Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
Giro Aries Spherical MIPS Road Helmet

GiroAries Spherical MIPS Road Helmet(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(15 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(14)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(93%)
(7%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 1/14/2024
by Anonymous
SF Bay Area
Overall Rating
Light and comfortable

Been ridding with the helmet for two months so far. Really light weight and feels very secure. Also very comfortable. The sunglasses garage alarm holds glasses very well but it is difficult to do one handed while riding.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 10/27/2023
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Midwest
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
The one to get

I got this helmet because a I needed a new one and looking at the recent safety rating it ranked at the top. After a recent crash my helmet looked fine but then later I saw the foam was cracked inside!

The MIPS system conforms nicely to your head and it quite comfortable - more so than my old conventional Rudy. I still blunder around trying to get the buckle engaged but hopefully that will be sorted with practice. It doe looks quite bulbous on the head. For looks the Kask Aero would be my choice but "safety first"!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 10/17/2023
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Maryland
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great design with nice sleek profile

Yes, this isn't an inexpensive helmet and you can get some great helmets for around a hundred dollars but if you want one of the best this might be for you. As they say, don't skimp on contact points. Helmets, shorts, shoes, and gloves that aren't completely comfortable aren't worth it no matter the value. This helmet just fits me well. No hotspots and secures so well with the dial on the back that you feel like you don't even need to buckle the strap. What I also really like is the ball-and-socket MIPS system. It really is next-level as it works without having the plastic slides inside the helmet which makes other helmets feel hot and can feel weird with a shaved head. Despite the ball-and-socket design, this helmet has a very low overall profile. In other words... you don't look like a mushroom head. I also sweat a lot in the brow pad design is better than most at wicking the sweat to the sides.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Steve ITKC

Reviewed 8/3/2023
by Steve ITKC
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
GIRO ARIES SPHERICAL UNIQUE ADVANTAGES

The Giro Aries Spherical combines both a physical and mental edge to create a unique advantage among the best road bike helmets.

It�s a comfortable, well-ventilated, well-made helmet with conventional and innovative elements. Together they give me the sense that I�m riding a cooler, lighter and safer helmet, even if there�s little if any, meaningful performance difference between the Giro Aries and its top-of-the-line road bike helmet competitors.

VERSATILE FIT

While straightforward, the Giro Aries uses a full complement of proven adjustment mechanisms that fit my head shape easily and well and that I could envision would do likewise for those with a rounder or more oval head than mine.

There is about 40mm of width adjustment in its plastic, sturdy circumference strap at the back of your head. That allows me to better align the strap�s shape to the contour of my own noggin even before I start to dial it in.

Many helmet brands have done away with this width adjustment. Instead, some use a thinner, more pliable circumference strap that easily adapts to your head shape (Trek). Others use a strap of similar material and strength as the one in the Giro Aries inside a shell that is more aligned with so-called �intermediate oval� head shapes at the middle of the bell curve (Specialized) or favoring western (oval, intermediate-oval) or Asian (round) shaped heads.

Giro Aries Spherical

The Aries width and height adjustments and clearance between the front strap and shell combine for an optimum fit for your head and sunglasses and a comfortable sense that the shell is lighter than it actually is.

The Aries uses a small-diameter Giro branded dial to tighten or loosen the circumference strap. The dial, width adjustment, and a simple, sturdy, snap-in height adjustment with three options about 5mm apart are all cleanly integrated into the rear cradle.

I found the height adjustment key to bringing the front brow of the helmet up to allow for my largest sunglasses.

The Giro Aries Spherical straps also seem to draw on old-school design. They are anchored well inside the shell, come together under your ears with an up/down, forward/back clip, are made of a pliable material that lays comfortably against your face and neck that has a Goldilocks �just-right� length and connects with a basic clip under your chin.

File this under �it just works.� It actually works quite well.

A UNIQUE TYPE OF COMFORT

A 1-inch, 30-millimeter tall, quite conformable, and sweat-absorbing pad with open slots about halfway up sits against your forehead. It�s attached to the circumference strap, which itself sits about 3/8? or 5mm away from the shell.

