Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
HED Ardennes RA Black Rim Brake Alloy Wheelset

HEDArdennes RA Black Rim Brake Alloy Wheelset(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(9 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(7)
(2)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(78%)
(22%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by TriNrn

Reviewed 9/8/2023
by TriNrn
Cycling Enthusiast
Frisco, Colorado
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Fabulous braking but...

Bought a pair in to use during my annual 6 week trip to the mountains of Colorado. I have a regular pair of Ardennes I've had for several years but thought I'd try out the Black version. Frisco is at 9000 feet and everything is uphill from there :). Lightweight and braking may be superior to my other bike (Disc brake). Sure beats carbon hoops in the rain. Only real downside is the accelerated brake pad wear which should be expected but was more pronounced then I envisioned. I haven't seen any reviews that mentioned this issue or recommended a certain brake pad. I was getting 150 to 250 miles on the front pads depending on the brand. Rear pads last a lot longer. My rides were typically mountain passes with aggressive riding on the way down. Will probably have a lot better mileage in South Texas where I spend the rest of the year.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by C Wil

Reviewed 9/15/2023
by C Wil
Cycling Enthusiast
Virginia
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Love �em!

With rim brake wheelsets getting more and more challenging to find, I finally got a pair of these and couldn�t be happier. I have/had the older narrower Ardennes.

- So True - There is no perceptible runout on these. I keep my pads just a hair off the rims and the gap remains rock solid as I spin them. Like NASA made these things.

- Easy Tubeless Set-up - I�ve had some nightmare tubeless experiences before, but these seated with just a floor pump. A first for me. I paired these with Vittoria Corsa 2.0 and Fillmore valves, and Silca sealant. I think the square bead of the tires locked right inside the hooks of these wheels. Really solid. And of course the Fillmore valves let the air blast in better. I�m sold on the setup.

- Hub sounds - Not too loud, not too quiet. I like mine on the quiet side, so they�re fine by me. They�re definitely not an angry beehive if that�s your thing.

- Road feel - With the setup I described above, I can�t imagine a more comfortable ride. I weigh 205 lbs and ride 75/80PSI. I�ll take this setup over my Enve 3.4 discs with tubeless setup.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Bhaas

Reviewed 7/11/2023
by Bhaas
Cycling Enthusiast
Williamsburg, VA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Best Alloy wheels on the market

Best light weight alloy wheels on the market! The fact that they are also tubular puts these at the top. I've put 500 miles on these wheels since purchase. Initially I had terrible brake noise but after degreasing the rims all is good. They compare in weight to composite rims. I bought these for a supper light bike build, so I went with rim brakes instead of disk. Since I'm using this bike for the hills I wanted alloy rims. I was having a hard time finding rim brake alloy wheels until I found these. The are light, tubular, excellent braking distance and firm on turns. The price point was they only downside. So when they popped up on sale I grabbed them. Very pleased that I did.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by NMvelo

Reviewed 2/16/2017
by NMvelo
Competitive Racer
Northern Michigan
Value Rating
Overall Rating
10 of 16 customers found this review helpful.
Well built , nice looking wheelset.

I haven't used these wheels on the road yet, but I can say the tubeless Schwalbe Pro One tires mount very easy and the new hubs look like a big improvement. They weigh about 10 grams less than the advertised 1430 grams which is very light. It also is amazing to see a manufacturer's weight claim accurate.

I have used the Ardennes SL Plus, set up tubeless and they are very, very, nice wheels.

The 23 mm Schwalbe Pro Ones measure 26 mm on these rims, and the 25 mm measure 28.5 .

I am anxious to try out this Black turbine brake track, I am expecting good results and Andy at Hed has been a very good person to deal with if questions need to be addressed.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Oregon rider

Reviewed 5/24/2021
by Oregon rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Dallas OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Beautiful wheels.......

Put these on my 15.2lb Focus Izalco. They are light and stop on a dime. Yes, an unusual braking sound, but no more unusual than carbon wheels. I have the previous Ardennes version that was slimmer than the new width. Must say, the wider rims/tubeless make mounting tires a challenge. I use tubes. Had to search for tires that would mount easier. Finally found some Hutchinsons that mounted easier. Not looking forward to having a flat on the road. Luckily, I don't get them much at all (knock on wood) . All in all a great wheelset and yes I would buy them again. I'm a big fan of HED wheels. Nice that they give an option to purchase a Campy or Shimano freehub.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Phil W

Reviewed 8/13/2017
by Phil W
Cycling Enthusiast
Southern Indiana
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent braking wheel!

The Pros for this wheel Great looks, terrific braking, smooth rolling, made to accommodate 25c or 28c tires.

The Cons Rim tape provided for use with tubeless tires is also a MUST USE for tires with tubes to prevent tubes from being cut by spoke holes in the rim. Very difficult to mount tires with tubes (I haven't tried tubeless tires yet).

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by ekakki

Reviewed 5/11/2017
by ekakki
Cycling Enthusiast
san francisco, ca
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
dream wheels set

I use this wheel for my everyday riding. I use it to do training on the hills. It climbs like nothing would stop it. It responses quickly. the width of the rims help you descentconering with super confident. Just point and go.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by PV ride leader

Reviewed 8/17/2020
by PV ride leader
Cycling Enthusiast
Aloha, OR
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Smooth as glass.

Very light. Easy rollup to speed. Love the wider rim. Because of the wider rim the actual tire surface on the ground is wider and it makes for a smoother ride. I have rim brakes and the noise is interesting but they stop on a dime.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by GoDogGo

Reviewed 4/2/2020
by GoDogGo
Cycling Enthusiast
Olympia
Overall Rating
6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
WINNER !

This wheel set is my best of 3 brands for mounting Schwalbe tubeless. Ardennes must be a couple mm smaller than R brand wheels.

I have had a side puncture flat 25 miles into a ride and with thumbs and one spoon removed a bead and put a tube in like old days.

that isn't the case with 2 other tubeless wheel sets I have. I threw a set of early tubeless wheels in trash for there was no hope for

a field fix and even a heated garage tire mounting was miserable. These wheels are light , sturdy , fast and you can fix flats.

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]