Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Kool Stop Tire Bead Jack

Kool StopTire Bead Jack(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(24 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(17)
(6)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(71%)
(25%)
(4%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 11/23/2020
by DickRN
Cycling Enthusiast
Central Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
It works.

I started installing my own tubeless tires this year. Because of the tight fit I struggled to get the last bit over the rim edge. With the Kool Stop Tire Bead Jack its like having an extra hand using the lever action to pull the tire up. I install gravel tires onto standard rims and Continental 5000 TL, onto my Bontrager XXX 4s. I use a combination of 2 plastic tire levers and the tire jack to get the last bit.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/12/2020
by NVBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Reno, NV
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great tool to help me get my Gatorskin tires on my wheel!

Recently, I purchased some new Zipp wheels that made mounting tires, like the Gatorskins, extremely difficult . I am a 54 year old female with sort of small hands, but I've always changed my tires myself. When I got the new wheel set I was frustrated that I couldn't get the darn things on. (The last bit was a @#$*&!) However, this tire bead jack made it possible for me to mount them! It took a bit for me to figure it out, but I'm grateful to have this guy!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/30/2020
by Spokesmoke
Portland OR
Overall Rating
Very Clever+ Useful

Many older vintage wheel owners will find this VERY useful. Most newer rims are less an issue, requiring only fingers/ or levers. BUT, I couldnt be rolling my new gatorskins on a set of matirx wheels without this tool. A+++

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/10/2020
by DocWass
Cycling Enthusiast
PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
It Works Like It Says

This tool is amazingly simple to use but it does take some muscle. The first time I used this on a really difficult-to-mount tire/rim, I was thinking "this tool is surely going to break" under the force needed to mount the tire... but it is built very well, didn't even flex and popped the tire on the rim. I've used it several times since and it makes this task so much easier. My thumbs are thankful!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/8/2020
by JT
OR
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Best tool for tight tires

It took three 60+yr old women to put on an impossibly tight new schwalbe tire (yes, even us oldsters still think we should be able to do this without paying a shop). This tool gave this little old lady the ability to change her own tire.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/14/2020
by WIScycle
Daily Commuter
Wisconsin
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Never ride without it

I discovered this simple, elegant, effective tool after struggling way too many times to mount road bike tires. This makes it simple. I strap it to my second bottle cage, or store in jersey pocket when commuting and touring. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/11/2020
by Shawnz
Indiana
Overall Rating
Helps with mounting 20 inch recumbent trike tires

This tool really helps with mounting 20 inch trike tires. I have no issues mounting larger tires on my bicycles but the 20 inch tires arent near as flexible. This tool isn't perfect but it does help get them on the rims.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/23/2019
by MePlusBike
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
An absolute must have

If you've EVER struggled with getting a tire on your rim this would have solved your problem and saved your thumbs.

I broke 3 tire levers before breaking down and buying this item. The difference is unbelievable!

In my case I was using Vittoria Randonneur tires on a bontrager rim. I know some tires are very easy to fit on the same rims but I don't have those and had gotten quite used to the tires I had. I had also struggled before with the same tire but got over it. I didn't know there was such a gadget.

While not the smallest item its not too big to strap under your saddle. I won't leave home without it cos changing a tire in the rain is no fun. Changing in the searing heat is no fun. Now I don't worry about it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/22/2020
by Michael
Daily Commuter
New Jersey
Value Rating
Overall Rating
great tool

Used this tool to put on my Schwalbe Marathon 700c Tire (HS 420) 700x32 tires last night 8/21/20 and it made all the difference in the world .

I very highly recommend this tool.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/12/2020
by Shawnz
Indiana
Overall Rating
Helps with mounting 20 inch recumbent trike tires

This tool really helps with mounting 20 inch trike tires. I have no issues mounting larger tires on my bicycles but the 20 inch tires arent near as flexible. This tool isnt perfect but it does help get them on the rims.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/25/2019
by Fatherof3onMI
Cycling Enthusiast
Mercer Island, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
It works when when your hands just aren't stron enough

