FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Giro Synthe MIPS Helmet

GiroSynthe MIPS Helmet(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(69 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(60)
(7)
(1)
(0)
(1)
(87%)
(10%)
(1%)
(0%)
(1%)
Reviewed 10/17/2018
by Jim McCloskey
Cycling Enthusiast
Northwest New Jersey
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Well designed high end helmet with good construction, attention to a rider's expectations.

Have been riding for 30 plus years and have had prior Giro helmets. This product is very light, almost to the point where when wearing it is not noticeable, does not move around the perimeter of the head, has little to no interference with the rider's view from side to side. The enclosure is very snug and well fitting, though without any need to overtighten to bind to the rider's head shape. Giro has finally figured out how to create a helmet that even after long rides of over two-plus hours, the unit does not feel heavy, cumbersome, or need continual adjustments - something I have had with other high-end helmets and gear. The straps are not too long and are easy to adjust, the same for the dials to set the inner enclosure.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/29/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Southeast PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great upgrade to my old Giro

I spend 300 hours a year on my road bike. We've had a number of crashes in my club this year and it made me think about the MIPS technology. I'm in right on the cusp of medium and large. Did the measurement and went with medium, which turned out great. Have just enough room for head cover if needed.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/24/2018
by madoc41850
Cycling Enthusiast
Marco Island, FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Love my new helmet.

I ride between100 and 150 miles a week. My helmet is very comfortable and extremely light. The airflow helps keep my head cool. The interior lining is comfortable and the helmet can be easily adjusted. I recommend this helmet wholeheartedly.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/4/2018
by Peter P
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Perfect upgrade

I stick with Giro helmets as they always seem to fit me well, and this was an upgrade from my last helmet. It's light, fits great with or without hatsheadbands underneath, keeps nice and cool, and the color scheme I bought is a great match for my bike. Only has a couple of the removable inner pads, which frankly I like as there is less to lose, and there is no compromise in comfort. I couldn't be happier with this one!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/27/2018
by LML
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Stick With What Works

Survived 2 cracked Giro helmets. so prefer to stick with Giro v. other manufacturers' helmets. This time I went with MIPS, which was just on the market at time of purchasing previous Giro Synthe. Giro offered 30% off due to cracked helmet, but off their escalated retail price, higher than MSRP listed elsewhere. Bike Tires Direct offered best deal. Not only was helmet on sale, but regular price was nevertheless competitive with other online vendors. Adding VIP appoints to sale price it was a steal,clearly the best way to go.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/10/2018
by Michael M
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Poor construction with poor customer support

While the helmet design, fit, and finish is fine. The solution to keep the sweat pads on the helmet doesn't last. It could be a flaw in a run or simply a storage related issue, but half the retainer fitted dots fail on one side. Even worse, Giro has customer support level that replies haphazardly if they even pick up the phone or respond to any messages.

For myself, Giro and the family of brands that are along with them doesn't meet the standards of product quality and support for what is being presented as a superior quality product. This particular helmet is the very first to give me such an issue and the support ensured that I would not purchase another one of their products in the future.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/29/2017
by Old Man on Wheels
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, Washington
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
The Giro Synthe really lives up to it's claims

This is the second Synthe I have owned. I tested my first one and competitors for cooling in a makeshift way at the Portland warehouse store. Cooling was a high priority for my selection since I ride hot in the summer. I use a Giro cap under it for cooler weather. On my first ride while going down a fast hill I had descended many times before, I had the distinct sense that my head felt more free in the passing air. My speedometer confirmed a small but noticeable gain. The other reason I chose this helmet was the very comfortable fit. The best I found for me.

