Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Giro Synthe MIPS Helmet

GiroSynthe MIPS Helmet(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(120 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(105)
(13)
(1)
(0)
(1)
(88%)
(11%)
(1%)
(0%)
(1%)
Reviewed 11/6/2020
by BurlingtonBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Burlington VT
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Saved Me From A Serious Head Injury

When I purchased this helmet a couple of years ago, I spent a bit more than I was planning to spend on a helmet, but I have no regrets. For starters, the Giro Synthe MIPS Helmet is a good looking helmet, and it feels great on. But this summer I realized the true benefit of buying a helmet at this level. I was doing my usual daily ride on the Burlington bike path, a beautiful, paved 7-mile stretch that parallels the shoreline of Lake Champlain. I'd ridden this route hundreds of times on my road bike.

At the north end of the route, where the bike path merges with a neighborhood street, there's an optional curb cut that puts you right onto the street. I always take it. But if you approach that curb cut from the street side, there's a 3/4-inch-high curb you have to get over. There were a couple of other riders approaching me on the bike path that day, so I took that curb cut at a sharper angle than I normally do. I was out of the saddle at the time. The curb caught my front tire and threw the bike toward the pavement. My head struck the ground with enough force to crack the interior of the helmet. But remarkably, I didn't suffer even a minor concussion. MIPS did it's job beautifully. When I got home, I ordered two more Giro Synthe MIPS helmets in different colors.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/17/2020
by Jim R
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Comfortable and light, fits well.

I ride 3-4 times a week 2 to 4 hrs. Helmet fits well and is very comfortable. Easy to adjust. Sometimes while riding I forget I have it on my head. Wind noise at times can be bothersome.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/23/2020
by norman
Cycling Enthusiast
Scarsdale, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent helmet

I have used this helmet for years. they have saved my head on three occasions. they saved me from concussions.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/2/2020
by StevenDNY
E. Setauket
Overall Rating
Great Helmet

Great Helmet and comfortable. Well ventilated and took a hit on road and no problems. Gravel dents and that�s it. Happy with this product.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/17/2020
by Chuckee
Cycling Enthusiast
Kamas, Utah
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Lightweight and very comfortable helmet

Use it for road biking generally every day - 100 to 150 miles weekly. The Giro Synthe MIPS Helmet is probably the most comfortable helmet I have worn in over 35 years of cycling. The adjustable knob in back makes fitting helmet to head extremely easy. The light weight is super - you don't fell like you are even wearing a helmet. There is nothing I don't like about the helmet.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/21/2020
by Tedk
Middle of Nowhere
Overall Rating
Love this helmet

I have tried several helmets in the past and this is by far my favorite. The last one I had cracked during a mountain bike accident but my head survived in tact.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/23/2020
by OKBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Claremore, OK
Value Rating
Overall Rating
The one you pray you never have to use!

After a family member was hit by a vehicle, I spent the money on this upgrade. It is what it claims to be. It is slightly larger than my previous helmet, but with the added protection, I deemed worth that cost. Very comfortable, with slots that allow good airflow.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/18/2018
by HelmetCracker
Cycling Enthusiast
PDX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Saved my life- twice

I've had two of these helmets. Bought the first one in 2015 and about a year after purchasing went down on some train tracks it the rain. My head bounced of the track pretty good and the helmet took the brunt of it. Got a replacement through Giro's crash replacement program, which at 40% MSRP. Went over the bars today landed hard, and cracked the second one in two places. Can't say enough about this helmet or Giro in general. I have been wearing them from 25 years as they just fit my head really, really well right out of the box so that's huge as far as protection is concerned. I have probably owned 20 Giro helmets (road and mountain) since 1992 and the Synthe is a great helmet, not noticeable when you wear it, very comfortable. I've wanted to check out POC and Kask but have had such good luck with Giro, there's really no reason for me to switch. Typically I'll average between 3-4000 miles a year on a bike, depending. Going to get another one of these or maybe an Aether.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/17/2018
by Jim McCloskey
Cycling Enthusiast
Northwest New Jersey
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Well designed high end helmet with good construction, attention to a rider's expectations.