With that pad design and the variou

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by TGirouard

Reviewed 5/1/2023
by TGirouard
Competitive Racer
Las Vegas, NV
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
The Giro Aries Spherical MIPS Road Helmet is an impressive option that offers a perfect fit, excellent ventilation, and top-rated safety features for cyclists who prioritize comfort and safety.

I recently purchased the Giro Aries Spherical MIPS Road Helmet and I must say, I am thoroughly impressed with it. The adjustable Roc Loc 5 Air system provides a perfect fit that is comfortable and secure, without feeling too tight or uncomfortable. Additionally, the helmet's numerous vents and internal channels offer great ventilation, keeping my head cool and comfortable even during long rides in hot weather.

What really sold me on this helmet, though, is its top-rated safety features. As someone who values safety on the road, I was impressed with the Spherical technology and MIPS liner that provide extra protection against rotational forces, reducing the risk of head injury. This gives me peace of mind knowing that my head is well-protected while cycling.

While the Giro Aries Spherical MIPS Road Helmet is a bit pricier compared to other options on the market, I believe that the investment is well worth it for the level of comfort and safety it provides. Overall, I would highly recommend this helmet to anyone looking for a top-notch option that prioritizes both comfort and safety.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by biketed

Reviewed 9/11/2023
by biketed
Cycling Enthusiast
Banner Elk, NC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Light, snug and airy

I use it for all my rides here in the North Carolina mountains. I don't have real hot temps, but it is warm and this has been perfect.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by bobbyg

Reviewed 11/23/2023
by bobbyg
SW FLA
Overall Rating
Great Helmet

Light weight, great safety rating, & well ventilated..

Pricey but IMO it's money well spent.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Habanero

Reviewed 11/6/2023
by Habanero
Cycling Enthusiast
St. Louis, MO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Nice Fit

I really like how the Giro Roc Loc 5 LED Rear Helmet Light fits on the back of this helmet. it's a little pricey, but you pay for quality.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Mikey

Reviewed 10/31/2023
by Mikey
Cycling Enthusiast
Richmond VA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great Helmet comfortable, & protects your Head

After my recent crash resulting in a TBI, I needed a new, safer helmet, This GIRO was one of the highest rated on the Virginia Tech helmet testing site.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 5/22/2023
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
New York, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
It's OK.

It's always good to know your helmet provides best protection. In that context, it is fine, just a few nits. Bottom sides are lower than replaced earlier generation Giro helmet - sunglasses touch and rattle on some bumps. Helmet's integrated front sweat band stops airflow on forehead, and is noticeably hotter there.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Drbob20

Reviewed 5/1/2023
by Drbob20
Cycling Enthusiast
Metro Detroit
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Giro came through again.....

Coming from an Aether, this is a bit "sleeker", doesn't appear as large. The look is similar, but better (if that makes sense), the comfort is great, breathable and great looking and of course safe. What more can you ask for in a lid? Highly recommended.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by TiCanDo

Reviewed 3/30/2023
by TiCanDo
Denver
Overall Rating
0 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Can't feel it or See it

Super light though almost exactly the same as their other two Spherical's Kind of like riding with a black hole on your head absorbs all light and heat. You can pretend to be the Headless Bikeman

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 3/17/2023
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Jersey Shore
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Very comfortable, light as a feather

Really nice looking, and comfortable helmet. Very light and easy to adjust.

Hopefully I will never find out just how well it protects me in a fall.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Ernesto Rider

Reviewed 1/23/2024
by Ernesto Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Overall Rating
Excellent Protection with Style

GIRO ARIES SPHERICAL MIPS ROAD HELMET is an excellent choice for riders of any level of skills. It is comfortable, excellent ventilation and the retention strap are very easy to adjust and manage. It is a top choice for any cycling style and particularly efficient when hot weather conditions. This is a highly recommended cycling tool.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 2/2/2024
by Anonymous
Ridgefield, CT
Overall Rating
Comfortable and stylish

This helmet is very comfortable and has a nice shape and color to it. And Giro is top quality when it comes to safety.

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]