Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Kenda K193 Kwest 26 Inch Tire

KendaK193 Kwest 26 Inch Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(129 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(91)
(34)
(1)
(0)
(3)
(71%)
(26%)
(1%)
(0%)
(2%)
Reviewed 3/10/2022
by Anonymous
chicago suburbs
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
My high pressure set, fell apart. Sidewalls not strong. Outer rubber is glued on, and seperated.

I bought a set, to try high pressure on a 26 inch bike, with 1.5 width tires. On one, I did not notice, the bike was rubbing on the sidewall slightly. In a short time, easily weakened the sidewall, and a the inner tube bubbled. On the other one, after a flat, I looked to see, the construction of the tire. In two places on the tire, the outer hard rubber, completely seperated from the innner softer rubber, revealing the small layer for puncture resist. Reminds me of retreaded truck tires, which you see on the side of the road. Neither tire had very much wear. Never had a tire, that fell apart, this easily. Until they fell apart, I liked the tires. Lighter weight, may not be worth it, if the sidewalls are so feeble, and the outer harder layer of rubber, is only glued on. I have not had a car for near two decades now. I cannot trade of, lighter tires, for utility. Up to the time I bought this set, I always bought lower cost tires, and never had such construction problems. These did not lost long for me. I cannot believe, that the outer rubber disconnected in two seperate locations of the tire, with so little use. I can stick my finger between the two layers, and see, the puncture layer. Perhaps I purchased two lemons. But why should I pay more for less. If yours works better, good for you. But for me, I depend on bicycles for my transportation year round. I cannot afford, to have tires, that fall apart so easily. I blame myself, for the sidewall rubbed by the brake. But the outer layer of rubber, should not be so easily seperated. bikes are my primary means of transportation. Based on my experience, not a good choice for me.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/7/2022
by Geronimo Biker
Daily Commuter
Radnor, PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Heavy duty tire for a hybrid bike

The tire has a good amount of mass to it and seems to be a pretty durable tire. I have had problems with tires losing air in the past. Since installing the Kenda K193 Kwest along with some Velox rim tape over a month ago I haven't had to pump up the tire yet. Was a bit disappointed that it is limited to about 60 psi inflation pressure though.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/30/2022
by Allie
PNW
Overall Rating
Awesome road tires

I live in the PNW and these seem good enough to use in the rainy season. Very smooth riding!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/18/2020
by Kratebiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Eureka, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Good Efficient Tire for Converting a Mountain Bike to a Flat-Bar Roadie

I converted my late fathers mountain bike to a flat-bar road, and decided it was time to get rid of the slow mountain tires. I bought the higher pressure ones, and run them at 90 psi. They are very fast and smooth. My only complaint is that they are not great on wet ground. I took a bad fall riding relatively slow on a metal bridge just after a rain. In dry weather they are fine. They appear to be super durable. I have 1000 miles on mine with no flats. I do run them with Tuffies for added protection. I expect they will last 2000-3000 miles with proper care.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/8/2018
by Frado
Cycling Enthusiast
Michigan
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
These Kenda's rock!

I purchased these Kenda's to install on my HardRock Specialized and they are awesome! I use my HardRock to train on my bike trainer and these tires are smooth as a baby's butt and roll on my trainer effortlessly! If you're looking for a smooth rolling tire, than these Kenda's will not disappoint!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/4/2017
by Pat in Ventura
Casual Cyclist
Ventutra, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
As promised, fast and smooth

I ride around the neighborhood, occasionally off the road on dirt or gravel tracks. This tire is so much better that the previous road tires I had put on my mountain bike. Feels like a new bike.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/9/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Good value

I would purchase again

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/24/2020
by Gabriel
Miami
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Good bargain

I only have about 180 miles in mine but they still look new, they roll very smooth..had to put a bit of soapy water on the bead to get them to set correctly on the rim, but besides that they are great.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/3/2015
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
New York, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
9 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Tire is defective by design!

I've read in various places (and been warned directly) that both versions of this tire are prone to blowouts. Today I had a 100psi tire (inflated to 90psi, 180 lb rider) blowout. Luckily I was traveling in a straight line and was able to come to a controlled stop. About 1 of sidewall was completely shredded. I can see clear through the tire. Upon further inspection, failure of about 13 of the sidewall circumference was imminent. This tire is not road-worthy and should be removed from the market. Stay far away!

