Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
AVOID SHIPPING DELAYS & SHORTAGES THIS HOLIDAY SEASON - SHOP NOW!
Giro Helios Spherical MIPS Helmet

GiroHelios Spherical MIPS Helmet(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(15 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(12)
(3)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(80%)
(20%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 9/16/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Columbus, OH
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Already crash tested

I only had this helmet for three months. I was hit head-on by a distracted cyclist on a short bridge accessed by a blind sharp curve. Oncoming cyclists had three warning signs about the turn. Nevertheless, the idiot must have not seen the warnings in time and plowed into me. He fell, got up and fled the scene. I broke two wrist bones and got a concussion. I think I hit hard because I didn't have road rash and cracked the helmet. So, I think I would have suffered greater head injury without the helmet. I like the idea of the ball and socket MIPS design instead of a bunch of sticky dots, but I'd like to see more testing about its effectiveness.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/13/2021
by Cobbleman
Cycling Enthusiast
Richmond, VA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent helmet, looks great

Ok this is another great helmet from Giro, but what can I say that will help you. I'm moving from an old Synthe. I ware a size Med. The Spherical fits just a bit bigger for the same size and just a bit rounder. Having an oval head that leaves just a tiny space on the sides. It is a very close fit between the two. If you like the Synthe you will like the Spherical. Weight, the Synthe on my scale 280g the Spherical 274g. Adjustability is excellent as with all high end Giro's. Cooling, on par with the Synthe (tested in 100F/38C deg). Looks are subjective, I got the Red, White and Black and think the Spherical is the best looking high end Giro. Safety, hope to never know. Ride on.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/3/2021
by GrantCCC
Cycling Enthusiast
Central Coast of California
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Safe as the Aether but with a more comfortable Giro like fit

I really liked the protection and ventilation of my Giro Aether but I was never fond of the fit. I was on the largest size and it always felt a tiny bit too small, a different shape than my previous Giro helmets (Foray & Synthe) and it was constantly resting on my sunglasses. The new Helios is a bit lighter in the large size then my Aether and only just a little heavier than my non MIPS Synthe which is reasonable given the enhanced protection. On the ventilation side I haven't noticed much difference between the two but it's not gotten hot enough here to really tell, my guess is the Aether might be slighter better. On the general fit it's way better for me, no more sunglasses issue, a lot more comfortable especially on the 4+ hour rides. It also has the vertical adjustment on the Roc Loc which was missing on the Aether. Probably the only negative is it does not have the little sunglasses rest in the helmet but it still works fine you just need to be a bit more careful about placing them in enough.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/5/2021
by 2Slow
Cycling Enthusiast
Ohio
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Fits well, much cooler than my other helmet

I'm a fast recreational rider, 2-2.5K miles a year, typically ride in the A group. Was running an aero helmet, because I'm all about aero (even my water bottles are aero!) But on hot says I suffered way too much and it impacted my performance. This combined with having gone down a couple times last year meant I needed a cooler helmet and one that provided the best protection I could get. Can't train with a brain injury!

The Giro has proved to have much better with ventilation for those KOM efforts. And I feel better going all out when I know that I have the latest in protection.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/27/2021
by Old Peddler
Cycling Enthusiast
Tulsa, Ok.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
High price for decent quality

Nice looking helmet...Plenty of air flow along with being light weight.. I got the black and yellow to match my bike...I can't really say it's worth the extra expense but it fits nice and is comfortable...

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/5/2021
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Great Helmet

This helmet is light, comfortable, easily adjustable and has excellent ventilation.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/29/2021
by Bob
Cycling Enthusiast
Maine backwoods
Value Rating
Overall Rating
more comfortable than I expected

I had been using a fairly high end helmet for several years and was pleased and surprised with how comfortable this Giro Helios Spherical MIPS Helmet feels. I hope I do not test the protection it provides, but it is clearly constructed differently from other helmets and that construction design does make sense to provide protection.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/2/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Southern Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
A helmet that is at the Head of the Class.

Years of having what I would consider helmets has now been eclipsed by what is the very best helmet I have worn. Comfortable, adjustable and extremely light weight while still providing utmost protection. A perfect helmet!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/15/2021
by canabasa
Cycling Enthusiast
New Hampshire
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Back to Giro

After many years of using a Catlike helmet, my wife returned to using Giro and the Giro Helios Spherical MIPS helmet didn't disappoint her as she really likes her new helmet. It is nice and lite. It fits really well. The adjustability is a simple dial in the back, making it easy when it is on her head.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/18/2021
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Feels good and looks good

Got the white one, does the job. Hopefully I won't actually get to test out the power of the spherical technology and the MIPS system but it's comfortable, easy to adjust, feels like I'm wearing nothing that's how light it is and I'm comfortable knowing I have a premium protection system on my head.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/28/2021
by AJVeloRider
Los Angeles, CA
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great Product. Great Price.

You can always expect to get great products at a great price from BikeTiresDirect. The Giro Helios helmet is fantastic. The design and color options great. This is my first helmet with MIPS. It's comforting to have the MIPS feature. I definitely recommend the helmet and definitely recommend purchasing from BikeTiresDirect with there awesome customer service and pricing.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/15/2021
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Portland, Or
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Does the trick

My previous helmet was a Giro Aether - so comfortable and light. This is a touch heavier and covers more skull. I'm still getting used to it and wonder how long this break-in period will last.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/1/2021
by Jim M
Cycling Enthusiast
St. Paul, MN
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Replaced my 4 year old Synthe

My Synthe was 4 years old so figured it was due for replacement. I assume the Spherical technology of the Helios provides a greater level of protection than the Synthe (MIPS only). Overall the Helios has a better finish than the Synthe and operation of the RocLoc is definitely smoother and easier. The Helios uses pad strips in the top which I don't think provide quite the ventilation of the plastic "basket" the Synthe uses. My one complaint about both helmets is that the chin strap buckle adjustment tends to creep loose and require tightening every few days.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/13/2021
by Hckj
Cycling Enthusiast
Smyrna, de
Overall Rating
Light helmet, nice air flow.

Like Giro helmets, like that you are able to adjust the fit to what you are wearing underneath with the dial. This helmet has better air flow than the previous Giro helmet.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/4/2021
Cycling Enthusiast
El Paso, TX
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
I like the safety aspect of this helmet, the venting is great and it's light weight.

Great for everyday riding.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 40

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]