Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Giro Syntax MIPS Helmet

GiroSyntax MIPS Helmet(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(15 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(9)
(5)
(0)
(0)
(1)
(60%)
(33%)
(0%)
(0%)
(7%)
Reviewed 8/26/2020
by Mike J
Cycling Enthusiast
Clackamas, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Good helmet, very cheap insurance

I've been an endurance road rider since the 70s starting before helmets were used by anyone. I've used many iterations of helmets over the years and have been using Giro helmets for a long time. In the last few years manufacturers have recommended replacing your helmet after 3 to 5 years as the crush material deteriorates. I took that advice and purchased a Syntax MIPS in January on a good sale at BTD. The fit was great and it seemed a little more compact than past helmets.

This month I was clipped by a truck and went down. Relatively minor accident but still ended up with broken ribs, road rash, bruises and my first ride in an ambulance. While I don't recall hitting my head, the EMT said that I'd need a new helmet. No head trauma detected in the ER other than some marks that matched the MIPS structure on one side of my head. Inspecting the helmet later I noticed scrapes on the outside and cracks in the material inside. The helmet did exactly what it was designed to do!

I put about 3000 miles on this helmet and the only downside was that it did seemed hotter than past helmets as the weather warmed up. BTD had another sale going on so I replaced the Syntax with a Synthe hoping for a little more cooling. Giro's crash replacement policy is a 30% off voucher good on their site. BTD's sale was 30% off so I chose BTD.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/14/2020
by TruckeeCA
Cycling Enthusiast
Truckee
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Good helmet. Good value.

Won�t know the true value of the helmet unless my head hits the pavement. Short of that, it is comfortable, light and cool.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/11/2020
by Anonymous
Somerville, MA
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great helmet

Im a big fan of the styling of Giros helmets, and this mode in particular fits well, is lightweight, and looks good. My only issue is that I always seem to break the flimsy plastic parts of the Roc Loc system within a couple months.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/16/2019
by OaklandMark
Cycling Enthusiast
Oakland, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Good helmet, ventialtion a bit lacking

I'm a road rider, and needed to replace my aging Giro. Not wanting to spend a fortune, I picked this one. As expected, the fit was perfect, as I know from experience that Giro helmets fit me extremely well. My head measures right in the middle of M range, and I can pretty much wear the thing straight out of the box.

My only quibble was that after a couple of rides I felt the ventilation was really lacking. If you're riding for a few hours in hot weather, you really don't want your head to roast any more than necessary, and mine was.

I ended up giving the helmet to my son, to his delight, and ordering the Aether, on sale. It also fit perfectly, AND had good ventilation.

If you're just tooling around, the Syntax is a great helmet. But if you're out for a ride of a few hours, you might want to look at something with better vents.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/4/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
NJ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Picture not representative

The inner frame of the white helmet is bright white, so you see bright white stripes on your head through the holes. Obviously not the most important feature, but it looks truly bizarre against any hair that isn't white.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/2/2020
by mathewsds
vancouver WA
Overall Rating
Good fit.

Excellent quality

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/17/2020
by cmurder
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Unbeatable MIPS protection at the price!

Lightweight, good airflow, and a low profile. Pretty much a triple threat. MIPS protection which should be mandatory at this point. If you haven't looked into MIPS, I'll sum it all up for you do yourself a favor and throw out your old helmet and buy one with MIPS. One of the best helmets on the market, especially for the price.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/6/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Lawrence, Kansas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Good fit with important safety features.

I've worn several Giro helmets over the years, and found them easy to adjust and comfortable to wear. Safety is a concern, and the MIPS feature is an important addition for me. Fortunately, I haven't had to test whether the helmet will protect me from serious head injuries, but the reputation of Giro for a quality product does make me comfortable trusting that the helmet will protect me.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/5/2019
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Sacramento CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Its an real Extra large helmet

Its the first helmet that actually fits my large head. Strap secures the helmet very well.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/8/2019
by J2ride
Cycling Enthusiast
Watsonville, California
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Forget I have it on helmet !

This Giro Syntax helmet is the best helmet Ive experienced in all my years of riding. Its the perfect fit and is comfortable enough to forget your even wearing it. Ive gotten many compliments on it . I bought one just like it for my boyfriend and hes thrilled with it as well !

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/11/2019
by Christian
Chula Vista
Overall Rating
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent helmet

This helmet is perfect for me, starting with the color, also fits really well on my size M, is well ventilated and also looks great. Im loving it so far.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/5/2019
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Fits my wifes small head

My wife loves the fit, fashion and light weight

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/1/2020
by BB Ryder
Cycling Enthusiast
Miami, FL
Overall Rating
Heavier than I'm used to but a good helmet nonetheless.

This helmet is heavier than my previous hemet which was a Scott Wit-R. However I soon got used to it. It was important to me to get a helmet with the MIPS system in it. So at this price I think it's the best bet.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/22/2020
by TexBob
Cycling Enthusiast
Knoxville, TN
Overall Rating
Very comfortable helmet

I've always used Bell helmets in the past, but the Giro Syntax MIPS helmet is much more comfortable and easier to adjust than any of my previous helmets over my past 30+ years of road cycling. I highly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/24/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent Helmet

Not a budget helmet, not an expensive helmet, but a great helmet! This thing has really good ventilation and is super light. I had a hard time finding a good helmet for my noggin due to a large ridge on the back of my skull. Most helmets weren't able to go down far enough below the ridge, but THIS helmet fit so well. Would recommend.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 52