Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
AVOID SHIPPING DELAYS & SHORTAGES THIS HOLIDAY SEASON - SHOP NOW!
Giro Rumble VR MTB Shoe

GiroRumble VR MTB Shoe(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(59 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(36)
(20)
(2)
(1)
(0)
(61%)
(34%)
(3%)
(2%)
(0%)
Reviewed 11/21/2021
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
AZ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Really like this shoe

I ride dura ace pedals normally on my gravel bike but saw these shoes on sale so picked them up.

Planned use of riding with little one and SO casually, I decided to take them on a 3hr gravel ride using XTR pedals for their first test.

I really like them. I forgot about them while riding. Very easy to walk in, like a light hiker. Just wide enough, better than a typical cycling shoe. I may just ride in these most the time!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/30/2021
by BikesAreFun
Austin Texas
Overall Rating
Quality Commuter and Touring shoe

This is my second pair of Giro Rumble VR shoes. These shoes are a good combination of performance, comfort, and style. I prefer lace up shoes and there seems to be less and less options in a cleated cycling shoe. The Giro Rumble have a classic casual look and are comfortable to walk in as well. The only con for me is that they aren't quite as stiff as I would like but I think the trade off is comfort while walking your bike. Like I said, this is my second pair of these shoes so they work well and look good enough for me.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/17/2018
by Michael
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Comfortable, well-made shoe at a great price

I've been riding with this shoe on my 29er for local trail rides around Portland (Powell Butte, Forest Park) as well as more aggressive (lots of elevation) trails on the south side of Mt. St. Helens. The shoe is comfortable and seems like it was made to last. HELPFUL TIP I purchased the Dress Blue color. On the website, there are three images of the blue version of this shoe but two of them have really bad color accuracy (namely the images of bottom view and side view). The only image that accurately represents the blue color is the topside view.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/9/2020
by Justin
Casual Cyclist
Lake Stevens, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Great fit (thanks to Bike Tires Direct!)

These are my first clipless bike shoes and I wanted something that looked like normal street shoes. I was unsure of the fit, so I ordered my regular size, but they felt too tight. I called Bike Tires Direct and somebody on the phone easily helped me make an exchange over the phone. And that little bit of help allowed me to get my new pair in time for a big weekend ride. Great shoes and great customer service!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/23/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland Metro Area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Nice, Comfortable Touring/Commuter Shoe

I used the shoe during a 2 week bike trip down the PCH. Worked great. Stiffness was just right to handle harder efforts out of saddle climbs. Very comfortable right out of the box. I did couple of rides to verify functionality and fit prior to departure. True to size. I wear a 42.5 in Sidi and Specialized and this was a size 43. Had a little extra room at the toes with a light weight sock. Good for walking around with SPD cleats installed. If you're looking for a shoe for touring, commuting or even light training, this shoe will do the job.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/21/2020
by Wilsco
Cycling Enthusiast
South Carolina
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
very happy with these!

I am very pleased with these shoes! I do not have a wide foot (in general) but my Sidi mtb shoes (same size 43) felt cramped in tow area - perhaps the Sidi 43.5 would have fixed that. These 43 Giros fit really well! Sole is plenty stiff for my use (so far just indoor stationary classes). The look great. I have had a few inquiries. I can walk several hundred yards to a store or my car with no major problems. I like the lace up design and room for my toes to wiggle. I do not think I would get "hot foot" from all day touring with these!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/27/2019
by Nick S
Daily Commuter
Coeur d''Alene, ID
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Narrow and Tight Toe

I returned this product because the toe was far too tight. I wear a 13W - 14W shoe in US sizes. Size 48 of this shoe was too tight at the toe (but it was long enough for my foot).

I ended up buying a shimano CT5 from Amazon, which is definitely a worse shoe, but it fits my giant foot.

Casual clipless shoes is a difficult market for people with large feet. I wish this shoe would have worked, or that BTD carried bigger sizes of it, but it was just too tight. I loved the style of this shoe.

A side note my toes go numb with clipless pedals anyways, and I quit using clipless pedals.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/19/2019
by JPN
Center Valley PA
Overall Rating
Super duper comfy

Size 12 wide feet here. Bought the 48 perfect size! Very happy with fit, comfort and style. European sizes always seemed narrow and small in the past but these are perfect! Agonized over size conversion charts and actually got some pretty bad advice from other vendors as to what size to get. Commute to work with these on shimano clip ins - very easy in and out twist. Price was best on this site as well and shipping was quick enough. Would buy again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/6/2019
by Bug Man
Daily Commuter
Allentown, PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
size matters

I am a 12 wide and never get a good answer about what european size to order. I assume all european cyclists have tiny narrow little pretty feet, not like my ugly american clod hoppers. I took a mild leap of faith and based on a pair of birkenstocks I owned years ago went with a 48, which happens to be PERFECT for me in this shoe. Took them out of the box this morning, laced up and did a 25 mile ride. very comfortable, nice stiff sole, good cuppage around the heel and a roomy toe box for my large wide feet. I am riding clipless for the moment so I cannot comment on how well the clippedal system may work. I like the look of these, too - not too bikey and the olive color is pretty neutral. I have a feeling the quality is good and they will wear well. oh, and double bonus, this site, with a first time used discount, was the cheapest - I think I paid around $$ bucks for the shoes with all the discounts applied. Clearly the cheapest site I was able to find this shoe. Shipping was free.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/30/2021
by lovetoride
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Good looking and work well on all pedals

