Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
KMC X10 10-Speed Chain

KMCX10 10-Speed Chain(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(62 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(41)
(20)
(0)
(1)
(0)
(66%)
(32%)
(0%)
(2%)
(0%)
Reviewed 4/23/2021
by Aggiebiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Henderson,tx
Value Rating
Overall Rating
I have always had good service with KMC chains

I put this on my road bike when I bought a smart trainer at the first of the year. The old chain was worn and needed to be replaced because of excessive noise and shifting problems.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/10/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Bay Area, Calif
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Good Chain, long life when cared for.

I've been using this chain for a couple of years. Clean my chain about ever 300-400 miles and I get over 6000 miles on chain. When properly adjusted chain quiet and smooth. I really like the removable link.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/14/2020
by Rick
Cycling Enthusiast
Lincoln. CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great chain for the price

This chain will last 150% as long as a Shimano Ultegra. And costs about 2/3 of the Shimano. Works just as well. Only drawback is the weight. Since the pins are not hollow, it is a little heaver. If you think you are a racer, and money is no object, you do not want this. But for the average rider this chain is great.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/22/2019
by SA_biker
Cycling Enthusiast
San Antonio,TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Easiest chain to work with

Over the years I have used Campy, sugino, Shimano chains. They all lasted really long and were somewhat easy to replace. Now riding a ten speed freewheel with Shimano and replacing the chain, I needed a tool to cut the pin with the new chain. That didn't work out so good. So, I bought the KMC ten speed chain. Less than 5 minutes to replace the Shimano with the KMC chain! I like the ease and have more time to ride. So far I have rode just under a 1000 miles on this KMC chain. It's quiet, smooth and I love it. The price was right and the shipping was cool.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/7/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
new england
Value Rating
Overall Rating
smooth, smooth, smooth

should have replaced my chain sooner. this new chain 100% improved my ride.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/16/2020
by DuckFan bike rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Eugene, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Good durable product

The KMC 10-Speed Chain was a good choice for a replacement of a well-worn Shimano chain. Replaced a cassette at the same time and the mechanics work well together.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/17/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Solid

Using it on my trainer... Looks great, feels great... No stretching under hundreds of miles...

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/15/2019
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Quad Cities, Iowa
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Very Smooth!

Thought I'd try this chain with a 10 speed Campy Chorus drivetrain. I've not been happy with my last two Campy Veloce chains. The Record chains, on the other hand, have been great, but pricey.

This chain runs smoother and shifts much more cleanly than the Veloce. I would say it is on a par with the Record, but for 13 the price. The only thing yet to be determined is how long this KMC chain lasts.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/16/2019
by gearhead
Toronto Canada &40eh!&41
Overall Rating
Very happy

A very good quality chain. Extra bonus that it works well and is compatible with Campy set ups. Love that you don't need to sell the farm for expensive Campy chain and tooling to assemble. Have now used on several of my bikes and the team that I manage.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/14/2015
by MSL
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicagoland
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
good chain

I usually get about 3 - 4 K miles out of these chains. They work great with my Shimano and SRAM drivetrains.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/19/2015
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Plano, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Better than the new Shimano on my older DA drivetrain

I was eager to try this inexpensive alternative on my bike with 7800 DuraAce components. Right away I noticed it to be smoother and quieter than the Shimano chain that I removed, which was a newer, asymmetrical model. I recommend this chain for anyone running pre-asymmetrical 10-speed drivetrain.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/2/2015
by Rob
Competitive Racer
Issaquah, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Super durable, great shifting on Shimano and SRAM and great price too!

I have a house full of bikes with a wife and son who also race. I used Dura Ace chains almost exclusively because the durable nickle finish and long life. With the dawn of hollow pin and hollow link chains, I'm only getting 1,500 to 2,000 miles on a chain (Dura Ace, Ultegra, Whippermann, SRAM) but I'd rather change a chain frequently than ride it stretched and wear out the cassette and chainrings (which are rather expensive on high end bikes). My Epic came with this KMC X10 chain and has been really good. Shifting is consistently on the mark, even when wet and muddy and even after many more miles than I care to run other chains up to. I'd rather have a solid chain that will work perfectly for a long time, than save a few grams, so this is what I now put on all our mountain, cyclocross and rain bikes. Still using the Dura Ace on the road bikes just because I still have a few spares. This is an excellent chain for SRAM or Shimano, lasts a long time, shifts like new even with a lot of miles on it and is cheap to replace. We' have been through several of these over the years and will keep using these as long as they are available. Now go ride!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/2/2015
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Bainbridge Island, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Good solid works well with SRAM and Shimano drive trains

good value only chain I will use on my rain training, MTN, and cross bikes with 10spd drive trains.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/31/2015
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Best chain all around

Both the 10 speed and 11 speed versions of the KMC X10SLX11SL are top notch. As soon as I get a new bike or as soon as a chain is due for replacement, I put one of these one. Smooth and quiet pedaling. No snapping, no other problems. And the master links make replacing and cleaning super easy. Nuff said.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/24/2015
by DaveL
Cycling Enthusiast
Lone Tree, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Better than the SRAM chains

I had been buying SRAM replacement chains (PC 1071, PC 1051) for my Rival drive train and they really did not last too long. So far the KMC 10.93 is holding up better, is quiet and shifts cleanly. I tried this chain on the basis of several reviews I saw on the BTD site and am very satisfied. I also like that I do not have to replace the link each time I remove the chain to clean the drive train. So far I believe the performance improvement is a good trade for the minor weight difference. I ride over 3500 miles a year.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/1/2018
by Joshua
Japan
Overall Rating
Nice chain

Smooth shifts, quiet, bombproof chain. Would recommend.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/2/2014
by PGB
Cycling Enthusiast
Port Huron, Mi
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Great value and it doesn't stretch

How do they do it? Every other chain I've used stretches but these don't. This is a replacement for one that had over 5000 miles on it. I bought another one because the first one got a little noisy. That's it. I checked it all the time with my Park chain checker and it wasn't even stretched .75. Shifts great with my SRAM too.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/28/2018
by TomP
Cycling Enthusiast
Atlanta, GA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Like this product.

Purchased for bike build using an old 10-speed Shimano road group. Like the missing link feature. Initial impression after a few rides is that it works well.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/27/2014
by Fractal Unit
Cycling Enthusiast
Toledo, OH
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Works Well with Campy Centaur

This chain replaced a [$] campy chain. It shifts as well as the Campy unit ever did and I expect it will last about as long. I kept the box so I'll know what to order next time.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/5/2018
by IslandRider
Competitive Racer
Maui Hawaii
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Shifts well, quiet, seems durable

I've used SRAM and Shimano chains for my 10-speed setup. They both work well. The KMC I find to be a little quieter and less finicky. It also looks and feels stronger to me, although I have no data to back that up. Making that conclusion based on how flexy the chains feel from side to side. The KMC feels stiffer to me. I've never tried Wippermann Chains but I'd like to. At the price though, the KMC's are my preference for road or MTB use.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 30

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 503-342-9985 | [email protected]