BikeTiresDirect.com Comments
Hi, Thanks for providing your feedback on the tire, and sorry to hear about your scary experience! While we have had mostly good feeback on these tires, everyone's individual needs and experience can vary. We would be happy to get you set up with replacement tires, so please contact us at your conveneince and we will figure out a tire that is more suited to your purposes. Best, Derek
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/24/2015
by Flying Fortress
Santa Fe, NM
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Meh...

Out here in the great South West, we have something called 'goatheads'. They eat ordinary tires for lunch. These are ordinary tires. These came as stock on my recumbent, and after about the 4th flat, I ditched 'em for some Schwalbe Marathon Plusses. Yah, these will let you go faster than those...until you flat. I will write back about how well the Schwalbes do when I get some miles on 'em.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/27/2015
by kaner
Cycling Enthusiast
Waterford, CT
Value Rating
Overall Rating
13 of 14 customers found this review helpful.
Lower your friction!

After having twins, I recently converted my specialized stumpjumper to a hybrid. These tires made the biggest difference in the conversion. I got the high pressure ones and usually run them around 80 psi because that is all I can get out of my local gas station pump. The decrease in rolling resistance is dramatic. I ride on roads and light trails. The tires are great on all media. The only problem I had with them was traction on a very steep grassy hill. I now use my bike to commute to work as well.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/18/2015
by Me
Cycling Enthusiast
Wisconsin
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Roll Fast with the 100PSi Kwest!

I own recumbents and like to go as fast as I can on them - the 100PSI KWEST speeds up a recumbent pretty good without sacrificing some cushion and pothole protection. I also upgrade MTBs to be more like road-bikes, same deal there more speed, yet without sacrificing protection.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/17/2015
by queeniereg
Casual Cyclist
vacaville ca
Value Rating
Overall Rating
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Love my new Tires!

I have a heavy Mountain bike and not having funds to purchase a new one, I replaced my knobby 2 inch tires with these. I was able to have a beautiful 27 mile ride in the Napa Valley, for a charity event. The tires arrived one day earlier than quoted. I will order from this site again. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/19/2019
by James
Marshalltown
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
A good tire for wet conditions.

Very pleased with the performance of this tire in wet conditions, I am using this tire on a recumbent trike and it surpasses any other tire I have used in wet conditions.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/6/2015
by Anonymous
Value Rating
Overall Rating
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
So far so good

I've been riding the tire through the winter (with snow/ice/gravel) on my commute. No punctures and no problems so far. Seems to be a good value.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/9/2015
by Gnugirl1
Cycling Enthusiast
Surprise AZ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
11 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Love these tires!

I bought these tires to replace the wide dirt tires on my mt bike. What a difference riding on the street ! I was thinking about selling the bike but I'm keeping it. Love these tires!

BikeTiresDirect.com Comments
So glad we could help keep you on your bike and happy! Anna BTD
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/25/2014
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern VA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Sturdy and does great in the rain

I put these tires on my mountain bike to make my commute a little easier and quicker. I was surprised about how much it improved the ride on the road. I've been through gravel, broken glass, and run over a good share of debris in the road and still haven't gotten a flat (knock on wood).

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/8/2019
by Flatlander
Cycling Enthusiast
Sacramento, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
High Pressure Model Works

It's not easy to find a 26-inch tire that will take 100 lbs of air. If you are heavy or have a heavy bike like a tandem, as I do, you might find these significantly smoother and faster than the lower pressure ones.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/14/2014
by Ojai Rider
Casual Cyclist
Santa Clarita
Value Rating
Overall Rating
9 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Replaced my recumbent trike with K193...

Have been riding in temps up to 104F and tire appears to be holding up. Riding every day 6-30 miles, mostly on paved bike paths ... Smooth riding so far.

Ride 50-70 miles oncetwice per month...sidewalk - major hi-way - city street bike-lanes paved bike paths. Mostly flat with some climbing elevations at 4 degrees...tracks very good.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/31/2014
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Chattanooga, TN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Love them. So much less rolling resistance for cruising.

I only have 100 miles on these but I have to say I am impressed. The more I ride them the happier I am with them. They mounted easy, and seem to be tough enough as I have had no punctures. I would recommend the 100psi option. As these went on a mountain bike, the harder tire hasn't been an issue for me.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 56

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]