Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
Kuat Sherpa 2.0 Hitch Rack

KuatSherpa 2.0 Hitch Rack(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(56 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(54)
(2)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(96%)
(4%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by KS rider

Reviewed 7/3/2023
by KS rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Midwest
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Classic Kuat bike rack and great deal using BTD VIP points

New replacement for my wrecked Sherpa 2.0. Well-made and good looking rack that gets the job done for small and large autos. Got the 1 1/4 hitch and 2 in adapter to use between two vehicles. Couldn�t beat the price anywhere when using BTD VIP points.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by VAmtber

Reviewed 11/14/2023
by VAmtber
Cycling Enthusiast
Virginia
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Beefy Rack

I have had my eyes on this rack for a long time. It is a solid, sturdy platform to transport my bikes to my favorite trails. Assembly was relatively simple (make sure you have a torque wrench) and when I attached to the receiver on my car, I was thrilled. The rack tightened right up to where there was no wobble and the lever to drop it down was easily accessible. It looks great, performs great and I am looking forward to many years of use from this rack. When BTD had the sale on it, I jumped because it was a hella deal!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by DaveMac

Reviewed 5/1/2023
by DaveMac
Cycling Enthusiast
New England
Value Rating
Overall Rating
A quality, well thought out rack, in a lightweight package

`I'm very happy with the purchase of this rack . I don't generally keep the rack on my SUV, storing it in garage when not in use. What drew me to the Sherpa 2.0 is the 32 lb weight. This rack is 17 lbs lighter than the similar one it replaced...which makes installation and removal a breeze. The knob that takes the rattle out of the hitch connection is a great feature. Assembly was straightforward. My road and gravel bike quickly attach, and are very secure.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by TimeToBike

Reviewed 10/6/2023
by TimeToBike
Competitive Racer
Upper Peninsula of Michigan
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Light and Easy to Use on my small car

Bought this one to replace the heavier version that was just too heavy for my Hyundai Sonata. This rack does the trick. Easy to take off and on the car and easier to use. Highly recommend.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by DK

Reviewed 8/25/2023
by DK
Competitive Racer
North Carolina
Value Rating
Overall Rating
What an easy to use rack!!

This rack is easy all the way around. You can mount it on your car in seconds and putting the bikes on and off it is so simple. It's fantastic. So well designed - it's even easy to use their lock to attach the bikes to the rack for security. The installation was a snap as well. All the tools you need come in the box and you can assemble it very quickly

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 6/13/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
bloomington, indiana
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Third hitch is a charm.

This is my third hitch. I couldn't ask for a better one. It does not rattle or wobble while on the car so no annoying noises when I hit bumps on rough roads. Bikes go on extremely easily. Better yet, the hitch is very light and the easiest to install and remove of the three hitches I own. Wait, there's more. It will drop down with the simple flip of a lever to allow the rack to go from the upright stored position to the flat position to allow me to open the rear hatch door. No more struggling to pull pins, etc. You cannot go wrong with this hitch.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Mac

Reviewed 6/14/2022
by Mac
Cycling Enthusiast
Northeast MA.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great lightweight quality bike rack.

This is a Great lightweight rack yet very sturdy easy to load bikes and fold up when not using and can tilt down with bikes loaded on rack to open Subaru Outback rear hatch with plenty of clearance. Also very stylish looking. Purchased the white which matches white paint on car. And purchased here for lowest price. Love this rack had racks on top of car, This makes it much easier to load and dont have to worry about any clearance problems and should be less drag saving gas. Would Buy again a little pricey but worth the investment.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by TimeToBike

Reviewed 10/7/2023
by TimeToBike
Competitive Racer
Upper Peninsula of Michigan
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Light and Easy to Use on my small car

Bought this one to replace the heavier version that was just too heavy for my Hyundai Sonata. This rack does the trick. Easy to take off and on the car and easier to use. Highly recommend.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 9/18/2023
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
This is the BEST bike rack!

Easy to use. Bikes are stable. Tilt away to access your trunk or cargo. Light but very solid, does not budge once installed. Finish is automotive grade. Can be expanded for multiple bikes.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Bcool

Reviewed 7/1/2021
by Bcool
Florida
Overall Rating
Beautiful rack with only minor flaws

The rack is absolutely beautiful. The gray matched my charcoal gray Honda Ridgeline perfectly. I love the anti-wobble function and the way the rack can be tipped towards the tailgate when not in use. The unit is reasonably light and top quality all the way. I do, however, prefer a frame clamp arm (as opposed to a tire clamp arm) to hold bikes in place as it makes loading easier. It is also a bit awkward to tilt the rack when bikes are loaded. Overall, I love it!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 7/20/2023
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Everett, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Love this rack!

