Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
Kool Stop Tire Bead Jack

Kool StopTire Bead Jack(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(45 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(32)
(7)
(4)
(2)
(0)
(71%)
(16%)
(9%)
(4%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by FinTroll5000

Reviewed 1/1/2024
by FinTroll5000
Isengard
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Heck yeah brother

From bleeding palm to high fives and five minute wire bead on a sun cr-18 installs. IKyKY, otherwise time 2 find out :) !

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 12/18/2023
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
SoCal
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Must-have tool for road tubeless tire installation

I mounted a Conti 5000 TR on my rim with no problems (no cursing!) - I also saw a buddy of mine use the tool for a roadside flat repair of a road tire with a tube. Two thumbs up!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by CaptainPico

Reviewed 9/2/2022
by CaptainPico
Cycling Enthusiast
Pico Rivera, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great tool, I wish I found it sooner

It took me a couple of quick attempts to get the hang of it, but wow what a great tool. What used to take up to 5-10 minutes with frustration, scraped knuckles and a few choice words now is really easy. Brand new tires on some of the newer rims can be a real pain, but now I can save time and no longer bleed occasionally. The size of the tool does not lend itself to take on rides but most of my tire rotations, installations are done at home as I don't wait to replace tires once I see signs of ware.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Stewdebiker

Reviewed 5/8/2023
by Stewdebiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Raleigh, NC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
A finger and tube saver

Conti Grand Prix tires are so tight on my wheels I've peeled skin off my fingers and pinched more than one tube. Now with this tool, l'm able to easily work that last foot of tire over the rim. A great tool!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Mitchell

Reviewed 10/18/2021
by Mitchell
Cycling Enthusiast
connecticut
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Purchased Kool Stop Bead Jack for a friend

My friend always breaks her newly manicured nails fixing a flat. Now her nails will stay in tact.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 9/9/2021
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Hawaii
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Super easy to use worth the price for no more sore thumbs.

If you have carbon rims and find it very hard to get tire seated you need this. Makes tire changing a breeze.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by JNJ

Reviewed 8/25/2023
by JNJ
Wine Country
Overall Rating
Saves my hands

Works great to remove and install tight bike tires. Really helps with Continental tires. With my old hands they were getting tough.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by NVBiker

Reviewed 11/12/2020
by NVBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Reno, NV
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great tool to help me get my Gatorskin tires on my wheel!

Recently, I purchased some new Zipp wheels that made mounting tires, like the Gatorskins, extremely difficult . I am a 54 year old female with sort of small hands, but I've always changed my tires myself. When I got the new wheel set I was frustrated that I couldn't get the darn things on. (The last bit was a @#$*&!) However, this tire bead jack made it possible for me to mount them! It took a bit for me to figure it out, but I'm grateful to have this guy!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Bob Clarke

Reviewed 10/7/2022
by Bob Clarke
Orange County, California
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
So worth it!

Flat tires are my second least favorite thing while riding (getting hit by a car was number one). This tool makes the process much more bearable with tight fitting tires. No more sore hands and pinched fingers on that final 10 inches! I carry it in my frame bag since it is too long to fit with my other tools in my seat wedge bag. I have used it twice so far with great results. Highly recommend!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by DocWass

Reviewed 8/10/2020
by DocWass
Cycling Enthusiast
PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
It Works Like It Says

This tool is amazingly simple to use but it does take some muscle. The first time I used this on a really difficult-to-mount tire/rim, I was thinking "this tool is surely going to break" under the force needed to mount the tire... but it is built very well, didn't even flex and popped the tire on the rim. I've used it several times since and it makes this task so much easier. My thumbs are thankful!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Shawnz

Reviewed 5/11/2020
by Shawnz
Indiana
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Helps with mounting 20 inch recumbent trike tires

This tool really helps with mounting 20 inch trike tires. I have no issues mounting larger tires on my bicycles but the 20 inch tires arent near as flexible. This tool isn't perfect but it does help get them on the rims.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by WIScycle

Reviewed 5/14/2020
by WIScycle
Daily Commuter
Wisconsin
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Never ride without it

I discovered this simple, elegant, effective tool after struggling way too many times to mount road bike tires. This makes it simple. I strap it to my second bottle cage, or store in jersey pocket when commuting and touring. Highly recommend.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Don W.

Reviewed 3/30/2023
by Don W.
Cycling Enthusiast
San Jose, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Difficult to Use

In order to use, you have to hold the piece that is supposed to grip the tire bead in order to keep it from slipping off. And even then, that piece keeps slipping off the bead.

BikeTiresDirect.com Comments
It's all about the positioning of the lever and where you're applying the force!
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by MePlusBike

Reviewed 8/23/2019
by MePlusBike
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
An absolute must have

If you've EVER struggled with getting a tire on your rim this would have solved your problem and saved your thumbs.

I broke 3 tire levers before breaking down and buying this item. The difference is unbelievable!

In my case I was using Vittoria Randonneur tires on a bontrager rim. I know some tires are very easy to fit on the same rims but I don't have those and had gotten quite used to the tires I had. I had also struggled before with the same tire but got over it. I didn't know there was such a gadget.

While not the smallest item its not too big to strap under your saddle. I won't leave home without it cos changing a tire in the rain is no fun. Changing in the searing heat is no fun. Now I don't worry about it.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Fatherof3onMI

Reviewed 4/25/2019
by Fatherof3onMI
Cycling Enthusiast
Mercer Island, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
It works when when your hands just aren't stron enough

Mounted tries for over 40 year, but jut could not get this tire on. Thought I would try this tool. It's not perfect. However to be fair int might have been operator error. This was a particularly tight bead on a vintage rim. Tool kept slipping off bead as I struggled with the last six inches, but only if i tried to lift too much bead over trim wall at one time. Going inch by inch it worked although the bead itself kept crawling off opposite where I was lifting on. Fixed that by jamming another tire lever in to stop the bead from coming off. Glad to have it in the toolbox.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by TXBiker

Reviewed 3/2/2022
by TXBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Katy, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Why Did I Not Have One Before?

I've been cycling for 35 years and have changed hundreds of tubes and tires. I was speaking with the super helpful BTD staff about some tires that were exceptionally difficult to mount. He recommended trying one of these. They are simple and work amazing. They are cheap, buy one and throw it in your toolbox, great addition.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Mr Versatile

Reviewed 2/24/2023
by Mr Versatile
Cycling Enthusiast
Ohio
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Slick

The rims I use are tubeless ready, but I use regular tires with tubes. The tires (Continentals) are very hard to mount. This tool makes it very easy & fast. It just fits in my under seat bag.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Roy C

Reviewed 2/15/2022
by Roy C
Casual Cyclist
Fort Myers
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Good concept for thinner width tires

This product is probably good for tires that are not more than 1.75 width. Bought it for my 2.00 tires and it could not accommodate the tire size. Was disappointed that I could not use it. Hopefully the manufacturer will make one that can work for larger width tires.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 12/20/2021
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Wish I had bought it sooner. It is that good

Tires seem to be getting harder to mount, and I ruined a tire earlier this year trying to coax it onto the rim. I swore never again.

Searched the reviews, settled on the Kool Stop. Changed 4 tires (two different bikes) - 2 gravel tires and 2 road tires. Super fast, super easy. I'm sold.

Simple, (reasonably) cheap, it works. Wish everything else was like this.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by dbryant80016

Reviewed 1/17/2023
by dbryant80016
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Works!

Been wresting with tubeless tires ever since I adopted their use, and thought I'd give the Kool Stop a try after the many positive reviews. Basically, this works as advertised!

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]