FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Giro Synthe MIPS Helmet

GiroSynthe MIPS Helmet(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(52 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(46)
(5)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(88%)
(10%)
(2%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 6/2/2018
by ted
Cycling Enthusiast
New England Rhode Island
Value Rating
Overall Rating
this is best safe helmet that i have bought and will use it every day as i will be retired soon! ted bell

Plan do a ride every morning before start my days activities .This helmet will keep me safe and cool with the nice air vents.!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/29/2017
by Old Man on Wheels
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, Washington
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
The Giro Synthe really lives up to it's claims

This is the second Synthe I have owned. I tested my first one and competitors for cooling in a makeshift way at the Portland warehouse store. Cooling was a high priority for my selection since I ride hot in the summer. I use a Giro cap under it for cooler weather. On my first ride while going down a fast hill I had descended many times before, I had the distinct sense that my head felt more free in the passing air. My speedometer confirmed a small but noticeable gain. The other reason I chose this helmet was the very comfortable fit. The best I found for me.

So why am I on my second helmet in two years? It was the other reason for selecting the Synthe that I simply took for granted. I crashed at 18-20 mph. It seemed like a perfect 5 point landing and had the bloody scrapes on my knees, elbow, hip and shoulder to prove it. I thought I might have glanced my head, but the helmet seemed to have only minor cosmetic damage. I wore the helmet on the next ride and laid it on the table at the break. One of my fellow riders noticed that the helmet was now split at the back. It likely saved me from a concussion or worse, and I did not even know it. I am sold on this helmet!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/4/2018
by AML PRO RIDER
Cycling Enthusiast
Burlingame, Ca.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent ! Light weight, great fit, comfort.

I use the Giro Synthe Daily. Looks good, breaths very well, total comfort, light weight, all good.

Yes for sure, I recommend the Synthe.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/16/2018
by bikepsych44
Cycling Enthusiast
Lancaster, PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great helment

The helmet is light in weight with great ventilation. The fit is very comfortable with a great place to store your glasses. The one minor drawback is a somewhat difficult to work buckle.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/18/2018
by Pat H.
Cycling Enthusiast
Sacramento, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Great Helmet! Saved my melon!

Fit and feel of this helmet is great. Aero, but not too hot.

The reason I really love this helmet is that it saved me from a crash at 30mph. Downhill, sharp turn, wet leaves, into a wire fence, you know the scenario... Hit my head and didn't even know it until I saw the damage on the front of the helmet at the end of the ride. No concussion, no loss of consciousness, no head pain at all in fact. helmet smashed up on the front, but still intact. Ordering a new one again!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/20/2018
by adinmem
Competitive Racer
Memphis, TN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Ventilated and effective at saving your skull!

This is my second Synthe, as the first one did its job last year and kept me away from the neurosurgeons when a car took out our paceline (do NOT reuse a helmet that has been in a crash!)

I live where heat is an issue, which is why I bought the original helmet. The colors I ordered matched my then-bike well, and the design was not at all displeasing. Function with style. My noggin did not overheat, and even though I am a little follically challenged, no sunburns up there.

The straps are easy to adjust as is the dial adjuster in back. I race (amateur) and am pretty sure that the helmet is as aero as Giro claims it to be any marginal improvements other brands may make would certainly need someone much closer to the pro ranks to see enough of those gains to make a meaningful measurement.

As stated above the helmet served its purpose and saved my skull from a closer encounter with asphalt that it did have. I was so impressed with the helmet's performance before and during (in retrospect) the crash that I knew another was in my future. Now I have MIPS, so its even better! I don't have a $20 head, so I spend money on helmets.

Good crash protection, very aero, comfortable, and cool.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/10/2017
by Waldemar
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
It's an awesome helmet.

Hi, I've had this helmet-in all black-for a few months and I've really enjoyed it's quality. It's very breathable and comfortable. If you happen to be considering buying one, I have no regrets with my purchase of it, and if you do get one, you shouldn't have any regrets either.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/8/2017
by Anonymous
USA
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great Road Helmet

Did a lot of research on road helmets and this particular one is at the top. Fit and adjustments is outstanding. Ventilation is amazing. Aerodynamics again is at the top. I am really glad I made the purchase and would recommend for serious riders.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/26/2017
by mbrooks
Cycling Enthusiast
Savannah GA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Best helmet I have owned.

Lightweight. Cool. Great airflow. Great helmet for south GA heat. Best helmet I have owned.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/19/2017
by Anonymous
westport,ct
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent Helmet-exceptional fit and visibility

This was a replacement mips helmet.

I had a POC MIPS Orange helmet that was compromised on a charity off road event.

This helmet fits better, and feels like you are not wearing one. Bought the yellow which has great visibility.

Had not had a Giro helmet for many years.

I am a fan again!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/22/2017
by BRF
Competitive Racer
Value Rating
Overall Rating
A great investment!!

I love the helmet. I can barely tell it is on, very comfortable and light.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/16/2017
by Henrya
Cycling Enthusiast
Palm desert, ca
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Very comfort, looks great

Use every time I ride my bikes,adjusts very easy, lite weight and painting is nice on the helmet

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/16/2017
by Henrya
Cycling Enthusiast
Palm desert, ca
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great helmet

Use it every time I ride bikes, lite weight, cool when using, adjust ease, looks good.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/6/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
MIPS saved a concussion

Had accident on bike where helmet structure cracked upon impact, but I received no concussion.

The MIPS probably takes the credit for my good luck.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/17/2017
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Alabama
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Best helmet Ive ever had as far as keeping head cool.

Im a 9-10 hour a week rider that lives in the Hot, humid SE USA.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/1/2017
by Grimes
Competitive Racer
Minneapolis, MN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great upgrade

This has been on my wish list for a while to replace my Air Attack so I grabbed one while they were on clearance. The Air Attack is a size large and it's a little big unless I wear a winter cap underneath it, so I opted for the medium Synthe. The Synthe fits snug and won't work with a winter cap, so maybe I'll keep the Air Attack around for cold days.

Overall it's a great improvement in comfort and weight. It's been too cold to test ventilation but it can't be worse than the Air Attack.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/1/2017
by justbob
Cycling Enthusiast
San Francisco Bay Area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Sweet, light helmet

When I tested this helmet in my garage wind tunnel I measured it to be 4.67% more efficient. But seriously, the helmet fits great. The Giro adjustment knob works great as usual. When I first picked it up I was surprised on how light it was. Lastly, the sunglass garage works great and keeps my glasses safely in place, unlike all of my prior helmets. Lightweight with great features and MIPS protection, how can you go wrong.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/17/2017
by Brad
Cycling Enthusiast
Pennsylvania
Value Rating
Overall Rating
The best helmet just got better with MIPS!

The fit and feel of this helmet is supreme and a big improvement over my previous Giro helmet. Overall riding experience is great, quieter in wind noise, plenty of air flow pouring through. Having a MIPS design helmet i think is what really sets this apart in the comfort department as well, big improvement. I am very satisfied with this helmet!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/5/2017
by Anonymous
St pete, fl
Overall Rating
Cool yet aero

Best MIPS aero helmet! I have had a few others and none compare to this. Keeps head cool, while keeping your melon safe!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/31/2016
by Rivak
Competitive Racer
Mesa, Arizona
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Beautifully designed and quality product

I purchased the Giro Synthe at a rocking good price. This is a gift for my wife. Not only does it look great without that mushroom profile, but it is comfortable, aero and designed well with a MIPS system for safety. I highly recommend this helmet if you want a race worthy and safe helmet. Go Giro!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.