I bought these shoes to use with my city commuter bike with flat pedals and gravel bike with clip-ins. I like the looks, fit and versatility.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/12/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle Area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Definitely order at least one size larger

Opened the box and tried them on for size. A good, solid shoe for commuting, which is what I need. I'm replacing a pair of Diadora shoes, which are rather generously sized. I did order a size larger for this Giro shoe, but it was still too small. Checked my Sidi shoes and found they were a size larger than the Diadora. So there is a lot of variability in sizing. As others have noted, you probably need at least one size larger that what you are currently using. So I'm returning the size 46 and ordering again in size 47.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/10/2018
by GaryN
Casual Cyclist
McKinney, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Good shoes for a Beginner

I am going to post my insights on these clipless shoes and my peddles from a newbies perspective. Yeah, I don't get the clipless either, as I clip into the peddles... I ride about 20 miles 2-3 times a week, using a 29er mountain bike with slicks. I was scared to death of clipless, because I thought I would not be able to get out of them. I ordered the Shimano SM-SH56 SPD cleats to go with Shimano PD-M530 SPD Clipless Trail Pedals and Giro Rumble VR MTB Shoes. First off on the shoes, there is a channel that allows you to adjust the cleat position fore and aft, which helped me find the best fit. The Shoes are a bit heavy, but very solid and fit my feet well. The one thing I want to pass on, is the SM SH56 Cleats are multi release, so you can release your foot by twisting left or right. Plus you ARE NOT locked in to the peddles. You actually have some play where I can move my heal left or right by 12 inch to 34 of an inch. Which is really cool, as sometimes I have a little pain in my knee and by moving my right heel laterally I can take the pressure off. It really did not take me long to get used to clipping in and clipping out of the clipless cleats. You can adjust the tension on the peddles for the release pressure, and I have mine set light, but they don't come out on the upstroke. If you are considering trying clipless, go with the SM SH56 cleat, and these shoes, they were a good purchase for me. I was able to increase my pace on my circuit by 12 to 34 of a mile average. I went from 14.6 mph avg. to 15.1 and have gone faster but that was on a day when I had a good south wind. Overall I am very happy with this set up and would encourage anyone looking at trying out clipless to clip into their peddles to try this combo.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/22/2020
by F.
Cycling Enthusiast
dry conditions
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Good for wider feet and commuting, not for technical trails.

I use this shoe for commuting to university about 8 miles one way, and as a recreational road riding shoe on the weekends. They're comfortable for the most part, after about an hour of peddling, the insole does start to feel a bit hard and there may be a numb toe from time to time. I wouldn't use these for trail riding because the laces don't allow the hugging of the foot like a nice pair of velcro straps, and the heel allows sandrocks in. This shoe's stated purpose is commuting and they're great for that. They look nice with hiking khakis that I ride in when sitting in class or walking to different buildings on campus. They also allow for decent walking as they still have a shank inside the rubber sole, which does clop clop like a horse a little as the foot transitions from the heel to the ball of the foot.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/24/2017
by Hawkeyesaver
Cycling Enthusiast
Iowa &40not flat&41
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great Shoes

I have ridden about 500 miles on these so far and I am happy. I had to play with the cleat positioning adjustment a few times to get it right for me. Thankfully the Giro Rumble offers a lot of adjustment and this is very easy to do. The shoes are generally comfortable and appear to be durable as well.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/1/2017
by Xenos
Cycling Enthusiast
Northwest
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent casual cycling shoe

Shoe fits snug and I ordered 1 size larger than normal. Toe box is wide and roomy, so very comfortable. Sole stiff enough for biking, yet sufficiently flexible for walking. Used with toe clips (ones wo straps) can pedal quite efficiently. I've used them on 30 - 50 mile rides.

Appear well-made, Vibram sole is a plus, and should probe durable. Liked them so much, ordered a second pair, and one for my wife.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/28/2020
by Anonymous
Atlanta
Overall Rating
Lightweight, comfortable, versatile and stylish.

Just as I expected. The fit seemed a little small at first, but broke in very fast. Nice looking and functional cycling shoe that don't feet robotic on your feet

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/18/2020
by Bhbiker
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
nice shoes

Use in spin class. Bought a 44 based on size chart. Fit is close. If I were to buy another pair, I would buy a 45. My shoe size usually runs 10 - 10.5.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/17/2020
by HobieOne
Cycling Enthusiast
Delaware
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
The Giro Rumble VR MTB Shoe is a great shoe for the price

The Giro Rumble VR MTB Shoe is a great shoe for the price. The shoe does run small, so order one size up. I would recommend this shoe for riders of bike trails and paths.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/23/2020
by Anonymous
Atlanta
Overall Rating
Lightweight, comfortable, versatile and stylish.

Just as I expected. The fit seemed a little small at first, but broke in very fast. Nice looking and functional cycling shoe that don't feet robotic on your feet

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/20/2017
by Xenos
Cycling Enthusiast
SE Washington
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Good casual shoe

Runs small - purchased size 46 while usually take 45. Fit is quite snug, especially very curved heel. Great for casualtouring rides with toe clips that might include some walking. Sole is stiff for good power transfer, still quite comfortable for walking. Top is mesh, so not for cold weather use.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 39

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]