head and brain protection.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/23/2021
by Beach Velo
orange county, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Fits well and is light

This fit well with minimal adjustments. It looks sharp. It is very airy so it might not be the best choice for winter riding for everyone but perfect for warmer temperatures.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/3/2020
by Max
Casual Cyclist
Tifton, Ga
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Mine was defective and was returned for credit

I used it on one trip. It would not stay tight and i had to repeatedly tighten it. Chatted with one of your reps and he said to return it. I liked the looks of it and the feel. So incredibly light. Sorry it didn't work out.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/9/2020
by T Duns
Cycling Enthusiast
Kensington, CA USA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Eye catching color (orange) , great fit and light.

Nothing to shake a stick at. Nice looking, fits my big head well and easy to adjust.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/23/2020
by Exploe42
Cycling Enthusiast
Cincinnati, Oh
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
High rated for safety

I bought this helmet because it had one of the highest safety ratings. It vents well and is lighter than many comparable MIPS based helmets. The retention system took a little time to get used to but once I did the helmet felt great. I love that its light, vents well in the heat and still gets high safety ratings by Virginia Tech testing.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/19/2020
by Anand
Cycling Enthusiast
Manchester, NH
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent helmet light, ventilated and comfortable

I recently bought a Specialized prevail 2 helmet which I like very much. I wanted another light and comfortable helmet and decided to buy the Lazer based on its excellent safety rating from Virginia Tech. I ordered the orangeblack in size medium and the helmet arrived in three days. I have bought other items such as saddles from Bikesdirect and am very pleased with their service and prices. The Lazer G1 arrived well packaged in a cardboard box. Inside the box, the helmet itself was in its original box wrapped in plastic. A cloth cover, extra pads (in red) were also included in the box along with instructions. An excellent buying experience.

I have done about two longish rides with the Lazer in the hot and humid weather we are experiencing in the NE and the helmet is remarkably comfortable, very well ventilated and very light. The sticker inside the helmet indicates a weight of 270 g (compared to 260 g for the Prevail) and circumference in the range of 55-59 cm. The padding is more than adequate. Compared to the Specialized, the Lazer is smaller and lower in profile but feels remarkably similar. The roller mechanism on top to tighten the helmet works well but it does loosen during the ride as mentioned in another review. The Lazer also has a plastic tab inside the helmet which is supposed to be used to adjust vertical position of the liner. Unfortunately, I couldn't even move the sliding tab and decided not to force it in case it broke. The default position of 3 (range 1-5) fits me well. Overall, the Lazer is an excellent helmet and comparable to the Specialized prevail 2. The Specialized has some other features such as a crash sensor.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/11/2020
by Seattle Dave
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
13 of 14 customers found this review helpful.
Nice low profile looks, weight not superlative, retention and straps could be better.

The G1 mips M weighs a few grams more than my Giro Synthe mips M. I really like the styling, its lower profile in height and width than my Synthe. Weight wise, I was disappointed the Lazer is slightly heavier. Im on the verge of being to big for the med size of most helmets, and the G1 feels a hair slightly larger than the Synthe. The retention device on the G1 with the roller on top tightens down moderately tight before it gives up and skips. The Synthe mechanism squeezes headache tight if one desires, and overall the G1 retention does not seem to really help hold the helmet on my head. The G1 doesnt grab my head like the Synthe does, but that may just be the shape of my head. I find the helmet can wander high on my forehead. Your mileage may vary. Also, the Y- strap brackets on the sides of the straps (on either side of your jaw) dont stay where you adjust them to be which is annoying. They can be easily moved by casual handling. Beyond these annoyances, the helmet is comfortable, and looks nice and well made. Just wish it were a bit lighter as they tout the light weight, and the straps were a bit more secure.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/15/2021
by T T
hartford ct
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
This could have been a great helmet..

If it wasn't for that crummy retention system ( I guess they weren't using their heads )

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/12/2021
by Brian
Cycling Enthusiast
Geneva, IL
Overall Rating
Best Helmet I've Ever Owned

This is the lightest, best ventilated, and most slippery (aero) helmet I've ever owned. My last few helmets were Giro Aeon models which are light, but this 'feels' even lighter. On hot summer days I notice my heads is not as hot with the Lazer G1 as it was with the Aeon. It really has a nice air flow...whether on the hoods or head down in the drops. I am getting used to the location of the retention device. It is simple enough for me. Tighten once, loosen at the end of a ride. For me there have been no problems with it loosening on its own during a ride. The straps, buckles and other components are much better than my Aeon. Because of the unique retention system, I suspect my wife will want one since it seems pony tail friendly. 5-stars for far.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 18

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]