So why am I on my second helmet in two years? It was the other reason for selecting the Synthe that I simply took for granted. I crashed at 18-20 mph. It seemed like a perfect 5 point landing and had the bloody scrapes on my knees, elbow, hip and shoulder to prove it. I thought I might have glanced my head, but the helmet seemed to have only minor cosmetic damage. I wore the helmet on the next ride and laid it on the table at the break. One of my fellow riders noticed that the helmet was now split at the back. It likely saved me from a concussion or worse, and I did not even know it. I am sold on this helmet!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/23/2018
by gregorio
Cycling Enthusiast
Wisconsin
Value Rating
Overall Rating
excellent fit

The helmet does have an excellent fit...best I've experienced among three brands. I gave it 4 stars mainly because I feel the ventilation could be better.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/29/2018
by ORrider
Cycling Enthusiast
Sisters, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
This helmet stays put and does not ride back on my head.

I use this helmet on road and gravel rides. This is the most comfortable helmet I have ever owned going back over 20 years. I wear a large Giro Synthe MIPS Helmet, and my hat size is XL or 7 58 - 7 34. I have had a problem in the past with helmets riding back on my head and exposing my forehead. I do not have that problem now and the helmet stays down and protects my forehead. I like the style look of this helmet. I always wear a cycling hat and they integrate together nicely. If I had to purchase another helmet, this would be the one. Perfection.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/2/2018
by FuelFool
Competitive Racer
Blue Ridge Mountains NC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
A Nice Lid

Not cheap, but the really good stuff rarely is. Relatively light, minimalist semi-aero profile. Overall, a nice lid, especially if you can catch a good sale.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/15/2018
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Best helmet I owned

Very light helmet, well ventilated for hot summer rides, also like the dedicated holes for sunglasses holding.

I previously owned a Giro helmet with similar retention system so cannot really compare with other helmets. But for me the fit is perfect and knowing that the MIPS gives extra protection to the brain is reassuring.

little bit expensive but you can find good discount online.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/2/2018
by ted
Cycling Enthusiast
New England Rhode Island
Value Rating
Overall Rating
this is best safe helmet that i have bought and will use it every day as i will be retired soon! ted bell

Plan do a ride every morning before start my days activities .This helmet will keep me safe and cool with the nice air vents.!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/10/2017
by Waldemar
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
It's an awesome helmet.

Hi, I've had this helmet-in all black-for a few months and I've really enjoyed it's quality. It's very breathable and comfortable. If you happen to be considering buying one, I have no regrets with my purchase of it, and if you do get one, you shouldn't have any regrets either.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/4/2018
by AML PRO RIDER
Cycling Enthusiast
Burlingame, Ca.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent ! Light weight, great fit, comfort.

I use the Giro Synthe Daily. Looks good, breaths very well, total comfort, light weight, all good.

Yes for sure, I recommend the Synthe.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/8/2017
by Anonymous
USA
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great Road Helmet

Did a lot of research on road helmets and this particular one is at the top. Fit and adjustments is outstanding. Ventilation is amazing. Aerodynamics again is at the top. I am really glad I made the purchase and would recommend for serious riders.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/26/2017
by mbrooks
Cycling Enthusiast
Savannah GA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Best helmet I have owned.

Lightweight. Cool. Great airflow. Great helmet for south GA heat. Best helmet I have owned.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/19/2017
by Anonymous
westport,ct
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent Helmet-exceptional fit and visibility

This was a replacement mips helmet.

I had a POC MIPS Orange helmet that was compromised on a charity off road event.

This helmet fits better, and feels like you are not wearing one. Bought the yellow which has great visibility.

Had not had a Giro helmet for many years.

I am a fan again!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/22/2017
by BRF
Competitive Racer
Value Rating
Overall Rating
A great investment!!

I love the helmet. I can barely tell it is on, very comfortable and light.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/16/2018
by bikepsych44
Cycling Enthusiast
Lancaster, PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great helment

The helmet is light in weight with great ventilation. The fit is very comfortable with a great place to store your glasses. The one minor drawback is a somewhat difficult to work buckle.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/16/2017
by Henrya
Cycling Enthusiast
Palm desert, ca
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Very comfort, looks great

Use every time I ride my bikes,adjusts very easy, lite weight and painting is nice on the helmet

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.