Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Giro Winter Merino Wool Sock

GiroWinter Merino Wool Sock(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(29 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(17)
(11)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(59%)
(38%)
(3%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 12/7/2020
by Alain L.
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Love the wool

Giro makes pretty dang nice stuff, some of my favorite socks and gloves are Giro. That said, I'm not a huge fan of the ribbed 80s "athletic" sock look. But these are hidden under boots so it doesn't much matter, bottom and toe padding is good, though never enough, still have to wear wind block toe covers over my winter boots (Fizik X5) in order to keep warm. If you're feet generally stay pretty warm in your winter boots, even in the 30-40s, then these will likely work for you.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/16/2021
by MRX2
Cycling Enthusiast
Bay Area, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great socks, warm breathable wool, good fit

Good warmth without being overly thick. Size medium fit my US 9.5 feet well.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/14/2021
by Anonymous
phoenix
Overall Rating
Warm & Breathable

Nicely made wool that holds up to washing (never in dryer) keeps my feet warm in 38-50 F no problem. I sweat a lot and the wool wicks the moisture effectively. I would appreciate a taller version but with the tights no big deal. The bulk was just right and did not cause any shoe fit problems.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/12/2021
by Anonymous
phoenix
Overall Rating
Warm & Breathable

Nicely made wool that holds up to washing (never in dryer) keeps my feet warm in 38-50 F no problem. I sweat a lot and the wool wicks the moisture effectively. I would appreciate a taller version but with the tights no big deal. The bulk was just right and did not cause any shoe fit problems.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/7/2021
by Anonymous
East Bay CA
Overall Rating
Great socks

Keep the feet comfortable in 50 degree weather without booties. Nice to wear when not biking too

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/4/2015
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Texas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Okay, but no Woolie Boolie

I wanted to try out an alternative to the DeFeet Woolie Boolie 2 and thought these would be at the same level. The Woolie Boolies pip them in comfort and warmth, nice quality and appearance though..

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/28/2019
by Steve F.
Saugus
Overall Rating
Well made.

Maybe not quite as warm as woolie boolies but not nearly as thick either. They are plenty warm considering the thickness of the material and very comfortable.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/7/2014
by Road4Track
Competitive Racer
Seattle
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
1 Wet Weather Sock!

This is pretty much the only sock I wear from November to April. I was simply amazed at how much warmer and more comfortable my feet were after wearing these. I now own 4 pairs. Sure they're a little pricey, but when you're 40 miles from home and your feet have little to complain about the price seems quite fair.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/2/2013
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Texas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Probably best for 40 degrees

I like this sock but I wore it for a ride in 34 degree weather and my toes were a little cold. I must admit I have cold extremities to begin with and I did not wear shoe covers.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/11/2013
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
northern Michigan
Value Rating
Overall Rating
This is a very good ,medium weight , warm wool sock , that will still fit in your shoe.

Cool to cold rides. I like wool a lot better than man made materials for my feet.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/18/2013
by jimsunn
Competitive Racer
Ontario, Canada
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Wool socks are the only way to go in cooler temps

I ride a size 43 cycling shoe and purchased this sock in XL which is perfect.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/11/2013
by Road4Track
Competitive Racer
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great for winter trainingriding!

These are great socks for northwest winters! They are a little taller than regular cycling socks, but not so long that they cause issues when zipping-up tights or leg warmers. The merino wool keeps you're feet warm without being to bulky in the shoe.

My only reservation is, since I am cheap by nature, that they are a little pricey. Even the BTD.com website can't bring 'em down too much. With that said, after buying one pair and trying them-out, I bought two more pairs. Even cheapo's can see a good deal... plus, when it feels like your toes are going to fall-off and you can prevent it from happening again, what's a few bucks?

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/1/2013
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Socks

They keep the feet somewhat warm provided you're not in 30-40 degree weather.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/3/2012
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
st. louis
Value Rating
Overall Rating
VERY warm

Very nice fit and well made. VERY warm for me and can only wear them in quite cold weather, around freezing. I run hot though. Shrugs off stink pretty well.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/20/2012
by Rubylover
Cycling Enthusiast
Washington
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
These are my most favorite riding socks hands down!

I LOVE these socks. They keep my feet warm at 40 degrees, they stay up, they wash nicely and the fit is perfect for me.

(Large, men's shoe size 10.5). Going to order a pair for my mom for Christmas.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/26/2012
by PDX Jace
Cycling Enthusiast
NE Portland
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Pushed all my other woolies to the side....

Got a pair of these from my girls for Christmas, and they have stayed in my daily cross town commute ever since. Just like the description says, they are warm, but not too much, nice against the skin (no itchies), and even when they have been soaked through entirely, they stay that way. Best part? As far as I can tell they are not capable of stinking.....

Merino wool....with all of our technical advances, still can't beat wool as the ultimate material.

I strongly suggest if you are a winter muck commuter.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/18/2012
by bikeguy55
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great Winter Socks

This is a great winter sock, thin enough to fit inside a cycling shoe, but warm enough for cold weather riding. Long enough to extend under tights.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/13/2012
by SF biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Marin
Value Rating
Overall Rating
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
This sock has a great temperature range

Excellent winter sock. This sock has a great temperature range. i use in SF bay area where we have micro climates

with temperature changes of 40 degrees . Low valleys in the 20-30 climb the coastal range its in the 50-60 range

drop to the coast its 60-70. climb back and drop into a low valley its 40. This is the sock that handles it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/8/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Marin
Overall Rating
Warm high quality sock.

Excellent cold weather sock, super comfortable and high quality

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/15/2014
by bashker
Cycling Enthusiast
Palm Desert, CA
Overall Rating
Great Socks

I bought three pairs of these socks on sale and I really like them. They are warm for those early morning rides in the high forties and low fifties, and comfortable when the temps begin to rise during longer rides. Since buying these socks I rarely wear any others I own.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 63

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]