FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Handsome Cycles Mud Butler Fenders

Handsome CyclesMud Butler Fenders(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(21 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(15)
(5)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(71%)
(24%)
(5%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 2/27/2017
by HG
Casual Cyclist
Dayton, OH
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great look, great quality

I was looking for non-plastic fenders at a reasonable cost. These are definitely the ones. The look is amazing, fit is very good. No rattles. I was able to install on a Crossrip 3 in a very short time. I especially like how the stay adjustment works. Very easy to adjust side-to-side and trim.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/19/2018
by Vashon Biker Gary
Cycling Enthusiast
Vashon, Washington
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Very happy with this purchase

I agree with other commenters that these fenders take some fussing with to get them to fit just right. But once on, they look great, are solid, and should last for a long time. I found success with using a hacksaw to cut the stays to the correct length, after taking my wheels off and on multiple times to get the wheel clearance just right.

Also, know that the point of contact between the fender stays and the back of the fender (where the stay wraps around the back of the fender) is a squeak zone. You'll want to wrap the stay with a small piece of electrical tape before you clamp it in place to eliminate squeaking. Lastly, I installed my set on a bike with disc brakes- no problem with clearance.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/19/2018
by Vashon Biker Gary
Cycling Enthusiast
Vashon, Washington
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Very happy with this purchase

I agree with other commenters that these fenders take some fussing with to get them to fit just right. But once on, they look great, are solid, and should last for a long time. I found success with using a hacksaw to cut the stays to the correct length, after taking my wheels off and on multiple times to get the wheel clearance just right.

Also, know that the point of contact between the fender stays and the back of the fender (where the stay wraps around the back of the fender) is a squeak zone. You'll want to wrap the stay with a small piece of electrical tape before you clamp it in place to eliminate squeaking. Lastly, I installed my set on a bike with disc brakes- no problem with clearance.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/12/2018
by geardog61
Cycling Enthusiast
Miami, FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
These fenders are well-constructed and they look great on my bike.

I put these on my touring bike with other upgrades. A little tricky to install, but no big deal. I love the classic hammered texture and the matte black finish.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/1/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Santa Cruz Mountains
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Love Them!

Excellent fenders. Perform great. Well made. Metal not plastic. Hammered surface with black color looks awesome.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/4/2017
by screwhead
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
As handsome as their name

These fenders are lightweight, and look great. I bought the black 45mm for commuter duty on my 1x9 CX build, and they fit well over the 700x35 tires I'm running. The installation is a bit moderate in difficulty, but not too bad if you have a stand, just take your time. The stays (or struts) may need to be rough trimmed, and then again once properly fitted, to clear the axle hardware. I was able to do this with a jigsaw and metal blade, but some strong dykes ended up being easier. Certainly depends on where the mounts sit on your dropouts. Also, the bracket for the rear didn't work for me, as my bridge has a mount perpendicular what was needed, easily resolved with a drill and some spare hardware. One star removed for all that and instructions that left me wanting, but an excellent deal with reduced price, no tax, and free shipping.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/7/2017
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Look Awesome

Have them on a Sirrus with 35c tires

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/21/2017
by JustWill
Daily Commuter
Chicago, IL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
So simple, even a novice can install this!

I've always hated dealing with fenders on my disc-brake bikes - I usually just take it to a bike shop, as I usually end up with needing parts that aren't included.

This fender comes with everything you will need, except your tools! They've thought of everything and bundled that with the package.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/12/2015
by Anonymous
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Rattle-free!

I like that these have a retro-touch with the hammered style, but the matte black lets it fit in on more modern bikes (I put them on my Kona Jake - the 45mm size over my 32mm tires - even fit over my 32mm knobbies.).

Unlike plastic fenders, the metal gives them some structure so fewer stays are required, giving a cleaner look. On the downside, if the shape isn't quite right, it won't easily flex or bend to the shape you need. I found I could bend it by hand to make it a little narrower to fit between my chainstays, and a little widerflatter to clear my rear rack supports.