Mounted tries for over 40 year, but jut could not get this tire on. Thought I would try this tool. It's not perfect. However to be fair int might have been operator error. This was a particularly tight bead on a vintage rim. Tool kept slipping off bead as I struggled with the last six inches, but only if i tried to lift too much bead over trim wall at one time. Going inch by inch it worked although the bead itself kept crawling off opposite where I was lifting on. Fixed that by jamming another tire lever in to stop the bead from coming off. Glad to have it in the toolbox.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/24/2020
by Houston cyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
The mean streets of Houston, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
A must-have tool for every cyclist

Bought the Kool Stop Tire Bead Jack to assist in mounting a tight Veloflex Corsa open clincher on a Mavic Open 4 CD rim. I got both Corsa tires on with bare hands (see Veloflex review elsewhere, great tire!), but when I developed a slow leak in one tube, I decided to give my sore thumbs a break and take a chance with the Kool Stop tool. (Veloflex warns against using tools to mount their tight clinchers.) I am glad I did.

The Kool Stop is simple, strong and well made, and somewhat mimics the action of two strong thumbs. Best of all, it is safe to the tube, the tire, the rim and the user, yet enables one to slip the tire on within seconds. There's almost no way one could damage a tire or tube with the Kool Stop. Even if it sits in the tool box for months, the first time you use it, it will pay for itself, particularly when mounting, tight, flat, non-vulcanized high-threadcount tires like Veloflex or Vittoria. I would give it more stars if I could. Consider it like buying insurance. Hopefully, you will never need it...but you will be glad it is there if you do.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/3/2020
by scappoose cowboy
Cycling Enthusiast
the mts. between Scappoose and Vernonia, or.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
gives you the leverage you need to mount tough tires

Some of the newer tubeless tires are getting hard to mount, this lever helps pull that last section onto the rim.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/3/2020
by David
Daily Commuter
Seattle
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Works well but be careful on rim edges

I used these to mount a tough Schwable G-OneHED rim combination and ended up bending the bead of the rim. They work well but can provide too much leverage and damage your rim.

While I was never able to mount the Schwable on the rim, I removed them, straightened the rim flange, and was able to mount a similarly difficult Gravelking on the rim, this time being careful to not damage the rim flange.

So heads up.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/16/2020
by Don
San Diego CA
Overall Rating
Not for Tubless

I bought this tool to use with my tubless 700c tires and wheels. It was not able to hold the tire bead to get it onto the rim.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/22/2019
by MePlusBike
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
An absolute must have

If you've EVER struggled with getting a tire on your rim this would have solved your problem and saved your thumbs.

I broke 3 tire levers before breaking down and buying this item. The difference is unbelievable!

In my case I was using Vittoria Randonneur tires on a bontrager rim. I know some tires are very easy to fit on the same rims but I dint have those and had gotten quite used to the tires I had. I had also struggled before with the same tire but got over not. I didn't know there was such a gadget.

While not the smallest item its not too big to strap under your saddle. I won't leave home without it cos changing a tire in the rain is no fun. Changing in the searing heat is no fun. Now I don't worry about it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/28/2018
by David
Mesa
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Awesome little tool

This makes life a little too easy. I almost miss the challenge of putting on tight fitting ties with my bare hands until my palms are blistered, then resorting to using tire levers and pinch-flatting a couple of tubes. Ha! Never again! I ride a touring bike with a giant seat pack and keep this with me all the time.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/13/2018
by Phil W
Cycling Enthusiast
Southern Indiana
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Extra leverage for mounting tires.

The Kool Stop Tire Bead Jack provides extra leverage for mounting those hard-to-mount tires. However, you must be careful not to pinch the tube when you grip the tire. It may be better for mounting tubeless tires. It works fine at home but it is too long for most seat bags or jersey pockets so it's not easy to take on the road.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/23/2017
by Dr. Bob
Cycling Enthusiast
PNW
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Time and finger saver

After a 2hr. struggle with Schwalbe tires and Mercury carbon rims I gave up. Saw the bead jack and gave it a try. 5 min. to mount 2 tires. Hooks over bead and levers over rim edge. If using tubes avoids the dreaded tube pinch.. Makes the first mount of tight tubeless tires to tubeless rims fairly easy. One of the top tools I have ever purchased for making your mechanic life easier.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/26/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Overall Rating
Very clever!

If you have ever fought with irons to seat a tire you will love this.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 10