I love how sturdy this thing is. Easy to mount bikes up and hit the road. Haven't used the cable lock yet because i'm paranoid about theft but i'm sure it will be ok to run into a gas station.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by John

Reviewed 2/22/2021
by John
Cycling Enthusiast
Eastern PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Upgrade for me

Bought this rack to replace a Yakima traditional style frame holder hitch mount. I wanted something more secure because one of the bikes is a step through. I haven't had a chance to use it given the snow in the NE, but the assembly was easy, rock solid on the car, so it should work as intended. It is a little pricey but you get what you pay for. This rack also has a cable lock that locks the bike to the rack. One thing I didn't like was the hitch pin. I felt it was too long and could be exposed to a bolt cutter. So, I ordered a different 3rd party hitch pin that doesn't stick out as far, which I think will make it more difficult for someone with bad intentions.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by david

Reviewed 2/21/2021
by david
Cycling Enthusiast
okahoma
Value Rating
Overall Rating
First new rack in 20 years!

It is well built and looks really nice. With all the new axle combinations we needed to upgrade our rack. I wanted this one over the more expensive model mostly because of the weight. It is great for the most part and we are still very happy all but no adjustability. I guess the model above would have had some. I can't make all my bikes work on this rack. All of our mountain bike seam to work but I can't get my gravel bike to work with any of them. I am going to try raising the back wheel and strapping it down and see if I can make it work somehow. It will work for most applications though. I just wish it has just a little adjustment to it. Thought this might help someone looking to buy. I would have still bought this one probably because of the weight and ease of moving it around. It really is a nice high quality product.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Imike

Reviewed 11/14/2022
by Imike
Cycling Enthusiast
North Carolina
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great rack and simple to operate!

Lightweight and easy to operate. My wife loves it when she loads her bike up and goes to ride with her pals.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Mark

Reviewed 12/16/2020
by Mark
Cycling Enthusiast
Coastal GA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
The Best! Great design, materials, and fabrication

Shipping - Shipping box is well-designed, heavy-duty. Rack arrived in perfect shape, and when promised.

Assembly - NIce that the container served as an assembly jig. Assembly was pretty easy, no problems. All necessary tools included.

Materials, fabrication, finish - All top notch. Love the powder coat finish & weight; easy to carry/maneuver

Design, functionality - Just awesome!! This thing looks great. The rack mounts easily & very securely to the 2" hitch with *zero* rattling, and the bikes go on/off so easily and securely. Took on its maiden voyage yesterday - two bikes, 40 mi round trip with highway speeds & winds blowing mid-teens, gusts to low-20's. Very secure. I am completely happy with this rack! Highly recommended.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 10/29/2020
by Anonymous
Viera, Florida
Overall Rating
Worth the wait

This was on back order everywhere. But glad I waited. Easy assembly, simple to use and it is super solid, holding my bikes quickly and well.

Highly recommended.

Great customer support from BikeTiresDirect keeping me up to date in ship date.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by [email protected]

Reviewed 5/29/2023
Philadelphia
Overall Rating
Amazing

This bike rack is amazing! It is elegant in its simplicity and ease of use. The rack is incredibly sturdy once mounted, and the bikes are equally well secured once in place.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Scudssm

Reviewed 6/27/2022
by Scudssm
north carolina
Overall Rating
Great product

Very classy looking. Very easy to put together. A well made product. Very simple to put bikes on . It folds up . I highly recommend this product. It may cost a little more, but worth every penny

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Velo BMC

Reviewed 10/23/2019
by Velo BMC
Cycling Enthusiast
Nee Albany, Ohio
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Well designed Rack Excellent quality.....

Considering the quality, this rack is worth the high price tag. I just finished my 3rd season w this rack and still looks and works great. It is not expandable like the other Kuat model, but carries up to 2 bikes securely. I have had a very good ownership experience with the Kuat Sherpa, If this rack was $300 bucks, everyone that I know would own one.........

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by rbeliveau

Reviewed 10/10/2019
by rbeliveau
Cycling Enthusiast
Tampa Bay, FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
This is what all bike racks should be like

This is an awesome bike trailer. Supports 2 bikes and has built-in locking capabilities to the trailer to help protect your investment. While the price is a little on the high end, you will see every penny well spent when this is delivered to you. It took about 30 minutes to set up.

BikeTiresDirect had this shipped and at my door very quickly. Pricing was the best I had found across multiple stores and websites. Earning points towards a future purchase was a great added bonus.

Kuat will definitely be my go-to for any future bike rack needs.

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 01

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]