Have been riding for 30 plus years and have had prior Giro helmets. This product is very light, almost to the point where when wearing it is not noticeable, does not move around the perimeter of the head, has little to no interference with the rider's view from side to side. The enclosure is very snug and well fitting, though without any need to overtighten to bind to the rider's head shape. Giro has finally figured out how to create a helmet that even after long rides of over two-plus hours, the unit does not feel heavy, cumbersome, or need continual adjustments - something I have had with other high-end helmets and gear. The straps are not too long and are easy to adjust, the same for the dials to set the inner enclosure.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/7/2020
by Steve F.
Saugus, MA
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Very light and comfortable.

This helmet Is as good as advertised, the ventilation is superb and you barely notice you're wearing it. Of course it looks really nice as well, great design all around.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/9/2020
by normanusa
Cycling Enthusiast
Scarsdale, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Helmet

Been using Giro for years very good helmets.. nice lightweight. Saved me from a concussion several times.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/24/2018
by madoc41850
Cycling Enthusiast
Marco Island, FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Love my new helmet.

I ride between100 and 150 miles a week. My helmet is very comfortable and extremely light. The airflow helps keep my head cool. The interior lining is comfortable and the helmet can be easily adjusted. I recommend this helmet wholeheartedly.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/16/2020
by JN
Nor Cal
Overall Rating
Great helmet!

Light, comfortable and good-looking!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/3/2020
by esubi
Florida
Overall Rating
Excellent MIPSHelmet

Bought to replace non-MIPS Kask Protone. Both good helmets just preferred the updated technology. My head measures 22.5 inches and medium fits me perfectly. Light good looking helmet I hope I never have to test it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/28/2020
by Woody
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent protection system and great airflow in one package

Purchased this helmet for the safety protection system. In addition it has a great fit and the airflow really does keep your head cool. It is more expensive than some other helmets but well worth the price.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/29/2017
by Old Man on Wheels
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, Washington
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
The Giro Synthe really lives up to it's claims

This is the second Synthe I have owned. I tested my first one and competitors for cooling in a makeshift way at the Portland warehouse store. Cooling was a high priority for my selection since I ride hot in the summer. I use a Giro cap under it for cooler weather. On my first ride while going down a fast hill I had descended many times before, I had the distinct sense that my head felt more free in the passing air. My speedometer confirmed a small but noticeable gain. The other reason I chose this helmet was the very comfortable fit. The best I found for me.

So why am I on my second helmet in two years? It was the other reason for selecting the Synthe that I simply took for granted. I crashed at 18-20 mph. It seemed like a perfect 5 point landing and had the bloody scrapes on my knees, elbow, hip and shoulder to prove it. I thought I might have glanced my head, but the helmet seemed to have only minor cosmetic damage. I wore the helmet on the next ride and laid it on the table at the break. One of my fellow riders noticed that the helmet was now split at the back. It likely saved me from a concussion or worse, and I did not even know it. I am sold on this helmet!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/9/2020
by Kamas
Cycling Enthusiast
Ventura County, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Light Weight Offering

Had the Cinder. Was looking for something a little lighter. This fits the bill. Less neck ache. Haven't really worked out how my Ray Bans work with the sun glass retainer. The retaining strap seems better as well. Fit is consistent with Giro.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/20/2019
by Mike Ford
Cycling Enthusiast
Longview, Texas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
SAFE Helmet

I am a 72 year old road and trail rider and have been riding 31 years. After using several helmets over the years and noticing many improvements I purchased a Giro Synthe. On the second ride I had a road accident where I hit my shoulder and then my head. The shoulder pain was excruciating but my head did not hurt and it was later in the day when I found two big dents in the temple area of the helmet. Without the Synthe I do not know how bad the injuries would have been. Thanks to Giro for making SAFE products.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/21/2020
by BDK
Clovis, CA
Overall Rating
A bit pricey but a great helmet.

i picked this helmet because I like this MIPPS system the best and because It has better cooling than most.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/18/2020
by BDK
Clovis, CA
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
A bit pricey but a great helmet.

i picked this helmet because I like this MIPPS system the best and because It has better cooling than most.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 49