They are little tougher to install compared to most plastic fenders since the stays wrap around the fender. So instead of fitting it, and then trimming excess stays, you need to trim the excess before you can mount it. So be cautious and do just enough to get it on, then measure to get it just right and trim the rest.

Compared to most metal fenders, these are quite a bit lighter and the mounting hardware (vinyl covered brake boss mount and screws with cork washers) prevents them from rattling (I have heard no rattling in the roughly 300 miles I've had them on so far).

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/20/2014
by swamitommi
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Good looking, painful to install

I really like the look of the hammered black fenders now that they're on my bike. That said, the instructions are exceptionally poor. Once installed, the fenders require a great deal of fine-tuning and adjustment to get running rattle- and rub-free. Do they work? Yes - although the rear fender could be longer. While it keeps the spray off me, it doesn't necessarily protect the rider behind me.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/29/2014
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Minneapolis, MN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Back fender rattles

I had them installed at my LBS and the back fender is very noisy. The piece that attached to bike that holds the fender is plastic so you can't clamp it to the fender so the fender bounces and rattles.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/17/2014
by FrankFrank
Cycling Enthusiast
NY, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Looks great on the my black Surly commuter

Love the hammered look, even better in black. They don't come with installation instructions but if you've ever installed fenders it's straight forward process. I've been running them for a couple month and still no noise from either fender.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/12/2014
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great mounting hardware, fantastic looking

super easy to install compared to the VO fenders.

look great and no rattle yet!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/10/2017
by Anonymous
portland
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Wonderful

These fenders are great! I get nothing but compliments from everyone I pass. I got the copper and they are very flashy. If you want to give your bike some unique flare, this will give you just that. They also feel pretty solid since they are metal and not plastic!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/14/2017
by PDXRedBeard
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Overall Rating
Awesome product, great value

These are perfect for shedding Portland's wet weather, while still looking sharp on the road. The large size fit my 32c tires, but will also work for my 25c ones when I switch over for long distance rides. Great product! Kind of a pain to install without the right tools, for me, worth it to pay for installation to get it right.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/3/2017
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
San Francisco CA
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Easy to install, effective, and quiet

No complaints here. They look great, work great, and were not difficult to install as I had feared they might be.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/6/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Marysville, Wa.
Overall Rating
These fenders are very functional, stylish and we'll built.

Used for everyday winter cycling. I like the extended coverage of the front fender which helps keep your feet dry. Plenty of hardware for a trouble free installation.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/18/2014
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Overall Rating
Great looking but a pain to install.

These fenders are great looking but a total pain to install. Once you get them on and fully adjusted they seem pretty solid though.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/9/2014
by gibsonator
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Overall Rating
Pain to install, good-looking coverage otherwise

Like most fenders that don't casually attach to the frame with fancy rubber bands, these were a pain to rassel onto my bike. Once there, they have been indeed quite handsome and good at keeping my toes dry and my backside unstriped.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/18/2013
by SJ_Cyclist_528
San Jose
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Put it on and fuh-getta-bout it but will take you awhile

I wanted a metal fenders to replace a broken plastic fenders for my touring bike (Salsa Vaya 3 w disc brakes). Metal fenders are typically a lot more costly than plastics but these were quiet affordable so I took the plunge and I'm glad I did (for the most part).

The Good Very sturdy (all metal fasteners no plastic, yeah!), no rattling or loosening up after bumpy rides. Looks great (goes great w black rims, subtle sophisticated look, almost not there ). Good value.

The Not-So-Good Tricky to install esp. if you have disc brakes. I had to bend the front fender stays to clear the disc brake. You also have to cut the fender stays to fit your bike (measure twice, cut once...). Directions are vague at best so you really need to take the time to get a general idea of how it all works before you start cutting and assembling.

I've only put 500 miles on it but so far everything is nice and tight like the first day. This wasn't the case with the plastic fenders I had with plastic fasteners.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.