Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Giro Eclipse Spherical MIPS Helmet

GiroEclipse Spherical MIPS Helmet(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(16 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(13)
(1)
(2)
(0)
(0)
(81%)
(6%)
(13%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 11/28/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Austin, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great Helmet

I use this helmet for mostly road but also a bit of gravel riding. The fit is consistent with how other Giro helmets fit and works well for me. It has not been super hot since I got this but it seems well ventilated. I have no way of validating the aerodynamic performance but suspect it must be pretty good based on the mostly smooth surface (compared to my Giro Helios) and relatively compact design (there is no real "tail" at the back to present more surface area in cross winds). It is well made and while expensive, is comparable in price to premium helmets from other brands.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/3/2022
by Matt L.
Cycling Enthusiast
Wilmington, DE
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent Purchase

I've been using Giro helmets for years. Any model in size medium has always fit perfectly. I purchased this in the ano blue to replace my 2019 Syntax MIPS helmet. For comparison the Syntax weighs 322 grams, my new Eclipse weighs only 274 grams. I've found airflow to be very good, always a concern with an aero helmet. To gain aerodynamics and next generation MIPS protection at a considerable weight savings is quite a package. At the sale price that I paid it felt like stealing. That ano blue is every bit as bright as it looks in the pictures, so I suppose there's something to be said for a touch of visibility as well.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/14/2022
by Paul A
New york city
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Giro Eclipse Spherical MIPS

Liking the helmet so far. Feels secure, looks good. Can�t speak to the aero benefits but it does sound quieter than my old helmet at high speeds. Only complaint is that it seems to get scratches and dings pretty easily. Hoping it doesn�t look shabby after a few years of use.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/7/2022
by scott zenoni
Competitive Racer
Orlando Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Lightweight, comfortable, well ventilated, no hot spots, my new goto helmet

I have recently purchased two helmets, both from BikeTiresDirect as they have the best prices and customer service. My first helmet was the new Giro Eclipse spherical based on its ratings and reviews. I was excited to get it. comfortable, lightweight, however I was getting hot spots on the back portion of the helmet near the adjustment band. I tried using it several times and adjusting but it just wasn't comfortable. I then bought the Giro Eclipse Spherical MIPS Helmet. Probably the lightest most comfortable helmet I have owned to date. Medium size was true to fit. No hot spots, easy to adjust and great fit. BikeTiresDirect had a great price so I couldn't refuse. Highly recommend this helmet. Lightweight, great ventilation, no hot spots. Very happy with my purchase.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/8/2022
by Kodiak Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago, IL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Light with a good fit

I have the Vanquish and this appears to be the new version. It is noticeably lighter and supposedly has better ventilation (I have a hard time telling any difference - the Vanquish is fine in the heat). The fit is good, probably a little better for my head but that is personal. I like them both but if I had to pick one it would be the Eclipse. Basically the same colorway (White/silver on both). I don't necessarily think either is particularly attractive but they aren't ugly enough to not wear them. And I'm wearing them and not looking at them lol.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/20/2022
by NJ Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
NJ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent Helmet

This is my second Giro helmet. First helmet was the Aether and thought that one was great. This is even better at a less expensive price. Fits a little more snug than the Aether, as well as coming a little lower on the forehead. Gets very close to the eyebrow line for me. Which I happen to like. Leaves just enough room for my Roka sunglasses to get right under the edge. Also thought the blue color was outstanding. I have 3 friends that also bought from BTD and they bought red and white. All colors look very sharp. Blue matched my bike very nicely. I would recommend this helmet to anyone looking for an aerodynamic helmet. One more thing, it's not very hot although this is the first time I will be using it in summer temps in the northeast. So cant say yet, if the prior statement will be accurate in July & August!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/11/2022
by Big John
Competitive Racer
South Texas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Fits a Bit Different

I have worn Giro helmets since the 80s when they were first produced. The number one thing about Giro is the fit has always been perfect and consistent. Also the quality is always top notch. This helmet is also top notch quality but the fit is different. It has a rounder and slightly smaller fit than the traditional fit. Its snug on the front and back of the head.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/21/2022
by mwhite
Oregon
Overall Rating
Love it even more than the Synthe!

Finally had to replace my MIPS Synthe Helmet! Love this new helmet. Even More comfortable than the Synthe, which I didn't think was possible. Light weight, airy, aero, but feels super secure. I've got a big head, but I know I can buy ANY Giro helmet in size Large and it will fit me.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/30/2022
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Good helmet.

Had helmet for a couple of months. Helmet is great and did its job this week when I had a crash. Slid head first into a palm tree while on vacation. No injuries except a few scratches. I will probably go with Bontrager next only because they will replace your helmet in the event of a crash. Giro will only send you a 30% off coupon. Which I guess is better than nothing but free is free.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/17/2022
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
The best helmet I have owned

Had a Giro Savant helmet previously and this one eclipses it (groan) in weight and ventilation. Fits the same as the other Giro and true to measurements listed on site. Nice straps, buckle, and very light. I like to buy helmets I look forward to wearing, that are nearly unnoticeable, and this helmet certainly meets those criteria.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/7/2022
by Anonymous
North Ga
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
EXCELLENT

Have owned a lot of helmets but this is by far the best,very light and plenty of vents to keep your head cool and the sizing was spot on,shipping was very fast to.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/22/2022
by Tim Fox
Mich
Overall Rating
Great product instant shipping

Another Giro Helmut and as usual a fine product, comfort, easy fit and lightweight

And the color is nearly perfect match for our team kit

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/10/2022
by Michigan biker
Competitive Racer
SE Michigan
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Light, Aero and Quiet

I currently have a Kask Protone, Bontrager Velocis and this Eclipse Spherical. The Protone is quiet and aero, but not that light. The Velocis is light and aero, but not that quiet. The Eclipse is all three and has a very nice, low profile. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/10/2022
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Overall Rating
Great aero helmet that vents

Fits well, vents well, and I guess I trust Giro's claims that it is aero. Fits my sunglasses either forwards in vents or on the back in the molded helmet shape.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/19/2022
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Comfortable, light

I don't know if it is aero, but it is comfortable and not heavy. The straps sit well and the helmet plays nicely with my sunglasses.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/20/2022
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Excellent helmet

Very lightweight, aero, and small (not very bulky like other giro helmets). Only downside is its hot while climbing

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 04

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]